Nokian zLine

The Nokian zLine is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Nokian Z G2 and this tyre has been replaced by the Nokian PowerProof.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 92%
Wet Grip 91%
Road Feedback 90%
Handling 88%
Wear 77%
Comfort 86%
Buy again 83%

Tyre review data from 82 tyre reviews averaging 87% over 690,815 miles driven.

The zLine is ranked 9th of 70 Summer Max Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2018 Ace 235/45 R18 Summer Tyre Test - 2nd of 11 tyres

View Full Test >>

2018 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test - 9th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Very weak dry performance, average wet performance.
View Full Test >>

2017 AZ Summer Tyre Test - 5th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Good handling and lateral stability in the wet, good handling feel and feedback in both the wet and dry
  • Negative - Highest rolling resistance
View Full Test >>

2018 Tyre Tests

  • 2nd: 2018 Ace 235/45 R18 Summer Tyre Test (235/45 R18)
  • 9th: 2018 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 2017 Tyre Tests

  • 5th: 2017 AZ Summer Tyre Test (215/55 R17)
  • 6th: 2017 Auto Bild UHP Tyre Test (245/40 R18)
  • 15th: 2017 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test (225/50 R17)
  • 20th: 2017 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Shootout (225/50 R17)
  • 2016 Tyre Tests

  • 6th: 2016 GTU Performance Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 7th: 2016 ADAC Tyre Test - 225/45 R17 (225/45 R17)
  • 2015 Tyre Tests

  • 5th: 2015 AZ 225/40 R18 Summer Tyre Test (225/40 R18)
  • 5th: 2015 Sport Auto 235/35 R19 UHP Tyre Test (235/35 R19)
  • 5th: 2015 Top 5 Summer Performance Tyres (235/35 R19)
  • 6th: 2015 AMS Performance Tyre Test (225/50 R17)
  • 2014 Tyre Tests

  • 9th: 2014 Auto Zeitung Summer Tyre Test (225/50 R17)
  • 16th: 2014 Auto Bild 50 Summer Tyre Shootout (225/50 R17)
  • 2013 Tyre Tests

  • 5th: 2013 Sport Auto Max Performance Summer Tyre Test (225/40 R18)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    215/40 R17 87W   C A 72  
    245/40 R17 95Y   C A 72  
    215/45 R17 91Y   C A 72  
    225/45 R17 91W   E A 71  
    225/45 R17 94Y   C A 72  
    235/45 R17 97Y   C A 72  
    245/45 R17 99Y   C A 72  
    205/50 R17 93Y   C A 72  
    215/50 R17 95W   C A 72  
    225/50 R17 94W   E A 71  
    225/50 R17 98Y   C A 72  
    215/55 R17 98W   C A 72  
    225/55 R17 101Y   C A 72  
    235/55 R17 103Y   C A 72  
    255/35 R18 94Y   C A 73  
    265/35 R18 97Y   C A 73  
    225/40 R18 92Y   C A 72  
    235/40 R18 95Y   C A 72  
    245/40 R18 97Y   C A 72  
    255/40 R18 99Y   C A 73  
    225/45 R18 95Y   C A 72  
    235/45 R18 98W   C A 72  
    245/45 R18 96Y   E A 71  
    245/45 R18 100Y   C A 72  
    255/45 R18 103Y   C A 73  
    235/50 R18 101Y   C A 72  
    225/35 R19 88Y   C A 72  
    235/35 R19 91Y   C A 72  
    245/35 R19 93Y   C A 72  
    225/40 R19 93Y   C A 72  
    245/40 R19 98Y   C A 72  
    255/40 R19 100Y   C A 73  
    235/45 R19 99W   C A 72  
    255/35 R20 97Y   C A 73  
    275/35 R20 102Y   C A 73  
    245/40 R20 99Y   C A 72  

    Questions and Answers for the Nokian zLine

    2018-01-17 - Looking to replace 265/45 21 104 Dunlop SP Sport 01s on an Infiniti QX70 with something newer and better. Nokian Zline SUV and Dunlop Sport Maxx RT 2 seem about the same on eu label and reviewer scores. However, even though both are High Performance Summer tyres would the Nokian have the edge in colder temperatures and on snow ? The A/S version is US only and not made in 265/45 21 in any case.

    While Nokian Tyres do specialise in winter tyres, the zLine is a UHP summer so it's unlikely to have a significant performance advantage over the Dunlop in cold / snow.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Top 3 Nokian zLine Reviews

    Given 87% while driving a Peugeot 407Hdi (215/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 31,000 average miles
    I have had them for 51.000km (31K miles) as my front tires of my Peugeot 407 2.0. I was a bit worried initially because I lost 2mm too quickly to my taste but then the deterioration stabilized and I had a good driving experience in all conditions (particularly with rain). After 51K kms the tires are
    Helpful 1553 - tyre reviewed on May 10, 2016
    Given 67% while driving a Audi A7 3.0 TFSI (225/40 R19 W) on mostly town for 1,500 easy going miles
    Those tires are so weird . There are sign of disintegration on all 4 tires . There are pieces of them that literally fall apart . Beside of that they behave great , but i am really concerned
    Helpful 46 - tyre reviewed on July 23, 2018
    Given 100% while driving a Saab Automobile 9 5 Aero Wagon (235/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 30 average miles
    I just can't score these any higher. I have them on a 2006 Saab 95 Aero Combi and I got 30,000km from them which is the most I ever got on that car. I always used Goodyear Eagle F1s on it before but they were getting very expensive so tried the zLine. In the wet they are so much better than the Goodyear, the water they throw up is massive compared to the Goodyear F1 and they actually aren't bad in snow either. I found their ability to hold air much better too, I check my pressure twice a week and they may drop 1psi in a month where the Goodyear may drop that in a week. Don't get me wrong, the Goodyear Eagles are fantastic but they aren't as good as the Nokian zLine. The most mileage I got from a tire on my Saab was around 11,000km until I got the Nokian tires. In the dry they are very good, great feel and they wear better than anything else I've had, they wear perfectly to be honest. I live in Ireland and the roads here are probably the worst in Europe I reckon, the motorways are good but noisy but they drain water here better than any other European motorway. Some reading this might say I'm over stretching this review but seriously, the Nokian zLine is THE BEST tire I have ever used.
    Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on September 30, 2018
    Have you driven on the Nokian zLine tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Nokian zLine? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Nokian zLine >

    Latest Nokian zLine Reviews

    Given 64% while driving a Alfa Romeo 1.9 JTD M (225/40 R18) on mostly town for 3,000 easy going miles
    My z Line tyres has side cracks all around diamerte. The tyres are only 4 years. I dont feel safe driving witn my nokian tyres. Try to send you mail, but no respond
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on August 5, 2022
    Given 93% while driving a Honda Accord (225/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 3,425 average miles
    I am in Canada and I got these tires about 3 months ago. The tire shop I went to (Kal-Tire) suggested these tires. I told them I did not want cheap tires. I wanted mid to high-end. I've always known that Nokian tires were very good as they have been in the industry for a long time. And are extremely trusted. Usually you see nokian tires on high end German cars. It has been 3 months now as I was saying and these tires are superb. They are very quiet. And the grip is pretty insane. And they seem to wear pretty slow at least for me. Cuz I've had them on for 3,400 + miles and the treads almost still looks brand new. These tires have built-in wear indicators that actually tell you the percentage left on the tire so there is no guessing. They're definitely really good high performance tires. People say that they don't do good when it's wet. But I haven't had any issues except when I hit deep water on the highway. And I hydroplane a little bit but again it doesn't matter what tires you have, if you hit deep water you're going to hydroplane no matter what with all brands. I got these tires in the beginning of Summer so I can only attest to how they perform during the summer. I guess we will see how they do in the winter. I'm going to try them in the winter for a little bit. But not for long because I have another set of snow tires and I don't want to ruin these ones. As for the price I guess it really depends on where you are in the world. Mine cost $270 CAD per tire. So they are definitely pretty expensive but not at the top. I researched for a long time before I got these tires and I am happy with them. I did not want cheap Chinese tires and opted for Nokian and I couldn't be happier. They are a mid to high end Tire and aren't much cheaper than some Continentals.
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on August 5, 2022
    Want your tyres to save you money on petrol? Click here!
    Given 94% while driving a Opel insignia (245/45 R18) on mostly country roads for 60,000 spirited miles
    You don't need to spend more money for other brand tires. You will be amazed by its performance on wet and dry surfaces. You will be angry with yourself for not trying these tires before. I definitely recommend it.
    Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on June 28, 2022
    Given 59% while driving a Saab Automobile 9 3 Vector Sport TiD 150 Saloon (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
    I purchased them to replace Michelin Primacy... and it was mistake. Wet performance is extremely poor on these, and I will recommend anyone to stay away from these as on wet they are for brave people. They glide on little wet. They are ok on dry, but I expected much more from Nokian, especially from they elevated prices. Unfortunately Nokian is known to be well in tests and poor in real life. If I would new it before purchasing, I would buy something else. Good that they discounted this model, I do not know how current are performing, but never more Nokian for me.
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on May 7, 2020
    Given 79% while driving a Renault Megane RS250 (225/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
    Great int he wet, little soft in dry
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on January 22, 2020
    Given 86% while driving a BMW 523i tourer (225/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
    #2# I fitted these tires to replace the previous very good Nokian G2. I noticed immediately also a good field in dry and wet conditions. I was impressed by these tires I had essentially chosen for the very low price. The only flaw I noticed is that they seem a bit too soft. High comfort level for low price.
    Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on April 17, 2019
    Given 77% while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium 2.0 TCDI (225/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 1,500 average miles
    I use the 225/40/18 on a remaped Ford Mondeo 2.0 tdci with 8.5j rims. Comparing them to my 'ex' tires (Falken Ziex 914 EcoRun 205/50/17 on 7.5j rims ) I can say the following after 3.000 km:
    - 1 mm is gone already, I don't do street racing . I hope that the wear does not continue at this rate.
    - the sidewall is not that good, when coming out of a corner I feel that the car is being thrown out (I did not have this feeling with the Falkens)
    - they are a bit noisy
    - the dry grip is pretty good, wet grip also good .

    For the money (approx. 100 Euros) I would recommend them .


    Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on August 15, 2018
    Given 69% while driving a Mercedes Benz A180 CDI W176 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 9,000 spirited miles
    Nokian Zline does everything the way it should. Water, grip, fuel and handling is really good. But when it comes to comfort it´s not really good. Halfway through the tyre and you can feel driving over a penny. To bad cause else it perform really well. High speed driving and braking at high speed, is not so good as Dunlop Sport Max rt2.
    Recommend.
    Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on August 6, 2018
    Given 71% while driving a Audi Audi A6 (255/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
    Bought a set of Nokian Zline and initial thought was that they were very good tires. There is really nothing bad about the handling. But the upper sidewall started to crack after one summer. Had them changed for another set and they also started to crack after a summer. I've gone through 3 set of Nokian Z-Line tires in three summers and every set started to crack. I'm not really confident driving the car 180-200 km/h in Germany with micro cracks on the sidewall.
    Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on June 14, 2018
    Given 56% while driving a Hyundai Santa Fe (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 11,000 average miles
    I used these Z-line tyres in my 2007 Santa Fe. Handling and grip were fine, wear was terrible though, worse than any tyre I have had before. After 18000km (just over 11000 miles) I had to replace them! Never a Nokian Z-line again for me!
    Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on February 19, 2018
    Given 87% while driving a Fiat Abarth Punto Evo (215/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 18,000 spirited miles
    Excellent price for the quality
    Good feeling at the limit even when worn out
    I'm going to buy a new set for my car
    Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on December 28, 2017
    Given 99% while driving a BMW 730d Sport (275/35 R20 W) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
    Excellent tyre for the money . strong grip in the dry or wet . much better than my old Michelin Pilot Primacy and wearing very well indeed on what is a heavy car . Bmw 730d . currently on 15k miles . only criticism would be they could improve when it comes aquaplaning . not super bad but other tyres are better . wet grip is superb though . all round a truely surprising result , highly impressed
    Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on November 3, 2017