Continental WinterContact TS 860

Dry Grip 90%
Wet Grip 94%
Road Feedback 87%
Handling 88%
Wear 83%
Comfort 88%
Buy again 90%
Snow Grip 83%
Ice Grip 72%

The Continental WinterContact TS 860 is a Premium Touring Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Continental WinterContact TS 850

This tyre has been replaced by the Continental WinterContact TS 870

Show All

Tyre review data from 37 tyre reviews averaging 86% over 309,171 miles driven.

Reports

Latest Group Test Results

All Season vs Winter vs Nordic vs Studded Tires - 1st of 4 tyres

2020 ADAC Winter Tyre Test - 205/55 R16 - 7th of 15 tyres

  • Positive - Very good in the wet, good on snow too.
  • Negative - Weakness in the dry.

2020 ACE Winter Tyre Test - 4th of 9 tyres

  • Positive - Good handling in the dry and wet, low noise level.
  • Negative - Oversteer balance in the snow.
  • Overall - Recommended.
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
155/70 R13 75T   E B 71 5.31kgs
165/70 R13 79T   E B 71 5.77kgs
155/80 R13 79T   E B 71 5.70kgs
185/55 R14 80T   E B 71 6.81kgs
165/60 R14 79T XL   E B 71 5.97kgs
185/60 R14 82T   C B 71 6.47kgs
155/65 R14 75T   E B 71 5.59kgs
165/65 R14 79T   E B 71 6.01kgs
175/65 R14 82T   E B 71 6.44kgs
175/65 R14 86T XL   E B 71 6.43kgs
185/65 R14 86T   E B 71 7.10kgs
165/70 R14 81T   C B 71 6.17kgs
175/70 R14 84T   E B 71 6.64kgs
175/70 R14 88T XL   C B 71 6.65kgs
185/70 R14 88T   C B 71 7.30kgs
175/80 R14 88T   C B 71 7.52kgs
195/50 R15 82H   E B 72 6.80kgs
195/50 R15 82T   E B 72 6.80kgs
185/55 R15 86H XL   E B 71 6.94kgs
185/55 R15 82T   E B 71 6.94kgs
185/55 R15 82H   E B 71 6.94kgs
195/55 R15 85H   E B 72 7.48kgs
165/60 R15 77T   E B 71 6.34kgs
175/60 R15 81T   E B 71 6.66kgs
185/60 R15 84T   E B 71 7.43kgs
185/60 R15 88T XL   C B 71 7.43kgs
195/60 R15 88T   E B 72 7.52kgs
195/60 R15 88H   E B 72 7.52kgs
205/60 R15 91T   C B 72 8.04kgs
205/60 R15 91H   C B 72 8.04kgs
155/65 R15 77T   E B 71 5.72kgs
165/65 R15 81T   E B 71 6.16kgs
185/65 R15 92T XL   C B 71 7.59kgs
185/65 R15 88T   C B 71 7.27kgs
195/65 R15 95T XL   C B 72 7.70kgs
195/65 R15 91H   C B 72 7.68kgs
195/65 R15 91T   C B 72 7.53kgs
205/65 R15 94H   C B 72 8.61kgs
205/65 R15 94T   C B 72 8.61kgs
215/65 R15 96H   C B 72 9.43kgs
195/45 R16 84H XL   C B 72 7.08kgs
195/45 R16 80T   E B 72 7.08kgs
205/45 R16 87H XL   C B 72 7.53kgs
215/45 R16 90V XL   C B 72 7.73kgs
185/50 R16 81H   E B 71 6.60kgs
205/50 R16 87H   E B 72 8.45kgs
185/55 R16 87T XL   C B 71 7.18kgs
195/55 R16 91H XL   C B 72 7.56kgs
195/55 R16 87H   E B 72 7.57kgs
205/55 R16 94H XL   C B 72 8.58kgs
205/55 R16 91H   C B 72 8.69kgs
205/55 R16 91T   C B 72 8.24kgs
215/55 R16 93H   C B 72 8.93kgs
215/55 R16 97V XL   C B 72 8.66kgs
215/55 R16 97H XL   C B 72 8.66kgs
185/60 R16 86H   C B 71 7.30kgs
195/60 R16 89H   C B 72 8.08kgs
205/60 R16 92T   C B 72 8.81kgs
195/65 R16 92H   C B 72 8.66kgs
205/65 R16 95H   C B 72 8.78kgs
195/45 R17 81H   E B 72 7.50kgs
225/45 R17 94H XL   C B 72 9.36kgs
225/45 R17 91H   E B 72 9.36kgs
225/45 R17 94V XL   C B 72 9.36kgs
225/50 R17 98H XL   E B 72 9.85kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL   E B 72 9.85kgs
205/65 R17 96V   C B 72 10.20kgs

Questions and Answers for the Continental WinterContact TS 860

2016-10-30 - is this an RFT (Run Flat Tire) ?

There are currently no runflat sizes of the TS860, however there are 5 planned runflat sizes due for introduction in winter 2017.


2017-10-10 - How noisy are the tyres?

The Continental WinterContact TS 860 was recently tested by Auto Bild and found to have mid-pack noise characteristics, but still quieter than the summer tyre on test.


2018-09-15 - Hello, I have watched your videos regarding Winter tyres recommendation and also the latest one talking about All Season tyres. I own a Mercedes E 350 CDI fitting 245/45/17 in winter. I was looking forward to try the Conti TS860 or TS860S but they donít make them on this size. My other alternatives are the Dunlop WinterSport 5 or the Goodyear Ultragrip Performance Gen 1. As I only use them from October to March, am I chosing a good tyre ? I wanted to try the Contis but they are not available. Where I live it rains a lot during the winter and we eventually have snow. Thanks in advance!

Both the Goodyear and Dunlop are good alternatives, as is new Michelin winter tyre. Expect a full winter tyre video in the near future!


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
195/65 R15 £57.00 - £72.84 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £78.59 - £79.00 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £123.18 - £123.18 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 23 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Continental WinterContact TS 860 Review

Given 100% while driving a Audi A4 2.0 TDi 170 S Line (215/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
went on this tire after Michelin PA3 and I was amazed at how this tire is better in all aspects then my previous Michelin PA3 tires!
221 - tyre reviewed on October 12, 2016   

Latest Continental WinterContact TS 860 Reviews

Have you driven on the Continental WinterContact TS 860 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Continental WinterContact TS 860? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Continental WinterContact TS 860 >>

Given 74% while driving a Acura TSX (225/50 R17 H) on mostly town for 4,000 spirited miles
One of the best when it comes to driving in the wet, or breaking in the wet conditions, aquaplaning resistance is impressive, but as soon as the snow comes in this tyre just disappears, my 2.4l petrol engine(not a lot of torque at the bottom) can spin those tyres all day long without even having to give much gas... Grip.. there is just none, i believe it's a great central european winter tyre, but if there's a chance that you will see snow on the upcoming winter just go for the nokian wr d4, the difference on the wet is miserable and when it comes to driving on the snow wr d4 is on another level
0 - tyre reviewed on January 25, 2021   
Given 74% while driving a Volvo V50 estate (205/55 R16 T) on mostly town for 20,000 average miles
Tyres are extremely stable o wet in a motorway. You can even compare them to summer tyres on dry and wet. Less impressive on a snow. Its our first winter tyres on our Volvo V50 and we found it often to understear on a dry snow in more sharp turns. We donít know who to blame, the car or the tyres. Although braking and accelerating on snow is good enough. On icy conditions the tyres are more predictable and on extremely low temperatures can compete with some soft compound tyres. Overal i found tyres recomended for wet climate and high speed driving on motorway, but can be tricky on dry snow on lower speeds.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 18, 2021   
Trying to pick the very best winter tyre? Watch this!
Given 84% while driving a Renault Clio 1.5 dCi 86 (185/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
I'm using this tyre for 1 year with aprox. 15000 km I think it is successfull and worth to buy bcz. I had no problem on hardest snowy motorway conditions, wet streets, muggy town roads
1 - tyre reviewed on January 1, 2021   

See all 31 customer reviews of the Continental WinterContact TS 860 (newest first) >>