Vredestein Quatrac 3

The Vredestein Quatrac 3 is a High Performance All Season tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Vredestein Quatrac 2 and this tyre has been replaced by the Vredestein Quatrac 5.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 81%
Wet Grip 86%
Road Feedback 78%
Handling 75%
Wear 76%
Comfort 76%
Buy again 80%

Tyre review data from 48 tyre reviews averaging 79% over 539,402 miles driven.

The Quatrac 3 is ranked 11th of 27 All Season High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2013 Auto Bild All Season Tyre Test - 5th of 9 tyres

  • Positive - Safe driving behavior with more stable cornering and good steering response on wet and dry roads, good comfort.
  • Negative - Moderate aquaplaning performance, longer braking distances on wet and dry roads, increased rolling resistance.
View Full Test >>

2013 54 Tyre Braking Test - 35th of 54 tyres

    View Full Test >>

    2011 Auto Bild All Season Tyre Test - 1st of 10 tyres

    • Positive - Multi talented and balanced in all areas. Precise steering and excellent handling characteristics on wet roads. High safety reserves in aquaplanining, short braking distances on snow.
    • Negative - Slightly Noisey.
    View Full Test >>
    Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    155/60 R15 74T   E C 68 5.98kgs
    Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Vredestein Quatrac 3. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Top 3 Vredestein Quatrac 3 Reviews

    Given 69% while driving a Ford Focus (195/60 R15 V) on mostly country roads for 20,000 spirited miles
    Good in the winter but for me the compromise in the summer is too great.
    After 2 years of driving on these tyres, I can summarise my findings:
    Pros:
    - On cold to average temperature roads, excellent braking and cornering performance, progressive and predicable at the limits.
    - Cold and wet weather braking ability is huge, delivers some very stable and satisfying stopping power.
    - They seem to last just as long, if not longer, than my previous Hankook summer tyres. Which I was surprised by, since I thought they would wear in the hot weather.
    Cons:
    - Hissing noise on wet roads is very noticeable in the cabin.
    - On very hot roads (e.g. after a few days of 25 degrees C+) these tyres lose significant cornering performance. Braking is still strong, but cornering on hot roads quickly descends into squeals of understeer. I found this was much worse on my second summer of driving after the tyre was half worn out.
    8 - tyre reviewed on September 6, 2016   
    Given 67% while driving a Ford Focus (195/60 R15 V) on mostly country roads for 6,000 spirited miles
    Found these to perform very well for the one snowy day we had in UK since fitting them last year. Very progressive on the snow. You still have to drive to the conditions but a 50% increase in grips helps.

    But for me, as a compromise tyre the compromise was too great. They are a little noisy in the dry, and on a damp road they get very noisy indeed - they hiss constantly. Under high cornering load they get noisy as well, and when doing a flying start in warm conditions the slightest skitter makes a burn-rubber smell, unlike my old summer tyres.

    Can't comment on the life but I usually get 15,000 miles out of my front tyres and they seem to be on track for something similar.

    But I found I missed my Hankook Ventus Prime summer tyre for my summer driving, with which I could also get around ok in the snow. I think the Quadrac 3's would be good if I had snowy hills to climb but I don't live in Scotland.
    1 - tyre reviewed on July 9, 2015   
    Given 71% while driving a Renault Laguna 3 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 14,000 easy going miles
    I bought 4 Quatrac 3s for my Renault Laguna 3 to cope with the winters in the Pennines of N England - lots of long steep hills, sharp bends and narrow roads, and snow every winter. Performance was very good - grip quite satisfactory in wet and dry (though I'm a cautious driver), but excellent in snow even on steep hills - in fact I had to try very hard to make them slip even on snow. They've gone through two winters, and about 14,000 miles - and the front pair now need replacing. They wear quicker than summer tyres (which are totally hopeless round here in the winter), but then, that's the trade-off.
    1 - tyre reviewed on March 16, 2016   
    Have you driven on the Vredestein Quatrac 3 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Vredestein Quatrac 3? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Vredestein Quatrac 3 >

