Skoda Octavia estate Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Skoda Octavia estate.

Do you Drive a Skoda Octavia estate? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Octavia estate better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Viking Pro Tech II (3) 90% 90% 87% 87% 83% 87%
Fulda SportControl (39) 92% 87% 84% 83% 85% 86%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (240) 91% 89% 82% 85% 75% 80%
Fulda SportControl 2 (17) 83% 84% 83% 75% 79% 93%
Hankook Winter i cept evo2 (22) 86% 80% 82% 83% 84% 88%
Blacklion BH15 (10) 83% 75% 81% 79% 89% 88%
Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun (80) 87% 83% 81% 83% 79% 77%
Uniroyal RainSport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80%
Michelin Primacy 4 (101) 86% 83% 77% 78% 84% 86%
Yokohama BluEarth Es ES32 (27) 83% 77% 80% 81% 75% 89%
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (224) 87% 85% 77% 78% 74% 86%
Michelin CrossClimate (130) 88% 85% 83% 79% 83% 89%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (279) 84% 92% 78% 78% 64% 83%
Lassa DriveWays (16) 81% 81% 79% 76% 85% 69%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (167) 89% 85% 83% 82% 60% 82%
Dunlop Sport BluResponse (172) 88% 85% 80% 76% 61% 83%
Bridgestone A001 (47) 91% 92% 89% 80% 84% 83%
Sava Eskimo S3 (33) 73% 64% 68% 71% 75% 72%
Sava intensa uhp (15) 83% 74% 79% 71% 78% 76%
Cooper Zeon CS6 (33) 83% 74% 69% 74% 85% 72%
Michelin Primacy HP (197) 85% 75% 77% 74% 76% 76%
Bridgestone Turanza ER300 (187) 83% 77% 77% 72% 78% 71%
Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 (70) 85% 78% 76% 79% 68% 74%
Continental Premium Contact 5 (112) 87% 83% 76% 77% 57% 79%
Winda WH16 (15) 81% 73% 68% 54% 84% 84%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (126) 85% 73% 77% 76% 69% 64%
Bridgestone Weather Control A005 (58) 82% 85% 79% 74% 62% 73%
Goodyear OptiGrip (16) 74% 83% 66% 71% 71% 66%
Kumho Solus KH17 (56) 76% 70% 70% 69% 67% 70%
Rovelo RPX 998 (26) 80% 65% 71% 65% 61% 73%
Continental Eco Contact 5 (76) 79% 67% 68% 67% 73% 67%
Bridgestone Turanza T001 (92) 80% 70% 69% 66% 62% 71%
Wanli S1063 (79) 75% 59% 63% 61% 77% 65%
Hankook Dynapro HP2 (5) 82% 66% 66% 64% 63% 70%
Bridgestone Potenza RE040 (47) 79% 58% 74% 70% 65% 57%
Goodyear EfficientGrip (128) 77% 67% 61% 59% 69% 70%
Matador MP 42 Elite 2 (6) 70% 55% 63% 62% 82% 73%
Davanti Wintoura (4) 53% 73% 58% 55% 20% 55%

Skoda Octavia estate Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 97% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 0 average miles
I got Michelins on my Skoda Octavia FL 2.0TSI 190bhp MY2019. So far, so good. Grip on all surfaces and conditions is very good. I do not have any sport ambitions, but during searching tires for my car, Michelin Pilot Sport 4 had the best reviews. I am fully satisfied with these tires. Good performance, feedback and comfort. For me the best.
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-30 20:13:43
Writing about the Rovelo RPX 998 given 80% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 40 easy going miles
Excellent value for money. By rotating the tyres they last 40 000 Miles on my car with wrong wheel allignment. I would buy IT again.
tyre reviewed on 2020-01-14 19:57:07
Writing about the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 given 66% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
I was really hoping to have that 'wow' effect, but unfortunately it never worked.
These tyres are really good in heavy rain, but that's where it ends.
First, they are noisy. Secondly, I don't feel comfortable when having to brake when it's wet and the temperature is pretty low.
The last thing and probably the worst is the huge increase of fuel consumption straight from the first day they were fitted. It's terrible to be honest. I feel as if I am driving a tank.
In my opinion, they are nowhere near to my previous Michelin Cross Climates.
Maybe sounds a bit harsh, but that's my opinion on them. My judgement is purely based on my experience.
I definitely do not recommend Bridgestone All-weather Control.
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-27 04:01:01
Writing about the Bridgestone A001 given 42% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 8000 average miles
Mixed driving including all weathers in rural Norfolk, UK. Generally ok but handling vague. However, had to brake really hard at 65 mph on a dual carriageway under normal load, dry road, correct pressures, and very scary. Car snaked and almost lost control. They were fitted standard by Skoda and the Octavia estate is only a year old and less than 8000 miles. Would not buy again and about to change to Michelin Crossclimate. Remember years ago having Bridgestones on my Honda motorbike and had to change them too due to poor handling.
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-20 21:17:48
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE040 given 30% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-14 21:29:52
Writing about the Yokohama BluEarth Es ES32 given 74% (195-65-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2200 easy going miles
Purchased a full set of these tyres in February 2019 from Euro*aster who were doing a good deal on the Yokohama ES32. At 34,570 miles I finally fitted them onto my 2012 Skoda Octavia TSi Combi as I use winter tyres from mid November to mid April.
During the summer I toured the Belgian coast and Northern France beside the usual chores that a car has to do. ( I usually cycle to work, hence the low annual mileage of less than 7000! ).

Dry grip is very good, giving confidence around tight corners and braking in an emergency. As good as the original Continental Ecocontact 3's that were fitted when new and the replacement Goodyear Efficient Grip Performance too.

Wet grip is also very good. I cannot understand how some folk say these Yokohama tyres are very poor in the wet. IMHO they are a match for the original Continental's and far better in the wet than the Goodyear's I had fitted previously.

Road Feedback is good, comparable with the Conti's and far better than the vague feeling of the Goodyear's.

Handling is very good. I am not an aggressive driver but on a quite twisty road I like to enjoy myself. The Goodyear's were OK on such roads while the Conti's were very good.

Wear is sadly the only down side to my report. The beginning of October 2019 my Skoda had a full service and MOT at 36,752 miles. After 2200 miles the front tyres were down to 6.4mm at the front and rear's at 6.8mm! The Goodyear's did over 10,000 before reaching such wear levels and the Conti's were also very good.
If I were an aggressive 'press-on' sort at the wheel I could understand such wear levels but I am more of a 'Captain Slow' type of driver as my other cars are a Trabant 601S and a Karmann Ghia Semi-Automatic Coupe!!

Comfort is superb. Far better than the Conti's and ahead of the Goodyear's too.

As for buying again? Well if they were on offer as my original purchase then maybe I would but looking on the Yokohama UK website it would appear that Russian made Skoda Octavia's are fitted with Yokohama BluEarth-A AE-50 tyres so perhaps that's the next choice.

To surmise, Yokohama tyres have come along way since the 1970's when my old gaffer from my engineering apprentice days had a set fitted to his Vauxhall Magnum 2300 Estate. He did 20,000 a year and said the were the work tyres EVER. I am quite happy with Yokohama tyres and would certainly purchase again, even with the wear issue. Besides which the BlueEarth ES32 is recommended by Yokohama for Compact and small family cars. Is the Skoda Octavia Combi such a car?
Perhaps the Yokohama BluEarth-A AE-50 is the one to go for after all.


tyre reviewed on 2019-10-26 11:07:47
Writing about the Lassa DriveWays given 38% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 1000 average miles
Too hard.
tyre reviewed on 2019-10-16 07:32:04
Writing about the Blacklion BH15 given 82% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
Brand new on my approved vehicle when picking up. Tyres have lasted nearly 20,000 miles on a vehicle that has been lowered for roughly 12,000 of those - changed the tyre camber very slightly as a result.

Grip was good at the start, the more wear, the easier it is to spin them in the wet and more recently in the dry also.

I managed an indicated 69mpg run on the motorway with these tyres, cruise control at 70. Appreciate the car may read optimistically.

Wouldn't purchase of it were myself buying tyres, but only because I prefer a branded tyre with actual European data stickers available (currently not found any for the bh15). Replacing with some F1 Asymmetric 5's after seeing the reviews on them.
tyre reviewed on 2019-08-01 05:07:17
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 5 given 94% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 50000 average miles
EXCELLENT tyre. Perfect grip in dry and wet. I live in Greece. The tyres are fitted on a Skoda Octavia 5 (fsi-115PS) for 7 (yes, seven) years . Production code is "1912" ie made in the 19th week of 2012 (May 2012). And YES they ARE really exhausted, just 1-1.5mm depth of grooves, but they still DO grip on the road - when dry. When it rains I have to drive very carefully. So it's time to change them. During winter I use 195/65/15 winter tyres fitted on 15" iron rims. So Conti-5's run from late March till late November. That's about 8 months per year for 7 years. And every year I make about 23-24,000 km (in total) which is 15.000 miles per year. That is said because I'm trying to figure out how many miles they've done. I estimate they have done about 80,000 to 90,000km (50-56.000 miles). If they had been changed to the legal margins (1.6-2 mm) they would have made 70-80.000 km (44-50.000 miles). Unimaginable numbers for a tyre that still holds incredible (on dry)! Of course I take care of them (always with the right pressure and a little upwards), they have never been on snow-chains, they have not roll on roads of dirt and stones.
During their normal life they were excellent both on dry AND wet. Yes, they DO wear, as they should, but they DO keep their perfect grip until they wear-out completely!!!
I would really like to use them again, but for the same money I will probably try the Continental EcoContact 6 which is supposed to be more economical on fuel. By the way, the guy (what's your name my friend?) who is on the "tyrereviews" videos was absolutelly right about the Conti Premium 5: It's a VERY good and VERY honest tyre till the last milimetre of it ...
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-12 00:37:50
Writing about the Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun given 86% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 45000 easy going miles
Had these tyres already fitted on my Octavia when I bought it. Had heard about Falken tyres but never used them before. I am an easy going driver, but these tyres held up very well. I have put about 60,000 kms on my car in 3 years and rotate the tyres front to back once a year. Tyres have around 2,5mm of tread left so looking to replace soon. Tyres have held up very well. Sidewalls are quite stiff. Do get a little noisey when tread is low. Have priced up a new set and are well worth the money.
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-07 18:12:11
Writing about the Michelin Primacy 4 given 67% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 1500 average miles
I purchased a pair of Michelin tyres from Black circle and used one of its tyre fitting centers.
On returning home the tread on my new tyres looked the same as my old tyres on the rear which have done 25000 miles. I contacted black circle after checking with a web review the correct tread depth which was 8mm, They asked me to take the car to have the tread measured, it was 5.6mm. I contacted black circle again, they contacted Michelin and they said the tread should be 7mm +/- 0.4mm. I have spoken to Michelin independently and been told tread depth is not important any more, it how many miles per tyre you get. I have had it suggested by black circle to by 2 new tyres and they will return them to Michelin for review. Not sure who's customer service is the poorest Black circle or Michelin.
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-19 18:29:37
Writing about the Davanti Wintoura given 81% (205-55-16-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 450 average miles
Bought on garage recommendation. Initial reaction was "What? Who? .... Erm...Never heard of them." They are much more confidence inspiring than I was expecting. Cold damp, some ice and untreated snow roads all taken in their stride. Perhaps the fact thst i am now sourceing another set of wheels for a Fabia and sm specifying more wintoura, demonstrates my confidence
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-23 17:19:39
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre