Kumho Solus KH15

The Kumho Solus KH15 is a Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 76%
Wet Grip 69%
Road Feedback 71%
Handling 60%
Wear 75%
Comfort 80%
Buy again 72%

Tyre review data from 24 tyre reviews averaging 72% over 240,604 miles driven.

The Solus KH15 is ranked 63rd of 202 Summer Touring tyres.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Kumho Solus KH15
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
175/60 R13 77H   E E 70 5.99kgs
145/70 R13 71T   E E 70 4.82kgs
165/60 R14 75H   E B 68 6.15kgs
185/65 R15 88T   E E 70 8.37kgs
225/70 R16 103H   E E 71 12.10kgs
235/60 R17 102H   E E 71 12.38kgs
235/50 R18 97V   E C 71 12.52kgs
255/60 R18 108H   C C 72 15.15kgs
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Kumho Solus KH15. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Kumho Solus KH15 Reviews

Given 76% while driving a Hyundai (185/60 R15) on mostly motorways for 23,500 average miles
Bought the i20 from new with Kumho tyres. After 23500 miles, mostly dual carriage way and motorway, they still had 2 - 3 mm of tread left. Generally I found them very good, even in the snow! The only negative comment was the road noise. Running my second i20 now, fitted with Hankook tyres, road noise is definately reduced. Would I buy them again? Probably.
10 - tyre reviewed on September 8, 2011   
Given 60% while driving a Kia Motors (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 30 average miles
These tires had no tread left after 30 000Kms that's not acceptable I think. It didn't have much grip when there was read tho... Kept spinning the tyres, going to get a different tyre don't like then at all
3 - tyre reviewed on October 15, 2014   
Given 78% while driving a Kia Motors Cerato 2 litre auto (Tiptronic) (205/50 R16) on mostly town for 55 average miles
I first rode Kumho on my 2007 Kia Cerato limited (leather option) bought new.
They are Solus KH15
The tyres have been excellent, wearing well. One was replaced early after a puncture, could have been repaired but I decided to fit a new one, bought via a Goodyear depot which I had previously used. Cost NZ$160 fitted.
The rest lasted over 50,000km in mostly stop-start city driving in Auckland New Zealand where many roads are coarse stone-chip surface. Also I was doing commercial real estate meaning I was often in and out of parking buildings negotiating tight spaces which is hard on tyres. Similarly at our residence.
Just before 50,000 the front tyres were looking decidedly worn so I enquired as to replacement to find a local Kumho dealer had two left before changeover to KH17 fitted NZ$120 each. I bought these and took them home for later fitment. These eventually went on 6 months later! The dealer honoured his promise to fit them later. He offered a 50,000km warranty, which involves regular inspectiosn etc at extra cost. I didn't bother. During the final months the tread looked rather worn but there was never any grip problems wet or dry, except for one wheel spinning on an uphill start on a roundabout out of a drain gutter, a lousy dangerous spot. The tyres did get noisier but not nearly as badly as Bridgestone RE92s I had on several Toyota Camrys. They were HORRID tyres. The Bridgestones lost the minor sipes on the shoulders half way through the wear cycle, so half the pattern disappeared as the tyres wore! The Kumhos never did, even the finest grooves were there until the end. Thoroughly recommended. I am told the KH17s are even better, but decided to stay with what I knew and trusted for another 50,000km or so.
I do find modern cars provide very little "seat of the pants" feedback and the Kia is no exception. You cannot "think" it around a corner. Whether the tyres influence this I don't know, but I feel modern chassis are for want of a term "sanitised" to remove any "uncomfortable" feelings for the mass market. The last car I owned which provided proper feedback was my Mercedes 190E 2.3-16 (Cosworth), quite a different piece.
Also I never taken the Kia to the limit..
Kumho = highly recommended.
2 - tyre reviewed on July 28, 2012   
Have you driven on the Kumho Solus KH15 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Kumho Solus KH15? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Kumho Solus KH15 >

Latest Kumho Solus KH15 Reviews

Given 49% while driving a Kia Motors Picanto (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 14,375 average miles
Bought a Kia Picanto 2014 brand new, came with Kumho tires. Since new, the tires slip a lot when youre pushing on your throttle, even in low revs. My city has a lot of hills and sloped stop lights, and the traction is not very good when starting to accelerate uphill. Everytime you start moving they will slip, specially if the floor is wet. However, they do no slip for a lot of time, 1 second aftewards it has traction again. But it is annoying that every time you try to start moving, it happens. Does a good job on handling, but sometimes you feel that youre pushing too hard on the tires, about to loose control and actually youre just going about 50km/h on a curve, slightly oversteering I guess. Noise is quite hard, and comfort isnt too good, specially when driving on bumpy roads. I have driven in dirt, pavement and many country side roads with good results afterall. The thing that gets my nerve the most about these tires is the weardown. 22 000 km for these stock tires. Really sucks, I believe that it is because of all that slipping when trying to start from a traffic light. Also, got a flat tire after 2 weeks of using them, not a very big sharp object pierced through one of the tires. Im impressed that some people say they got 60 thousand km from them. very low-average tire in my opinion...
0 - tyre reviewed on March 21, 2018   
Given 59% while driving a Peugeot 405 (185/65 R14) on a combination of roads for 43,000 average miles
its a midrange tire.. just for family car.. not bad!
0 - tyre reviewed on March 13, 2017   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 89% while driving a Volkswagen (205/60 R15 H) on mostly motorways for 10 spirited miles
Excellent tyre for cost. Fitted to front of my pd 130 vow passatt. Simply a good all round tyre and will buy again.
2 - tyre reviewed on August 10, 2013   
Given 94% while driving a Honda Civic EX 1.6 VTEC (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 8,000 average miles
Further to my review in September 2009 when I replaced all 4 of my original tyres on my Honda Civic, I can honestly say that they were the best investment on the car that I have made. Up here in the Scottish Borders this year the weather has been awful, but the tyres just keep going and going - no problems with heavy standing water, ice or (occasionaly) dry roads. They are wearing well (they still look new) and will certainly be my first choice if and when I need new tyres.
Can really recommend. The car has never driven smoother or quieter.
1 - tyre reviewed on July 8, 2012   
Given 74% while driving a Hyundai i30 CRDi (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 37 spirited miles
ORIGINAL TYRES ON MY i30 DONE 62,000 Km JUST NEEDING REPLACED NOW, HAVING DIFFICULTY TRACKING DOWN THE KM15 TO REPLACE. MOST OF THE TRAVEL HAS BEEN ON THE HIGHWAY FROM CITY TO COUNTRY WA 500KM ROUND TRIPS ON A VARIETY OF ROAD SURFACES - HANDLES WELL ON THE GRAVEL AND ON THE BITUMEN, WOULD RECOMMEND THEM.
1 - tyre reviewed on January 31, 2012   
Given 69% while driving a Suzuki Swift Gti (175/60 R14) on mostly town for 30 spirited miles
These tires are cheap and the quality is very good for the value, kumho became a important brand in my mind till I used them.
1 - tyre reviewed on November 24, 2011   
Given 86% while driving a Volvo V40 Estate (195/55 R15) on mostly town for 25,000 spirited miles
great tyre great on dry and very good in wet even when pushed very low noise i would defiantly buy them again if they were cheaper
0 - tyre reviewed on November 16, 2011   
Given 90% while driving a Hyundai i30 1.6 petrol Premium (185/65 R15 S) on a combination of roads for 12,000 easy going miles
185/65 R15 came from Korea with my brand new Hyundai i30CW. After 20000 km you hardly notice any wear. Top marks for the tyres and for the car. Replaced only because my son of 18 wanted sport alloy wheels of 225 45 R17, maximum standard for the car... with Pirelli Zerro Rosso.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 27, 2011   
Given 81% while driving a Mercedes Benz c 220 cdi (225/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
I bought these thinking they were the ecsta range.. So not off to a good start!! However I found they coped admirably compared against the conti's they replaced. The noise was down on the previous set and I felt assured in both dry and wet conditions. The sidewalls are on the thin side but you only feel it if you are cornering fast and I mean Fast! All in all a superb buy for the price. Would I buy them again??? Well.. they have a set the stadard for me at least as they remained consistent throughout their lifetime. I am only now upgrading to the Kumho KH31 so only time will tell if their bigger brother will perform better. KH15 solus a definite buy reccomendation for the budget buyer.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 26, 2010   
Given 71% while driving a Opel Vectra B (195/60 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 30,000 easy going miles
I think this tyre is a total average but very good for the money I paid for it (320 euros).
0 - tyre reviewed on July 25, 2010   
Given 80% while driving a Daewoo Cielo (175/70 R13 T) on mostly town for 15,000 easy going miles
I bought these tyres after the original ones colapsed alltogheter.I bought these very cheap also around 25Euro/tyre.I strongly recommend these type for cheap cars.Very good confort.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 28, 2010   
Given 76% while driving a Ford Focus MK1 (195/60 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 12 spirited miles
Had these fitted by a local garage had seen the kumho Solus KH17 get a best buy in Which magazine but they didn't have those in stock so I settled on these. Have driven with them on a 1.6 Focus Zetec. Not the most light footed of drivers and tyres grip well under hard acceleration and braking. Wet weather performance and general performance increases as the tyre block height wears down. Have also used these during the heavy snow and they provided good grip for both traction and breaking. Not a tyre designed for a performance saloon but a very competant and cost effective tyre for a family saloon. Have also used the KH17 which appears to be a very similar performance to the KH15 in the wet and dry.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 26, 2010