    Latest Vredestein Quatrac 3 Reviews

    Given 51% while driving a Daihatsu Terios (215/65 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 50,000 average miles
    Awful tires. No dry grip at all. Average wet grip. Good grip on snow.
    Would not buy again.
    0 - tyre reviewed on March 3, 2017   
    Given 63% while driving a Toyota Prius (195/55 R16 H) on mostly town for 24,000 easy going miles
    After only 24k in London worn down to the legal limit.
    0 - tyre reviewed on June 23, 2016   
    Want the best performance tyre? Click here!
    Given 91% while driving a Rover 75 auto (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 20 spirited miles
    Great tyres for rural areas where snow, ice, tractor mud, floods and bending roads are met each year. Good on motorways too with good life, perhaps not as much as a Michelin but far better grip when you need it.
    0 - tyre reviewed on April 6, 2015   
    Given 94% while driving a Smart fortwo passion (175/55 R15) on a combination of roads for 11 spirited miles
    Quieter than original Bridgstones, a little less grippy in the dry but more progressive and predictable at breakaway.
    Far better in the wet and in a totally different class once the weather turns cold. frosty mornings and sludge are no issue and it is fun going past 4X4's stuck in the snow.
    have to watch out for how close the car behind is when breaking, tail gaters do not stand a chance of stopping if you break really hard
    0 - tyre reviewed on November 15, 2014   
    Given 80% while driving a Skoda Fabia 1.2 (195/50 R15 H) on mostly country roads for 11,000 average miles
    The Quatrac 3 has been the best all season tyre we have used to date, they have gone on every car we have owned in the past 5 years. They are much better in the the snow and ice than some winter tyres we tried and are the best compromise for one set of all year round tyres we have found to date - just put a new set on my wife's Skoda. Minor drawbacks include they can (and do) wear quickly on heavier cars but that's compensated by excellent grip in all but the worst conditions until the tyre is getting towards the end of its life. They do get a bit 'rumbly' as they wear down, a droning noise is not all that uncommon.
    0 - tyre reviewed on November 2, 2014   
    Given 57% while driving a Toyota Avensis estate 1.8 petrol (205/55 R16 H) on mostly town for 14,000 average miles
    I bought these tyres because the Toyota factory fitted tyres were so bad in the snow, it was embarrassing. The Quatrac 3's performed well on the few snowy days we had, even in quite deep snow or flattened, icy snow. Also good on muddy fields when other cars were struggling for any grip. So performance wise, very good. Downside is noise. OK when new but became progressively worse as they wore past about 10,000 miles. The rhythmic droning became so bad I was totally convinced a wheel bearing needed replacing. It seems the tyres had worn badly / unevenly, with random flat sections around the periphery creating vibration on at least 2 of the 4 tyres.
    0 - tyre reviewed on July 24, 2014   
    Given 94% while driving a Ford Mondeo (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 9,000 spirited miles
    I bought these tyres two years ago for my Mondeo 2 litre tdci estate. They have now driven across France and up into the Alps for six one week trips. On my last MOT the report said they had 5mm of tread left, so I will get this next seasons skiing trips out of them. I live in a small village in Hertfordshire and we regularly get snowed in. However with these tyres on the only cars that get in and out of the village is ours with these tyres on and a couple of 4x4's. I have driven across France in Rain, Snow, Sleet and all sorts at 80MPH with 4 adults luggage and these tyres are the dogs doo daahs!!!
    0 - tyre reviewed on November 14, 2013   
    Given 88% while driving a Smart For Two Passion 0.8 cdi (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 40,000 easy going miles
    Been driving for 60000km with my Smart.
    Mostly city drive, but I went also in the mountain to a ski resort.
    No problems.

    Recommended!
    0 - tyre reviewed on November 6, 2013   
    Given 100% while driving a Acura 3.2 TL (225/45 R17) on track for 100 easy going miles
    Good
    0 - tyre reviewed on November 1, 2013   
    Given 79% while driving a Ford Fiesta (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 25,000 average miles
    A compromise but a good tyre and very capable in any weather. I would recommend to anyone.
    0 - tyre reviewed on October 26, 2012   
    Given 80% while driving a Ford Mondeo (235/45 R17 V) on mostly country roads for 18,000 average miles
    Good all rounder. I noticed a big difference in the snow compared to factory fitted tyres. Sometimes a bit noisy depending on road surface. I'm replacing them with the same again though. 18000 miles on an all year tyre isn't too bad.
    0 - tyre reviewed on September 3, 2012   
    Given 51% while driving a Renault Megane (205/65 R16) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
    After just 6 months and 6000km the tyres were completely gone
    0 - tyre reviewed on August 21, 2012   
    https://bs.serving-sys.com/Serving/adServer.bs?cn=display&c=19&pli=1076922911&gdpr=${GDPR}&gdpr_consent=${GDPR_CONSENT_68}&adid=1084363492&ord=1627920827