Falken ZE912

The Falken ZE912 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Falken ZE512 and this tyre has been replaced by the Falken ZE914.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 82%
Wet Grip 74%
Road Feedback 75%
Handling 70%
Wear 71%
Comfort 79%
Buy again 72%

Tyre review data from 199 tyre reviews averaging 75% over 2,192,908 miles driven.

The ZE912 is ranked 65th of 119 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2011 Autobild Max Performance Summer Tyre Test - 9th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - low rolling resistance and extremely quiet
  • Negative - Poor driving behavior, delayed steering response and reduced lateral support, long braking distances on wet roads, reduced ride comfort
View Full Test >>

2011 European Summer Tyre Test - 195/65 R15 - 13th of 14 tyres

  • Positive - Great dry grip
  • Negative - Weakness in the wet. Poor wear.
View Full Test >>
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Falken ZE912
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Falken ZE912. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Falken ZE912 Reviews

Given 94% while driving a Renault Megane 2 sedan (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 50,000 average miles
The most silent tyre ever!
Even better than Barez & Yazd Tyre!
91 - tyre reviewed on November 27, 2016   
Given 76% while driving a Peugeot 206 1.6 xt (195/60 R14) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Contradictory personality, tough sidewall , firm but must confess it made me up to take it to the border of the car's limitations!
10 - tyre reviewed on January 4, 2018   
Given 63% while driving a BMW E34 5 Series (225/60 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 16,000 spirited miles
These tyres were pretty much universally praised on online forums but having used them for 16,000 miles I have my reservations.
I cannot criticize their grip, wet or dry they are rather difficult to unstick. However I do have a problem with their wear characteristics and their road manners. When I first used them, I noticed that the car was tram-lining more readily than on the old tyres and the tyres themselves were rapidly wearing into a saw tooth pattern which I haven't experienced with any other tyre. I checked the tracking and the front toe was minus seven minutes from spec (not a lot but I duly corrected it). Even so the saw tooth patterns remained until I rotated the tyres diagonally across the car. Tyre pressures were regularly checked so were not the cause, which leads me onto my next criticism- Noise and comfort. On some surfaces these tyres are much noisier than a premium tyre, and the ride quality, too, is way behind that of the premium tyres.
Finally, for me these tyres were only 15% cheaper than Continentals. For these reasons I believe I'll be going for Continentals or Vredesteins next.
8 - tyre reviewed on September 18, 2013   
Have you driven on the Falken ZE912 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Falken ZE912? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Falken ZE912 >

Latest Falken ZE912 Reviews

Given 49% while driving a Ford Focus (215/45 R17) on mostly town for 30,000 spirited miles
Fitted a set of these tyres in a Ford Focus 2.0 N/A with not a lot power, but these tyres were terrible back in 2009. The standard goodyear eagle nct5 with 15" wheels had better grip better and more progressive than 17" wheels and 215/45 R17 Falken Ziex 912 tyres. The Falken 912 on the dry will understeer easily and not very progressively, very abrupt (almost terminal understeer into a wooden pole) and very slippery on the wet too. These Falkens 912 were dangerous, probably similar to cheap Chinese or Indonesian brands. At least, those Indonesian brands (Achilles or GT Radial) have great dry grip when new, but wouldn't last long with cracking, uneven wear, etc. Used the tyres for 30K before selling them with plenty of tread left. Got Kumho KU31 which was better everywhere and understeer progressively
2 - tyre reviewed on September 17, 2020   
Given 49% while driving a Mitsubishi Galant (195/60 R15 T) on mostly motorways for 2,000 average miles
In 2008 maybe 2009 I swap set of 4 tires brand new of this model (not sure but I remember the shape very good), dry grip is good and also in wet, pretty quiet and so comfort. But I got some major issue with this tires, after 2 years of use I start notice that the shoe rubber stat break apart, immediate I swap to other brand set. In shop thy was shock about that and don't know what really happen. Before that happen I did a balance for the steering. Looks like it was defective production or bad model.
1 - tyre reviewed on August 24, 2020   
Want the best tyre for real world driving? Watch this!
Given 59% while driving a Volvo C30 2.0L Petrol (215/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 20 spirited miles
Had no choice but to replace my front pair of Continental SportContact3 with this. Prior to that I also had a pair of Dunlop LM Sport 703 at the rear due to a really bad tire puncture beforehand. No choice for the tire since the tire size was rare for the market. Rotated them regularly and felt that overall, this was better than the Dunlop. You can bring it to the limit. had 3 puncture repairs and it was still performing OK. Quick accelerations caused it to slip but it maintains the direction and does not affect the steering. It delivered way better performance than my Dunlop but my only gripe was the wear. Noticed that it was dangerously worn and was showing the inside already but the tire held up well. Sidewall is indeed strong. Run it with an almost flat for 5miles and it still was OK. The rubber compound though was soft which contributed to its performance and had bad wear characteristics.
5 - tyre reviewed on December 13, 2018   
Given 59% while driving a (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,427 average miles
Tyre was fitted 20k km before around early this year and now it has come its end. In terms of comfort and grip, it has served me well even though this is a more regular car bias than an SUV. I was referred to this tire from the Chinese GT Radial which comes stock with my Chinese and it is horrible and noisy. This tyre however, is able to take the whole weight of the car without a problem. I have even squeeze 8 passengers in this 5 seaters and nothing happened. Grips are great as well on both wet and dry conditions.
Wear wise, it is very quick, considering I fitted this on my FWD SUV. Right now, after 20k km, the front tires are left with less than a cm depth while the rear had barely wear.
8 - tyre reviewed on July 13, 2018   
Given 76% while driving a MG MGF (215/40 R16) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
(Australia) Have had these and other Falkens on the front and rear (currently just the rear) of an MGF. The front tyres are currently Nankangs which are good, but the Falkens definitely have the edge on those. We previously had a Series II Mazda MX5 which came on Pirellis and was terrifying in the wet until we switched it to Falkens. Dry grip never ceases to amaze me, ditto wet grip, progressive breakaway, quick recovery, good steering feel. Can't comment on noise as these are pretty noisy cars anyway, but for now they are my tire of choice, I can't imagine it's worth spending more, especially having been let down so dangerously by one of the big Euro names.
4 - tyre reviewed on March 17, 2017   
Given 91% while driving a Fiat Grande Punto 1.9 sporting (205/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
These were great fun on my Grande Punto, and very reasonably priced. Shame they don't do them in the size for my current car, as I would've brought again.

Punto 1.9 Multijet was remapped from 130 - 190ps, which made for a seriously quick little car even for a diesel (0-60 in about 6.5). Never got around to taking it on a track day, but the Falkens would've made this great fun. Did about 8,000 miles on them before selling, and they seemed to be holding up well. I wish I'd kept the car longer to get more use on these, because they put the Nexens on my current vehicle to shame. Trying Maxxis' on the new car, which seem better but nowhere near the Falkens. Will keep my eyes open to see if they ever do my size...
5 - tyre reviewed on December 2, 2016   
Given 77% while driving a BMW 3 series (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 14,000 spirited miles
After changing to these tyres the car felt amazing to drive, the steering was sharp and instant on E90 3 series Msport.
Very firm for the Msport but the sharp steering and good grip dry/wet made up for it. Had to reduce the tyre pressure to ease bumps for the firm side walls.
Took my tyre garage a few goes to get the tyres balanced for motorway speeds. Wear was ok, 14k miles.
6 - tyre reviewed on September 22, 2016   
Given 86% while driving a Opel Astra 1.4 (205/70 R13) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Got these tyres becouse there aren't many other options in this dimension. And boy, am I happy I chose these.
I do long trips with a classic car, and after 14 years of ownership, these tyres really brought out the best out of it. My primary concern is braking distance in both dry and wet conditions and they do both really well. I dont usually push the car to the limit, but when I do, i feel completely confident, even when fully loaded. The non-power assisted steering feels so much smoother and lighter than before, despite tires being a bit wider than original; the feedback information is superb, youi really feel the car and it just fills you with confidence. Even economy has improved a little bit over long distances on motorways.
Therre's no sign of wear yet after 5 or 6K miles, no bubbles or cracks either; but it's not a daily ride anyway, even though I expect them to last until they are too old.
I just really hope they'll still be available in this dimension when the time comes; Id definitely buy again. Plus they look good as well :)
2 - tyre reviewed on June 26, 2016   
Given 84% while driving a Holden Vectra V6 (215/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 25,000 spirited miles
I put these tyres on about two and a half years ago and i push the car when i'm allowed so they haven't had an easy life but they are at the forty thousand k/m vacinity so we are looking at replacing them. we have different demands of tyres now and a second car so our requirements are different. they have exceeded our expectations and are worth the time and money.
4 - tyre reviewed on April 17, 2016   
Given 69% while driving a Toyota Mark X (225/45 R18 W) on mostly town for 28,000 average miles
Got these after two weeks to change out the stock standard tyres from the Japanese Domestic Model from 16in rims to 18in rims.
Tyres are quite average without any outstanding performance as it should on dry road, but road-holding ability dropped on wet surfaces. Experienced a few times of rear wheel losing traction in wet weather when taking corners at higher speed > 80km/h.
Pricing wise, these are indeed value for money tyres, extremely cheap for the size of 225/45/R18 with reasonable performance.
Will try other models or the new ZE914
1 - tyre reviewed on January 26, 2016   
Given 43% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 6 GTI (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 30,000 spirited miles
First off, tread life is crazy long, that's all I can say that's positive.

Scary and quite unpredictable in the wet. Never have I had this problem with any tyre.

I drive very spirited in the dry BUT I drive to the conditions in the wet and damp.

Wouldn't recommend these for comfort or road holding. I would only buy these simply for tread life.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 3, 2016   
Given 66% while driving a Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0L VR X (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 3,000 average miles
these tyres are great for every day drives. wet grip is not great, because of that I would not buy them again other wise great tyre for the price.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 16, 2015