Kumho Ecowing ES31

Kumho has introduced its latest eco tyre, the Ecowing ES31, to the UK market, joining its high performance Ecsta range. The new tyre will gradually replace the established KH27, and is available initially in a total of 38 14 to 17 inch sizes, almost 70 percent of which carry a B label grade for rolling resistance.

This tyre replaced the Kumho Ecowing ES01 KH27.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 82%
Wet Grip 78%
Road Feedback 78%
Handling 71%
Wear 73%
Comfort 87%
Buy again 91%

Tyre review data from 9 tyre reviews averaging 80% over 63,600 miles driven.

The Ecowing ES31 is ranked 51st of 134 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2022 ADAC 16" SUV Summer Tyre Test - 9th of 18 tyres

  • Positive - Top marks in the dry, low wear.
  • Negative - Weakness in the wet.
  • Overall - The Kunho Ecowing ES31 achieves the best results on dry roads in the field and also shows very good wear behavior. However, its performance in the wet is only rated as satisfactory. This leads to a devaluation of the overall rating - the tire is therefore recommended.
View Full Test >>
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Kumho Ecowing ES31

Questions and Answers for the Kumho Ecowing ES31

2019-09-25 - Why do these score just 30% for wear and yet 98% for buy again? I can't find any mention of fast wear in the written reviews.

There's a chance only one of the four reviews left a wear score, skewing the results.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Ecowing ES31 Prices

Size Price Range  
175/65 R14 £41.29 - £48.99 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
185/60 R15 £48.99 - £83.80 (19 Prices) Compare Prices >>
185/65 R15 £45.89 - £68.10 (26 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/60 R15 £52.30 - £65.10 (13 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £48.89 - £85.10 (27 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/60 R16 £60.19 - £62.20 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 33 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Kumho Ecowing ES31 Reviews

Given 87% while driving a Subaru g3x Justy (175/65 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Bought these tyres x4 to replace some crappy low tier tyres , i thought i would spend a little more this year (37euros per tyre).
My car(basically a suzuki 1.5 ignis 4grip) has changed drastically in handling ,rolling noise and better fuel economy.
I cant really tell if they will last longer but turn in is sharper and grip levels are much better than the savas,infinitys and the original avons!
Well chuffed with these tyres would deffo buy again!
89 - tyre reviewed on January 7, 2019   
Given 88% while driving a Alfa Romeo GT 1.9 JTD (205/55 R16 V) on mostly motorways for 600 easy going miles
Huge difference compared to previous set, less noise, more comfort, still good grip in both dry and wet and great reduction of fuel consumption, almost 15% less than the old tires. Hope they will last for long, surely recommend.
31 - tyre reviewed on March 28, 2019   
Given 64% while driving a Vauxhall zafira 1.9 cdti 150 bhp (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 5,000 easy going miles
Had the new tyres for a year now, original tyres were bridgstone turanza. The first thing i noticed was how quiet the vehicle was with increased levels of comfort, especially when crossing speed humps, much more compliant. I undertake some long motorway journeys, monthly and recorded significant improvement to the fuel economy app 5/6mpg ( cruising around 65mph). Too early to comment on wear and tyre life but it's looks promising.
i think they are good value for the money!
27 - tyre reviewed on June 19, 2019   
Have you driven on the Kumho Ecowing ES31 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Kumho Ecowing ES31? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Kumho Ecowing ES31 >

Latest Kumho Ecowing ES31 Reviews

Given 89% while driving a Honda Jazz (185/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 26,000 average miles
Great value tyre. Handles as well as the Michelin tyres that were on the car before, but a lot cheaper on price. An additional benefit is that they haven't started to perish, which the Michelin tyres suffered from.
1 - tyre reviewed on March 12, 2022   
Given 77% while driving a Citroën C4 (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 20,000 easy going miles
these tyres are very good. The only problem so far is the shoulders are too weak. So beware of pavement borders, potholes. I destroyed two tires already, now I'm trying XL (extraload) ones, hoping the shoulders are tougher. Also, if you drive too fast on corners, tyres tend to "eat" the border because of the shoulders I said. Before I used kumho ku31 ecsta sport: excellent tyres, never had a problem but they were very noisy and tend to step. Also, they wore very slowly because they became very hard after some years. Conclusion: ecowing are excellent, but too weak on the shoulders.
7 - tyre reviewed on November 1, 2021   
Want the best Performance summer tyre? Click here!
Given 85% while driving a Volvo V40 T3 Cross country (205/60 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 2,000 miles
Had all 4 put on volvo v40 replacing michellin must say not alot of difference apart from in the wet michellin scrape it but price wise kumho are #1 reduce road noise handling is on par would I buy these tyres again? Too right I will
10 - tyre reviewed on February 3, 2021   
Given 86% while driving a Honda Jazz (185/60 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 7,000 easy going miles
The three year old car came with half worn Michelin tyres however the pressure warning sensor kept being triggered. So I decided to try replacing the tyres. Four of these tyres fitted for just over £200 seemed a good deal. In fact I've been really impressed by these tyres, they seem better than the Michelin's. Cheaper, don't trigger the pressure sensors and only 1mm of wear in 7000 miles. These tyres also slightly improved my mpg.
17 - tyre reviewed on October 25, 2020   
Given 70% while driving a SEAT Ibiza TSi (185/65 R15 H) on mostly town for 2,000 spirited miles
Reasonable OE tires that came with my Seat Ibiza MY2020. Nothing spectacular but certainly not bad. Unfortunately one of them got damaged and it was incredibly hard to get a replacement, availability is pretty bad at least where I live. I had to sell the rest and upgrade all 4 tires to an Efficientgrip Performance 2, seperate review on that one.
8 - tyre reviewed on August 28, 2020   
Given 83% while driving a Ford Focus MK1 (195/60 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 500 easy going miles
I bought these tyres to replace some Goodyear Efficient Grip tyres, as the price of those tyres has increased substantially since I last bought some, probably 3-4 years ago. The Kumho's were significantly cheaper, but I had read good things about them so thought I would give them a try.

I haven't noticed any difference in performance compared to the Goodyear tyres. The Kumho's seem to grip just as well in wet or dry conditions. One thing I can say is that the car rides much better over bumpy surfaces, the old GY tyres were sometimes a bit crashy. The Kumho's are also noticeably quieter with less droning on certain types of tarmac.

I can't comment on how well they will wear as they have only been on two weeks, but I did get 3-4 years out of the old GY tyres before they were ready for replacement, hopefully the Kumho's will last just as long!

So, overall I am impressed, the tyres drive just as well, are quieter, and were significantly cheaper. When the back tyres are ready for changing, I'll definitely get the same again.
26 - tyre reviewed on June 21, 2019