Kumho Solus KH17

The Kumho Solus KH17 is a Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 56 tyre reviews averaging 70% over 984,007 miles driven, and 4 tests with an average result of 12th.

Dry Grip 76%
Wet Grip 70%
Road Feedback 70%
Handling 69%
Wear 67%
Comfort 70%
Buy again 67%

First On MarketJanuary 2007
Wheel Size13 - 16"
Width135 - 205mm
Profile65 - 80
Rolling ResistanceD - D
Wet GripB - D
Noise (dB)68 - 71
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The Solus KH17 is ranked 86th of 231 Summer Touring tyres.

Tests Included

4

Best Result

9th

Worst Result

14th

Average Result

12th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2012 European Summer Tyre Test - 165/70 R14
11th of 15 tyres
  • Good in the wet.
  • High fuel consumption, high wear.
View Full Test >>
2011 European Summer Tyre Test - 175/65 R14
9th of 15 tyres
  • Good in the dry
  • Slight weakness in the wet
View Full Test >>

2013 Tyre Tests

2012 Tyre Tests

2011 Tyre Tests

2010 Tyre Tests

SizeFuelWetNoise
13 inch
165/80R13 87 T XLDD71
135/80R13 70 TDB68
16 inch
205/65 R16 95 HDC71
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Kumho Solus KH17 >>

Questions and Answers for the Kumho Solus KH17

2018-04-03 - How much mileage can ve driven by the KUMHO SOLUS KH17

Mileage is very dependant on driving style and vehicle, you can check other peoples user reviews on this site to see how many miles they're getting from their KH17s.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
Available in 1 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Kumho Solus KH17 Reviews

Given 10% while driving a Hyundai Creta SX (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 0 easy going miles
I purchase Hyundai Creta SX model on August 30th
My first Tyre Burst with big cut on 13th October and yesterday second Tyre on 17th October. We can't rpair puncture Au
Helpful 82 - tyre reviewed on October 18, 2017
Given 64% while driving a Daewoo Matiz (155/65 R13 T) on a combination of roads for 15,000 easy going miles
Very quiet tyre, much quieter than Avon ZT5 and quieter than Barum Brilliantis. You pay for that with very high wear though. Grip is better than Barum Brilliantis but not as good as Avon ZT5.
Helpful 83 - tyre reviewed on August 8, 2015
Given 77% while driving a Fiat Grande punto (195/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
I was impressed with this set because of the grip and handling of the car. They are amazing in the dry, and good in the wet. It gives you nice feedback of the road at the compromise of comfort. The problem would be they wear out faster than other models.
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on October 26, 2020
Have you driven on the Kumho Solus KH17 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Kumho Solus KH17? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Kumho Solus KH17 >

Latest Kumho Solus KH17 Reviews

Given 54% while driving a Volkswagen (B8) 1.4 TSI (150 Hp) DSG ACT (135/80 R13) on mostly motorways for 10,000 average miles
I appear to have been very unlucky. A set of four have all gone progressively out of shape after only 10,000 miles and over a relatively short 500 mile interval. It appears that the internal bracing has broken down resulting in bulging of the tread by as much as 5mm. Symptoms included pulling to one side and severe vibration. With over 4mm of tread remaining, I would have expected these tyres to last much longer. These particular tyres were made in China. A pair of identical tyres on another vehicle purchased separately have not yet suffered the same fate and my experience with the same brand, admittedly Korean made 165/60R14H on an i10, has been satisfactory so the issue would seem to be poor quality control.
Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on October 11, 2021
Given 43% while driving a (255/60 R18 H) on mostly country roads for 5,000 miles
Not very impressive tyres no good on wet wis roads
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on October 3, 2019
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 89% while driving a Suzuki CELERIO (175/70 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 7,000 average miles
Bought cheap second hand alu rims, that came with these nearly 10 year old worn down to 4 mm. Bought them after seeing the incredible difference the winter tyres made to the car compared to the stock eco summer tyres. I have to say I was very pleasently surprised. These felt the most staple yet at highway speeds, with great roadfeeling and some sportiness that reminded me of a set of Dunlop SP sport 01 that I once had on a Peugeot 206. Tradeoff being less comfort, (nearly harsh), and considerable roadnoise, but a very fun tyre to drive. Even at 4mm they felt safe in the rain, never aquaplaned nor had the ABS kick in. Only used them for 11000 km, as the valve on one of them started to leak. The rubber on it was ripped as a sign of to hard twisting. Decided to retire the set do to age. Didn't see any wear of note, during those 11000 k's. It's worth mentioning I had very similar gas milage compared to the never Bridgestone Ecopia EP150 the car came fitted with.
There are never options out there, but I would be tempted to go for these again if I find a good deal of a not to old set.
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on June 30, 2019
Hyundai (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 49,000 average miles
The tyres have been excellent on road stability. Going over hills with lots of cornering. In the dry they are great. Not so good on corners in the wet. Fairly hard on the road but not uncomfortable. Probably a bit noisy compared to some. I believe the mileage I have got from these tyres to be very good.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on March 17, 2019
Given 60% while driving a Honda CRV (205/70 R15 T) on mostly motorways for 13,000 average miles
The tyres are quiet for the first few thousand km but after wearing down, the road noise becomes more noticeable. The grip for these are good but they significantly drop after around 20k km on them, I realise that without proper tyre rotation the handling is hampered. I was initially satisfied for the first 15k km on them but as they started to wear down the handling characteristic and acceleration deteriorated and I was forced to rotate them (FWD car). For the price I paid for them which is AUD580 (2 pairs), I expected them to last at least 50k km but unfortunately, I might have to replace them before that mark as the threads on the front tyres are 2-3mm shallower than the rear tyres. Overall,they are good tyres but I would not buy them again because of poor longevity and ageing characteristics.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on January 26, 2019
Given 74% while driving a Nissan Livina (195/60 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 28,000 average miles
Very comfortable and quiet tire, Big Thumb UP!! compared with the other major big brand company tyre
Handling is above average,
45k km been rolled and going to get another set of it.


Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on October 3, 2018
Given 73% while driving a Kia Motors Picanto (170/60 R14) on mostly town for 4,500 average miles
I had these tyres with my new Kia car. I was shocked that the quality suddenly deteriorated after 15 months of use for about 8000km only. The braking distance increased a lot and the handling became less certain. I think that was due to the poor wear rate and poor quality of rubber. I decided to change to Falken ze912 and they are now quieter and more comfortable than Kumho KH17.
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on July 31, 2017
Given 85% while driving a Skoda Octavia estate (205/55 R16) on mostly town for 8,000 spirited miles
bought my Skoda Octavia with these tyres on the front. Only a couple of milimeters left of the thread, but i still drove 8000 miles/13000 kms with them mostly in town (London). The thread is still legal, but i hit a pothole and there is a bubble on the sidewall of the front tyre. Even they are worn tyres, i have never had any grip issue with them in any weather. Highly recommend them.
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on May 10, 2017
Given 51% while driving a Hyundai i20 (195/50 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 28,500 easy going miles
My Hyundai i20 2014 glide came standard with these set of tyres. Front tyres lasted for 45000kms, while back still good for another 10k. Quite ride and absorbs bump well. Good braking ability on dry. Holds well in wet conditions. One tyre had a thread seperation fault which caused vibration at 46k. Needed replacement. Will not buy this tyre again.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on April 6, 2017
Given 57% while driving a Chevrolet Cruze LT3 1.6L (225/50 R17) on mostly country roads for 19,000 easy going miles
I drove the tyres for 19000 miles but I bought the car second hand. The tyres drove in total 54 000 miles.

The rubber looked like it was realy old and cracked after 3 years (produced week 10 in 2011, cracked when i bought the car in 2014).

The tyre did everything it needed to do.

At the moment the tyre has still 4 mm of thread on it. But last week in the rain they could no handle the water. I felt the water hitting the tyres and they struggled with it. These tyres are in the front.

So i bought new tyres because of the cracks and the tyres couldn't handle the water of the Belgian roads

Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on October 19, 2016
Given 99% while driving a Hyundai i30 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 39 average miles
It was dads car. He only drove it once before he died, two years ago. I put 36,000 on the set that came with the car . Bought a new set and put 5000 on them before put a hole in the left rear yesterday . Drove over the edge of a bowser. I think I accidenly got a bolt on the bowsers edge. The local thinks he may be able to repair it by a plug.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on March 19, 2016
Given 83% while driving a Chevrolet Cruze 1.8A (215/50 R17 V) on mostly motorways for 56,721 spirited miles
Came originally with Chevrolet Cruze 2015, driven 91284Km, changed to another brand as couldn't find Same tyres readily available.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on November 8, 2015