Peugeot 407 sw Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Peugeot 407 sw.

Do you Drive a Peugeot 407 sw? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a 407 sw better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Nokian Line (65) 92% 90% 89% 89% 82% 86%
Nokian zLine (82) 92% 91% 90% 88% 77% 86%
Nokian Z G2 (30) 88% 89% 86% 84% 80% 83%
Neuton NT5000 (65) 88% 77% 81% 76% 84% 84%
Pirelli P 7 (82) 79% 69% 71% 69% 74% 66%
Nexen CP641 (33) 75% 59% 62% 67% 76% 70%
Evergreen EH23 (9) 82% 56% 66% 68% 76% 68%
Evergreen EU72 (47) 76% 63% 61% 61% 73% 67%
Wanli S1063 (79) 75% 59% 63% 61% 77% 65%
Minerva EMI Zero UHP (3) 70% 70% 65% 37% 33% 50%
Autogrip F107 (127) 58% 27% 44% 36% 60% 50%
Hero Atlanta AR01 (2) 70% 10% 35% 35% 70% 70%
Sunny SN3800 (63) 50% 29% 30% 29% 44% 28%

Peugeot 407 sw Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Pirelli P 7 given 84% (215-55-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 28000 average miles
On the Portuguese roads we have a lot of type of floor, different kind of tar, etc. ( 10c to 45c )
I confess that I do many kms, in mixed circuit ... sometimes I have a more sporty, sometimes more relaxed driving. At the moment more relaxed ... because the amount of speed radar ... so demands ... and they are more and more. Originally when I acquired the car, it brought pirelli p7 ... and lasted more than 70,000 km.
Always excellent adhesion in dry as wet. By the way... ​​my SW weighs almost 2 tons, and even in wet driving, have always proved excellent.
Later I experienced other brands ... such as continental (weak performance in this measure) Achiles (excellent performance both dry and wet ... but reached the end of useful life with 20,000 km (remembering the Yokohama) however very satisfied. I have already used AVON zv7 and although the durability is small too (not as small as the yokohama or achiles) have proven to be excellent on wet as well as dry.
In my sw, both 94 and 98w can be used. I have used 94. In pirelli, negative note for its use from 35%. They are prone to holes ... many holes. If hitting a hole can tear easily. Above 35% are excellent ... but it is certainly not a tire to use until the end of life. Eventually on a German, Swedish or Norwegian road, this pirelli p7 will last longer .... I got 2 tires for the rear in the seal inside version recently for my van. They are apparently softer and more comfortable (in addition to less noisy) than the normal version ... we will see how they behave. Soon I will buy 2 tires ... and I am undecided between Dunlop, Vredestein, Avon (being + inclined for AVON)
tyre reviewed on 2019-06-18 07:52:52
Writing about the Minerva EMI Zero UHP given 34% (215-55-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 2000 average miles
must be the same shape as 20p coin not round tyres
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-18 20:52:20
Writing about the Evergreen EH23 given 53% (215-55-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
I bought these tyres to replace Michelin as the garage told me they were as good but were 50% cheaper. It was a no brainer for me to give this brand a try. In term of grip, wear, etc.. they are good but in term of comfort they are just plainly horrible through the noise they are generating over 30 miles per hour. They were OK for the first ~100miles, then they became noisier and noisier. The noise generated has now settled to a high grounding level which the kids at the back complain about it and which give me headhache after few 10s of miles on motorway cruising at 70mph!! To me, the noise level is simply unacceptable!! I'll never buy Evergreen again. I'll go back to Michelin, Uniroyal or Dunlop.
tyre reviewed on 2017-04-22 14:29:28
Writing about the Evergreen EU72 given 57% (205-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 4000 average miles
Overall the tyres are OK in term of grip on wet and dry road. They seem to wear OK (although only fitted at the back) but they are incredibly noisy. They were OK at first but became very noisy after few hundreds of miles. They are so noisy that despite the grip being OK I'll not buy Evergreen tyres again. Even the kids are asking what the noise at the back to the car.
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-04 19:18:43
Writing about the Nokian Line given 96% (215-55-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
Best tires I've used so far.
tyre reviewed on 2015-10-08 16:14:11
Writing about the Nokian zLine given 94% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 16000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2015-03-17 18:14:22
Writing about the Autogrip F107 given 21% (215-55-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 200 easy going miles
I recently bought my Peugeot 2.0HDi SW with two of these fitted to the front. The tread left was about 3.5mm, so nearly time to replace anyway. I test drove this car, and picked it up on a bone dry, sunny day, on a route with mostly straight roads, and around town.

I don't drive a performance car (it's a heavy diesel, family estate), and always drive in accordance with the road and conditions at the time.

In the dry I found these tyres to be OKish. On twisty, country roads, I found that the braking was not as good as I would have expected. The feedback from the road to the steering wheel was such that it made the car feel "floaty" and disconnected.

Initially I thought this might have been a characteristic of the car, and the heavily assisted power steering, but reviews of the car on the Internet seemed to suggest that it handled fairly well for such a big estate. I have also driven similar 407 models (although not the diesel), and have found the handling to be fine.

When I set out for a long drive this morning, it had rained very heavily in the night, leaving wet roads, with lots of standing water. My journey began on twisty country roads, and ended up on the motorway.

I was shocked at how badly the car handled on the wet. Despite driving to the conditions, it was scary driving at low speeds on wet country 'B' roads. Handling was awful in the wet, and went from awful to terrible if you hit a very small patch of standing water! Going round a large roundabout, at about 15mph almost resulted in a sideways slide!

On the wet motorway, at 50mph, it was difficult to hold the car in a straight line. When I drove out of the rainy region, and the road was again dry - everything went from terrible to OKish again!

When I got to my destination, I looked up the reviews on these tyres only to find that people had experienced the same thing! Needless to say, where safety is at risk, I will be going to the garage at lunchtime......


tyre reviewed on 2014-08-26 12:02:30
Writing about the Wanli S1063 given 39% (215-55-17-R)
Driving on mostly motorways for 6000 average miles
There are those reviews in which the writer says they are surprised that anyone should think that these tyres are at all dangerous in the wet. The writer then goes on to suggest that the driver must be a "boy-racer" type.

The reviewers who do this think that they will never need to brake hard or swerve: well, that's taking a chance - they should realise that they may have to even through no fault of their own.

I'm not a boy racer, I much, much older than that and always drive well within the limits of the car and conditions. Neither do I, or anyone I know, have any interest in any tyre manufacturer or seller.

I had the Wanlis on the Peugeot 407 which, despite other faults, has very good road-holding. The Wanlis replaced Michelins.

In the dry, they were not as noisy and were quite well behaved. Not quite as good as the Michelins, but not bad. I had them on the front for about 5 or 6000 miles and wear was not too bad. I kept mileage records and the Michelins. the Wanlis and the tyres that followed all gave me about 42mpg.

In the wet they were a nightmare: there's a lot of weight at the front on at 407 and it wants to go in a straight line. The tyres wanted to go in a straight line too and objected to being forced to turn me and the car. They did this at any bend in the wet and once they went, and they went at a relatively low speed, there was no stopping them. I was seriously nervous and decided that they had to go. It came to the crunch when I went round a roundabout at no great speed and started drifting to the inside lane.

We all feel aggrieved if we have to throw away tyres with a healthy tread on them but I was really pleased when one had an unrepairable puncture and the pair were replaced with a good brand. What a difference, at the same roundabout in the wet, the car sailed round without ruffling its feathers - I thought they'd re-surfaced the road! I noticed that my braking distance has shortened noticeably and "feel" had come back to the steering.

Those Wanlis were terrible and, in my experience, unsafe.

Do you remember how I said they were quiet and wore well? I suspect that was because they didn't grip the road.
tyre reviewed on 2014-06-19 01:01:06
Writing about the Nexen CP641 given 94% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 24000 average miles
Brilliant. Half the price of pirellis. No loss of fuel economy at 47mpg. No excessive noise. Responsive, good grip in snow. Very very happy with these on my 407 hdi sw. 24000 miles and front nearlly at legal limit indicator. Buy them
tyre reviewed on 2013-12-22 14:21:04
Writing about the Nokian Z G2 given 76% (215-55-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 8000 average miles
Exellent tyres, but...too noisy.
tyre reviewed on 2013-01-16 20:40:33
Writing about the Autogrip F107 given 36% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 0 average miles
I put a set of these new onto a Peugeot 407 HDI estate and i have to say that these are without a shadow of doubt, the WORST tyres in production today. Our car is a family car which has to transport the 2 kids and the dog so it is never pushed hard but we have found that even at low speeds on traffic islands the tyres are letting go and understeering. I would go so far as to say that these tyres are dangerous so if you love your family, spend a little more and put something better on your rims. The tyres had nearly 4mm of tread left on them when i changed then for Firestone TZ 300's which are a million times better. Seriously, no matter how good the deal seems or how much somebody tries to pursuade you, DO NOT buy these tryes...
tyre reviewed on 2012-10-22 15:40:05
Writing about the Neuton NT5000 given 90% (215-55-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 28175 spirited miles
purchased a set of 4 tyyes and they have done over 28,000 miles, not down to mimimum yet but with winter coming have changed, compared to the pirelli p7 which cost £160 each these nt5000 have outperformed and outlasted the P7 in every way. Will never go back!
tyre reviewed on 2012-09-21 09:22:04
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre