Michelin X Ice Snow

The Michelin X Ice Snow is a Premium Touring Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Michelin X Ice Xi3.

Dry Grip 81%
Wet Grip 83%
Road Feedback 77%
Handling 73%
Wear 86%
Comfort 86%
Buy again 90%
Snow Grip 96%
Ice Grip 84%

Tyre review data from 10 tyre reviews averaging 84% over 33,970 miles driven.

The X Ice Snow is ranked 29th of 64 Winter Premium Touring tyres.

In Depth Tyre Comparisons

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2023 Studless vs Studded Snow Tyre Test - 3rd of 8 tyres

  • Overall -

    Ice and Snow: Safe driving behavior on snow, very good steering on snow, general grip level on ice is good;

    Wet Conditions: Excellent extreme situation behavior, good steering on dry surfaces, understeers in wet conditions.

    .
View Full Test >>

2023 Studless Friction Winter Tyre Test - 4th of 8 tyres

  • Overall - The French friction tire has impressive longitudinal winter grip – that is, acceleration and braking. It has the best stopping distance on ice in the test, and the braking performance on snow also receives the highest rating.

    However, Michelin struggles in the curves where it does not like to be stressed with sudden steering movements or in tighter curves, responding with clear understeering.

    Instead, the tire exhibits good stability on bare ground, where the natural steering feel is also appreciated. However, the understeering balance persists under pressure, especially on wet asphalt.

    Michelin is for those who prioritize short stopping distances and a good driving experience in everyday situations over maximum cornering ability.
View Full Test >>

2022/23 Tyre Reviews Studless Winter Tyre Test - 1st of 9 tyres

  • Positive - Best aquaplaning resistance and very good in the wet with excellent handling, best ice braking and very good on ice, good in all the snow tests, very good in the dry. Low noise, high levels of comfort, lowest rolling resistance on test.
  • Negative - Average dry braking.
  • Overall - The Michelin couldn't quite match the Continental in the dry, but was essentially the same in the wet and had the best hydroplaning resistance of all the tyres on test. It was a few percent behind the Continental in the snow but equaled it on the ice. It was also quiet and comfortable and had the best rolling resistance of all the tyres tested.

View Full Test >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Michelin X Ice Snow

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Michelin X Ice Snow. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


YouTube Review

Top 3 Michelin X Ice Snow Reviews

Given 93% while driving a Fiat Panda 4 x4 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Previously owned the Michelin alpin 4a on a volkswagen tiguan. Fantastic tyres, Decided to choose the new version for my Fiat Panda cross. The x ice snow is an amazing tyre. It has been raining and snowing for the last month, i leave for work every morning in -10c and come home at night in -3c. Fresh snow, sludge, rain and ice. The tyre is amazing. I feel confident while driving In all conditions. Recently went offroading in a few mountain trails. Parked the car up and iced road, jumped out with the kids, and we could not walk without falling over, Completely iced over. I did not even realise there was ice, the tyres did not brake traction once.. Amazing tyres on ice, amazing. I have always used michelin , on all my cars. weather summer or winter. Never let me down.
Helpful 112 - tyre reviewed on December 5, 2020
Given 100% while driving a Buick Lacrosse (245/45 R19) on mostly town for 200 easy going miles
I purchased these tires for my 2014 Buick LaCrosse (FWD) in November 2022 just before the first significant snowfall of the North Dakota Winter. Since then we have had and continue to have plenty of snow and icy roads. They have performed way beyond my expectations and easily navigate through 4-6 inches of fresh snow. Our streets quickly become icy with packed snow and the tires proved themselves with a sure grip. I don't try to go where it is obvious a 4 wheel drive is necessary, but if you respect Mother Nature and realize your limits, you will be very happy with these tires.
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on December 16, 2022
Given 76% while driving a Alfa Romeo 159 (215/50 R18) on mostly country roads for 50 average miles
Fitted the x ice snow as they were one of few nordic winter tyres available in my size. The other one was Hakkapeliitta R5. I have had hakkas before with great success, but decided to go for michelin this time because of better longevity, since these alfas are known for eating front tires. The x ices was 1250 euros fitted on car.

Where i live there are either tarmac or ice. Rarely snow. And the snow get to slush, and then ice again. So that is the conditions these tyres are tested on.

Asphalt, dry or wet. Very reassuring, and calm feeling trough the tires. Good grip, with early signals when pushing the car too much. The general comfort and rolling is great....maybe a little bit more noise than i expected. More than pirellis fr's for example. But i think that is to blame for the knobby, tractor like tread pattern of the x-snows.

Ice.... terrible! I don't know if that is just me being used to studded nordic tyres, but even the studless hakka r3 i remember was better on ice than these. I suspect that has to to with harder compound. That is just not for michelin, but a trend that seems to be in almost all tyres nowadays. Maybe because of high torque cars. I miss the really soft rubbery tyres for like 10 years ago. I have a car with bf ko2' and they are just a little bit worse than x ice snow on the same hill.

I know x ice snow was best with r5 in ice grip, so don't take my opinion for granted, but at least on black ice of western norway, there was not much grip to be found.

But then the snow came, at least for 2 days. And wow! I understand the name x ice SNOW. The pattern just paks down the snow and grip. No need to explain. Other than a 4x4 volvo struggled where i drove straight up a snowy hill with fwd.

So these tyres are great at snow and overall driving on asphalt. Wet asphalt are my 80% driving so that is good. The only drawback are grip on ice. But maybe my only option for that should have been the x ice north 4 studded. But studless tyres is because i don't have to pay stud taxes in the cities.

After 300 miles the tyres settled more in i can feel. Will try on ice again.

Will report later on wear.
Helpful 11 - tyre reviewed on December 3, 2023
Have you driven on the Michelin X Ice Snow tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin X Ice Snow? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Michelin X Ice Snow >

Latest Michelin X Ice Snow Reviews

Given 78% while driving a Subaru 04 baja (225/60 R17) on a combination of roads for 700 spirited miles
I've had these fitted to my 2013 Outback 3.6R for this snow season in northern Michigan. Unless the car is over bumper height in snow and at a dead stop, you can just keep driving. They are predictable on ice and will actually stop. Lateral behavior in the snow is extremely impressive and can carry frankly irresponsible speeds around corners. Steering feedback is decent. They're no summer tire but better than the General Altimax RT43s that they replaced on this set of wheels.
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on December 28, 2022
Given 87% while driving a Subaru Outback (225/65 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
Last year I replaced a set of Michelin x-ice xi2 with the x-ice snow. I have found the x-ice snows have more grip in the snow and ice and particularly more lateral grip than the xi2. While still a fairly quiet and comfortable winter tire, the x-ice snows are less so than the xi2. However, I am happy to make that trade in a winter tire. So far wear has been excellent.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on October 11, 2022
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 96% while driving a Audi 1.8T Quattro (205/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 3,000 easy going miles
Extremely comfortable and pretty quiet. Very good on snow. Breaking on ice still feels little bit worse than Michelin X-Ice Xi2 I used before.
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on March 18, 2022
Tesla Model S (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Absolutely superb winter tire. As we near one of the snowiest winters in several years in northeast Ohio, I can say with confidence these are the best snow tires I’ve used. I was a Blizzak believer until these tires. And while the Blizzaks are still one of the best snow tires available, the Michelin X-Ice Snow outperforms them in every way. Road noise, while present, is is unobtrusive, especially for a vehicle as quiet as a Tesla. The ride was firm and confident, and slightly better than the OEM Goodyear Touring that came with the car. Range dropped slightly, but not excessively. Wet grip was better than the OEM Goodyears as well. As for wear, I expect to get 3-4 winter seasons (18,000-24,000 miles), which I think is good for a winter tire driven “spiritedly” on a car as heavy as a Tesla. I will absolutely buy again.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on March 11, 2022
Tesla Model S (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Absolutely superb winter tire. As we near one of the snowiest winters in several years in northeast Ohio, I can say with confidence these are the best snow tires I’ve used. I was a Blizzak believer until these tires. And while the Blizzaks are still one of the best snow tires available, the Michelin X-Ice Snow outperforms them in every way. Road noise, while present, is is unobtrusive, especially for a vehicle as quiet as a Tesla. The ride was firm and confident, and slightly better than the OEM Goodyear Touring that came with the car. Range dropped slightly, but not excessively. Wet grip was better than the OEM Goodyears as well. As for wear, I expect to get 3-4 winter seasons (18,000-24,000 miles), which I think is good for a winter tire driven “spiritedly” on a car as heavy as a Tesla. I will absolutely buy again.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on March 6, 2022
Given 86% while driving a Chevrolet Avalanche (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 20 average miles
I continue to be impressed with these tires, they are the best winter tires I have ever owned.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on December 30, 2021