Continental WinterContact TS 870

The Continental WinterContact TS870 is the latest winter tyre from Continental. The new tyre offers 5 percent better ice braking and snow handling, 7 percent better mileage, and general improvement in the dry and wet when compared to the TS860, meaning the TS870 should be another class leading Central European winter tyre.

Tyre review data from 14 tyre reviews averaging 85% over 57,810 miles driven, and 11 tests with an average result of 2nd.

Dry Grip 88%
Wet Grip 95%
Road Feedback 74%
Handling 84%
Wear 87%
Comfort 86%
Buy again 89%
Snow Grip 87%
Ice Grip 77%

First On MarketFebruary 2021
Wheel Size14 - 19"
Width155 - 225mm
Profile40 - 70
Rolling ResistanceC - D
Wet GripB - C
Noise (dB)69 - 72
Winter Rating3PMSF Rated

The WinterContact TS 870 is ranked 20th of 66 Winter Premium Touring tyres.

This tyre replaced the Continental WinterContact TS 860.

In Depth Tyre Comparisons

Tests Included

11

Best Result

1st

Worst Result

7th

Average Result

2nd

Latest Tyre Test Results

2023 ADAC 17 inch Winter Tyre Test
1st of 15 tyres
  • Precise and safe properties on dry roads, absolutely safe properties on wet roads, absolutely safe properties on winter roads, high predicted mileage.
  • No particular weaknesses.
  • The Continental WinterContact TS 870 tyre offers strong performance across the board. On dry roads, it provides good steering feedback, precision, and safety reserves, along with above-average braking. In wet conditions, it excels in all sub-criteria, including short braking distances and good aquaplaning behavior. On winter roads, it performs slightly above average in braking and traction, with good handling and large safety reserves. Environmentally, it has a very good predicted mileage, good wear, and scores well in efficiency due to its low weight and fuel consumption. Overall, it has a clearly good environmental performance.
View Full Test >>
2022/23 Tyre Reviews Winter Tyre Test
2nd of 9 tyres
  • Excellent in the wet, very good snow braking and traction, good dry handling, low rolling resistance.
  • Average in car noise, average snow handling.
  • The Continental WinterContact TS870 might be one of the older new tyres in this test, but you can never count Continental out of a winter tyre test, and the TS870 had an exceptional run of results. It was the best tyre in the wet overall, being one of the few tyres which excelled in both the wet grip tests and the deeper water tests of aquaplaning. In the snow it was better longitudinally than laterally, which helps it in the overall results as braking is the highest weighted scoring, and it also was good during dry handling even if it struggled a little in dry braking, PLUS had a relatively low rolling resistance. Very impressive tyre, another one worthy of being highly recommended.

View Full Test >>

SizeFuelWetNoise
14 inch
165/70 R 14 85 T XLCC69
165/70 R 14 81 TDC69
175/65 R 14 82 TDB70
175/65 R 14 82 TDC69
185/60 R 14 82 TDB70
175/65 R 14 86 T XLCB69
175/65 R 14 86 T XLCC71
175/65 R 14 82 TCC71
185/70 R 14 88 TCB69
15 inch
195/55 R 15 85 HCB70
195/65 R 15 91 TCB70
195/65 R 15 91 TCB70
195/65 R 15 95 T XLCB70
195/65 R 15 91 HCB70
195/55 R 15 85 TCB70
185/65 R 15 92 T XLCB70
185/65 R 15 88 TCB70
16 inch
205/55 R 16 94 V XLCB70
205/60 R 16 96 H XLCB70
205/60 R 16 96 H XLCB70
205/55 R 16 91 TCB70
205/55 R 16 91 HCB70
215/60 R 16 95 HCB70
215/60 R 16 95 HCB70
215/60 R 16 99 H XLCB72
205/55 R 16 91 TCB70
205/55 R 16 91 HCB70
205/55 R 16 94 V XLCB70
205/55 R 16 94 H XLCB70
205/60 R 16 92 TCB70
205/55 R 16 94 H XLCB70
17 inch
225/45 R 17 91 HCB70
225/45 R 17 94 V XLCB70
225/45 R 17 94 H XLCB70
225/50 R 17 98 H XLCB70
215/45 R 17 91 H XLCB70
225/50 R 17 98 V XLCB70
215/45 R 17 91 V XLCB70
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Continental WinterContact TS 870 >>

Questions and Answers for the Continental WinterContact TS 870

2022-08-10 - Hello! Need a littel help from the experts, i have a 2022 Hyundai Kona and i need to fit it with winter tires, (205/60 r16) What should i buy the 870 or the 870P? Who is better in the snow/ wet snow district?

I would buy the TS870, not the P as that is more performance orientated.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
185/65 R15 £107.29 - £107.29 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/65 R15 £93.79 - £97.10 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £124.49 - £124.49 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £149.53 - £149.53 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 10 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Continental WinterContact TS 870 Reviews

Given 100% while driving a Skoda (205/55 R16) on mostly town for 100 easy going miles
From the first few meteres, it felt just smoother. Better rolling feeling. I purchased a brand new Skoda Scala, which came with a set of Bridgestone Turanza T005. The feeling is far superior than anything I've driven in the past. It felt I had better grip and feel of the road on wet when I picked up the car in the evening, rather than on the same road when it was dry. 400 euros but worth it every penny. I feel protected and confident with them. I'll update after the first snowfall/ice of the season.
Helpful 115 - tyre reviewed on October 7, 2021
Given 69% while driving a Volkswagen (B8) 1.4 TSI (150 Hp) DSG ACT (185/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
it was really nice, but on the hard snow, hill climbing is not really good, I am not sure about any other tires that can climb, all roads was good but I can park my to my home because it can't climb the %20-30 hill to my home
Helpful 39 - tyre reviewed on April 18, 2023
Given 95% while driving a Volkswagen GOLF 7,5 Estate 4motion 2,0 TDI 150 Hp (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Very quiet, and very soft in drive feeling. My opinion the adaptive DSG transmission have a decent problem with them, still stays up and down shifting the gearbox. However the exact numbers say, that the performance against predecessor (Winter Contact T 860 ) is much better. But, the lazy feeling of driving remains...
Helpful 60 - tyre reviewed on November 21, 2021
Have you driven on the Continental WinterContact TS 870 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Continental WinterContact TS 870? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Continental WinterContact TS 870 >

Latest Continental WinterContact TS 870 Reviews

Given 90% while driving a SEAT Ibiza 1.0 TSI 115 (215/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 6,200 average miles
This was my first winter on these tyres. They replaced the Conti Winter Contact 850P, that lasted 5 winters and nearly 50000 km on italian country roads. I hadn't had the chance to drive on snow and ice during last winter, so I can't say anything about it.
I can say that 870 are more sport tourer oriented than the 850P and have a very good progressiveness. As for the previous 850P, on dry surfaces the grip is good, on wet the grip is excellent, wear is really good as well as fuel consumption. The price is quite high but Continental Winter tyres are always worthy from my experience. Comfort: the sidewall is a little bit stiffer than 850P, a very little noise on wet surface can be noticed. I would recommend these tyres.
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on May 12, 2024
Given 76% while driving a Volvo S80 2.4 petrol (185/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 500 easy going miles
Bought these as a lot of reviews recommended them and they were on sale. I am a bit disappointed to be honest - dry and wet grip is great and even in harder turns it never lost grip. BUT in snow and ice it is no better than a lot of the cheaper tires i have tried. Have had wheel spin several times when driving off on snow/ice (and no, i do NOT have a lead-foot). My pair of Fulda Kristall Montero 3 i had previously were far better in that regard.
There is very little tire noise. Fuel consumption seems to be about average.

I paid about 67 euro for each TS 870 which was very cheap. I would probably buy the Fulda again rather than the Conti.
Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on January 9, 2024
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Saab Automobile SAAB 9 3 OG Coupe 2.3T (195/65 R15) on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
195/65 R15 91T tyre weight is 7.85kg. Made in Romania.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on November 16, 2023
Given 97% while driving a Skoda (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
Very impressive tyre. It performs excellent in virtually every category, whatever condition. It is very comfortable but still very precise with clear feedback. Excellent in the dry and wet - unforunately there was not much opportunity to test ist on snow and ice since there was none... so, I have to skip that part for a later review. But for now I think this is the best tyre I have ever had. It seems Continental really managed to make a tyre that has not any flaws whatsoever and outperforms in every category.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on April 29, 2023
Given 87% while driving a Mazda 3 2020 Skyactive X (205/60 R16) on mostly motorways for 10,000 average miles
They seem to work well in all conditions I threw at them in and around Czech Republic. Perfect in snowy conditions in the mountains as well as in the wet. Road feedback and dry grip is good for a winter tyre. Wear seems to be pretty good, with 6+ and 8 mm tread depth left after 2 seasons (fronts and rears swapped every year, but one pair got worn down a bit more this year). I'd buy these again as they seem to be a perfect combination for most winter conditions around Europe.
Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on April 14, 2023
Given 83% while driving a Volkswagen Golf MK6 1.6 tdi (205/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 12,000 average miles
In the wet the car is really confident, even if temperatures drop below 0C degrees Or during snow or mud on the road surface. Dry road grip is excellent, but in high speed corners it can give you the feeling like the car losing its grip. Tested on icy snow and grip was expected from the tests and reviews.
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on February 11, 2023
Given 89% while driving a Hyundai i30 (205/60 R16) on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
I am totally surprised how these tyres handle standing water. No chance for aquaplanning, car feels super stable.
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on February 2, 2023
Given 88% while driving a BMW 320 d (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 10 spirited miles
I bought this tyre after I watched the video about the best winter tires for 2021. I was very pleased with how this tyre performed in all conditions, especially regarding the wet grip and wet braking. Subjectively speaking, it didn't gave me the feeling that I'm going to loose grip or anything. It just made driving in any conditions seem very safe and predictable. I also had the chance to test this Conti on a road covered in 10 cm of soft, fresh snow, and since I'm driving a rear wheel drive car, it made for an extremely fun experience. The traction on that surface was certainly not the best, because it was struggling for grip, but the tires did their job. Although I was basically in a continuous slide, it was manageable and predictable. Regarding the dry grip, I have absolutely nothing to complain, it performed very well in dry braking and dry handling. Moving on to the comfort of the tyre, I found it pretty good subjectively, but, since I drive a 19 inch tyre in the summer season, I assume the 16 inch Conti is supposed to feel more comfortable that any other tyre on a 19 inch rim. Overall, very pleased with how this tyre performed. For the 2022/2023 winter I just bought the Bridgestone Blizzak LM005, since it was the test winner. I'm looking forward to seeing if I actually find it better than the Conti. Other than that, I also highly recommend this tyre!
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on November 5, 2022
Given 73% while driving a Land Rover Evoque (255/45 R20) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Fitted to an Evoque used for ski season trips and UK commuting. Fast but not aggressive driving. Norfolk B roads that are greasy and cold and damp, high speed motorway cruising, snow covered alpine passes for skiing. With the bulk of the Evoque, these tyres didn't stand the test of the UK greasy cold and damp roads. I was very surprised for significant understeer on cold mornings. Understeer? No, that's not honest! More like not following an apex and ending on the other side of the road before traction resumed. Physics can't be beaten. It is a heavy car. However, in all other scenarios, it was excellent during winter months for handling, good enough in the snow. This review is based on initial impressions on brand new tyres, but in the same winter I swapped to a Q5 on Blizzaks and the Bridgestones were 10000000% better. I wish that Jonathan might better consider UK road surface conditions for his winter reviews because the Continentals, Germans, have far better road surfaces of a different construction material and these differences seem to hugely influence his excellent tyre reviews. Likewise, "wet" tests are good but who drives fast on busy UK roads with significant standing water? I'd prefer subjective analysis of damp and greasy road surfaces personally. Thanks :-)
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on October 14, 2022
Given 87% while driving a Ford Fiesta (175/65 R14) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Phenomenal grip on snow and great performance on ice. Perfect choice for deciding to go for some snow/ice dwelling in small cars (175/65/R14 in my case). Used it in complete pour with gigantic water streaks on near motorway speeds for more then 3 hours, no aquaplanning whatsoever, excellent wet performance. Just perfect on soft snow, never bogged down once in a 500 mile trip with big uphills, stops and goes in snow. Only stuck once for a brief time on an uphill with heavy ice. Obviously, in heavy ice, not a studded tire. But one of the better, if not best, winter tire on market. Noise levels are much better than average for a winter tire. Dry handling and performance is also very decent, but wear is significantly increased. Fuel efficiency though, not great. Definitely will buy again.
Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on February 2, 2022