Bridgestone Blizzak LM005

The Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 is a Premium Touring Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 82 tyre reviews averaging 72% over 567,481 miles driven, and 43 tests with an average result of 3rd.

Dry Grip 79%
Wet Grip 86%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 72%
Wear 62%
Comfort 75%
Buy again 63%
Snow Grip 74%
Ice Grip 62%

First On MarketMarch 2019
Wheel Size14 - 22"
Width155 - 345mm
Profile30 - 70
Rolling ResistanceA - D
Wet GripA - B
Noise (dB)70 - 75
Winter Rating3PMSF Rated

The Blizzak LM005 is ranked 52nd of 66 Winter Premium Touring tyres.

This tyre replaced the Bridgestone Blizzak LM001 EVO and this tyre has been replaced by the Bridgestone Blizzak 6.

In Depth Tyre Comparisons

Tests Included

43

Best Result

1st

Worst Result

15th

Average Result

3rd

Latest Tyre Test Results

2023 Tyre Reviews SUV Winter Tyre Test
3rd of 9 tyres
  • Very good in the wet, excellent aquaplaning resistance, very good in the snow, very low rolling resistance.
  • Average in the dry.
  • The Bridgestone matched the Hankooks overall result, but was slightly better in the wet, and slightly worse in the dry and snow, but it was more comfortable and had an even lower rolling resistance. The LM005 once again proves it's one of the best winter tyres on the market.
    .
View Full Test >>
2023 Tyre Reviews Winter Tyre Test
1st of 13 tyres
  • Best in wet handling and wet braking, good in the snow, high levels of comfort, very low rolling resistance.
  • Extended dry braking and dry handling, average aquaplaning resistance.
  • The Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 is an awesome tyre, it was the only tyre that could get close to the Continentals rolling resistance levels and was the best tyre in the wet and one of the best in the snow, with excellent noise and comfort levels. It wasn't the best in the dry, but as it finished so well in almost every other category, the LM005 is proving to still be one of the best winter tyres on the market.
View Full Test >>
2023/24 Tyre Reviews UHP Winter Tyre Test
5th of 6 tyres
  • Best in dry braking, best in the wet, good in snow.
  • High wear leading to expensive cost per 1000km driven, high rolling resistance.

  • .
View Full Test >>

2023 Tyre Tests

2022 Tyre Tests

2021 Tyre Tests

2020 Tyre Tests

2019 Tyre Tests

SizeFuelWetNoise
14 inch
165/70 R14 85 T XLCA70
175/65 R14 82 TCA71
185/60 R14 82 TCA70
15 inch
195/65 R15 91 HCA71
195/55 R15 85 HCA71
195/65 R15 91 TCA71
195/65 R15 95 T XLCA71
185/65 R15 92 T XLCA70
185/65 R15 88 TCA71
195/65R15 91 HCA71
195/65R15 95 T XLCA71
16 inch
205/55 R16 91 TCA71
205/60R16 96 H XLCA71
205/55R16 91 HCA71
215/60 R16 99 H XLCA71
205/60 R16 96 H XLAB72
205/60 R16 96 H XLAB72
215/70 R16 100 TCA71
205/60 R16 92 HCA71
205/55 R16 94 H XLCA71
205/55 R16 94 V XLCA71
205/60 R16 96 H XLCA71
205/55 R16 91 HCA71
215/70 R16 100 TCA71
17 inch
225/45R17 94 V XLCA72
225/45 R17 94 H XLCA71
225/60 R17 103 V XLCA71
215/45 R17 91 H XLCA71
225/45R17 94 V XLCA72
225/60 R17 99 HCA71
215/45 R17 91 H XLCA71
215/55R17 98 V XLCA72
215/55 R17 98 H XLCA71
225/50 R17 98 H XLBA70
235/65 R17 108 H XLBA72
235/65 R17 108 V XLBA72
215/45 R17 91 H XLCA71
225/50 R17 98 H XLBA70
225/50R17 98 V XLCA71
225/45 R17 91 HCA71
205/50 R17 93 H XLCA72
205/50 R17 93 H XLCA72
265/65R17 116 H XLBA72
225/45 R17 94 V XLCA71
215/55 R17 98 V XLCA71
225/60R17 99 HCA71
235/65R17 108 V XLBA72
215/55R17 98 V XLCA72
215/45 R17 91 V XLCA71
205/50 R17 93 V XLCA71
265/65 R17 116 H XLBA73
225/50 R17 98 H XLCA71
225/50 R17 98 V XLCA71
18 inch
235/60 R18 107 H XLCA72
245/40 R18 97 V XLCA72
255/35 R18 94 V XLCA73
225/40 R18 92 V XLCA72
245/45 R18 100 V XLCA72
245/45R18 100 V XLCA72
225/40 R18 92 V XLDA72
245/40 R18 97 W XLCA72
225/40 R18 92 V XLDA72
225/40R18 92 V XLCA72
235/60 R18 107 V XLCA72
225/40R18 92 V XLCA72
19 inch
235/35 R19 91 W XLCA72
20 inch
245/35 R20 95 W XLCA72
255/45 R20 105 V XLCA73
255/45 R20 101 TCB73
255/45 R20 101 TCB73
255/45 R20 105 V XLCB73
255/45 R20 105 V XLCB73
255/45 R20 105 V XLCB73
255/45 R20 101 TCB73
255/45 R20 101 TCB73
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Bridgestone Blizzak LM005. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
205/60 R16 £111.08 - £115.64 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £142.91 - £151.97 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £130.92 - £144.23 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 £157.48 - £161.86 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 58 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 Reviews

Given 69% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giulia 2.0, 200hp RWD (225/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 10,000 spirited miles
Dry : average handling. Wet : very good and safe. Snow : i had michelins pilot Alpin 5 before and with my car they handle way better the snow. Wear : OK when driving in a "normal" way, i tried to have a bit of fun in an empty parking lot and i destroyed the fronts prety quickly. Comfort : noisier than the michelins PA5 and they vibrate a bit and increase noise betwen 80 - 100 Kph. For my next car (toyota GR86) i ordered conti's ts870p.
Helpful 104 - tyre reviewed on October 26, 2022
Given 31% while driving a Dacia Duster 4x4 (215/65 R16) on mostly country roads for 3,000 average miles
For a premium tyre, these are the absolute worst purchace I ever made. They lasted around 5,000km before they hit the 4mm legal snow mark and had to be thrown away. The grip and handling was at best average. Why all the hype is beyond me.
Helpful 62 - tyre reviewed on July 2, 2023
Given 32% while driving a Jeep Rengade (215/60 R17) on a combination of roads for 13,000 spirited miles
Good grip in the dry, considering it is a winter tyre. Awful grip in the wet, and wear rate is excessive. Noise is the worst of any tyre I have ever fitted; it is impossible to have a conversation with someone in the rear of the car without shouting, and noise gets progressively worse as speed increases. I'm surprised to read positive reviews of this tyre considering how poorly it performs overall. I'm not sure if I got a faulty batch but I will not buy Bridgestone tyres again. Will stick to Michelin or Yokohama in future.
Helpful 44 - tyre reviewed on November 30, 2023
Have you driven on the Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Bridgestone Blizzak LM005? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 >

Latest Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 Reviews

Given 86% while driving a Jaguar XF (245/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Very good grip on wet and snow, but with premature wear. I recommend them
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on May 26, 2024
Given 59% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 8, 1.5 TSI (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 7,000 average miles
Dry, wet and snow grip were good while they were new. Unfortunately after only two winter seasons (approx. 10 000 km) tires became hard and performance on wet started to be really bad. I’ll have to replace them before next winter. Tires were never driven during warm weather which is why I am very surpsired with such a bad degradation. Not going to buy them again.
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on April 26, 2024
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 91% while driving a Mazda mx 5 (195/50 R16) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Positive point: excellent on wet and cold roads, never stuck in the snow even on passes, excellent wear, very good feeling, I love this tire.
Negative point: like all winter tires, in the dry and in hot temperatures it's average but at the same time they are not made for that.
Redemption? Yes but the prices have increased
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on April 19, 2024
Given 82% while driving a BMW 330 Msport (255/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
This was my tyre of choice after seeing some reviews on snow. I must say it delivered in snow as promised on a hill and slopes it really was good to drive with predictable control. I had to stop on slope and I managed to resume with not too much slip on a RWD off course DSC was OFF and gentle throttle control once it moves you can have some fun on snow. In a dry comfortable tyre for long journeys a bit noisy over 160 km/h, also very stable at 210 km/h in dry. In wet it’s stable and very good under breaking. On twisty roads I was surprised how good it was for a winter tyre, ton of grip and very stable on long fast medium corners and fast twisty roads.
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on April 15, 2024
Given 40% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giulietta (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
During my first kms my tought was: OMG, they are defective! It was like driving on the soap with zero road feedback.
I couldn't return them back to the tire dealer (he already had my money), so I had to get used to them.
Dry grip is a 6 during cold days, it becomes a 4 at the end of the winter when the temperatures gets higher.. especially in Italy.
Wet grip and aquaplaning were highly satisfactory, maybe the only bright spot.
I haven't tried them so much in the snow (thank you climate change!)..
As anticipated, road feedback and handling were terrible: they are not sporty tires, at all.
The wear rate was disappointing, too. After 24.000 km they were burned down, even without pushing as hard as I wished (see the "non sporty" comment above).
However, thanks to their fast wear you can get rid of them soon and buy some different tires.
I have now the Conti WC TS870P and they are muuuch better for me! Maybe I could recommend the Blizzak only if it rains a lot, like everyday.
Helpful 11 - tyre reviewed on March 26, 2024
Given 79% while driving a BMW M340I X Drive (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 9,000 easy going miles
Bought the tires as dedicated winter set, 225/45 / 255/40 R18. After one season i can highly recommend the tires for daily driving. They have excellent driving comfort, fuel efficiency and also are very quiet. Although they produce whistling/howling sound at certain speeds and pavement type, but its barely noticeable. Snow grip is very good and predictable, driving on ice is bit problematic though...but thats a general problem. On dry and wet the tire has good grip, and is pretty predictable but there is a certain level of numbness as to be expected from winter tire. After 9000 miles tires are showing light wear along the outer edges of tire tread. Only concern would be high speed cornering and stability. Around 140-50kmh you get a feeling of body roll although the grip seems to be okay, likely caused by higher tire profile and the fact its a dedicated winter tire. In a straight line car starts to feel unstable around 200-210 km/h.
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on March 12, 2024
Given 34% while driving a Toyota RAV4 (225/65 R17) on mostly town for 6,000 easy going miles
These tires are terrible. Down to 3mm in just 10 000 km on a Hybrid Toyota Rav4. They got very hard and very loud in two winters. Dangerous on snow and ice. Would not recommend.
Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on February 20, 2024
Given 92% while driving a Honda 1.6 I DTEC (225/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Very good grip, handling and comfort, both on dry and wet.
Responsive enough when in need of pushing hard while overtaking - little difference vs. summer tires.
But what surprised me most, was the shockingly low noise inside the car, including at high speeds.
I barely hear them, even less than my old Turanza summer tires.
And of course, much better than Nokian WR-D4 winter they replaced.
Seems that the smoother curved lines of the tread pattern have their role in keeping tires quiet.
Very pleased with them, highly recommended.
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on February 15, 2024
Given 77% while driving a Toyota Celica VVTi 140 (195/55 R16) on mostly town for 3,700 spirited miles
I bought this tyre for my sporty coupe with keeping my country's weather in mind which is moderate winter with very few snowy days and quickly melting snow, so ice and snow was not a priority, yet I encountered heavy snow many times, and the tyre didn't fail, took me up in my steep drive way on first try all the three times I had snow on it, even proved itself against sleet. Great tyre, completely delete the wet road factor, however when its dry and not even that cold it shows its weakness, its not a sport tyre after all, keep that in mind. Wear seems good, but its too early to judge, noise is acceptable, on the same level of my summer sport tyres (GY Eagle F1 Assy.). At this point, I would buy the tyre again, I hope it will last long tho, because in Europe this tyre is very expensive and hard to find in good size.
Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on February 6, 2024
Given 34% while driving a Volkswagen Taigo (205/55 R17) on mostly motorways for 8,000 average miles
I bought a new Taigo in 2/2022 and I bought a brand new Blizak LM 005. This is a 2nd winter season of this tyre. Yes, the tyre is good in wet, but the tyre is disaster when I am accelerating or when I am accelerating and turning from the side road.
Snow handling - disaster!

I am very disappointed. I have also Barum Polaris on Golf mk8 and the same road at the same weather - no issue.
Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on January 31, 2024
Given 91% while driving a Audi (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
This is my third winter of riding them and they are still absolutely brilliant. I live in an area in Germany with lots of hills and steep climbs and winters are 50% snow and 50% rain. Under these conditions the tires work absolutely perfectly and are always predictable. Especially compared to the Pirellis sottozero that I had before, the Bridgestone is the complete solution for sporty drivers in winter.
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on December 28, 2023
Given 47% while driving a SEAT Toledo (185/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
First winter the tyres were good. The next one almost crashed twice. Almost no grip on snow and ice. Wet was acceptable, but still bad. For 3 winters (probably ~15000 km), already below 4mm tread. I'll never buy them again.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on November 20, 2023