Nokian WR D4

The Nokian WR D4 is a Premium Touring Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Nokian WR D3 and this tyre has been replaced by the Nokian WR Snowproof.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 84%
Road Feedback 80%
Handling 79%
Wear 67%
Comfort 85%
Buy again 74%
Snow Grip 93%
Ice Grip 79%

Tyre review data from 61 tyre reviews averaging 81% over 467,743 miles driven.

The WR D4 is ranked 28th of 39 Winter Premium Touring tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2019 ADAC 185/65 R15 Winter Tyre Test - 9th of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent in snow and ice, low fuel consumption
  • Negative - Relatively poor dry grip, high wear
  • Overall - Good
View Full Test >>

2018 ADAC Winter Tyre Test - 205/55 R16 - 10th of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Top marks in the snow and low fuel consumption
  • Negative - Relatively weak in the wet, high wear
View Full Test >>

2018 ACE All Season and Winter Tyre Test - 3rd of 12 tyres

View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
155/70 R13 75T   E B 68  
175/70 R13 82T   E B 68  
155/80 R13 79T   E B 68  
165/70 R14 81T   E B 68  
195/50 R15 82H   C B 69  
185/55 R15 86H   C B 68  
165/60 R15 77T   C B 68  
185/60 R15 88T   C A 68  
185/60 R15 84T   C A 68  
185/60 R15 88T   C B 68  
185/60 R15 84T   C B 68  
195/60 R15 92H   B B 69  
175/65 R15 84T   C B 68  
185/65 R15 92T   C A 68  
195/65 R15 95H   B B 69  
195/65 R15 91H   C B 69  
205/65 R15 99H   C B 69  
215/45 R16 90H   C B 69  
195/50 R16 88H   C B 69  
195/55 R16 91H   C B 69  
195/55 R16 87H   E B 69  
205/55 R16 91H   C B 69  
205/55 R16 91T   C B 69  
205/55 R16 91H   E B 69  
205/55 R16 91T   C A 69  
215/55 R16 97H   C B 69  
195/60 R16 89H   C B 69  
205/60 R16 92H   E A 69  
205/60 R16 92H   C A 69  
205/60 R16 96H   B A 69  
205/60 R16 96H   C B 69  
205/60 R16 92H   C B 69  
215/60 R16 99H   C B 69  
205/65 R16 95H   C B 69  
215/65 R16 102H   B A 69  
225/45 R17 94V   C A 69  
225/45 R17 94V   C B 69  
205/50 R17 93V   C A 69  
205/50 R17 93H   C A 69  
225/50 R17 98H   C A 69  
225/50 R17 98V   C A 69  
215/55 R17 98H   C B 69  
225/55 R17 97H   E B 69  
225/55 R17 97H   C B 69  
215/60 R17 96H   C A 69  
225/40 R18 92V   C B 69  
225/45 R18 95V   C A 69  
245/45 R18 100V   C B 69  
225/50 R18 95H   E B 69  
225/50 R18 99H   C B 69  
195/55 R20 95H   B B 69  

Questions and Answers for the Nokian WR D4

2018-04-30 - I have 2017 My WR D4 (195/55/16) winter tires on my Honda CR Z sports model. Can I keep on using them for the summer season at the average temperature of btw 25-35 Celcius? What is the max temperature?

There is no maximum temperature for the WR D4, they are heat tested like all other tyres. That said, the compound will be much less effective at warmer temperatures, especially in the wet so it is not advised to use them in the summer months.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


WR D4 Prices

Size Price Range  
195/65 R15 £44.80 - £74.70 (16 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £63.73 - £87.00 (22 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/60 R16 £65.97 - £93.70 (21 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £81.80 - £180.50 (21 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 34 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Nokian WR D4 Reviews

Given 92% while driving a Chevrolet aveo (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 1,500 average miles
When you decide to buy winter tyres , you must know that its made for snow and winter conditions. This means that you will drive at wet roads with speed 20% less than you drive with your summer tyres (especially at turns). This is an excellent tyre for snow . This is a tyre which make your driving easylly at difficult snow and icy conditions. You dont have to expect from this tyre to have handling on wet or dry turns as your summer tyre because you never expect from your summer tyre to climb on a 10% road covered with snow..... + traction on snow + handling on snow + braking distance on snow + buy them again (please nokian dont do that!!! i learn that you will change them with snowproof which are not better than wrd4) - fuel consumption (+ 0.5 lt/ 100km from my summer tyres)
37 - tyre reviewed on March 13, 2021   
Given 96% while driving a BMW 3 series (205/55 R16 Q) on a combination of roads for 7,000 spirited miles
Very impressive. After a winter season with the WR D4, i can say that they are amazing. I have a sport style driving and they help me get out of limited situation, where if i slide, my car was crashed. A little bit too soft for speed cornering but i think the problem is from the size, because in the winter i use 205/55/16 and i can't compare them with de 245/40/18 that i use in the summer time. The best winter tires!! I will buy them anytime!
25 - tyre reviewed on March 8, 2016   
Given 91% while driving a Alfa Romeo (205/55 R16 T) on mostly town for 0 spirited miles
Very good winter tyre, excellent comfort, great on snow, and more important for me great on rain and dry.
21 - tyre reviewed on April 12, 2016   
Have you driven on the Nokian WR D4 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Nokian WR D4? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Nokian WR D4 >

Latest Nokian WR D4 Reviews

Given 79% while driving a Renault Clio 1.4 16v (195/65 R15 T) on mostly town for 10,000 average miles
Every one has something to say about wearing off too fast. This is not true. I drove them for 5 winters and full 2 summer seasons. They wore close to 4 mm marker. The issue was on ice grip. But can complain. Buy again.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 13, 2021   
Given 82% while driving a BMW 320d efficient dynamics (205/60 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 2,500 spirited miles
These tires have been surprising me every day since I got them fitted to my BMW F30 320d EfficientDinamics LCI. What I liked most about these tires was by far the comfort levels. They absorb the bumps better than the Continentals and Bridgestones I have tried and they are also very quiet. Also, my fuel efficiency seem to have gotten a bit better since fitting these tires. As dry/wet performance, for a tire that is so good in the snow I have to give it first place. The feedback is good, the car does not seem understeery, nor oversteery and it is very predictable. Overall, this is still one of the best tyre choices for winter driving especially in the sizes 16-19 inch. The price performance can't get any better and these tires don't make compromises.
1 - tyre reviewed on January 12, 2021   
Want the best tyre for real world driving? Watch this!
Given 74% while driving a Volkswagen Jetta 1.4 TSI (195/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 15,500 average miles
I've fitted these tyres now for the forth season. Firs 3 seasons they were great. In the dry - good as any other winter tyre, wet - ok, stable enough so that you don't understear in every corner, snow grip was just excelant! I've driven them through a heavy snow storm, about 10-20cm of snow on the highway and no problems. The problems started this year, I've noticed problems with wet grip. I have to be verry careful how fast I come into a corner (especially if the toad is already old and slipary as it is) on a wet road, because the tyres break lose verry fast and u end up understearing. Wear after about 25K km is verey good, in my opiniom. On front tyres (now feeted on the back) I have a bit less than 6 mm of thread left and on the back tyres (now on the front) I have about 6,5mm. Verry confortable tyre, quiet, as a winter tyre can be haha, and deals with bumps in the road verry well. Generaly verry good tyres, but I won't buy them again because of the lack of wet grip. And another "problem" that I find is that I have to balance them every year when I fit them for the winter. That's probably because of the softer compond.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 14, 2020   
Given 53% while driving a (215/60 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
Very bad on wet roads. Not buying again
5 - tyre reviewed on February 6, 2020   
Given 76% while driving a SEAT LEON 1.8TSI (225/40 R18) on mostly town for 3,000 spirited miles
Used for 2 months. First I can say that these tires are really quiet. Snow handling is great, I was driving in a snow storm on a highway and felt very safe. Haven’t tested too much icy roads yet, but seems to be okay by the first impression.
Sometimes tends to be searching for a path on a straight road, need to adjust with the steering wheel. But not too bad, considering the 225 width.
Dry grip is average, wet grip is bit loose, powerful FWD car cannot put the torque onto the tarmac, gets wheel spin little too easy. Although aquaplaning is great, deep thread works well.
3 - tyre reviewed on December 3, 2019   
Given 87% while driving a SEAT Ibiza FR SC 1.2 TSI (215/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
See my winter review: https://youtu.be/5xcEHoJ_Sd0

Although there are possibly better winter tyres suited to the British climate, I really wanted to try out the Nokian WR D4 in snow, so was hopeful for a cold winter.

I've had the tyres on from November to March and I've used them in a range of temperatures from sub zero to the mild winter days we've had this time round

My initial reactions when I first had them fitted and it was mild, was that I felt the car frequently understeer on country road corners - obvious, I guess, as there's less rubber on the road. I'm not a particularly fast driver, but I did have to change my driving style slightly whilst cornering.

When the temperature dropped though these tyres felt amazing. Especially 4°c and below the soft compound really gripped the road. I noticed on frosty and icy mornings that the grip level was superior to my summer tyres.

Then it snowed. Wow! I almost felt like I was driving in my summer tyres on a bone dry road. The Nokians gripped the road to get my up steep hills without a problem, the breaking response was amazing as the car easily slowed or stopped and just general driving in the snow felt normal.

These tyres gave me so much confidence in the snow and, having a young child, I felt safe.

They're definitely going back on next winter.
8 - tyre reviewed on March 18, 2019   
Given 96% while driving a Opel Corsa C (175/65 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 1,800 average miles
I drove Nokian WR D4 on 14inch wheels for more than 2500 km (all season) and i am very satisfy from the tires, about their feedback on dry and snowy roads, especially on snow when i had no problems with grip or the most important braking. after 2500 km i still got 7 - 7.5 mm of thread on my tires, i higly recomend WR D4 especially because of the price/performance ratio, and their silent wall technology which makes them very quit tyre even on 120km/h speed on high way....
12 - tyre reviewed on March 8, 2019   
Given 87% while driving a Citroën C5 (225/55 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
If you use that tyre with correct pressure, you can not complain about any other items and no need to look for any other tyres for winter. I had lost first 4mm after 9000 km by 32 psi. Then i increased the pressure to 35 psi and lost other 3 mm after 14.000 km. For wet, dry and snow i cannot offer any other tyre since i had almost used 12 different tyres in winters and covered more than 200k km. for ice, performance is a little bit behind of UG and Alpin.
17 - tyre reviewed on February 8, 2019   
Given 84% while driving a Renault clio iv 1.5 DCI 90ps (195/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 15,000 spirited miles
these tyres are brilliant for winter conditions and cold rain conditions i have them on my 2015 renault clio iv 1.5 dci i have put around 15.000 kilometers in snow and rain and dry conditions in 2 years the wear is fairly good they have about 70-60 % treadlife still on them .the only think that i dont like but i guess its the same in the winter tires is the noise they make and especially when braking . last but not least they are very very good in pooring rain, just 2 days ago i made 650 kms in 1 day in pooring rain almost all day they eat through the water like nothing they grip the road and make you feel safe.
2 - tyre reviewed on January 27, 2019   
Given 69% while driving a Hyundai i30 (225/40 R18 V) on mostly country roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Dry: Very good steering response and grip

Wet: Easy to oversteer with a FWD car, you can break the tyres loose with a hard pull on the steering wheel and allow you to drift through corners nicely. In short, the wet grip is not very good, a lot of wheel spin when accelerating fast, and the tyres can start slipping in corners quickly without warning but you can keep steering, no understeer.

Snow: Very good in snow, but much better in deep snow than on thin layers of snow or frozen snow.

Comfort: Pretty pleasant ride, dampens vibrations well but they're a little too noisy at any speed (mostly when wet)

Wear rate: Pretty bad, probably due to the very soft compound and aggressive pattern.

Conclusion: Very fun tyres to drive, but not the safest in the wet.
8 - tyre reviewed on January 26, 2019   
Audi (205/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
The tires i bought, NOKIAN WRD 4, for winter have excelent adhesion on snow, when i drive i can move the car easily without forcing it. I can barelly hear the tires noise on the steet and i am really pleased of.Their adhesion give me confidence an safety on the road.
1 - tyre reviewed on December 4, 2018   
Given 99% while driving a Opel insignia (225/55 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 15,000 miles
The tyres work perfectly in 30cm snow,on ice and i rain.They are free of sound I recommend them
0 - tyre reviewed on December 1, 2018