Volkswagen Golf 1.9 Tdi Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volkswagen Golf 1.9 Tdi.

Do you Drive a Volkswagen Golf 1.9 Tdi? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Golf 1.9 Tdi better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 (38) 93% 93% 89% 91% 95% 90%
Michelin Alpin A4 (52) 88% 95% 91% 87% 94% 93%
Nokian Line (65) 92% 90% 89% 89% 82% 86%
Fulda SportControl (39) 92% 87% 84% 83% 85% 86%
Goodyear UltraGrip 8 (57) 88% 92% 86% 82% 86% 87%
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85%
Goodyear UltraGrip 9 (35) 84% 90% 82% 84% 85% 91%
Vredestein Sportrac 5 (92) 89% 87% 84% 84% 86% 84%
Continental WinterContact TS 860 (43) 89% 93% 84% 87% 84% 87%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (159) 89% 87% 82% 82% 81% 88%
Falken EUROALL SEASON AS200 (21) 79% 89% 81% 81% 81% 85%
Bridgestone B 390 (8) 89% 84% 90% 86% 78% 80%
Kleber Quadraxer (41) 81% 87% 79% 71% 89% 87%
Uniroyal RainExpert (131) 85% 91% 81% 76% 75% 86%
Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 (89) 90% 83% 81% 79% 81% 80%
Tracmax X Privilo TX1 (2) 90% 90% 40% 80% 85% 90%
Hankook Winter i cept RS2 (40) 86% 86% 77% 81% 87% 78%
Yokohama C Drive (45) 86% 82% 83% 77% 77% 86%
Michelin Energy Saver Plus (57) 84% 72% 79% 77% 92% 83%
Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun (80) 87% 83% 81% 83% 79% 77%
Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response (103) 88% 84% 84% 77% 76% 80%
Michelin Pilot Exalto (56) 86% 81% 76% 80% 83% 77%
Bridgestone Turanza T005 (75) 87% 85% 80% 81% 75% 79%
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (224) 87% 85% 77% 78% 74% 86%
Michelin CrossClimate (130) 88% 85% 83% 79% 83% 89%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (279) 84% 92% 78% 78% 64% 83%
Barum Bravuris 2 (127) 85% 78% 79% 71% 75% 80%
Goodyear Vector 4Seasons (51) 85% 83% 82% 84% 86% 85%
Toyo Proxes CF1 (45) 85% 80% 80% 76% 68% 80%
Dunlop Sport BluResponse (172) 88% 85% 80% 76% 61% 83%
Michelin Energy Saver (130) 83% 72% 75% 71% 85% 80%
Pirelli CINTURATO P6 (16) 88% 82% 84% 65% 71% 72%
Hankook Kinergy 4S (10) 78% 72% 69% 69% 79% 81%
Bridgestone Turanza ER300 (187) 83% 77% 77% 72% 78% 71%
Continental Premium Contact 5 (112) 87% 83% 76% 77% 57% 79%
Falken ZE912 (200) 82% 74% 75% 70% 71% 79%
Falken FK452 (210) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73%
Firestone TZ200 (26) 80% 70% 70% 70% 75% 72%
Continental Premium Contact 2 (195) 84% 77% 75% 73% 61% 73%
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (154) 83% 78% 76% 73% 60% 65%
Goodyear OptiGrip (16) 74% 83% 66% 71% 71% 66%
Continental Sport Contact 2 (228) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66%
Avon ZT5 (29) 81% 67% 73% 65% 73% 74%
Lassa Snoways 3 (9) 74% 73% 64% 72% 77% 70%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx TT (50) 84% 73% 73% 75% 63% 63%
Bridgestone Potenza s03 (7) 86% 54% 70% 67% 71% 60%
Goodyear Eagle NCT5 (90) 75% 61% 68% 61% 77% 69%
Bridgestone Turanza T001 (92) 80% 70% 69% 66% 62% 71%
Nankang NS2 (208) 76% 58% 65% 62% 73% 62%
Dunlop SP StreetResponse (7) 81% 84% 79% 77% 78% 69%
Tigar Syneris (20) 75% 61% 62% 61% 61% 65%
Pirelli P6000 (172) 66% 47% 55% 48% 67% 61%
Marangoni Verso (38) 69% 48% 55% 47% 49% 54%
Infinity INF 030 (7) 59% 36% 47% 50% 57% 44%
Event GL695 (9) 60% 36% 58% 51% 50% 38%
Sunew YS618 (57) 61% 36% 47% 44% 52% 49%
Infinity INF 040 (19) 64% 33% 43% 36% 55% 42%
Linglong L699 (1) 50% 20% 30% 40% 70% 40%
BCT S800 (84) 51% 30% 38% 37% 61% 32%
Fullrun HP199 (77) 47% 27% 32% 32% 54% 27%

Volkswagen Golf 1.9 Tdi Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 3 given 67% (205-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4000 spirited miles
Second review of these tyres on my MK4 Golf but this time they are low profile 17" versions as oppose to the 16" ones on my other wheels. I only ran these on the rear as the cheapo tyres on the other pair of wheels are really good on the front so far and the ones on the 16's lacked a bit in the dry. Anyway the low profile Rainsport 3's are always planted in all conditions on the rear, plenty of feel, on the road I can't fault their performance with either the stock worn suspension or with my new uprated springs, dampers and brakes. I never tested on the track but on the road they are great on the back. I wouldn't try them on the front, as they are wearing faster on the back than the front tyres even with my 200 bhp remap! I've swapped them from left to right once and both sides have considerably less treat on the outside edge than the rest of the tyres which are on about 5mm, these will be bald in another 4000 miles with another swap round in between. I have yet to do a trackday with the car but I'd say these tyres would be ready to throw away after a handful of dry laps. Also like the 16" tyres these have cracks in the treads and there are little splits on both sidewalls. I've only curbed the front tyres yet they are fine. I won't buy the rainsport 3's again but I'm impressed enough that I might try a pair of the newer rainsport 5's. I'll most likely stick the 16" wheels back on with the full set of these over winter for better grip in bad weather and maybe get a trackday in and do a third review. The lower profile definitely makes a difference as the others were moving around on both back and front in the wet and dry where I'm cornering as fast as with any other car and tyre setup I've had on the lower profiles with precision. They were excellent on the rear even with old worn suspension.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-27 23:40:18
Writing about the Michelin Alpin A4 given 100% (195-65-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 28000 easy going miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2021-09-25 18:20:19
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 given 90% (195-65-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
I just bought these tires today and drove them for 50km. My previous tires were the predecessors: Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance. I drove them 53.000km on the same Golf MK5 and the thread went down to 4mm, I could still drive them for 20.000km more if I need to, but I wanted to refresh my Golf with better ride. This is just the initial impression, these tyres are similar to the old ones, which were already great except for the noise, they were noisy and the comfort was just average. The new ones are less noisy and more comfortable. I will update this review over time with more info.
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-04 19:07:28
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza T005 given 91% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly town for 45000 average miles
One of the best tyres i had. Replacing 2 Goodyear efficent grip performance ( good tyres but awkward road feedback). They suit the car very well. They grip extremely well both dry and wet, even when pushed hard. They seem to perform much better on warm weather than on cold conditions. Great confort and great mpg. Excelent road feedback. Maybe i'll change for 4 seasons tyres. Maybe i'll try the new brigestone a005 Evo which seem to BE more summer tyres with winter performance and more peace of mind on winter conditions.
tyre reviewed on 2020-12-31 23:16:10
Writing about the Lassa Snoways 3 given 66% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 2000 easy going miles
Men they are very good at snow and they dont wear very fast, also in wet are very good but in dry weather they are noise as hell i thought first that the motor of the car has some problems but no it was the tyres. Even that they are exellent in snow and dont wear fast i wont buy it again because of the noise. I drive golf 5 1.9 tdi. They are louder than the engine. Yes funny how loud they are.
tyre reviewed on 2020-12-11 22:23:57
Writing about the Tracmax X Privilo TX1 given 81% (195-50-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
I always used bridgstone, Continental, maxxis tyres on my cars and now i try this tyre .. Very good considering the price ! Low noise and B score on water. Good handling and good grip and great look.. Buy again definitly great tyre!
tyre reviewed on 2020-08-05 18:03:30
Writing about the Goodyear UltraGrip 9 given 99% (205-55-15-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 easy going miles
Spent the winter season in the French Alps and these tyres were amazing. We had 1 metre of snow one day and after digging the car out we had no need for snow chains, either getting out of car park and drove to ski resorts without any issues and felt very secure.

Also somewhat surprised on how quiet they were on driving from and back from the UK.

Highly recommend
tyre reviewed on 2019-10-30 15:06:41
Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 given 90% (205-55-16-T)
Driving on mostly town for 20000 spirited miles
Very good price and a very good all round tire!

Dry grip is great especially after they're warmed up. They're loosing grip very progressively when pushed hard but they seem to have a bit of rolling resistance, not much though.

Wet grip is also great as is the wear rate. I also drove them for 2k km on a Skoda Karoq 1.5 TSI and they were lacking a bit of grip when pushed. I would recommend something sportier for cars of 140+ hp if they're usually driven in an agressive manner.

They convinced me to buy a winter set of Hankook winter Icept RS2 and they didn't dissapoint in an way.
I will definately buy Hankook again, most likely the Hankook Ventus S1 Evo 3.
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-18 13:43:47
Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 given 74% (195-50-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 average miles
Previous had 4 hankook ventus prime 2 Fitted this tyres all 4 by recomendation on the tyre review videos on youtube . Initial toughts and driving very good tyre , i mean excelent grip dry and wet at a good price!!! All good until they reached the 3-4mm mark... back is way loose now... if i make a spirited driving on moutain the rear feels like going on ice
... didnt have this till the 3-4mm mark . For the price they are the best ones i admit! And prettygood wear now at 3mm and almost 40k km.
.. gonna try Continental next time
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-15 18:18:36
Writing about the Michelin Energy Saver given 94% (195-65-15-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 20 average miles
Having covered 20k on these tyres I can now say how brilliant I have found these tyres. Grip is good in both wet and dry conditions. Rolling resistance and road noise good as well. I would be expecting to change them by now from previous makes purchased but I am sure these will cover a further 15k. When they need replacing, these Michelins will be my first choice.
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-03 16:32:08
Writing about the Hankook Winter i cept RS2 given 89% (195-65-15-T)
Driving on mostly town for 4000 average miles
Great winter tire for a very good price. Highly recomended for small to medium vehicles. Suites for more asphalt driving than snow, but it still handles the slush and snow very well.
Definately will buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-23 08:58:14
Writing about the Tigar Syneris given 87% (225-45-17-)
Driving on for 15000 miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-27 10:34:36
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre