Kia Motors Picanto Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Kia Motors Picanto.

Do you Drive a Kia Motors Picanto? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Picanto better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Dunlop SP Sport 560 (4) 93% 80% 93% 88% 95% 95%
Hankook Optimo 4S (32) 86% 86% 79% 78% 78% 88%
Dunlop StreetResponse 2 (22) 87% 83% 84% 84% 71% 80%
Nexen N Blue HD Plus (69) 83% 79% 77% 76% 76% 84%
Kumho Winter Craft WP51 (14) 81% 75% 71% 72% 82% 84%
BFGoodrich Advantage (10) 76% 78% 74% 72% 81% 88%
Rapid p309 (7) 85% 61% 65% 78% 74% 82%
Hankook Optimo K406 (9) 90% 83% 87% 61% 66% 66%
Kumho Solus KH15 (24) 76% 69% 71% 60% 75% 80%
Kumho Solus KH17 (56) 76% 70% 70% 69% 67% 70%
Silverstone FTZ SPORT EVOL8 (8) 71% 70% 69% 66% 68% 63%
Landsail LS388 AS (49) 77% 69% 72% 68% 71% 77%
Dunlop SP10 (2) 65% 60% 70% 70% 50% 60%
Nexen N Priz AH5 (1) 80% 60% 30% 30% 70% 90%
BFGoodrich Touring (6) 67% 47% 58% 57% 65% 60%
Durun A One (22) 69% 48% 59% 48% 48% 51%

Kia Motors Picanto Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Durun A One given 82% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 1000 miles
Cheap and cheerful tyres. I am surprised how well they perform on my little city car.
I only paid £120 for all four !
Don't know what people expect for the money. So far only covered 1000 miles with no problems.
I have to add if you drive a performance vehicle buy the best tyres you can afford.
Would definitely buy these again .
tyre reviewed on 2024-06-13 00:13:36
Writing about the BFGoodrich Touring given 97% (165-60-14-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 56000 spirited miles
I fitted this tire on a Kia picanto 5 years ago and drive them for 91,000km.
Honestly they are amazing I couldn’t believe the wear of this tire.
What also impressed me is the wet and dry handling of this tire. I used to be scared driving when it rains but ever since I fitted them I couldn’t wait for it to rain to try them out.
I had fitted Vredesteins previously and they are not even comparable to the Tigars I have now.
After 5 years I will be fitting them again and I would highly recommend this tire brand for anyone looking for a great ratio of quality to price.
tyre reviewed on 2024-01-18 13:23:02
Writing about the BFGoodrich Advantage given 83% (175-65-14-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 easy going miles
I bought these on the strength of the UK Tyrereviews website piece on 2021 Summer tyres. Even though I do not live in the UK, so far as I was able to tell, the Advantage sold here in Australia is exactly the same as the Advantage sold in the UK that was reviewed, save for one extra ply in the sidewall. I purchased these tyres on the basis of them coming top of the heap in terms of comfort in the aforementioned review. The roads where I live are appalling and getting worse by the day and it might be some time (if ever) before I can buy a large SUV such as a Santa Fe or Sorento that would obviously be far better suited to them rather than my current tiny Kia Picanto. Combine that with me not getting any younger and comfort is the main thing I want in a tyre these days, especially when seemingly all modern vehicles are biased towards firm (albeit well controlled) rides.

Well I certainly have to agree with the Tyrereviews review - these tyres are definitely much more comfortable than any previous tyres I have owned and are surprisingly quiet. It was actually their quietness that took me most by surprise since it is not exactly a feature even the manufacturer appears to excessively harp on about. But maybe they should - they really are very quiet - but not so much in terms of a reading on the dB meter - it is because the noise seems to be "tuned" into a bandwidth that we humans find far less irritable - so much less "midrange" to use a hifi analogy. Further anecdotal evidence the noise is reduced is when listening to my usual radio station at 100 kmh on coarse chip roads, I can now listen three "clicks" lower in volume than before (volume 10 versus 13 previously).

As for handling, I do detect a little bit more understeer but I fully expected this given there is no free lunch if you want to bias a tyre more towards comfort. It is a compromise that I am more than willing to live with, especially given that the handling is very progressive such that I can feel the limit gradually approaching when driving on high speed winding roads. I did find too, that whereas all my previous tyres had caused mild rear end bump steer when the rear tyres were both simultaneously travelling over the same road defect over high speed curves, this particular annoyance is thankfully totally absent with these tyres.

All in all this is a decent tyre if you are not seeking "performance" and instead are seeking something more oriented to sedate driving with a bias towards comfort. On the other hand, if you like to pretend that you are in a kart when around roundabouts or want high precision combined with neutral handling on high speed winding roads, maybe choose something else!
tyre reviewed on 2023-06-29 12:39:29
Writing about the BFGoodrich Advantage given 83% (175-65-14-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 easy going miles
I bought these on the strength of the UK Tyrereviews website piece on 2021 Summer tyres. Even though I do not live in the UK, so far as I was able to tell, the Advantage sold here in Australia is exactly the same as the Advantage sold in the UK that was reviewed, save for one extra ply in the sidewall. I purchased these tyres on the basis of them coming top of the heap in terms of comfort in the aforementioned review. The roads where I live are appalling and getting worse by the day and it might be some time (if ever) before I can buy a large SUV such as a Santa Fe or Sorento that would obviously be far better suited to them rather than my current tiny Kia Picanto. Combine that with me not getting any younger and comfort is the main thing I want in a tyre these days, especially when seemingly all modern vehicles are biased towards firm (albeit well controlled) rides.

Well I certainly have to agree with the Tyrereviews review - these tyres are definitely much more comfortable than any previous tyres I have owned and are surprisingly quiet. It was actually their quietness that took me most by surprise since it is not exactly a feature even the manufacturer appears to excessively harp on about. But maybe they should - they really are very quiet - but not so much in terms of a reading on the dB meter - it is because the noise seems to be "tuned" into a bandwidth that we humans find far less irritable - so much less "midrange" to use a hifi analogy. Further anecdotal evidence the noise is reduced is when listening to my usual radio station at 100 kmh on coarse chip roads, I can now listen three "clicks" lower in volume than before (volume 10 versus 13 previously).

As for handling, I do detect a little bit more understeer but I fully expected this given there is no free lunch if you want to bias a tyre more towards comfort. It is a compromise that I am more than willing to live with, especially given that the handling is very progressive such that I can feel the limit gradually approaching when driving on high speed winding roads. I did find too, that whereas all my previous tyres had caused mild rear end bump steer when the rear tyres were both simultaneously travelling over the same road defect over high speed curves, this particular annoyance is thankfully totally absent with these tyres.

All in all this is a decent tyre if you are not seeking "performance" and instead are seeking something more oriented to sedate driving with a bias towards comfort. On the other hand, if you like to pretend that you are in a kart when around roundabouts or want high precision combined with neutral handling on high speed winding roads, maybe choose something else!
tyre reviewed on 2023-06-29 12:00:46
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport 560 given 93% (165-60-14-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 40000 average miles
Fitted on a Kia Picanto 1. Very well priced with good city driving performance. Car feels great with them on dry roads. Wet roads its a bit more of a challenge, but that could bet the 165 width to blame… Ride is quiet and comfetable.
tyre reviewed on 2023-02-11 03:53:24
Writing about the Landsail LS388 AS given 21% (165-60-14-H)
Driving on mostly town for 7000 easy going miles
Fitted them on my 05 Kia Picanto 1.1 Pros: Cheap, £29 a corner fitted. Still have 3mm after 7k miles, it is better than expected. Cons: Lack of grip in both dry and wet, I would not expect much on a £29 tyre, but I do not feel safe driving my car in wet on these LS388. I wouldn't recommend these tyres, should have spent more to get a better one.
tyre reviewed on 2020-12-23 07:09:15
Writing about the Dunlop StreetResponse 2 given 77% (165-65-13-)
Driving on mostly town for 10000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2020-10-10 17:27:03
Writing about the Rapid p309 given 86% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 200 easy going miles
Not long fitted, put on a Picanto, driven by the misses, mostly shopping, all town driving and never driven above 40 - 50 mph. No complaints for what they were bought for
tyre reviewed on 2019-08-15 09:05:44
Writing about the Dunlop SP10 given 49% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 27000 easy going miles
I fitted a set of SP10's on my Picanto in 2016. I drive the car to and from work every day, a round trip of about 30 miles.
The speed is round about 55 miles an hour. The tyres handle every condition well, but I found them very noisy on course surfaces, and the ride is very firm, maybe because the car is not very heavy.
The main distracting factor is the wear rate. The car's wheels are rotated and alignment checked every 3000 to 4000 miles, but the tyres need to be replaced after only 27000 miles, as they reached the legal wear limit.
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-21 11:49:12
Writing about the Silverstone FTZ SPORT EVOL8 given 73% (175-50-15-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 55000 miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-21 08:33:42
Writing about the Nexen N Blue HD Plus given 51% (195-45-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6000 spirited miles
Had these on a rental car whilst on holiday in Kefalonia for a week and wasn't even thinking about the quality tyres whilst driving in the dry until we had some rain and had to nip to the super market quick then I noticed just how terrible these tyres are in wet conditions not only under hard braking but also quick steering in emergency situations.

Tyres need to be safe, they should perform in the most dire situations to help you avoid potential danger and on narrow roads, and in Greece that's an unfortunate yet imminent situation you'll find yourself in as the locals like to drive rather spiritedly. With loose road laws and no road markings on mountain passes you need to be on your toes even within speed limits.

I was heading round a bend doing 30mph when the tyres slid causing tremendous understeer luckily there were no other road users as I ended up on the other side of the road. luckily for me not off a cliff or into the front of an oncoming coach!!!

This is why I am rating this tyre as very dangerous in wet conditions.

After this I conducted an emergency stop to find that even the ABS couldn't stop them from locking up.

Absolutely unacceptable...

Do not recommend to anybody wanting to drive outside city limits. Beware you have been warned.
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-03 10:39:59
Writing about the Nexen N Blue HD Plus given 63% (175-65-14-R)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
These tyres are OEM on my KIA. They are stiff and noisy. I would not buy them.
I would fit Falken which are 4db quieter and softer.
tyre reviewed on 2018-04-26 14:54:10
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre