Hankook Kinergy 4S

The Hankook Kinergy 4S is a High Performance All Season tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre has been replaced by the Hankook Kinergy 4S2.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 78%
Wet Grip 72%
Road Feedback 69%
Handling 69%
Wear 79%
Comfort 81%
Buy again 75%
Snow Grip 80%
Ice Grip 80%

Tyre review data from 10 tyre reviews averaging 76% over 98,500 miles driven.

The Kinergy 4S is ranked 17th of 27 All Season High Performance tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2018 ADAC All Season Tyre Test - 8th of 11 tyres

  • Positive - Low wear.
  • Negative - Weak in the snow and on wet roads.
View Full Test >>

2018 Auto Bild SUV All Season Tyre Test - 5th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - High resistance to aquaplaning, well priced.
  • Negative - Higher noise levels, long braking distances on snow and dry roads.
  • Overall - Recommended.
View Full Test >>

2017 All Season Tyre Test - 9th of 12 tyres

  • Positive - Good traction and short braking distances on snow, high aquaplaning resistance.
  • Negative - Poor snow and wet handling, slow steering, average wear.
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
165/65 R13 77T REP E C 71 5.49kgs
175/65 R13 80T REP E C 71 6.04kgs
155/70 R13 75T REP E C 71 5.23kgs
155/80 R13 79T REP E C 71 5.45kgs
185/55 R14 80H REP E C 71 6.49kgs
165/60 R14 75T REP E C 71 5.59kgs
185/60 R14 82H REP E C 71 7.03kgs
185/60 R14 82H REP E C 71 6.84kgs
155/65 R14 75T REP E C 71 5.56kgs
165/65 R14 79T REP E C 71 6.04kgs
175/65 R14 86T XL REP E C 71 6.78kgs
175/65 R14 82T REP E C 71 6.74kgs
175/65 R14 86T XL REP E C 71 7.24kgs
185/65 R14 86T REP E C 71 7.37kgs
165/70 R14 85T XL REP E C 71 6.50kgs
165/70 R14 81T OE C C 69 5.84kgs
175/70 R14 88T XL REP E C 71 6.98kgs
185/70 R14 88T REP C C 71 7.01kgs
195/50 R15 82H REP E C 72 7.21kgs
175/55 R15 77T REP E C 71 6.63kgs
185/55 R15 86H XL REP E C 71 7.20kgs
185/55 R15 86H XL REP E C 71 7.48kgs
195/55 R15 85H REP E C 72 8.20kgs
195/55 R15 85H REP E C 72 7.91kgs
155/60 R15 74T REP E C 71 5.67kgs
195/60 R15 88H REP E C 72 7.77kgs
205/60 R15 91H REP C C 72 8.26kgs
165/65 R15 81T REP E C 71 6.28kgs
165/65 R15 81T REP E C 71 6.47kgs
175/65 R15 84T REP E C 71 6.92kgs
185/65 R15 88H REP E C 71 7.94kgs
195/65 R15 91V REP E C 72 8.66kgs
195/65 R15 95T XL REP E C 71 9.37kgs
195/65 R15 95H XL REP E C 71 9.35kgs
195/65 R15 91H REP E C 72 8.82kgs
195/65 R15 91H REP E C 72 8.81kgs
195/65 R15 95T XL REP C C 71 9.32kgs
205/65 R15 94H REP C C 72 8.82kgs
215/45 R16 90V XL OE C E 71 8.53kgs
195/55 R16 87H REP E C 72 8.39kgs
195/55 R16 87V REP E C 72 8.35kgs
195/55 R16 87H REP E C 72 8.34kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL REP E C 72 9.39kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL REP E C 72 9.28kgs
205/55 R16 91H REP E C 72 9.49kgs
215/55 R16 97H XL REP C C 72 10.01kgs
215/55 R16 97V XL REP C C 72 10.55kgs
225/55 R16 99V XL REP C C 72 10.99kgs
195/60 R16 89H OE B C 66 8.50kgs
205/60 R16 92V REP C C 72 9.35kgs
205/60 R16 92H OE B E 67 9.05kgs
205/60 R16 92H OE C B 71 9.39kgs
215/60 R16 95V REP C C 72 10.21kgs
215/60 R16 99H XL REP C C 72 10.53kgs
225/60 R16 102H XL REP C C 72 11.01kgs
215/45 R17 91V XL REP E C 72 9.04kgs
225/45 R17 94V XL REP E C 72 9.96kgs
235/45 R17 97V XL REP E C 72 10.91kgs
205/50 R17 93V XL REP C C 72 9.55kgs
215/50 R17 95V XL REP C C 72 10.40kgs
215/50 R17 95V XL REP C C 72 10.69kgs
215/50 R17 91H OE C B 66 9.12kgs
205/55 R17 91V OE B C 71 8.95kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL REP C C 72 10.47kgs
215/55 R17 98W XL REP C C 72 10.72kgs
225/55 R17 101V XL REP E C 72 11.61kgs
215/60 R17 96H REP C C 72 10.59kgs
225/60 R17 99H REP E C 72 11.52kgs
215/65 R17 99H REP C C 72 10.71kgs
225/65 R17 102H REP E C 72 12.27kgs
235/65 R17 108V XL REP C C 72 13.72kgs
225/40 R18 92V XL REP E C 72 10.00kgs
235/50 R18 101V XL REP C C 72 12.65kgs
215/55 R18 99V XL REP C C 72 11.33kgs
255/55 R18 109V XL REP C C 73 15.05kgs
235/60 R18 107V XL REP C C 72 12.99kgs
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Hankook Kinergy 4S. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Kinergy 4S Prices

Size Price Range  
165/70 R14 £49.99 - £88.80 (16 Prices) Compare Prices >>
175/65 R15 £140.19 - £145.00 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 27 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Hankook Kinergy 4S Reviews

Given 87% while driving a Mitsubishi Lancer 1.8 4 Door (2008) (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 3,000 average miles
These tyres replaced some nasty Nankang tyres however on my other cars i run Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2.

First impressions have been good, the wet grip is night and day in comparison to cheaper brand tyres, they handled a 70 - 0 emergency stop when a lorry pulled out in the wet very well. the car feels a lot more composed and competent. The real test will be how they cope with snow (if we get any) and how they wear during the summer months. For a everyday car they seem a good all round Tyre with the potential to offer added safety in the winter months at a good price and without the hassle of changing to winter rubber. For sporty and powerful vehicles i believe that the best is still a dedicated winter tyre and summer tyre.
41 - tyre reviewed on December 17, 2015   
Given 44% while driving a Volkswagen up! (165/70 R14 Q) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Dangerous in wet breaking. ABS always on, wet seems snow. Bad even in dry roads. Never again
14 - tyre reviewed on June 24, 2018   
Given 86% while driving a Fiat Panda (175/65 R15 H) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Having replace Yokohama W703,W902 and Conti's winter as a primary installation, I've to admit that the latest is the best choice so far, offering better braking distance, low noise and prodigious grip in wet. Can't say much for durability since I've made only 10K. Price was the same with Yokohama's cheaper from Conti's: 240 Euros, in Greece.
12 - tyre reviewed on December 16, 2015   
Have you driven on the Hankook Kinergy 4S tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Hankook Kinergy 4S? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Hankook Kinergy 4S >

Latest Hankook Kinergy 4S Reviews

Given 84% while driving a Citroën C3 (175/70 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 16,000 average miles
Replaced some old Hankook summer tyres in October 2015 with these Hankook H740 4S tyres as I wanted better wet and snow grip. I was limited for choice due to uncommon tyre size and didn't want directional tyres as I had a full size alloy spare. The 2nd day after fitting I had to travel on the M62 and was caught in a torrential rain storm. Cars if front of me started drifting all ways after hitting a huge area of standing water, so I braced myself, but needn't have worried. These Hankook H740 4S tyres took it all in their stride and the car stayed in a straight line with no effort from me. Handling is great in all conditions. They have now done 16,000 miles and at my last service 2 months ago I was told they would easily last another year at least, based on my requirements, as I always replace tyres when the tread gets below 4mm. I shall replace them with the same ones when required.
5 - tyre reviewed on January 18, 2019   
Given 100% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 1.9 Tdi (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 23,000 average miles
This is an update to my previous review, to report on the snow performance.

Scotland had a wee bit of bad weather at the start of March '18. For reasons I won't get into on here, I was required to drive through the red weather warning on both days, and the subsequent amber warnings of the rest of the week and this gave me a good opportunity to assess performance in snow/slush and ice. The front tyres had around 5mm left in them (having been swapped after doing 18k on the rear), the rears were effectively brand new, maybe a few thousand miles since fitting.

And that performance was exceptional.

Motorways were cleared, but icy in places. They never feit like they were going to let go without warning. They did give enough feedback to allow easing off before anything went pear shaped.

Surface streets were variable quality, with some roads in excess of 12" of snow. Others had slush and others a mix of hard pack and fresh snow. And we charged on through. Even fairly steep hills were dispatched without drama, just an occasional touch of traction control for some of worst parts. These tyres on this car means I'm getting to my destination regardless.

Now, a downside... during the snow, I damaged 2 of them (potholes can still bite when they're hidden). Thankfully, I've managed to source some replacements, they're fitted, and I'm a happy bunny again.
3 - tyre reviewed on March 18, 2018   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 81% while driving a Toyota Yaris (175/65 R14) on a combination of roads for 3,000 easy going miles
Have you ever wondered how the snow plow driver gets to work in the middle of the worst snow. These tyres no 4x4 required.
11 - tyre reviewed on March 6, 2018   
Given 79% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 1.9 Tdi (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 18,000 spirited miles
My car was bought 2nd hand from a well known Scottish car dealer network, and had been fitted with some of their own branded tyres. They lasted less than a week before they were binned.

So, January of 2017 saw a set of Kinergys fitted. And they worked well in the snow, very well. They were also quite impressive in some of the torrential rain we had through the year, and pretty good in the 2 days of sunshine that passes for a Scottish summer.

I drive an estate, and tend to lug a fair amount of kit everywhere, and in an enthusiastic fashion. They've been good in almost all conditions except for some occasional understeer on a rather tight mini roundabout near home. But that's only ever been when the conditions have been greasy. Performance in heavy rain on motorways has been on a par with some of the more expensive rubber I've had fitted to other similar vehicles. But the winter performance has been impressive.

Wear has also been acceptable. Roughly 18000 miles done, the fronts are below 4mm, the rears are still above 6mm. Purely as a precaution, and because of the long term weather reports, the fronts were replaced with more of the same in the last few weeks. And, again, they have proven to be good in the snow and cold temps of the last month. At £50 a corner, they're exceptionally good value, and will be a permanent fixture on this particular vehicle for the foreseeable future.
6 - tyre reviewed on November 25, 2017   
Given 49% while driving a BMW 316 (205/55 R16) on mostly town for 4,500 easy going miles
We used the previous generation of these tyres the H730 and unfortunately these are a great disappointment. My wife and I have both been sliding on greasy roads - in a 90bhp bmw!! - when the previous set didn't do this even when they were nearly done - so far this set has 4500miles. I honestly won't be buying the h740s again back to the h730s if I can get them.
10 - tyre reviewed on January 19, 2017   
Given 76% while driving a Honda Civic Type R (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
So i replaced Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2's on my EP3 Civic Type R with these. I tried these tyres last year on another car when it snowed and my civic could not get out of the very steep estate and they were phenomenally good in the snow.

These tyres are very good, they do feel like they provide less feedback than the Goodyear Eagles and less lateral grip however they are still very good. I feel that the loss in summer traction/feedback is worth the advantage when its wet/cold/snow handling. They feel surprisingly planted in the wet and are still miles better in all conditions compared to cheap budget summer tyres. The car will not brake traction under hard acceleration which it would do previously on Toyo proxes..

Conclusion: Good compromise for massive winter benefits. No all season will be as good as a dedicated summer performance tyre. Snow handling profoundly strong, going up large steep hills with compacted ice and snow the car did not brake traction once.
4 - tyre reviewed on August 24, 2016   
Given 82% while driving a Daihatsu Trevis (155/65 R14 T) on mostly town for 10,000 easy going miles
I've bought these tyres ti replace stock tyres with a 4season.
Till now, I'm reslly satisfied on dry, wet and also snow!
Let's see during the summer
4 - tyre reviewed on February 24, 2016