Continental WinterContact TS 860

The Continental WinterContact TS 860 is a Premium Touring Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Continental WinterContact TS 850 and this tyre has been replaced by the Continental WinterContact TS 870.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 89%
Wet Grip 93%
Road Feedback 85%
Handling 88%
Wear 83%
Comfort 88%
Buy again 88%
Snow Grip 80%
Ice Grip 72%

Tyre review data from 41 tyre reviews averaging 85% over 358,171 miles driven.

The WinterContact TS 860 is ranked 17th of 39 Winter Premium Touring tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2020 ACE Winter Tyre Test - 4th of 9 tyres

  • Positive - Good handling in the dry and wet, low noise level.
  • Negative - Oversteer balance in the snow.
  • Overall - Recommended.
View Full Test >>

All Season vs Winter vs Nordic vs Studded Tyres - 1st of 4 tyres

View Full Test >>

2020 ADAC Winter Tyre Test - 205/55 R16 - 7th of 15 tyres

  • Positive - Very good in the wet, good on snow too.
  • Negative - Weakness in the dry.
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
155/70 R13 75T   E B 71 5.31kgs
165/70 R13 79T   E B 71 5.77kgs
155/80 R13 79T   E B 71 5.70kgs
185/55 R14 80T   E B 71 6.81kgs
165/60 R14 79T XL   E B 71 5.97kgs
185/60 R14 82T   C B 71 6.47kgs
155/65 R14 75T   E B 71 5.59kgs
165/65 R14 79T   E B 71 6.01kgs
175/65 R14 82T   E B 71 6.44kgs
175/65 R14 86T XL   E B 71 6.43kgs
185/65 R14 86T   E B 71 7.10kgs
165/70 R14 81T   C B 71 6.17kgs
175/70 R14 84T   E B 71 6.64kgs
175/70 R14 88T XL   C B 71 6.65kgs
185/70 R14 88T   C B 71 7.30kgs
175/80 R14 88T   C B 71 7.52kgs
195/50 R15 82H   E B 72 6.80kgs
195/50 R15 82T   E B 72 6.80kgs
185/55 R15 86H XL   E B 71 6.94kgs
185/55 R15 82T   E B 71 6.94kgs
185/55 R15 82H   E B 71 6.94kgs
195/55 R15 85H   E B 72 7.48kgs
165/60 R15 77T   E B 71 6.34kgs
175/60 R15 81T   E B 71 6.66kgs
185/60 R15 84T   E B 71 7.43kgs
185/60 R15 88T XL   C B 71 7.43kgs
195/60 R15 88T   E B 72 7.52kgs
195/60 R15 88H   E B 72 7.52kgs
205/60 R15 91T   C B 72 8.04kgs
205/60 R15 91H   C B 72 8.04kgs
155/65 R15 77T   E B 71 5.72kgs
165/65 R15 81T   E B 71 6.16kgs
185/65 R15 92T XL   C B 71 7.59kgs
185/65 R15 88T   C B 71 7.27kgs
195/65 R15 95T XL   C B 72 7.70kgs
195/65 R15 91H   C B 72 7.68kgs
195/65 R15 91T   C B 72 7.53kgs
205/65 R15 94H   C B 72 8.61kgs
205/65 R15 94T   C B 72 8.61kgs
215/65 R15 96H   C B 72 9.43kgs
195/45 R16 84H XL   C B 72 7.08kgs
195/45 R16 80T   E B 72 7.08kgs
205/45 R16 87H XL   C B 72 7.53kgs
215/45 R16 90V XL   C B 72 7.73kgs
185/50 R16 81H   E B 71 6.60kgs
205/50 R16 87H   E B 72 8.45kgs
185/55 R16 87T XL   C B 71 7.18kgs
195/55 R16 91H XL   C B 72 7.56kgs
195/55 R16 87H   E B 72 7.57kgs
205/55 R16 94H XL   C B 72 8.58kgs
205/55 R16 91H   C B 72 8.69kgs
205/55 R16 91T   C B 72 8.24kgs
215/55 R16 93H   C B 72 8.93kgs
215/55 R16 97V XL   C B 72 8.66kgs
215/55 R16 97H XL   C B 72 8.66kgs
185/60 R16 86H   C B 71 7.30kgs
195/60 R16 89H   C B 72 8.08kgs
205/60 R16 92T   C B 72 8.81kgs
195/65 R16 92H   C B 72 8.66kgs
205/65 R16 95H   C B 72 8.78kgs
195/45 R17 81H   E B 72 7.50kgs
225/45 R17 94H XL   C B 72 9.36kgs
225/45 R17 91H   E B 72 9.36kgs
225/45 R17 94V XL   C B 72 9.36kgs
225/50 R17 98H XL   E B 72 9.85kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL   E B 72 9.85kgs
205/65 R17 96V   C B 72 10.20kgs

Questions and Answers for the Continental WinterContact TS 860

2016-10-30 - is this an RFT (Run Flat Tire) ?

There are currently no runflat sizes of the TS860, however there are 5 planned runflat sizes due for introduction in winter 2017.


2017-10-10 - How noisy are the tyres?

The Continental WinterContact TS 860 was recently tested by Auto Bild and found to have mid-pack noise characteristics, but still quieter than the summer tyre on test.


2018-09-15 - Hello, I have watched your videos regarding Winter tyres recommendation and also the latest one talking about All Season tyres. I own a Mercedes E 350 CDI fitting 245/45/17 in winter. I was looking forward to try the Conti TS860 or TS860S but they don’t make them on this size. My other alternatives are the Dunlop WinterSport 5 or the Goodyear Ultragrip Performance Gen 1. As I only use them from October to March, am I chosing a good tyre ? I wanted to try the Contis but they are not available. Where I live it rains a lot during the winter and we eventually have snow. Thanks in advance!

Both the Goodyear and Dunlop are good alternatives, as is new Michelin winter tyre. Expect a full winter tyre video in the near future!


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


WinterContact TS 860 Prices

Size Price Range  
195/65 R15 £51.00 - £79.80 (19 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £67.60 - £125.59 (32 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £100.30 - £130.00 (20 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 44 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Continental WinterContact TS 860 Reviews

Given 100% while driving a Audi A4 2.0 TDi 170 S Line (215/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
went on this tire after Michelin PA3 and I was amazed at how this tire is better in all aspects then my previous Michelin PA3 tires!
221 - tyre reviewed on October 12, 2016   
Given 94% while driving a Ford Focus MK3 (205/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
After a winter full of snow and about 4000kms on these tyres, on all kind of roads in Romania, from highway to city to country to gravel roads, here are my thoughts about the WinterContact TS860:
- dry grip: very good, not quite on par with the Ccntinental PremiumContact 5 they replaced, you can feel the car drifting a little more in the corners than with the summer tyres, but that is to be expected from a siped winter tyre, and with a tread almost twice as high as the summer tyre (8.8mm when new for the TS860 vs. ~5-6mm for the PremiumContact 5)
- wet grip: very good, never had any slipping or loss of grip whatsoever
- snow grip: excelent, never slipped at all during climbing steep slopes, descending, braking or in curves. Ono could say that it almost takes the fun out of the driving since it doesnt slip at all :)
- wear: here i would say they are absolutely excellent. In one winter and about 4000km, they have lost about 0.4mm from the tread of 8.8mm (measured), so i would say they will last quite a few (read many) winters, in case they wont get cut, punctured or some other damage.
- comfort: very good, about the same as the summer tyres.
- fuel consumption: excellent. In the week i had them fitted, i noticed the fuel consumption was even lower than with the summer tyres. Afterwards, as the winter progresses and it gets colder and colder, the fuel consumption gets higher, but this is to be attributed to the low temperatures, rather than to the tyres.
- value for money: considering the extremely low wear, excellent grip and comfort, they are very good value for money, just as pointed out in most of the reviews, although they are towards the more expensive spectrum of winter tyres.
- buy again: absolutely! :)
27 - tyre reviewed on April 10, 2017   
Given 80% while driving a Renault Megane II Break 1.5dCI 105Hp (195/65 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 3,750 spirited miles
Loved the tyre until I measured it after winter, in 6000 kilometers profile of the tire droped 4milimeters. True it was a warm winter with half of kilometers being on highway. I calculate the tyre will be functional for just another winter. Tyre is superb in all conditions, wet, snow, but weares realy fast.
21 - tyre reviewed on March 17, 2017   
Have you driven on the Continental WinterContact TS 860 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Continental WinterContact TS 860? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Continental WinterContact TS 860 >

Latest Continental WinterContact TS 860 Reviews

Given 61% while driving a Hyundai i30 CRDi (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 25,000 spirited miles
First joy, then sorrow. I read a lot about tire tests and according to what I read, Continental brand products are always among the best winter tires. That’s why I chose the TS860 in 2017. Safety comes first. I am willing to buy an expensive tire, but my expectations are also high. The tires were manufactured in September 2017 and fitted to my car in November. I live in Austria, where there is usually a lot of snow in the mountains. My first experiences were extremely good. The tires had outstanding aquaplaning resistance. Very, very good handling in snow. It was safe to drive at 80 km/h in snowfall with 15 centimeters of snow on the road. The tires had very good cornering properties on wet and dry roads. A good grip made you feel really safe. Although there was no traction on pure ice, but on ice other tires don’t have traction either. The tires were very quiet and comfortable. I was really extremely happy with the TS860... for the first 2 winters. During the 3rd winter, my experience began to change. It wasn’t a problem on dry roads, but it was in snow. Although the tread depth of the tires was still 6 millimeters, snowy grip, cornering, traction, and most of all braking deteriorated a lot. There was a situation where I thought the car would never stop. At the end of the winter, the tires were 2.5 years old and were marked "cracked" on the roadworthiness test. It was like they were old tires. The legal requirement is a minimum pattern depth of 4 mm. Because it was still 5mm, I also fitted them to my car last November. The grip in snow had gotten even worse, but what’s worse was that the braking distance had grown extremely long on wet roads. On a wet road, you would barely press the brake, the ABS would already be working yet the car would barely slow down. Now it is dangerous to drive with this 4-year-old tire in rain and snow. I think any new budget winter tire is better than this 4 years old premium tire. It’s true that Continental makes great winter tires when we look at new tires. But people don’t buy new tires every 1-2 years. I have never had a tire that has aged so quickly. I drove about 40,000 kilometres (25,000 miles) with these. I recommend these tires only to those who buys a new ones every 2 years.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 14, 2021   
Given 90% while driving a Mercedes Benz C320 cdi (225/45 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
For me the best winter tyre to date. I recommend it to anyone asking me which winter tyre to buy and so far no one had a single complaint. Dry and wet grip is very good for a winter tyre, but what's even more important for me, this tyre has thick, strong sidewals and therefore awesome road feedback and stability at higher speed cornering. Comfort is good.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 9, 2021   
Want the best tyre for real world driving? Watch this!
Given 92% while driving a Ford Fiesta mk7 (195/50 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
I had a set of these tyres on an Incident Response vehicle for 2 winter seasons, November-May 2019//2020 (was delayed putting summers back on because of the first lockdown in the UK) and November-January 2020/2021 before selling the car. There's not enough good things I can say about these tyres. Where I live we don't really get that much snow, maybe 5 days a year but we get lots of ice. I needed tyres that would take me safely up rural hills in the ice and occasional snow locally, and from time to time get around rural Mid Wales, usually heading in the direction of the worst of the weather. I was most impressed by their ice performance, the tyre would constantly surprise me in the best way possible because I wouldn't expect it to drive certain roads I would make the car go on, expecting to need studded tyres in lots of occasions. Working around floods with lots of standing water I was also very impressed by their wet handling. I even ran the tyres in temperatures up to 25C which wasn't ideal and I could always tell I was on winter tyres in terms of the dry handling in the heat, but it really proved they would work if needed. After about 12,000 miles of pretty aggressive driving the tyres still had loads of tread, I would expect at least another 10,000 out of them at least.
0 - tyre reviewed on February 21, 2021   
Given 74% while driving a Acura TSX (225/50 R17 H) on mostly town for 4,000 spirited miles
One of the best when it comes to driving in the wet, or breaking in the wet conditions, aquaplaning resistance is impressive, but as soon as the snow comes in this tyre just disappears, my 2.4l petrol engine(not a lot of torque at the bottom) can spin those tyres all day long without even having to give much gas... Grip.. there is just none, i believe it's a great central european winter tyre, but if there's a chance that you will see snow on the upcoming winter just go for the nokian wr d4, the difference on the wet is miserable and when it comes to driving on the snow wr d4 is on another level
0 - tyre reviewed on January 25, 2021   
Given 74% while driving a Volvo V50 estate (205/55 R16 T) on mostly town for 20,000 average miles
Tyres are extremely stable o wet in a motorway. You can even compare them to summer tyres on dry and wet. Less impressive on a snow. Its our first winter tyres on our Volvo V50 and we found it often to understear on a dry snow in more sharp turns. We don’t know who to blame, the car or the tyres. Although braking and accelerating on snow is good enough. On icy conditions the tyres are more predictable and on extremely low temperatures can compete with some soft compound tyres. Overal i found tyres recomended for wet climate and high speed driving on motorway, but can be tricky on dry snow on lower speeds.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 18, 2021   
Given 84% while driving a Renault Clio 1.5 dCi 86 (185/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
I'm using this tyre for 1 year with aprox. 15000 km I think it is successfull and worth to buy bcz. I had no problem on hardest snowy motorway conditions, wet streets, muggy town roads
1 - tyre reviewed on January 1, 2021   
Given 92% while driving a Skoda (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
I used these tyres for the last 2 winters. New set at the start of each winter. I can see why they win tyres tests as I found them perfect for any condition during the winter months. Driving on ice or black ice is like driving on a normal road conditions, Also snow, wet and dry grip were very good.
6 - tyre reviewed on September 14, 2020   
Given 71% while driving a Audi A6 2.0 TDI (205/60 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
My first winter tire and I'd say I have mixed feelings about them. The pros are they give nice feedback in spite of winter tires making steering feel lackadaisical but it was still tolerable, very nice dry grip even during spring which makes it feel almost like a summer tire, moderate rolling resistance and they are super comfortable. You can kind of drive them sporty and spirited but the understeer gets present at certain corners and tire squeal might occur at even lower speeds but it is rare. Braking is progressive and excellent. Ice grip definitely a joke and snow grip is above average as they seem to be made for western European climate and not Baltic States climate but this can be solved with lower pressure. These tires love low pressures so keep them around 29-35 PSI. Above 15°C temperature outside they feel lackluster but below that they function just fine so a very good tire if you consider dry grip, glue-like wet grip, some snow grip if you live where weather can be bipolar and often damp without changing tires until for summer as it appears these tires seem to last long tread life wise as I still have 5.7mm left. By admission I'd like to point out that yes, Continentals have a tendency to tramline as the notorious rumours suggest. I'd like to highlight comfort as these have very soft sidewalls as well as they roll quietly and give the car the characteristics of dampers being on par with air dampers(may help to soften up stiff cars as well for some gain in comfort) however for my style of driving these do not suit me so avoid these if you want a winter tire that offers fun so consider Blizzaks or Winter Maxx as WinterContacts of this model do not suit my driving style although I may be incorrect and should try the S versions of that tire which might satisfy my enthusiast needs but I fear the softness is the mantra of Continental.
4 - tyre reviewed on June 20, 2020   
Given 89% while driving a BMW 318D (195/65 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
Bought a set of 4 continentals for my first car. Unfortunately as a student I didn't have much to go for and had to drive these all year round for 2 years. But, as a winter tire it was very good, I recommend these to anyone I can. In the winter these performed so well in the snow, it can dig you out of even the worst situations. Cant say much about ice. Dry performance during spring conditions can be comparable to premium summer tires. In short, you just cant go wrong with these.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 14, 2020   
Given 84% while driving a BMW E90 (205/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
A safe and comfortable tire. Best on wet and unbelievably quiet! slightly worse in a bend at higher temperatures. I highly recommend!
5 - tyre reviewed on June 8, 2020   
Given 91% while driving a Toyota Auris (205/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 5,000 average miles
Those are really premium tires. I had GoodYear before.. i mean they weren't bad or anything but with Continental the whole driving in rain and snow felt more safe! Would recommend!
0 - tyre reviewed on April 8, 2020   
BMW (225/50 R17 V) on mostly town for 4,000 average miles
Excellent
0 - tyre reviewed on March 11, 2020