Continental VikingContact 7

The Continental VikingContact 7 is a Premium Touring Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Continental VikingContact 6 and this tyre has been replaced by the Continental VikingContact 8.

Dry Grip 64%
Wet Grip 66%
Road Feedback 58%
Handling 65%
Wear 59%
Comfort 87%
Buy again 71%
Snow Grip 90%
Ice Grip 81%

Tyre review data from 11 tyre reviews averaging 71% over 69,400 miles driven.

The VikingContact 7 is ranked 53rd of 64 Winter Premium Touring tyres.

In Depth Tyre Comparisons

Latest Tyre Test Results

2023 Studless Friction Winter Tyre Test - 1st of 8 tyres

  • Overall - The VikingContact7, despite being one of the oldest tires on the market, still performs at the top. Following a third-place finish in last year's test of SUV sizes, Continental is once again number one. The tire manages to maintain steering grip even in really tight curves on ice. It also remains easy to control on snow with a stable rear without sliding tendencies under pressure. Despite its excellent characteristics on winter roads, Continental continues to convince in dry road conditions. The steering feel on asphalt is good; it handles understeering tests well and shows reasonable stopping distances on both wet and dry asphalt. Almost always being top three in every subtest earns it a well-deserved overall victory. The Continental is suitable for all types of winter needs.

    To summarize, the VikingContact7 tire by Continental is praised for its exceptional performance across various conditions, from ice and snow to dry asphalt, showcasing its suitability for diverse winter requirements.
View Full Test >>

2022/23 Tyre Reviews Studless Winter Tyre Test - 1st of 9 tyres

  • Positive - Excellent in all conditions, Best wet and dry handling lap times, shortest dry braking, very good wet braking, good in snow, best ice handling lap, very low noise levels and low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Average aquaplaning resistance.
  • Overall - The Continental was the best in the dry and had a small advantage in the wet grip tests, but did struggle in the deeper water of the two aquaplaning tests. It was excellent in the snow and ice, had the lowest internal noise and was comfortable, but of the top three tyres it did have the highest rolling resistance, but even that was just 3.1% off the best.

View Full Test >>

2022 ViBilagare Nordic SUV Winter Tyre Test - 3rd of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Good grip and good driving characteristics on all surfaces.
  • Negative - Slightly higher noise level than the best tires.
  • Overall - VikingContact7 has several victories from our tests of traditional passenger car tires in the bag. Now it collects a bronze medal.
    To adapt to the higher weight of the SUVs, Continental has made a stiffer tire with a harder rubber compound. It provides slightly less convincing driver properties on ice and snow, with longer sliding phases than we previously experienced from VC7. However, the level of grip is still good compared to the competition.
    The upside is that the tire in this larger dimension, with a more open pattern, handles aquaplaning really well. It also has fine stability on asphalt with maintained steering precision in the evasive maneuver tests.
    Never the best but often at the top, regardless of the surface, results a well-deserved podium.
View Full Test >>

2023 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2023 Studless Friction Winter Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 2022 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2022/23 Tyre Reviews Studless Winter Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 3rd: 2022 ViBilagare Nordic SUV Winter Tyre Test (235/55 R18)
  • 2021 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2021 Studless and Studded Winter Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2020 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: The Best Winter Tyres for 2020 (205/55 R16)
  • 1st: 2020 Vi Bilagare Nordic Friction Winter Tyre Test (205/60 R16)
  • 6th: 2020 Nordic and Studded Winter Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2019 Tyre Tests

  • 3rd: 2019 Studded Winter Tyre Test (225/50 R17)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    215/60 R17 100T XL   C E 72 11.87kgs

    Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Continental VikingContact 7. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Continental VikingContact 7 Reviews

    Given 63% while driving a BMW 5 Series 2007 (225/50 R17 T) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
    Best studless winter tyre i have ever had.
    Good allround. Low noise. Just take it a little easier on very wet tarmac, or very warm dry tarmac, as with all nordic winter tyres.

    Not as good as studded tyre on ice, say for example nokian hakka 8, but what tyre are??

    Dont know wear rate yet. Continental are usually worn down after 1, tops 2 years. So that is the bad side. Will report later.
    Helpful 80 - tyre reviewed on October 4, 2018
    Given 63% while driving a Jaguar I Pace (245/50 R20) on mostly town for 14,000 average miles
    Tires have mostly worn out after only 20,000 km. Unacceptable! They’re great running tires but lifespan is too short to recomnend.
    Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on February 19, 2023
    Given 88% while driving a Chevrolet silverado 1500 (275/55 R20) on mostly motorways for 8,000 average miles
    Have had these on my truck for 2 years now. Amazingly quiet, great ice/dry grip. No issues with wet grip at all so far. Only thing to note is tire wear. If you have a decent amount of dry/warmer driving these will wear (like any good winter tire) quite quick. Having to have winter tired on from Oct 1 to Apr 30 in the parts of BC i travel through yearly means i do a decent amount of dry/warmish driving. In 2 seasons i have lost 3-3.5/32nds of tread depth out of a starting 10/32nds. Also note my truck is quite heavy and that can only add to the wear (curb weight of 5300 lbs).
    Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on December 4, 2022
    Have you driven on the Continental VikingContact 7 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Continental VikingContact 7? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Continental VikingContact 7 >

    Latest Continental VikingContact 7 Reviews

    Given 90% while driving a Mazda 121 (225/45 R18) on mostly country roads for 2,000 average miles
    We have these tires on our electric mazda mx30 during winter in Sweden. Mostly girlfriend commuting 100km per day. Never had any issues on dry, wet, snowy or icy roads. She feel really confident during winter with these on and she drives like she stole the car most of the times. Good comfort and second winter with them and no excessive wear. Other than being pricey, no other downside. Recommend.
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on February 20, 2024
    Given 63% while driving a Mercury Grand marquis (255/40 R19) on mostly motorways for 1,000 easy going miles
    I scored a used set of VC7’s with only 200 miles on them. They still had the ink stripes on the treads. I have them mounted on my mercury grand marquis which is identical to a Ford crown Victoria, a rear wheel drive open diff 2 ton behemoth. Coming from all seasons that were down to the wear indicators, snow was a white knuckle ride. I moved to a rural area that averages freezing temps 4 months out of the year and has roads that aren’t plowed clean during snow fall. I am a little biased because of what I paid for these tires and how good they are coming from all seasons. My car is horrible in the snow but with the vc7’s I was able to climb up my steep driveway with 4 inches of fresh snow with little to no wheel spin. I am blown away by how well these snow tires work, especially on a car that is notoriously bad in snow. I will be switching back to my all seasons soon as the winter is over, so hopefully I can get a few seasons out of these tires. All in all even if I had to pay msrp for these tires I would buy them again. They are buttery smooth, cruise well, and are very quiet.
    Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on December 12, 2022
    What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 40% while driving a Mazda mx 5 (195/50 R16) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
    Snow grip on these tires is good - nearly as good as blizzak ws-xx, but ice grip is considerably worse than the blizzak. Dry grip however is awful. My 167hp mx-5 spun the tires when I downshifted and hit the gas to pass someone at 40mph - something I would have considered impossible. Buy these tires only if you most often drive in loose snow - anywhere else is not worth the loss in grip. They are quiet and soft riding, but will suck all the fun out of driving your mx-5/miata or any other sporty car.
    Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on October 8, 2022
    Given 80% while driving a Nissan altima (235/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 400 average miles
    Soft but stable handling. Very quiet and comfortable at highway speeds. Phenomenal snow and ice traction all over. Very quick braking even when ABS engages. Can carry quite a bit of speed into a turn before noticing a loss of traction. Even when traction is lost car is very controllable and will regain traction fairly quickly.
    Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on January 29, 2022
    Given 73% while driving a Lexus GX460 (265/60 R18) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
    As a snow tire these are unparalleled. To break traction on public roads I have to drive like an absolute maniac and they are very predictable once they lose traction. I've had these on a fwd hatchback and an AWD SUV and in four years I've encountered unintentional oversteer once on the road in my SUV and wife reports that she's never steered wide in her car. These tires are so good in snow they feel about as slippery as summer tires feel in the wet.
    Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on December 28, 2021
    Given 94% while driving a Mazda 3 Series (205/50 R17) on mostly town for 2,000 spirited miles
    I bought VK7's to replace all season tires that came with my used car purchase. The all-seasons had snow siping but had very poor acceleration traction and bad braking performance. After one snow storm, I purchased these and it couldn't have been more different. These tires seem to have more grip in snow than my all-season tires do in the damp. ABS hardly ever kicks in when braking and there has never been an issue accelerating from a light. I feel very confident in these tires and also have peace of mind when either I or my wife is driving knowing that the tires are safe in bad conditions. I will likely only purchase these tires going forward for all my future vehicles that need them.
    Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on December 7, 2021
    Given 79% while driving a Volvo C30 2.0L Petrol (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 20,000 average miles
    I have done about 20k km over the last 2 winters on my VC7s and I am pretty hay with them. they are really quiet and stable at highway speeds. I have not pushed their grip limit in the wet or dry very much but it takes a lot to get stuck with them. my only issue with them is the wear is not the greatest. tho i have to keep them on let into the spring because i run summer tires and don't want to get my self into trouble. my mom has had Michelin x ices on her car for the last 3 winters and they seem to have pretty minimal wear.
    Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on March 25, 2021