Kumho Ecowing ES31

Kumho has introduced its latest eco tyre, the Ecowing ES31, to the UK market, joining its high performance Ecsta range. The new tyre will gradually replace the established KH27, and is available initially in a total of 38 14 to 17 inch sizes, almost 70 percent of which carry a B label grade for rolling resistance.

Tyre review data from 16 tyre reviews averaging 75% over 117,606 miles driven, and 1 tests with an average result of 9th.

Dry Grip 79%
Wet Grip 69%
Road Feedback 75%
Handling 64%
Wear 77%
Comfort 80%
Buy again 79%

First On MarketNovember 2017
Wheel Size13 - 18"
Width145 - 225mm
Profile45 - 80
Rolling ResistanceA - C
Wet GripA - D
Noise (dB)69 - 71
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The Ecowing ES31 is ranked 74th of 149 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

This tyre replaced the Kumho Ecowing ES01 KH27.

Tests Included

1

Best Result

9th

Worst Result

9th

Average Result

9th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2022 ADAC 16" SUV Summer Tyre Test
9th of 18 tyres
  • Top marks in the dry, low wear.
  • Weakness in the wet.
  • The Kunho Ecowing ES31 achieves the best results on dry roads in the field and also shows very good wear behavior. However, its performance in the wet is only rated as satisfactory. This leads to a devaluation of the overall rating - the tire is therefore recommended.
View Full Test >>

2022 Tyre Tests

SizeFuelWetNoise
13 inch
155/80 R13 79 TCC70
14 inch
185/70R14 88 TBB70
185/60R14 82 HBB70
185/60R14 82 TBB70
175/65 R14 82 TCC70
165/70R14 85 T XLBC70
165/70R14 81 TCC70
175/65R14 86 T XLCB70
15 inch
195/65R15 91 TBB70
185/65R15 92 T XLCB70
195/65 R15 95 H XLBB70
195/65R15 91 HBB70
195/65R15 91 HBB69
195/65R15 91 VBB70
195/65R15 95 T XLBB70
185/65 R15 88 HBC70
185/65R15 88 HAA69
185/65R15 88 HCB70
185/65R15 88 TAC70
185/65R15 88 TCB70
16 inch
205/55R16 94 V XLBB70
215/60R16 99 V XLBB70
215/60R16 95 VBB70
205/60 R16 92 HAB70
205/60R16 92 HBC70
205/55R16 91 HBB69
205/55R16 94 H XLBB70
205/55R16 91 VBB70
205/55 R16 91 HBC70
205/55R16 91 HBB70
17 inch
205/50 R17 89 HBC70
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Kumho Ecowing ES31 >>

Questions and Answers for the Kumho Ecowing ES31

2019-09-25 - Why do these score just 30% for wear and yet 98% for buy again? I can't find any mention of fast wear in the written reviews.

There's a chance only one of the four reviews left a wear score, skewing the results.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
185/60 R15 £67.82 - £74.88 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
185/65 R15 £61.85 - £77.43 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/60 R15 £66.65 - £74.78 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £66.42 - £74.92 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/60 R16 £77.14 - £77.14 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 30 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Kumho Ecowing ES31 Reviews

Toyota Corolla AE101 (165/70 R14) on mostly country roads for 6 average miles
Noise 9/10, Very good in dry roads 9/10, good in wet 7/10, wear 7/10.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on November 28, 2023
Given 87% while driving a Subaru g3x Justy (175/65 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Bought these tyres x4 to replace some crappy low tier tyres , i thought i would spend a little more this year (37euros per tyre).
My car(basically a suzuki 1.5 ignis 4grip) has changed drastically in handling ,rolling noise and better fuel economy.
I cant really tell if they will last longer but turn in is sharper and grip levels are much better than the savas,infinitys and the original avons!
Well chuffed with these tyres would deffo buy again!
Helpful 136 - tyre reviewed on January 7, 2019
Given 61% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 1.9 Tdi (205/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Replaced hankook with Kumho. Very poor grip on both wet and dry. Good comfort but will not buy again.
Helpful 46 - tyre reviewed on June 20, 2022
Have you driven on the Kumho Ecowing ES31 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Kumho Ecowing ES31? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Kumho Ecowing ES31 >

Latest Kumho Ecowing ES31 Reviews

Given 54% while driving a SEAT Ibiza (185/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
- a tire with low fuel consumption and rolling resistance.
- grip on wet ground and especially the brake are very bad
- on dry ground, it meets expectations, but I can't say good
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on March 28, 2024
Given 55% while driving a Hyundai i30 (205/55 R16) on mostly town for 4,000 average miles
REALLY BAD in the wet, ok in the dry. I have had i30 cars for the past 12 years. In WET conditions, these are the worst Kumho tyres I have experienced... in fact worst tyre ever in 30 years of driving. After 2 losses of control today when driving, I am getting them changed this week even though they are still fairly new.
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on March 18, 2024
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 87% while driving a Peugeot 206 1.4 75hp (175/65 R14) on mostly motorways for 3,000 average miles
I bought four of these tyres for my 2003 Peugeot 206. The ADAC spoke positively about this tyre and reviews on this site about this tyre were positive too. Together with the low price of this tyre I thought I couldn't go wrong.

And I wasn't wrong! These tyres are good! Especially in the dry as the tests confirmed. Very responsive steering, and no under or over steer in sharp corners at all. Very impressed!
When it comes to the wet these tyres are great too. Stable and more than enough grip when cornering sharp on wet roads.
Only downside is these tyres slip easily when taking an extreme sharp corner from stand still on wet concrete parking lot floors. I hope you know what I mean.

Confort great too! But sometimes a little bit hard on ledges and ridges but nothing serious.
Noise a little bit too much in my opinion especially on rough tarmac but I need to be careful with this claim as it could also be my car lacking proper sound insulation ofc.
Wear? 2.000 km is too early to say something about it.

Will I buy these tyres again? I think I will!! Even though these tyres are Made in China, they perform very very well. Don't let that be a reason not to buy these guys. Cheers.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on February 21, 2024
Given 69% while driving a Hyundai i30 CRDi (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Great tyres in the dry. Noticable noise reduction and more comfortable than budget tyres. Some unsettled behaviour in the wet during cornering but much improved over the sumitomo tyres that were fitted when I bought the car.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on April 6, 2023
Given 80% while driving a Alfa Romeo GT 1.8 TS (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 32,000 easy going miles
Very goot tyres overall, still in good shape after 51.000+ km, planning to keep them for about another 5000 or 6000 km. Good comfort and grip, hot and cold, dry and wet.
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on February 24, 2023
Given 89% while driving a Honda Jazz (185/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 26,000 average miles
Great value tyre. Handles as well as the Michelin tyres that were on the car before, but a lot cheaper on price. An additional benefit is that they haven't started to perish, which the Michelin tyres suffered from.
Helpful 40 - tyre reviewed on March 12, 2022
Given 77% while driving a Citroën C4 (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 20,000 easy going miles
these tyres are very good. The only problem so far is the shoulders are too weak. So beware of pavement borders, potholes. I destroyed two tires already, now I'm trying XL (extraload) ones, hoping the shoulders are tougher. Also, if you drive too fast on corners, tyres tend to "eat" the border because of the shoulders I said. Before I used kumho ku31 ecsta sport: excellent tyres, never had a problem but they were very noisy and tend to step. Also, they wore very slowly because they became very hard after some years. Conclusion: ecowing are excellent, but too weak on the shoulders.
Helpful 39 - tyre reviewed on November 1, 2021
Given 85% while driving a Volvo V40 T3 Cross country (205/60 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 2,000 miles
Had all 4 put on volvo v40 replacing michellin must say not alot of difference apart from in the wet michellin scrape it but price wise kumho are #1 reduce road noise handling is on par would I buy these tyres again? Too right I will
Helpful 42 - tyre reviewed on February 2, 2021
Given 86% while driving a Honda Jazz (185/60 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 7,000 easy going miles
The three year old car came with half worn Michelin tyres however the pressure warning sensor kept being triggered. So I decided to try replacing the tyres. Four of these tyres fitted for just over £200 seemed a good deal. In fact I've been really impressed by these tyres, they seem better than the Michelin's. Cheaper, don't trigger the pressure sensors and only 1mm of wear in 7000 miles. These tyres also slightly improved my mpg.
Helpful 48 - tyre reviewed on October 25, 2020
Given 70% while driving a SEAT Ibiza TSi (185/65 R15 H) on mostly town for 2,000 spirited miles
Reasonable OE tires that came with my Seat Ibiza MY2020. Nothing spectacular but certainly not bad. Unfortunately one of them got damaged and it was incredibly hard to get a replacement, availability is pretty bad at least where I live. I had to sell the rest and upgrade all 4 tires to an Efficientgrip Performance 2, seperate review on that one.
Helpful 45 - tyre reviewed on August 28, 2020
Given 83% while driving a Ford Focus MK1 (195/60 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 500 easy going miles
I bought these tyres to replace some Goodyear Efficient Grip tyres, as the price of those tyres has increased substantially since I last bought some, probably 3-4 years ago. The Kumho's were significantly cheaper, but I had read good things about them so thought I would give them a try.

I haven't noticed any difference in performance compared to the Goodyear tyres. The Kumho's seem to grip just as well in wet or dry conditions. One thing I can say is that the car rides much better over bumpy surfaces, the old GY tyres were sometimes a bit crashy. The Kumho's are also noticeably quieter with less droning on certain types of tarmac.

I can't comment on how well they will wear as they have only been on two weeks, but I did get 3-4 years out of the old GY tyres before they were ready for replacement, hopefully the Kumho's will last just as long!

So, overall I am impressed, the tyres drive just as well, are quieter, and were significantly cheaper. When the back tyres are ready for changing, I'll definitely get the same again.
Helpful 57 - tyre reviewed on June 21, 2019
Given 64% while driving a Vauxhall zafira 1.9 cdti 150 bhp (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 5,000 easy going miles
Had the new tyres for a year now, original tyres were bridgstone turanza. The first thing i noticed was how quiet the vehicle was with increased levels of comfort, especially when crossing speed humps, much more compliant. I undertake some long motorway journeys, monthly and recorded significant improvement to the fuel economy app 5/6mpg ( cruising around 65mph). Too early to comment on wear and tyre life but it's looks promising.
i think they are good value for the money!
Helpful 72 - tyre reviewed on June 19, 2019