Hyundai i30 CRDi Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Hyundai i30 CRDi.

Do you Drive a Hyundai i30 CRDi? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a i30 CRDi better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Continental WinterContact TS 860 (48) 89% 92% 83% 86% 83% 86%
Kleber Krisalp HP3 (33) 85% 86% 82% 81% 83% 88%
Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun (99) 87% 83% 81% 80% 77% 79%
Hankook OPTIMO K415 (54) 82% 75% 75% 73% 85% 75%
Hankook K425 Kinergy Eco (49) 83% 77% 77% 74% 72% 77%
Kumho Ecowing ES31 (16) 79% 69% 75% 64% 77% 80%
Bridgestone Turanza T005 (142) 82% 80% 73% 74% 66% 73%
Pirelli CINTURATO P7 (181) 83% 73% 73% 75% 70% 74%
Petlas Velox Sport PT721 (4) 87% 80% 83% 73% 67% 70%
Kumho Solus KH15 (24) 76% 69% 71% 60% 75% 80%
Barum Brillantis 2 (31) 77% 60% 68% 67% 78% 77%
Hankook Ventus Prime2 (61) 79% 73% 72% 71% 67% 72%
Kumho Solus KH17 (56) 76% 70% 70% 69% 67% 70%
Nexen N1000 (19) 78% 66% 66% 66% 67% 63%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (165) 79% 69% 69% 67% 63% 64%
Nexen N3000 (45) 73% 55% 63% 62% 63% 67%
Sailun Atrezzo Z4 AS (52) 74% 68% 62% 62% 64% 56%
Yokohama ICE GUARD IG50 PLUS (3) 40% 43% 43% 43% 60% 53%

Hyundai i30 CRDi Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx given 63% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 9000 average miles
The Dunlop SP Sport Maxx RT2 is a good tyre with decent grip on acceleration and braking with minimal slip, during harsh cornering the tyre have a slight delay in response when fast steering input is added. This is mainly due to the limit of the tyre's grip and the slight softer side wall compare to higher-end UUHP tyres. After a few track days and running them on a few AutoSolo events, the tyre has worn moderately mainly on the shoulders of the groove and partially on side wall but if I were to eliminate this tyre completely off competition use, it would be the tyre I would definitely buy again. Overall everyday driving it is a comfortable tyre with barely any noise at low speeds and on motorway thanks to its softer side wall compare to a track tyre and good rolling resistance. For the price of the tyre, its definitely worth the performance and especially safety.
tyre reviewed on 2024-05-09 02:23:23
Writing about the Kumho Ecowing ES31 given 69% (195-65-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
Great tyres in the dry. Noticable noise reduction and more comfortable than budget tyres. Some unsettled behaviour in the wet during cornering but much improved over the sumitomo tyres that were fitted when I bought the car.
tyre reviewed on 2023-04-06 14:07:03
Writing about the Yokohama ICE GUARD IG50 PLUS given 30% (195-65-15-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 5000 average miles
The car skids on roundabouts on dry and unpredictable handling. Doesn't perform well in snow condition either. Not recommend to anyone
tyre reviewed on 2023-02-03 15:39:38
Writing about the Continental WinterContact TS 860 given 61% (195-65-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 spirited miles
First joy, then sorrow. I read a lot about tire tests and according to what I read, Continental brand products are always among the best winter tires. That’s why I chose the TS860 in 2017. Safety comes first. I am willing to buy an expensive tire, but my expectations are also high. The tires were manufactured in September 2017 and fitted to my car in November. I live in Austria, where there is usually a lot of snow in the mountains. My first experiences were extremely good. The tires had outstanding aquaplaning resistance. Very, very good handling in snow. It was safe to drive at 80 km/h in snowfall with 15 centimeters of snow on the road. The tires had very good cornering properties on wet and dry roads. A good grip made you feel really safe. Although there was no traction on pure ice, but on ice other tires don’t have traction either. The tires were very quiet and comfortable. I was really extremely happy with the TS860... for the first 2 winters. During the 3rd winter, my experience began to change. It wasn’t a problem on dry roads, but it was in snow. Although the tread depth of the tires was still 6 millimeters, snowy grip, cornering, traction, and most of all braking deteriorated a lot. There was a situation where I thought the car would never stop. At the end of the winter, the tires were 2.5 years old and were marked "cracked" on the roadworthiness test. It was like they were old tires. The legal requirement is a minimum pattern depth of 4 mm. Because it was still 5mm, I also fitted them to my car last November. The grip in snow had gotten even worse, but what’s worse was that the braking distance had grown extremely long on wet roads. On a wet road, you would barely press the brake, the ABS would already be working yet the car would barely slow down. Now it is dangerous to drive with this 4-year-old tire in rain and snow. I think any new budget winter tire is better than this 4 years old premium tire. It’s true that Continental makes great winter tires when we look at new tires. But people don’t buy new tires every 1-2 years. I have never had a tire that has aged so quickly. I drove about 40,000 kilometres (25,000 miles) with these. I recommend these tires only to those who buys a new ones every 2 years.
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-14 06:42:14
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza T005 given 69% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 28000 spirited miles
Positive: Amazingly good grip on dry and wet roads. It is extremely safe to drive a car with these tires. The car’s fuel consumption is really very low with Turazna T005. Negative: I think it wears out relatively quickly. I was able to drive roughly 45,000 km (28,000 miles) with these. The grip is very temperature dependent. Excellent in warm and hot. Not bad in cool weather either. Around 8 degrees Celsius, it no longer feels safe. I use winter tires in winter, but it can be relatively cold in both fall and spring. I’ve never had a summer tire that has lost so much from gripping because of the temperature. The tire is very loud, which ruins comfort. In terms of safety, I am not satisfied with aquaplaning resistance alone. That could be better. I would only buy it again if the sound insulation of my car would be much better. I'm switching to Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 now.
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-13 13:28:28
Writing about the Kleber Krisalp HP3 given 100% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2020-12-12 13:54:43
Writing about the Kleber Krisalp HP3 given 88% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Very good for the money
tyre reviewed on 2020-03-19 02:02:42
Writing about the Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun given 78% (195-65-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
New silica and new model tyre. I have bought them a few days ago.
Very silent. Most silent tyres I had the last 20 years.
Nice handling.

