Nexen N Blue HD+

The Nexen N Blue HD Plus is a High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Dry Grip 83%
Wet Grip 79%
Road Feedback 78%
Handling 76%
Wear 77%
Comfort 83%
Buy again 81%

Tyre review data from 67 tyre reviews averaging 79% over 586,310 miles driven.

The N Blue HD+ is ranked 39th of 201 Summer High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2021 53 Summer Tyre Braking Test - 15th of 53 tyres

View Full Test >>

2021 Auto Bild 16 Inch Summer Tyre Test - 20th of 20 tyres

  • Positive - STable safe handling and short braking in the dry, low price.
  • Negative - Slow steering and understeer in the wet, average wear.
  • Overall - Acceptable.
View Full Test >>

2019 AMS Summer SUV Tyre Test - 10th of 11 tyres

  • Positive - Acceptable handling.
  • Negative - Relatively wea dry and wet grip.
View Full Test >>

2021 Tyre Tests

  • 15th: 2021 53 Summer Tyre Braking Test (205/55 R16)
  • 20th: 2021 Auto Bild 16 Inch Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2019 Tyre Tests

  • 10th: 2019 AMS Summer SUV Tyre Test (215/55 R17)
  • 2018 Tyre Tests

  • 8th: 2018 Gute Fahrt Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 13th: 2018 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 205/55 R16 (205/55 R16)
  • 31st: 2018 AutoBild Summer Tyre Overview (195/65 R15)
  • 2017 Tyre Tests

  • 7th: 2017 Mid Range Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2016 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2016 ACE Mid Range Summer Tyre Test (195/65 R15)
  • 12th: 2016 Market Overview - Braking Test (205/55 R16)
  • 13th: 2016 ADAC Tyre Test - 185/65 R15 (185/65 R15)
  • 13th: 2016 AutoBild Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2015 Tyre Tests

  • 4th: 2015 Auto Bild Top 18 Summer Tyre Test (185/60 R15)
  • 6th: 2015 Market Overview - Braking Test (185/60 R15)
  • 10th: 2015 ACE Summer Touring Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Nexen N Blue HD Plus

    Questions and Answers for the Nexen N Blue HD Plus

    2016-12-26 - I have just purchased the Nexen N Blue HD 255/55/R17 for my VW Tiguan to replace the worn out Purelli. I was told to keep both the front and back infalted at 32. However when I exceed a certain speed, say 60mph, they tend to become rather noisy, giving that 'unsafe' feeling. Moreover they give the impression that they are a bit 'flat'. I inflated them up to 36, both front and back, and the noise, though still audible, decreased a lot. Any idea whether it is ok to have them inflated at 36, and whether they can give a better performance if inflated a bit more, say 38 front and 40 back?

    While it's always advisable to start with the manufacturer's recommended pressures, there is scope to move tyre pressures safely a few PSI in either direction depending on personal preference. That said, moving the tyres, especially the rear up to 40 psi will reduce overall grip at the rear and likely give you uneven, centre wear, which could result in noise as the tyres wear down, so any extreme adjustments you make need to be carefully considered and monitored.


    2017-05-15 - I am thinking of buying these Nexen tyres for my 1 yr old Suzuki Vitara (new model) would you recommend buying XL or 'reinforced' types as opposed to the normal tyres. There is no indication in the car's handbook as to which to buy. I live in the north of England where it rains about half of the year. Also, is there a tyre more suitable without spending a lot more as it is just used as a family runabout? Thought about Uniroyal as they seem to score higher for wet roads but wear out quite a lot faster and their dry performance is somewhat questionable. PS the car is the petrol model which has firmer suspension than the diesel (supported by Suzuki)

    As long as you meet the minimum load rating recommended by the manufacturer whether you order XL or not is down to preference, and whether to plan to carry heavy loads. In theory, the XL version of the Nexen N Blue HD+ will have a slightly better steering response while the non-XL version will have slightly better comfort.


    2018-11-30 - Hi I’ve just had these in 16” fitted to my combo van are these upto the job. As I asked the dealer for r16c’s as what was currently on the van.

    As long as they meet the size and load rating specified by the vehicle they are legal to fit, usually C (cargo) tyres have a higher load rating and stronger sidewalls so you might not have the right tyres fitted, it's worth double checking.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    185/60 R15 £64.13 - £64.13 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    195/55 R15 £67.66 - £68.83 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    195/60 R15 £67.66 - £67.66 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    215/60 R16 £87.72 - £94.78 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 46 tyre sizes - View all.

    Top 3 Nexen N Blue HD Plus Reviews

    Given 100% while driving a Audi 80 2.0E Sport (195/60 R14) on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
    Absolutely brilliant. Very good price, amazing grip wet and dry. Fitted to an old Audi which is very front heavy and is prone to understeer, never had any understeer or lack of grip since fitting and the car gets driven hard.
    Helpful 342 - tyre reviewed on June 15, 2016
    Given 90% while driving a Opel Astra G 1.6 (195/60 R15) on mostly motorways for 31,000 average miles
    I bought these in 2018 for my Opel Astra G 1.6 16V 101HP and after 50000 kilometers I think they can last at least 8-10k kilometers more as they look nice and with no cracks at all. They've been taken through all kinds of weather and asphalt conditions, I've even driven on gravel and dirt and they've never gave me a problem, they are also quite comfortable as they are one of the quietest tyres in the market. I strongly recommend them for non-performance cars like mine.
    Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on November 28, 2023
    Given 76% while driving a Mitsubishi Space Star (175/55 R15) on mostly town for 300 average miles
    They were recently fitted to a 2017 mitsubishi space star 1.2 to replace the unacceptable Kumho Solus 4S HA32 noise problem that sounded like crawlers. And they didn't deny me. With a noise level of 66db it is one of the quietest tires regardless of size that you can fit. As the car is mainly used in the city I will come back soon with my personal assessment of the dry and wet handling in more representative conditions.
    Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on April 5, 2023
    Have you driven on the Nexen N Blue HD Plus tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Nexen N Blue HD Plus? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Nexen N Blue HD Plus >

    Latest Nexen N Blue HD Plus Reviews

    Given 74% while driving a Kia Motors Rio (185/65 R15) on mostly town for 50,000 spirited miles
    Came stock on my 2018 Kia Rio EX, so I've been on them for 5 years and 80,000km or 50,000mi. No complains so far, wet grip is as expected, never had a moment even though I like to drive fast, almost always above the speed limits (I'm in Mexico). Tyres are just starting to chip, but I think it's expected after 5 years and the quality of the streets over here. Noise is comfortable in the city, gets a little high on highway speeds as expected. Economy is average, but i think that's because of the 1.6L motor. Overall I would buy again if the price was right and would not change them if they came with a new car. I'm getting new Michelins Primacy 4 because they're on sale at my local Costco ($350 usd for the set of 4 with installation and balance).
    Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on July 25, 2023
    Given 74% while driving a Ford Fiesta MK8 Ecoboost (100hp) (195/60 R15) on mostly motorways for 25,000 spirited miles
    Reasonable tyres for the price, down to around 25k miles before near wear mark. Nothing exceptional about them but I've had more expensive tyres with poorer grip and much worse wear.
    Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on April 26, 2023
    What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 27% while driving a Fiat 500 (185/55 R15) on mostly town for 10,000 easy going miles
    Grip in both wet and dry seem acceptable but significant cracking on tyre shoulder is a real worry. Tyres have a date code that suggest they are 3.5 years old. They have covered about 10k miles and have about 4mm tread remaining. The cracks appear deep and are between and on top of the tread blocks on the outer shoulders only. I haven’t claimed on the Nexen warranty because I don’t want Nexens again.
    Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on March 26, 2023
    Given 84% while driving a Volkswagen Polo 1.4 TDI (195/55 R15) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
    As my Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun needed replacement, and I wanted more comfortable tyre, I decided to give it a try with these tyres because I was positively surprised with winter Nexen Winguard Snow G Wh2. First of all, I was little bit sceptical when I saw that they are produced in Czech Republic (winter ones Winguard Snow G Wh2 were produced in Korea), and speed index is ''V'', thread depth is around 6,5 mm, but as soon as I started driving over few bumps, I noticed that compound is much more softer than on Falken, and they are very quiet. On the opposite side if you push them to limit, side walls are also very soft and they will start to squeal. Ride is very safe in dry and wet, and you will have much confidence driving on them, especially enjoying on motorways in quiet and in comfort over the bumps. They are not sharp and precise on steering wheel like Falken, but they are like bubble gum, they stick to the road, so wear is going to be higher, but I wanted that. This is not sport tyre, they are excellent choice if you are looking for safe touring tyre, and you appreciate comfort and quietness over sportiness. Don't get me wrong, you can drive sporty and safe on them, but you will wear them very quickly. For the price, and for my wehicle I'm very satisfied.
    Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on March 19, 2023
    Given 74% while driving a Kia Motors Rio 5 (185/65 R15) on mostly motorways for 39,500 spirited miles
    I left a previous reveiw earlier in the tyres' lives....and now i'm updating the long term view. At 63,500 km the four main tires are at 2mm tread remaining, so need to replace them. Spare is at 6mm. If i had started rotating in the spare from early on, the 5 tires may have made it to about 70,000km. Anyways, i can't find them to buy in my country, so i may have to get Firestone AS or Kumho Ecstas to replace them. No way am i buying Westlake or even Triangle if i can help it. I like my life, and my car needs good shoes to keep me safe.
    Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on February 28, 2023
    Given 74% while driving a Kia Motors Rio 5 (185/65 R15) on mostly motorways for 39,500 spirited miles
    I left a previous reveiw earlier in the tyres' lives....and now i'm updating the long term view. At 63,500 km the four main tires are at 2mm tread remaining, so need to replace them. Spare is at 6mm. If i had started rotating in the spare from early on, the 5 tires may have made it to about 70,000km. Anyways, i can't find them to buy in my country, so i may have to get Firestone AS or Kumho Ecstas to replace them. No way am i buying Westlake or even Triangle if i can help it. I like my life, and my car needs good shoes to keep me safe.
    Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on February 28, 2023
    Given 86% while driving a Peugeot 508 SW 1.6 E HDI (215/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 35,000 average miles
    Had these for ca. 6 years and about 50-60k km, and only recently went for shredding. Can't say a bad word about them, having in mind that it is not sporty tire for horse power packed cars. Never had any major problems on dry or wet road, city or motorway speed. Even when worn the still produced reasonable traction and handled well on corners. Wears evenly, and ageing evenly ;) Yes, some may say a bit noisy, yes, on wet a bit worse than on dry (not a surprise as most tires will have same issue - wet road? Slow down a bit, simple), but overall excellent tires, great value for money! Comparing to Pirelli P7 I've had before? Nexen wins in wear (P7 were dissapearing with every 1k km) and no major difference in all other aspects. Now it's time for n'fera su4 - will see if they are 'better' as reviews suggest.
    Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on February 20, 2023
    Given 56% while driving a Hyundai (215/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 50 spirited miles
    The tire has no sound and no noise, it is perfect for the person looking for comfort tires, no noise and sound. But the brake of this tyres is really very bad.
    Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on February 4, 2023
    Given 37% while driving a Ford Kuga (235/55 R17) on mostly town for 22,000 easy going miles
    Purchased in Jan 2020 as my 2 front tyres and 22K miles later they need replacing ! Too soft and evenly worn to the legal limit - not great wear on these !
    Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on October 2, 2022
    Given 70% while driving a Kia Motors Rio (195/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 28,000 average miles
    having read ALOT of reviews about these tyres before buying them in january 2021, I had a good idea what to expect. I have to say for the first couple hundred miles i thought I had made a terrible mistake as they felt hard and slipy on the road, but they soon wore in and have been very good tyres. overall they have been good. they have worn well and kept straight on the road. good handling at all speeds although I never went more than 100mph. grip is not so good in the wet than the dry but if you not racing or rallying and driving sensibly they are absolutely fine. I would certainly buy these again if I can find a set. I would not recommend these tyres for hard/fast driving. I'm only changing these tyres as i have about 2mm left on the tread.
    Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on September 27, 2022
    Given 61% while driving a Toyota Avensis (215/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
    I am happy with the tires in terms of very good comfort, quiet. I have run normally, and not very high speed and very good response. The downside is that they wear out very quickly! After driving about 7-8000 km, the tread depth is now 4 mm! I have these tires on the front wheels, and another brand on the rear wheels. Maybee i can drive 12-13000 km total? (Then I take into account the pattern depth of 1.6 mm.) If i want to drive safely, I will probably replace the tires when the tread depth is 3 mm.
    Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on June 12, 2022
    Given 47% while driving a Ford Focus MK1 (195/60 R15) on mostly country roads for 8,000 average miles
    Dissapointed. These are cheap, but not worth it. On hot days, you don't even have to go fast, and all you'll be hearing is the tires squeaking while losing grip. That makes them unusable to me as a summer tire.
    Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on May 7, 2022