Kumho Solus KH17

The Kumho Solus KH17 is a Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 76%
Wet Grip 70%
Road Feedback 70%
Handling 69%
Wear 67%
Comfort 70%
Buy again 67%

Tyre review data from 56 tyre reviews averaging 70% over 984,007 miles driven.

The Solus KH17 is ranked 79th of 202 Summer Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2013 54 Tyre Braking Test - 14th of 54 tyres

View Full Test >>

2012 European Summer Tyre Test - 165/70 R14 - 11th of 15 tyres

  • Positive - Good in the wet.
  • Negative - High fuel consumption, high wear.
View Full Test >>

2011 European Summer Tyre Test - 175/65 R14 - 9th of 15 tyres

  • Positive - Good in the dry
  • Negative - Slight weakness in the wet
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
175/60 R13 77H   E E 69 6.13kgs
185/60 R13 80H   E E 69 6.64kgs
155/65 R13 73H   E B 69 5.56kgs
165/65 R13 77T   E B 69 6.04kgs
175/65 R13 80T   E B 69 6.54kgs
145/70 R13 71T   F B 69 5.34kgs
155/70 R13 75T   E C 68 5.62kgs
165/70 R13 83T XL   F E 71 6.37kgs
165/70 R13 83T XL   F E 71 6.82kgs
165/70 R13 79T   E B 69 6.25kgs
175/70 R13 82T   E B 69 6.83kgs
185/70 R13 86T   E E 69 7.09kgs
135/80 R13 70T   E C 69 5.13kgs
145/80 R13 75T   E B 69 5.55kgs
155/80 R13 79T   E E 69 6.30kgs
155/80 R13 79T   E E 70 6.22kgs
165/80 R13 87T XL   E E 71 7.05kgs
165/60 R14 75H   E E 69 6.30kgs
165/60 R14 75H   E C 70 6.07kgs
165/60 R14 75H   C C 70 5.95kgs
165/60 R14 75T   E B 69 6.11kgs
175/60 R14 79T   E E 69 6.77kgs
175/60 R14 79H   E E 69 6.67kgs
185/60 R14 82T   E E 69 7.30kgs
185/60 R14 82H   E E 67 7.62kgs
195/60 R14 86H   E E 71 8.09kgs
195/60 R14 86V   E E 71 8.26kgs
195/60 R14 86V   E E 71 8.00kgs
155/65 R14 75T   E C 69 5.81kgs
165/65 R14 79T   E C 69 6.53kgs
175/65 R14 82H   E E 69 7.37kgs
175/65 R14 82T   E C 69 7.46kgs
185/65 R14 86H   C C 69 7.55kgs
185/65 R14 86H   F C 70 8.04kgs
185/65 R14 86T   C E 69 7.59kgs
195/65 R14 89H   C E 71 8.42kgs
165/70 R14 81T   E C 69 7.25kgs
175/70 R14 84H   E E 69 7.31kgs
175/70 R14 84T   E C 70 7.46kgs
175/70 R14 88T XL   E E 71 8.07kgs
175/70 R14 84H   E E 69 7.27kgs
175/70 R14 84T   E C 68 7.74kgs
185/70 R14 88T   E E 69 7.71kgs
185/70 R14 88H         7.72kgs
195/70 R14 91T   E E 71 8.63kgs
195/70 R14 91H   E E 71 8.63kgs
175/80 R14 88T   E C 69 7.69kgs
175/50 R15 75H   E B 69 7.00kgs
175/55 R15 77T   E B 69 7.18kgs
185/55 R15 86V XL   E C 71 8.57kgs
195/55 R15 85V   E C 70 8.88kgs
195/55 R15 85V   E C 70  
175/60 R15 81H   E E 69 7.09kgs
185/60 R15 84H   E C 70 7.69kgs
185/60 R15 88H XL   E E 71 8.78kgs
195/60 R15 88H   E C 70 8.47kgs
205/60 R15 91H   E C 70 9.28kgs
205/60 R15 91V   C C 71 9.35kgs
215/60 R15 94V   E C 71 10.44kgs
225/60 R15 96W   E C 71 10.92kgs
145/65 R15 72T   E C 69 6.09kgs
165/65 R15 81H   E B 69 7.11kgs
175/65 R15 84H   E E 69 7.39kgs
175/65 R15 84T   E E 69 7.37kgs
185/65 R15 88T   C E 69 8.02kgs
185/65 R15 88V   C E 69 8.39kgs
185/65 R15 88H   C E 71  
185/65 R15 88H   E C 70 8.00kgs
185/65 R15 88H   E B 70 8.55kgs
195/65 R15 91H   C C 70 9.19kgs
195/65 R15 91T   C C 71 9.02kgs
195/65 R15 91V   C C 71 9.02kgs
205/65 R15 94H   C C 71 9.53kgs
205/65 R15 94V   E C 71 9.62kgs
205/65 R15 94V         10.64kgs
205/65 R15 94V   C C 71 10.06kgs
215/65 R15 96V   C C 71 11.06kgs
215/65 R15 96V   C C 71 10.55kgs
215/65 R15 96H   E C 71 10.93kgs
135/70 R15 70T   E C 69 5.60kgs
205/45 R16 83V   E C 71 8.74kgs
195/50 R16 84H   E C 71 9.18kgs
195/50 R16 84H         8.47kgs
205/50 R16 87V   C C 71 9.28kgs
195/55 R16 87H   E C 71 8.70kgs
195/55 R16 87H   E B 71 8.76kgs
195/55 R16 87H   E C 70 9.05kgs
205/55 R16 91V   E C 71 10.38kgs
205/55 R16 91H   E C 71 9.47kgs
205/60 R16 92V   E B 71 9.87kgs
205/60 R16 92V         10.51kgs
205/60 R16 92V   E C 71 9.76kgs
205/60 R16 92H   E C 71 9.79kgs
215/60 R16 99V XL   E C 71 11.24kgs
215/60 R16 95V   E C 71 10.92kgs
225/60 R16 98V   E C 71 11.58kgs
235/60 R16 100H   E C 71  
205/65 R16 95H   C C 71 9.93kgs
215/65 R16 98H   E E 71 11.65kgs
225/70 R16 103H   E E 71 12.49kgs
225/70 R16 103H   E E 71 12.54kgs
215/45 R17 91W XL   E B 71 9.76kgs
215/45 R17 91W XL   E B 71 9.62kgs
215/45 R17 87H   E C 71 9.81kgs
215/45 R17 87H   C B 71 9.83kgs
215/50 R17 91V   C C 71 10.52kgs
215/50 R17 91V   E B 71 10.36kgs
215/50 R17 91V   E B 71 10.59kgs
225/50 R17 94V   E B 71 10.61kgs
225/55 R17 97V   B C 71 11.85kgs
235/55 R17 99H   E C 71 12.42kgs
235/55 R17 99H   E B 71 12.31kgs
225/45 R18 95V XL   E B 68 11.34kgs
225/45 R18 95V XL   C C 72 10.93kgs

Questions and Answers for the Kumho Solus KH17

2018-04-04 - How much mileage can ve driven by the KUMHO SOLUS KH17

Mileage is very dependant on driving style and vehicle, you can check other peoples user reviews on this site to see how many miles they're getting from their KH17s.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Solus KH17 Prices

Size Price Range  
165/60 R14 £55.49 - £55.49 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 17 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Kumho Solus KH17 Reviews

Given 64% while driving a Daewoo Matiz (155/65 R13 T) on a combination of roads for 15,000 easy going miles
Very quiet tyre, much quieter than Avon ZT5 and quieter than Barum Brilliantis. You pay for that with very high wear though. Grip is better than Barum Brilliantis but not as good as Avon ZT5.
61 - tyre reviewed on August 8, 2015   
Given 10% while driving a Hyundai Creta SX (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 0 easy going miles
I purchase Hyundai Creta SX model on August 30th
My first Tyre Burst with big cut on 13th October and yesterday second Tyre on 17th October. We can't rpair puncture Au
57 - tyre reviewed on October 18, 2017   
Given 74% while driving a Nissan Livina (195/60 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 28,000 average miles
Very comfortable and quiet tire, Big Thumb UP!! compared with the other major big brand company tyre
Handling is above average,
45k km been rolled and going to get another set of it.


14 - tyre reviewed on October 3, 2018   
Have you driven on the Kumho Solus KH17 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Kumho Solus KH17? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Kumho Solus KH17 >

Latest Kumho Solus KH17 Reviews

Given 54% while driving a Volkswagen (B8) 1.4 TSI (150 Hp) DSG ACT (135/80 R13) on mostly motorways for 10,000 average miles
I appear to have been very unlucky. A set of four have all gone progressively out of shape after only 10,000 miles and over a relatively short 500 mile interval. It appears that the internal bracing has broken down resulting in bulging of the tread by as much as 5mm. Symptoms included pulling to one side and severe vibration. With over 4mm of tread remaining, I would have expected these tyres to last much longer. These particular tyres were made in China. A pair of identical tyres on another vehicle purchased separately have not yet suffered the same fate and my experience with the same brand, admittedly Korean made 165/60R14H on an i10, has been satisfactory so the issue would seem to be poor quality control.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 11, 2021   
Given 77% while driving a Fiat Grande punto (195/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
I was impressed with this set because of the grip and handling of the car. They are amazing in the dry, and good in the wet. It gives you nice feedback of the road at the compromise of comfort. The problem would be they wear out faster than other models.
5 - tyre reviewed on October 26, 2020   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 43% while driving a (255/60 R18 H) on mostly country roads for 5,000 miles
Not very impressive tyres no good on wet wis roads
2 - tyre reviewed on October 3, 2019   
Given 89% while driving a Suzuki CELERIO (175/70 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 7,000 average miles
Bought cheap second hand alu rims, that came with these nearly 10 year old worn down to 4 mm. Bought them after seeing the incredible difference the winter tyres made to the car compared to the stock eco summer tyres. I have to say I was very pleasently surprised. These felt the most staple yet at highway speeds, with great roadfeeling and some sportiness that reminded me of a set of Dunlop SP sport 01 that I once had on a Peugeot 206. Tradeoff being less comfort, (nearly harsh), and considerable roadnoise, but a very fun tyre to drive. Even at 4mm they felt safe in the rain, never aquaplaned nor had the ABS kick in. Only used them for 11000 km, as the valve on one of them started to leak. The rubber on it was ripped as a sign of to hard twisting. Decided to retire the set do to age. Didn't see any wear of note, during those 11000 k's. It's worth mentioning I had very similar gas milage compared to the never Bridgestone Ecopia EP150 the car came fitted with.
There are never options out there, but I would be tempted to go for these again if I find a good deal of a not to old set.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 30, 2019   
Hyundai (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 49,000 average miles
The tyres have been excellent on road stability. Going over hills with lots of cornering. In the dry they are great. Not so good on corners in the wet. Fairly hard on the road but not uncomfortable. Probably a bit noisy compared to some. I believe the mileage I have got from these tyres to be very good.
2 - tyre reviewed on March 17, 2019   
Given 60% while driving a Honda CRV (205/70 R15 T) on mostly motorways for 13,000 average miles
The tyres are quiet for the first few thousand km but after wearing down, the road noise becomes more noticeable. The grip for these are good but they significantly drop after around 20k km on them, I realise that without proper tyre rotation the handling is hampered. I was initially satisfied for the first 15k km on them but as they started to wear down the handling characteristic and acceleration deteriorated and I was forced to rotate them (FWD car). For the price I paid for them which is AUD580 (2 pairs), I expected them to last at least 50k km but unfortunately, I might have to replace them before that mark as the threads on the front tyres are 2-3mm shallower than the rear tyres. Overall,they are good tyres but I would not buy them again because of poor longevity and ageing characteristics.
1 - tyre reviewed on January 27, 2019   
Given 73% while driving a Kia Motors Picanto (170/60 R14) on mostly town for 4,500 average miles
I had these tyres with my new Kia car. I was shocked that the quality suddenly deteriorated after 15 months of use for about 8000km only. The braking distance increased a lot and the handling became less certain. I think that was due to the poor wear rate and poor quality of rubber. I decided to change to Falken ze912 and they are now quieter and more comfortable than Kumho KH17.
6 - tyre reviewed on July 31, 2017   
Given 85% while driving a Skoda Octavia estate (205/55 R16) on mostly town for 8,000 spirited miles
bought my Skoda Octavia with these tyres on the front. Only a couple of milimeters left of the thread, but i still drove 8000 miles/13000 kms with them mostly in town (London). The thread is still legal, but i hit a pothole and there is a bubble on the sidewall of the front tyre. Even they are worn tyres, i have never had any grip issue with them in any weather. Highly recommend them.
5 - tyre reviewed on May 10, 2017   
Given 51% while driving a Hyundai i20 (195/50 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 28,500 easy going miles
My Hyundai i20 2014 glide came standard with these set of tyres. Front tyres lasted for 45000kms, while back still good for another 10k. Quite ride and absorbs bump well. Good braking ability on dry. Holds well in wet conditions. One tyre had a thread seperation fault which caused vibration at 46k. Needed replacement. Will not buy this tyre again.
7 - tyre reviewed on April 6, 2017   
Given 57% while driving a Chevrolet Cruze LT3 1.6L (225/50 R17) on mostly country roads for 19,000 easy going miles
I drove the tyres for 19000 miles but I bought the car second hand. The tyres drove in total 54 000 miles.

The rubber looked like it was realy old and cracked after 3 years (produced week 10 in 2011, cracked when i bought the car in 2014).

The tyre did everything it needed to do.

At the moment the tyre has still 4 mm of thread on it. But last week in the rain they could no handle the water. I felt the water hitting the tyres and they struggled with it. These tyres are in the front.

So i bought new tyres because of the cracks and the tyres couldn't handle the water of the Belgian roads

1 - tyre reviewed on October 19, 2016   
Given 99% while driving a Hyundai i30 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 39 average miles
It was dads car. He only drove it once before he died, two years ago. I put 36,000 on the set that came with the car . Bought a new set and put 5000 on them before put a hole in the left rear yesterday . Drove over the edge of a bowser. I think I accidenly got a bolt on the bowsers edge. The local thinks he may be able to repair it by a plug.
10 - tyre reviewed on March 19, 2016   
Given 83% while driving a Chevrolet Cruze 1.8A (215/50 R17 V) on mostly motorways for 56,721 spirited miles
Came originally with Chevrolet Cruze 2015, driven 91284Km, changed to another brand as couldn't find Same tyres readily available.
6 - tyre reviewed on November 8, 2015