Kia Motors Picanto Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Kia Motors Picanto.

Do you Drive a Kia Motors Picanto? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Picanto better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Hankook Optimo 4S (32) 86% 86% 79% 78% 78% 88%
Nexen N Blue HD Plus (50) 87% 83% 81% 79% 81% 85%
Dunlop StreetResponse 2 (19) 87% 83% 83% 83% 65% 82%
Kumho Winter Craft WP51 (14) 81% 75% 71% 72% 82% 84%
Rapid p309 (5) 84% 68% 64% 78% 68% 80%
Hankook Optimo K406 (9) 90% 83% 87% 61% 66% 66%
Kumho Solus KH15 (24) 76% 69% 71% 60% 75% 80%
Kumho Solus KH17 (56) 76% 70% 70% 69% 67% 70%
Silverstone FTZ SPORT EVOL8 (8) 71% 70% 69% 66% 68% 63%
Landsail LS388 AS (39) 77% 70% 72% 69% 74% 76%
Dunlop SP10 (2) 65% 60% 70% 70% 50% 60%
Nexen N Priz AH5 (1) 80% 60% 30% 30% 70% 90%

Kia Motors Picanto Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Landsail LS388 AS given 21% (165-60-14-H)
Driving on mostly town for 7000 easy going miles
Fitted them on my 05 Kia Picanto 1.1 Pros: Cheap, £29 a corner fitted. Still have 3mm after 7k miles, it is better than expected. Cons: Lack of grip in both dry and wet, I would not expect much on a £29 tyre, but I do not feel safe driving my car in wet on these LS388. I wouldn't recommend these tyres, should have spent more to get a better one.
tyre reviewed on 2020-12-23 14:09:15
Writing about the Dunlop StreetResponse 2 given 77% (165-65-13-)
Driving on mostly town for 10000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2020-10-10 23:27:03
Writing about the Rapid p309 given 86% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 200 easy going miles
Not long fitted, put on a Picanto, driven by the misses, mostly shopping, all town driving and never driven above 40 - 50 mph. No complaints for what they were bought for
tyre reviewed on 2019-08-15 15:05:44
Writing about the Dunlop SP10 given 49% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 27000 easy going miles
I fitted a set of SP10's on my Picanto in 2016. I drive the car to and from work every day, a round trip of about 30 miles.
The speed is round about 55 miles an hour. The tyres handle every condition well, but I found them very noisy on course surfaces, and the ride is very firm, maybe because the car is not very heavy.
The main distracting factor is the wear rate. The car's wheels are rotated and alignment checked every 3000 to 4000 miles, but the tyres need to be replaced after only 27000 miles, as they reached the legal wear limit.
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-21 17:49:12
Writing about the Silverstone FTZ SPORT EVOL8 given 73% (175-50-15-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 55000 miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-21 14:33:42
Writing about the Nexen N Blue HD Plus given 51% (195-45-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6000 spirited miles
Had these on a rental car whilst on holiday in Kefalonia for a week and wasn't even thinking about the quality tyres whilst driving in the dry until we had some rain and had to nip to the super market quick then I noticed just how terrible these tyres are in wet conditions not only under hard braking but also quick steering in emergency situations.

Tyres need to be safe, they should perform in the most dire situations to help you avoid potential danger and on narrow roads, and in Greece that's an unfortunate yet imminent situation you'll find yourself in as the locals like to drive rather spiritedly. With loose road laws and no road markings on mountain passes you need to be on your toes even within speed limits.

I was heading round a bend doing 30mph when the tyres slid causing tremendous understeer luckily there were no other road users as I ended up on the other side of the road. luckily for me not off a cliff or into the front of an oncoming coach!!!

This is why I am rating this tyre as very dangerous in wet conditions.

After this I conducted an emergency stop to find that even the ABS couldn't stop them from locking up.

Absolutely unacceptable...

Do not recommend to anybody wanting to drive outside city limits. Beware you have been warned.
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-03 16:39:59
Writing about the Nexen N Blue HD Plus given 63% (175-65-14-R)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
These tyres are OEM on my KIA. They are stiff and noisy. I would not buy them.
I would fit Falken which are 4db quieter and softer.
tyre reviewed on 2018-04-26 20:54:10
Writing about the Kumho Solus KH15 given 49% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 14375 average miles
Bought a Kia Picanto 2014 brand new, came with Kumho tires. Since new, the tires slip a lot when youre pushing on your throttle, even in low revs. My city has a lot of hills and sloped stop lights, and the traction is not very good when starting to accelerate uphill. Everytime you start moving they will slip, specially if the floor is wet. However, they do no slip for a lot of time, 1 second aftewards it has traction again. But it is annoying that every time you try to start moving, it happens. Does a good job on handling, but sometimes you feel that youre pushing too hard on the tires, about to loose control and actually youre just going about 50km/h on a curve, slightly oversteering I guess. Noise is quite hard, and comfort isnt too good, specially when driving on bumpy roads. I have driven in dirt, pavement and many country side roads with good results afterall. The thing that gets my nerve the most about these tires is the weardown. 22 000 km for these stock tires. Really sucks, I believe that it is because of all that slipping when trying to start from a traffic light. Also, got a flat tire after 2 weeks of using them, not a very big sharp object pierced through one of the tires. Im impressed that some people say they got 60 thousand km from them. very low-average tire in my opinion...
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-21 03:59:50
Writing about the Nexen N Priz AH5 given 59% (165-60-14-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 miles
I am actually reviewing the nexen npriz ah5 and not. Ah8. I had to choose ah8 as the ah5 model was not available on here.

So I decided to try nexen after trying Goodyear duragrip and Hankook kinergy on my Kia picanto. They were about $20 cheaper than the Hankook and Goodyear. Price was not the reason for me to choose nexen. I chose nexen to give a Korean brand a try.

I think it's a bit too soon to right a review, but anyway. The tires are good in dry and I am not sure how they are in wet. Really, sometimes they grip great and sometimes grip poorly. I'm not sure if they are very affected by asphalt type, but it seems like it. I always inflate my car's tires at a professional shop to the recommended oem psi. Alignment is always done when new tires are installed. But these tires confuse me, I'm not sue if the good grip will gradually disappear after a course of thousand of kilometers.

I have to admit, they are the quietest tires. They are also the worst handling tires I've tried. Steering feels numb, roadfeedback is also nonexistent. I feel detached from the road when driving with these. Good year and Hankook had great feedback, I could feel the road and feel when they're about to lose grip. Wet grip was also good except for when the temperature starts dropping below 10C and that's why I decide to try the all season nexen tires ( others were summer tires).

With nexens I found the tires to be too soft and unpredictable. I think they're OK tires. If you're on a tight budget, then yes they're definitely better than Chinese tires. Based on my 1000 km test, I'd probably pay a bit more and get a better tire. It feels like nexens are somewhere between Chinese tires and great Korean brand tires like Hankook. Will keep you posted at 10,000km.
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-31 21:43:12
Writing about the Kumho Solus KH17 given 73% (170-60-14-)
Driving on mostly town for 4500 average miles
I had these tyres with my new Kia car. I was shocked that the quality suddenly deteriorated after 15 months of use for about 8000km only. The braking distance increased a lot and the handling became less certain. I think that was due to the poor wear rate and poor quality of rubber. I decided to change to Falken ze912 and they are now quieter and more comfortable than Kumho KH17.
tyre reviewed on 2017-07-31 14:27:22
Writing about the Kumho Winter Craft WP51 given 81% (175-50-15-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
These do not seem to perform any better than my pirelli summer tyres. I have 2 cars and have been grip testing these in the wet in a car park by going in a circle and they seemed to have the same level of grip as the summer tyres. Temperature was about 4 degrees. They seem to cause a bit of noise and you can hear the grip noise change when accelerating or braking vs rolling. They are pretty good. But I get the impression that they will not be great in the snow as I have a 1 litre car and in the wet its fairly easy to get a tiny bit of wheel spin if pulling away fast.
tyre reviewed on 2017-02-27 11:31:46
Writing about the Kumho Solus KH17 given 64% (165-60-14-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 35000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2016-11-12 18:13:48
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre