Hankook Optimo K406

The Hankook Optimo K406 is a Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 9 tyre reviews averaging 74% over 223,964 miles driven.

Dry Grip 90%
Wet Grip 83%
Road Feedback 87%
Handling 61%
Wear 66%
Comfort 66%
Buy again 66%

First On MarketMay 2021
Wheel Size16 - 18"
Width225 - 255mm
Profile60 - 70
Rolling ResistanceC - D
Wet GripC - D
Noise (dB)70 - 71
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The Optimo K406 is ranked 56th of 232 Summer Touring tyres.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Hankook Optimo K406

SizeFuelWetNoise
16 inch
225/70R16 103 HDC71
17 inch
235/60R17 102 HDD70
18 inch
255/60R18 108 HCD71
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Hankook Optimo K406 >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Hankook Optimo K406. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Hankook Optimo K406 Reviews

Volkswagen (195/60 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 80 average miles
Great tyres ,and will always ask a tyre fitter if they stock Hankook before I consider buying any tyres of any other brand. My Sharon is a heavy car 1250 kg and these tyres work hard.
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on April 22, 2016
Given 43% while driving a Ford Fusion 1.4 TDci (195/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 22,000 easy going miles
These came as OE. At just over 22,000 miles on mixed roads, I've had to replace the front tyres and will have to replace the rear ones in about 2k miles. Obviously a dreadful performance.

They were ok on dry roads, noisy on motorways and just felt 'thin', every little bump was registered. I wasn't too happy when, for the first time in a 40yr driving career, I skidded doing c.15mph round a lightly icy bend. I never felt exactly comfortable in wet weather, nothing I could definitively point to, just 'thin'.

I replaced these tyres with Firestones (77K warranty) - the difference all round is very marked. I'll never bother with Hankook again.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on April 18, 2015
Given 85% while driving a Hyundai Getz (185/55 R15 H) on mostly town for 84 average miles
Had them on car at purchase, mileage was 4,000. It is now 88,000 kms and just needing to change all four tyres. Never had any problems with the tyres, always handled ok. Mostly town driving not touring. Garage offered us Hankook tyres as the cheapest option, saying the harder rubber was better for the in town driving we mainly do. We were skeptical about buying cheap tyres from a brand we did not know, until we realised that we had been driving Hankooks all along. So yes, we would buy them again.
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on May 16, 2015
Have you driven on the Hankook Optimo K406 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Hankook Optimo K406? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Hankook Optimo K406 >

Latest Hankook Optimo K406 Reviews

Given 91% while driving a Hyundai Tucson (235/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 30,000 easy going miles
I'had like to buy this same tyre again
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on November 28, 2014
Given 100% while driving a Hyundai Tucson (215/65 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 32,000 easy going miles
I have 32000 miles and there is still 4mm left on each tyre. I highly recommend these but I think Handcock no longer make this type of tyre. It has been replaced by another.
Dave
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on October 20, 2013
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 76% while driving a Chevrolet Lacetti (195/55 R15 V) on mostly town for 15,000 easy going miles
Hi

Supplied as OE on the car and I do find them noisey.I am not that happy with the wear but have swung the tyres Front to back so see what happens.All the above is subjective in that I have only driven this car with the OE tyres.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on May 9, 2013
Given 64% while driving a Ford Fusion 1.4 TDci (195/60 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 33,800 average miles
Came on the car when I purchased it new. They are good value, more noise then i expected, got good mileage from them, replacing them with Conti EcoContact 5.
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on March 6, 2013
Given 53% while driving a Kia Motors Picanto (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 56,000 spirited miles
These tyres have great grip, combined with my hard suspension I get to go around corners pretty well. However I have had three sets of these tyres already and my car isn't even over the 90 000km mark yet, the wear is terrible. For each set I have gotten bubbles in the sidewalls of the tyres within the first 4-6months at first I replaced these tyres but it was getting to be very expensive. The only reason I kept rebuying these tyres is because it is the only brand that fits my rim size, it will cost me the same to replace both my rims and tyres with continetals than it would cost to rebuy a set of 4 tyres.So that is what I am doing next.
Helpful 14 - tyre reviewed on July 9, 2012