Kumho Ecowing ES01 KH27

The Kumho Ecowing ES01 KH27 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre has been replaced by the Kumho Ecowing ES31.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 75%
Wet Grip 62%
Road Feedback 72%
Handling 58%
Wear 76%
Comfort 79%
Buy again 64%

Tyre review data from 18 tyre reviews averaging 69% over 218,000 miles driven.

The Ecowing ES01 KH27 is ranked 99th of 135 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2019 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 185/65 R15 - 6th of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Good fuel consumption and wear.
  • Negative - Slightly weak in the dry and wet.
View Full Test >>

2018 AutoBild Summer Tyre Overview - 28th of 47 tyres

View Full Test >>

2017 ADAC 195/65 R15 Summer Tyre Test - 10th of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Low fuel consumption
  • Negative - Slightly weak in the wet, high wear
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
185/55 R14 80H   E B 70 6.68kgs
165/60 R14 75H   C C 70 6.08kgs
165/60 R14 75H   E C 70 6.10kgs
175/60 R14 79T   E B 70 6.13kgs
175/60 R14 79H   E B 70 6.18kgs
175/60 R14 79H   E C 70 6.13kgs
175/60 R14 79T   E B 70 6.18kgs
185/60 R14 82H   E B 70 7.11kgs
185/60 R14 82T   B B 70 6.85kgs
185/60 R14 82H   E B 70 7.09kgs
195/60 R14 86H   C B 70 7.80kgs
195/60 R14 86V   E B 70 7.60kgs
195/60 R14 86V   E B 70 7.91kgs
195/60 R14 86V   E B 70 7.60kgs
195/60 R14 86H   C B 70 7.75kgs
155/65 R14 75T   C B 70 5.77kgs
175/65 R14 82T   C B 70 6.65kgs
175/65 R14 86T XL   B C 70 6.33kgs
175/65 R14 82T   C B 70 6.74kgs
175/65 R14 82H   E B 70 6.70kgs
175/65 R14 82H   E C 70 6.57kgs
175/65 R14 82T   E B 70 6.80kgs
185/65 R14 86H   C C 70 7.16kgs
185/65 R14 86T   B B 70 7.09kgs
185/65 R14 86H   C B 70 6.99kgs
195/65 R14 89H   C B 70 8.00kgs
195/65 R14 89H   C B 70 7.94kgs
165/70 R14 81T   C B 68 6.47kgs
165/70 R14 81T   C B 70 6.41kgs
175/70 R14 88T XL   C B 70 7.36kgs
175/70 R14 84T   B B 70 6.73kgs
175/70 R14 88T XL   C B 70 7.15kgs
175/70 R14 84H   E B 70 6.84kgs
185/70 R14 88H   C B 70 7.54kgs
185/70 R14 88H   C B 70 7.70kgs
185/70 R14 88T   C B 70 7.50kgs
195/70 R14 91T   C B 70 8.39kgs
195/70 R14 91H   C B 70 8.19kgs
195/70 R14 91H   C B 70 8.53kgs
195/70 R14 91T   C B 70 8.09kgs
175/80 R14 88T   C B 70 7.43kgs
175/80 R14 88T   C B 70 7.64kgs
175/50 R15 75H   E C 70 6.68kgs
175/50 R15 75H   E C 70 6.55kgs
195/50 R15 82H   E C 70 7.26kgs
195/50 R15 82H   E B 70 7.31kgs
175/55 R15 77T   E C 70 6.65kgs
175/55 R15 77T   E C 70 6.76kgs
185/55 R15 86H XL   C C 71 7.03kgs
185/55 R15 82H   E B 70 7.17kgs
185/55 R15 86V XL   C B 70 7.96kgs
185/55 R15 82H   E B 70 7.36kgs
195/55 R15 85H   E B 70 7.66kgs
195/55 R15 85H   C B 70 7.68kgs
175/60 R15 81H   E C 70 6.68kgs
175/60 R15 81H   E C 70 6.71kgs
185/60 R15 84H   C C 69 7.56kgs
185/60 R15 88H XL   C B 70 8.24kgs
185/60 R15 84T   E B 70 7.25kgs
185/60 R15 84T   B B 70 7.28kgs
195/60 R15 88V   B B 69 8.02kgs
195/60 R15 88H   B C 69 7.89kgs
195/60 R15 88V   B B 69 7.95kgs
195/60 R15 88H   C B 69 7.91kgs
205/60 R15 91H   C C 70 8.39kgs
205/60 R15 91V   C C 70 8.54kgs
205/60 R15 91V   C B 70 8.61kgs
205/60 R15 91H   C B 70 8.51kgs
215/60 R15 94V   E B 70 9.79kgs
215/60 R15 94V   E B 70 9.92kgs
145/65 R15 72T   E C 70 5.71kgs
145/65 R15 72T   C C 70 5.64kgs
165/65 R15 81H   E C 70 6.47kgs
175/65 R15 84T   E C 70 7.00kgs
175/65 R15 84T   E C 70 6.89kgs
175/65 R15 84H   C C 70 6.84kgs
175/65 R15 84H   C B 70 6.89kgs
185/65 R15 88T   E B 70 7.60kgs
185/65 R15 88V   C B 70 7.71kgs
185/65 R15 88H   B B 68  
185/65 R15 88T   C B 70 7.49kgs
185/65 R15 88H   E B 70 7.60kgs
185/65 R15 88H   C B 70 7.52kgs
185/65 R15 88H   C C 70 7.77kgs
185/65 R15 88H   B B 71 7.01kgs
195/65 R15 91T   E B 69 8.51kgs
195/65 R15 95H XL   C C 70 8.97kgs
195/65 R15 91H   A C 69 7.48kgs
195/65 R15 91H   C C 69 7.61kgs
195/65 R15 91V   C B 69 8.39kgs
205/65 R15 94H   C B 70 9.11kgs
205/65 R15 94H   C B 70 9.26kgs
215/65 R15 100V XL   C B 70 10.39kgs
215/65 R15 100V XL   C B 70 10.62kgs
215/65 R15 96H   C B 70 9.85kgs
215/65 R15 96H   C B 70 10.11kgs
195/50 R16 84H   E C 70 7.86kgs
195/50 R16 84H   E B 70 7.75kgs
205/50 R16 87V   E C 71 8.85kgs
205/50 R16 87V   E C 71 8.85kgs
195/55 R16 87H   E C 70 8.17kgs
195/55 R16 87H   E C 70 8.20kgs
195/55 R16 87H   C C 71 8.14kgs
205/55 R16 91H   C C 71 8.67kgs
205/55 R16 91H   B B 69 8.86kgs
205/55 R16 91H   B B 69 8.94kgs
195/60 R16 89V   E C 70 9.02kgs
205/60 R16 92H   B B 69 8.63kgs
205/60 R16 92H   B B 69 8.76kgs
205/60 R16 96V XL   C B 71 8.70kgs
205/60 R16 92H   C B 69 9.25kgs
205/60 R16 92V   C B 69 9.56kgs
205/60 R16 96V XL   C B 71 9.59kgs
215/60 R16 99H XL   C B 72 10.66kgs
215/60 R16 95V   C C 71 10.21kgs
215/60 R16 95V   C C 71 9.95kgs
225/60 R16 98V   C C 71 10.75kgs
235/60 R16 100H   C C 71 11.98kgs
235/60 R16 100H   C C 71 11.57kgs
205/65 R16 95W   C B 70 9.33kgs
215/65 R16 98H   B B 71 10.58kgs
225/70 R16 103H   C C 71 12.03kgs
225/70 R16 103H   C C 71 11.90kgs
205/55 R17 91W   C B 71 9.26kgs
205/55 R17 91W   C B 69 11.56kgs
235/55 R17 99H   C C 71 11.71kgs
235/55 R17 99H   C B 71 11.88kgs
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Kumho Ecowing ES01 KH27. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Ecowing ES01 KH27 Prices

Size Price Range  
185/55 R14 £52.00 - £69.90 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/55 R16 £60.27 - £75.56 (13 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/65 R15 £48.99 - £65.70 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 30 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Kumho Ecowing ES01 KH27 Reviews

Given 75% while driving a Mazda mx 5 (185/60 R14 R) on mostly country roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Only just got these tyres a few days ago, so I can't speak for some of the categories.
Initial impression is very good, its been chucking it down since I got the tyres fitted and the wet grip is much much better than with the previous set of Conti's.
Its quieter and smoother with a nice amount of feedback.

So far well worth the change.
136 - tyre reviewed on February 22, 2015   
Given 91% while driving a Toyota Corona (195/65 R15) on mostly country roads for 50,000 spirited miles
very good tyres on Toyota fielder. I have done 50,00km but still have some threat to roll on. Weaker Sidewall for the Kenyan roads king-potholes. generally they are very good tyres. good value for money.
35 - tyre reviewed on December 7, 2017   
Given 100% while driving a Mitsubishi Lancer GLX (195/60 R15 H) on mostly motorways for 3,000 spirited miles
Best Choice tyres
34 - tyre reviewed on November 10, 2017   
Have you driven on the Kumho Ecowing ES01 KH27 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Kumho Ecowing ES01 KH27? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Kumho Ecowing ES01 KH27 >

Latest Kumho Ecowing ES01 KH27 Reviews

MINI (175/65 R15) on mostly country roads for 4,000 spirited miles
You can feel a loss of grip in less favourable conditions, that being said if you don't cane it, they are more than appropriate. I wouldn't recommend these if you are a keen driver, in an FWD they are just a little too eager to let go. Perfect for Mavis and her Honda Jazz- going to the shops and back won't be an issue, sadly no auto testing.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 12, 2021   
Given 100% while driving a Toyota Corolla Altis (195/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Got these ECOWings on my Toyota last year, and my o my, highly stable, smooth, silent and fuel saving tyre. Smooth on rough roads and high road bumps tolerance. It almost feel like im driving Michelins Energy Savers, its been around 16000kms and the tyre is like brand new. I would definitely use this tyre for my other cars and recommend to others aswell.
5 - tyre reviewed on September 20, 2020   
Want the best Performance summer tyre? Click here!
Given 10% while driving a Honda Stream (205/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 easy going miles
I had a pair of these put on the front of a front wheel drive Honda stream, they seemed ok so got some put on the back when needed. These are the worst tyre I have ever had. The back end slips on slightest corners, roundabouts, etc. and this is at normal speeds and even in dry conditions - you can hear them screech when it is dry. They were so bad I took them off the back, this is the only time I have ever taken a tyre off, and I have had some rubbish in my time! They are ok on the front, and seem to grip where they are pointed, but for the back have no lateral grip whatsoever. They start to split in the tread too as they wear.

I have had Bridgestone Turanza (very average, not great) Goodyear efficient grip, and Landsail LS388 (don't knock them until you have tried them), and both of the Goodyear and Landsail stick to the road at all times, but the Goodyear don't last too long on the front.
2 - tyre reviewed on January 5, 2020   
Given 86% while driving a Peugeot 106 s16 (185/55 R14) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Overall very very pleased with these tires. Used BF Goodrich and Toyo previously and both were just horrible in the rain as well as thread wear. These feel like a much more expensive/premium tire. Will fit them on more vehicles. Congrats for this quality.
3 - tyre reviewed on November 14, 2019   
Given 95% while driving a Kia Motors Cerato Forte (205/55 R16 V) on mostly motorways for 40,000 miles
Very comfortable tyres and have good traction control
26 - tyre reviewed on October 14, 2017   
Given 66% while driving a Vauxhall (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
These have to be the worst tyres I have ever owned. In the dry they are fantastic, low noise, good grip and great fuel economy. In the wet if you are cornering or pulling away they slip and slide all over the place. In a straight line they seem to disperse the water as there rating seems to suggest. I have no confidence in them when negotiating bends and if you push them at all when cornering you start to drift across the road rather disconcerting at motorway speeds. I definitely would not buy again.
30 - tyre reviewed on January 5, 2016   
Given 29% while driving a Nissan Qashqai (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Had them on Nissan Qashqai for 6 months during the summer (British summer). Have slid more times on these tyres than any literature ever. Been driving for 25years never slid until fitting these. Can't take a large roundabout at 30mph. I am changing back to Yokahama in October. I would not trust these even in mild British winter.
2 - tyre reviewed on September 6, 2015   
Given 45% while driving a Volkswagen TakeUp (165/70 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
I had these fitted to my VW Up and after the second skid on a damp roundabout, I replaced them with proper tyres. The tyres were dangerous. I have in 18 year never had a skid, except on ice due to driver error. About a month after replacing all my tyres, I was going acorss a very wide and damp roundabout, about to exit, and I lost control of the rear. The car spun 180 degrees and came off the road. I was going no faster than other cars, about 30mph, and the driving was smooth. By some miracle I did not hit another car, or a lamp post. Three weeks later, going round a smaller damp roundabout, at 20mph, the same speed as the car in front, I lost the rear again. This time I was able to regain control. Even on a dry road the steering felt wooly, and I had the sensation sometimes of the tyres sliding. I put on some decent premium tyres, and the improvement is dramatic. The car was originally supplied new with Hankook Kinergy tyres which were fine. The KH27 tyres I had are not fit for purpose. Note that straight line braking was fine. But transverse grip on a damp road was very poor. I owned these for about three months, which was three months too long. Kumho asked for them back, so perhaps they were faulty. Note that the front and back were from two batches, since I had the rear ones fitted a few weeks after the front ones. At the time of the first skid I had done maybe 1,000 miles.
21 - tyre reviewed on June 7, 2015   
Given 96% while driving a Skoda Rapid TSI (185/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 1,000 easy going miles
A trully efficient tyre!
This set of 4x kumho tyres cost just over £200 fitted, and the fuel it is saving me will pay off the cost of the tyres over its lifetime. I am getting 6.5% better fuel econemy running these over the standard continental tyres fitted from factory.
Dry grip and wet grip are exceptional and wet grip braking is among the best i have encountered. Tyre noise is minimal and balancing the tyres were easy.
overall these are among my favourite tyres i have fitted to any previous vehicle. When pushed these tyres can hold there own, either under hard acceleration, braking or cornering, with no imminent feel of braking away. But when driven sensibly they are a wonder, transforming the vehicle into a comfortable quiet car, hiding many pot holes and uneven road surfaces common to the uk.
These tyres are better than leading premium brands for my style of driving on my current vehicle. Wear after 1000 miles is next to none And for just over £200 for 4x fitted, new valves and balanced tyres there are little other options to choose from, none of them would be as good.
A revolutionary tyre. Well done kumho. 9/10.
1 - tyre reviewed on February 21, 2015   
Given 20% while driving a Skoda Fabia 1.4 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 easy going miles
The Ecowing KH27 is a truly awful tyre possibly the worst you can buy.



Doesn't grip in the wet or the dry.



Yes they are quiet but when they spin in the dry they make the highest pitch scream I've ever heard from a tyre.



I've driven on bold tyres in the wet that hold better then these.



1/10
TERRIBLE TYRE!.
12 - tyre reviewed on September 3, 2014