Peugeot 405 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Peugeot 405.

Do you Drive a Peugeot 405? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a 405 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Firestone Multihawk (16) 86% 76% 79% 79% 80% 71%
Dunlop SP Sport LM704 (21) 84% 67% 80% 79% 78% 82%
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (164) 83% 75% 77% 75% 72% 74%
Kumho Solus KH15 (24) 76% 69% 71% 60% 75% 80%
Accelera PHI R (16) 81% 53% 73% 76% 73% 80%
Kumho Ecsta KH11 (4) 68% 60% 65% 60% 77% 67%
Landsail LS388 AS (38) 77% 70% 72% 68% 73% 76%

Peugeot 405 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport LM704 given 56% (205-55-15-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 50000 average miles
It has some positive points but It is definitely dangerous in wet.i have accident in staight street with 140km/h and I didn't understand whats hapens.lm704 is worse tyre in wet that I experienced.
Its realy realy toooooo much dangrous in wet
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-17 12:04:58
Writing about the Firestone Multihawk given 79% (185-70-14-T)
Driving on mostly town for 80 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-21 13:23:54
Writing about the Accelera PHI R given 86% (205-60-14-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
ce sont les meilleurs pneus pour mon budget
Confortable, bonne manipulation, bonne prise en main sèche, et je ne peux pas entendre le moindre bruit, et sûrement acheter à nouveau.
tyre reviewed on 2018-07-04 06:35:48
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta KU31 given 80% (185-65-14-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 45000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-08-02 22:39:08
Writing about the Kumho Solus KH15 given 59% (185-65-14-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 43000 average miles
its a midrange tire.. just for family car.. not bad!
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-13 11:08:04
Writing about the Landsail LS388 AS given 94% (175-70-14-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 11000 average miles
Got a pair of these on the front of my old workhorse Pug around June last year. The car's used mainly for business, carrying stock and tools, and regularly has it's load carrying abilities pushed to the limit.

Since then it's covered 11k miles of local (country roads), some town work, and 3 or 4 long distance motorway trips, including a couple fully loaded with camping gear and with a trailer attached.

Frankly, the tyres were chosen because they were cheap. I didn't expect much from them but needed a couple as the old ones were getting low. I've always taken the view that ditch-finders don't find ditches unless you go looking for them, but these certainly aren't ditch-finders despite only costing about £40 each fully fitted and balanced!

Within a few miles of having them fitted I noticed that they were appreciably quieter than the old Goodyears and seemed at least as responsive. I tend not to intentionally push the grip limits on public roads but did put these "through their paces" just to get an idea of how they'd react.

Grip is plentiful for cornering and braking - they happily gave just over 90% straight-line-dry brake efficiency (measured by Tapley) before complaining and cope well with damp roads and standing water (common around these parts!). Pushed to the limit they give a nice gentle warning back through the wheel, followed by a bit of a squeal, and will regain grip easily unless you just keep pushing.

Admittedly, some of their ability with standing water will be down to the very narrow width by today's standards but that's the size I needed!

Haven't had much of a chance to try out their cold / snow / ice performance but, on the 2 or 3 icy days we've had since, I've had no problem with traction or control even on re-frozen snow "the morning after" an unexpected couple of inches.

Comfort is good, undoubtedly helped by the high (again, by today's standards) profile and noise, as mentioned earlier, has remained pleasantly low - a definite benefit when your car's not as soundproof as most are today!

The one slight downside is that they have a slightly soft compound so wear rates aren't great. That soft compound probably explains a lot of their positive characteristics but, in 11k miles, they've used up about 4mm of tread so will probably end up lasting around 18k miles total. That said, that's on the front, driven, wheels of a fairly heavy diesel that's been used to carry considerable loads around twisty local roads and on motorway at multi-lepton speeds.

As to the "would I buy again" questions - I've just replaced the rears with a pair of the same.
tyre reviewed on 2015-02-04 14:36:38
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta KH11 given 91% (205-60-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2015-01-09 07:48:51
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre