Saab Automobile 9 5 Aero Saloon Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Saab Automobile 9 5 Aero Saloon.

Do you Drive a Saab Automobile 9 5 Aero Saloon? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a 9 5 Aero Saloon better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Vredestein Ultrac Vorti (107) 94% 85% 90% 89% 85% 86%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (397) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (223) 91% 89% 83% 85% 75% 80%
Continental Extremecontact DWS 06 (4) 90% 88% 80% 90% 78% 73%
Neuton NT5000 (65) 88% 77% 81% 76% 84% 84%
Syron Race 1 plus (15) 86% 81% 74% 74% 84% 86%
GT Radial Champiro HPX (12) 87% 88% 87% 87% 68% 70%
Kumho IZen KW27 (29) 77% 76% 75% 73% 82% 84%
Lassa Snoways Era (12) 78% 76% 77% 75% 76% 79%
Falken ZE912 (199) 82% 74% 75% 70% 71% 79%
Kumho Ecsta LE Sport (31) 77% 72% 73% 72% 70% 74%
Fulda Carat Exelero (16) 74% 79% 69% 73% 72% 69%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (208) 83% 70% 74% 72% 66% 59%
Sailun Atrezzo 4 Seasons (4) 68% 60% 73% 63% 70% 70%
Sailun Atrezzo Z4 AS (49) 74% 68% 62% 61% 64% 55%

Saab Automobile 9 5 Aero Saloon Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Vorti given 79% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12500 spirited miles
I bought these tyres based on the good reviews here. After 20k kms or 12.5k miles I have to say these are great handling tyres with decent comfort. At least as good as I expected from the tyrereview.com statistics. Based on the same statistics the wear was below my expectations. The rears are at 1.7mm after 20.000KM. The fronts were mounted later, they are around 2mm after 15.000KM. You would say smoking hard accelerations and aggressive cornering would be harder on the front tyres but that you won't see in the wear.
tyre reviewed on 2021-02-01 16:39:42
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 64% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10 average miles
Following test reading I put a set of these tyres on my SAAB 9-5 AERO in October 2016 (produced in Spain in June 2016). No complaints about handling, grip or braking - whether in the wet nor in the dry - absolutely gorgeous! HOWEVER: Michelin is boasting that these tyres are to last some 12'000 km more than competitors. If this is the case, competitors may last a mere 3 - 4'000 km, as I had to throw my Pilot Sport 4's away with just 16'000 km. This is simply unacceptable. As a matter of fact, my Michelin winter tyres (Alpin 4) have now run 20'000 km and look still way better than the Pilot Sport 4.
PS: I live in Switzerland, where sporty driving is regarded a capital crime, so my driving style can be considered reasonable rather than spirited..........
tyre reviewed on 2019-05-23 22:55:56
Writing about the Kumho IZen KW27 given 86% (225-45-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6500 average miles
Overall an excellent tyre - especially good on winter roads - these are winter tyres after all! I've driven in the UK and across the continent to Germany and back in deepest winter. I've driven in the high hills north of Frankfurt with steep snow covered roads and tracks and found the adhesion excellent. No comparison with my usual Michelin summer tyres which would be comparitely useless in these conditions. Normal driving/roadholding is good with a little less steering response than my Michelins - they feel a little softer when changing direction but nothing untoward. In the wet they are not as good as my Michelins but then I did buy them for snow/ice/winter use - especially for the Continent and Germany. They wear well for a softer compound and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them.
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-12 17:09:51
Writing about the Sailun Atrezzo 4 Seasons given 85% (225-45-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
After going through a front set of Bridgestones in 5000 miles and winter approaching decided to buy these 4 season tyres and am very impressed so far dry grip as good as bridgestones wet grip excellent noise level is very good and the tyres give good feedback to the driver can't comment on wear as only done about 1000 miles though still look like new, no regrets in buying this tyre and at £94 a pair bargain.
tyre reviewed on 2016-11-17 21:18:54
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given NAN% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
I just got these tyres at the front yesterday. The steering feel is much much better then the Pilot Sport 3's I had at the front. I started buying Michelin Pilot Sport, with the Pilot Sport 2. For me that was the best tyre I have ever owned. The Pilot Sport 3 never really convinced me, it felt like I was driving on jellyfish. The PS3's felt like they where more touring orientated. These Pilot Sport 4's give me the feeling back that I had with PS2's. I will post later more info when I have more km's.
tyre reviewed on 2016-01-22 22:32:57
Writing about the Continental Extremecontact DWS 06 given 64% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 1000 average miles
I gave the tires a middle of the road rating for wear as they are new on my car and can't give them high or low marks.
These tires are ridiculously noisy. To the point that the hum can be felt through the steering wheel. So far, they also seem to adversely affect fuel mileage. Down 2 MPG compared to the Pirellis that came off.
tyre reviewed on 2015-11-17 15:11:28
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 79% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
Noticably quieter than the Continental Sport Contact 2's that were on my car when I bought it. My car has had a remap so is putting out a lot of torque to the front wheels, meaning that I am close to having to replace the front Eagle F1's after a year and perhaps 10,000 miles. A little disappointing.

Within this time they have performed very well. In wet conditions they generally do well with standing water but will occasionally aquaplane in the heaviest of conditions. Dry conditions a nice sporty, tight feel.

I would recommend these tyres. It's just a shame that they've not lasted longer.
tyre reviewed on 2014-12-29 11:36:17
Writing about the Syron Race 1 plus given 87% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
After 15000km still running and perform in my old Saab.
tyre reviewed on 2014-09-01 15:37:50
Writing about the Sailun Atrezzo Z4 AS given 89% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 12000 easy going miles
Well I'm amazed, after using Michelins for 10 yrs, then Continental and goodyear, 18mths ago after a series of punctures at the edge of the tyre I decided to buy some Sailuns after reading the Canadian review, which put them as good as michelins for comfort and grip (most important to me).
Changed the Continentals for Sailuns and the car was quieter, more comfortable ride and at 60 pounds each the next puncture wasn't so painful.
Yes the sidewalls are softer than the Contintals, but on country roads the grip is far superior and on snow and ice I'd never go back to Continentals.
The car is a 250bhp front drive saloon, this is the 4th car of the same type I've owned, so you can guess I've had several types of tyres over the years on the same type of car and for what I need the Sailuns have been the best so far, in fact just ordered a new set to fit before winter, they're that good. As for 'spirited driving' well that's not me but I can see how a softer sidewall would result in a more soggy sporting drive.
I also tow a caravan, hence the 250bhp and these tyres were only half worn after 12,000mls driving a mix of motorways / country roads, 3,000 with the caravan.
Where I live the roads are poor, muddy and pot holed, worse than ever over last 4 years, so I decided to switch to an all weather / cheaper brand.
I had all the doubts about cheap tyres, but after reading the motoring reviews/tests and trying them for myself I'm definitely a convert.
But as they say horses for courses, the general impression seems to be for comfort/price/daily driving get yourself a set of Sailuns, for sporting driving look elsewhere. But I would advise against mixing Sailuns with other 'stiffer' brands, that sounds like a recipe for problems.
tyre reviewed on 2013-10-22 11:34:26
Writing about the Lassa Snoways Era given 90% (215-55-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 147000 average miles
I put snoways era on the front of my saab after 21000 miles coming up to winter 2009 and I have never used anything else when they are about 5 mm they go on the back and I put a new pair on the front.
The car has 171000 on it now ,it has snoways all round averages 37 to 38 mpg and I always see at least 50000 miles out of a pair .
These are pretty good tyres and they have often seen me home through deepest snow a foot deep on the final stretch of my journey ,I live in the countryside and snowploughs come around days late.i have driven many miles in my life 500 000 plus on one mercedes alone
In the eighties we had vredestein snow plus they were good but noisy , for the price the quality lassa are jolly good tyres
tyre reviewed on 2013-09-28 10:33:48
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta LE Sport given 99% (215-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 spirited miles
Just bought another set of these tyres for me car after loving the previous set. Really can't fault them at all and they're a lot better than a number of the Bridgestone, Goodyear and Michelin's I've had before!
tyre reviewed on 2013-06-05 14:54:35
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A given 87% (205-55-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 60000 spirited miles
60000 miles on about 3,5-4 sets of these tyres all together. In a Volvo C3 they performed very good also.
They are excellent tyres! But I'm not so sure if tey give the same in rear wheel drive cars (i.e. MB or BMW)? That is the question.
tyre reviewed on 2013-03-27 02:04:03
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre
https://bs.serving-sys.com/Serving/adServer.bs?cn=display&c=19&pli=1076922911&gdpr=${GDPR}&gdpr_consent=${GDPR_CONSENT_68}&adid=1084363492&ord=1627914247