Cheaper than most other brands.
(30euro cheaper than dunlop and 50 euro cheaper than michelin)

Euro label - C A A 67db for 195 65 15
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-09 10:15:22
Writing about the Sailun Atrezzo Z4 AS given 83% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 22000 average miles
Great tyers, they are slatted for fast wearing???? mine have lasted 22000 miles on the front!! good price, better than averge grip, road nose a little worse than others but bearable. bought same tyers for the rear at the same time (22000 miles ago) still have abvout 75% life left in them
tyre reviewed on 2017-02-02 10:03:20
Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime2 given 74% (225-55-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 50000 spirited miles
These tyres came as OE fitment to the car; My 2012 Hyundai i30 1.6 CRDi Elite came with Hankook Ventus Prime 2 K115 205/55 R16 91 H tyres (EAN: 8808563330099). Its factory default values are Class E for fuel efficiency and Class A for wet grip and 69 dB external rolling noise according to official company website. I had almost 80.000 kms (ie. 50.000 miles) with the very same tires. The wear is extremely low, I had been told that I could use them for another 15.000 kms (~9.000 miles) due to authorized service. Of course the wear is closely related to driving style and the road conditions. But, I could assure you the tyres even stand for the harsh road conditions in Turkey and my aggressive driving style with lots of immediate brakes and fast pace changes. Anyway, I am far from glad about the wear condition of this tire comparing it to the ones I used so far. However, on the contrary; the comfort, the road feedback and the overall feeling of the tires are far from average, making it one of the worst I could ever experience. They are noisy, cannot respond well on almost all surfaces except dry and paved roads. They are especially useless on wet grip and winter conditions where any amount of snow cause serious trouble. I will not prefer to buy these tires although they are cheap and endurable. I will definitely opt for buying a more secure and comfortable one rather than this. But this one is still an economical choice for those using it mainly on paved roads and dry conditions.

tyre reviewed on 2017-01-23 06:40:01
Writing about the Hankook OPTIMO K415 given 87% (225-45-17-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 100 easy going miles
My car has done 100,000 kilometres and its second set of Hankook Optimos still has around 2.5 millimetres of tread left so due for change fairly soon but wont consider any other make. Neighbour has same car with similar mileage and is on his 3rd set of no standard equipment tyres. Highly recommend the Hankook Optima K415
tyre reviewed on 2015-04-29 23:16:58
Writing about the Hankook OPTIMO K415 given 76% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 62000 average miles
Not really had a chance to compare them with other tyres on my car, because they just won't wear out. The front tyres lasted for 38,000 miles before being replaced. I moved the rear tyres to the front and fitted new tyres at the rear. I'm now up to 62,000 miles and the front tyres -which have been on the car since new - still have 3mm of tread on them. They are by far and away the longest lasting tyres I've ever had.
tyre reviewed on 2014-05-10 11:28:27
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre