Blacklion BH15

The Blacklion BH15 is a Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Dry Grip 76%
Wet Grip 65%
Road Feedback 74%
Handling 74%
Wear 85%
Comfort 84%
Buy again 65%

Tyre review data from 13 tyre reviews averaging 75% over 183,250 miles driven.

The BH15 is ranked 52nd of 230 Summer Touring tyres.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Blacklion BH15

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Blacklion BH15

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Blacklion BH15. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Blacklion BH15 Reviews

Given 99% while driving a BMW 3 series (205/55 R16 V) on mostly motorways for 7,000 spirited miles
I must admit I hadn't heard of this brand before my mechanic highly recommended it. I replaced my OE Michelins with the Blacklions and to date haven't noticed any difference. Super performance in wet and dry conditions. No road noise of note and a snip at the price I paid. I drive a lot of miles and do put my tyres to the test and the Blacklions have not let me down. Even when hitting the brakes hard in the rain, they stop fast and stick to the road. Well impressed.
Helpful 174 - tyre reviewed on April 26, 2018
Given 64% while driving a Volkswagen Golf MK6 1.6 tdi (195/65 R15) on mostly motorways for 40,000 average miles
I had these tyres on a VW Golf 6 1.6 TDI for 3 years. They are cheap honest tyres with excellent wear (after 40k the front tyres still had around 50% remaining tread life) and comfortable. On dry roads the grip is always there and they feel perfectly safe. On wet roads after 3 years it's a complete different story, they may lose grip in bends and under breaking. On wet roads you tend to lose confidence in these tyres and you feel less secure. Probably the bad results on wet roads are caused by the compound aging badly. I would recommend these tyres for extra cautious drivers who replace tyres often.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on November 5, 2022
Given 89% while driving a Chrysler (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
I only know two speeds, Race and stop. After 2 years of having these tires on my car I have barely any wear. I am thoroughly impressed. I normally buy goodyear and and those would be changed out by now.
Helpful 13 - tyre reviewed on October 11, 2023
Have you driven on the Blacklion BH15 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Blacklion BH15? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Blacklion BH15 >

Latest Blacklion BH15 Reviews

Given 20% while driving a Volkswagen Mk7 2.0 GT TDI 150Bhp (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 6,000 average miles
These tyres literally scare me! One minute you have some grip and then nothing and you have zero warning of when they'll let go! These were on the car when I purchased it and will be changed ASAP! You get what you pay for!
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on August 10, 2022
Given 50% while driving a Fiat 500 (185/55 R15) on mostly town for 3,000 spirited miles
These came installed on a 2015 Fiat 500e I bought in April 2021. They are fine in the dry with good grip. They are quiet and smooth riding. Wet roads are another story as the 500e spins them easily. I drove fewer than 3000 miles during Spring and Summer. With the return of regular rain I tossed the front tires due to the poor wet grip.
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on October 3, 2021
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Audi (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 30,000 spirited miles
I drive an Audi Q7 and had previously got through a set of Pirelli's every year at a cost of about £1000. I thought I'd give Black Lion a try after researching lots of budget tyres. BL's are around £300 for all four tyres fitted and balanced. They also come with a warranty which I have had cause to test out. I hit a kerb on a brand new set of BL's and blew the walls of two tyres. I'd only done a few miles and they replaced the both of the tyres on a sliding scale...so almost for free. These tyres are cheaper than the big brands and do exactly the same job. I get through a set every year, so they last as long as the Pirelli's. Road noise is great, grip is great. I simply can't fault them.
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on May 1, 2021
Given 31% while driving a Honda CIVIC CDTI (225/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 2,500 spirited miles
I was talked into buying these by my local garage in Devon, I won’t be going back there. I should have guessed by the price that they weren’t going to be great, but I didn’t think they would be this bad. Admittedly I drive quick, but these things scare me. They don’t grip on the dry or wet so cornering is now done at a much lower speed. Already going to replace them with some proper rubber and in future I’ll remember the phrase ‘if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is’. Avoid, or if they are all you can afford, drive safe
Helpful 51 - tyre reviewed on September 3, 2019
Given 82% while driving a Skoda Octavia estate (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Brand new on my approved vehicle when picking up. Tyres have lasted nearly 20,000 miles on a vehicle that has been lowered for roughly 12,000 of those - changed the tyre camber very slightly as a result.

Grip was good at the start, the more wear, the easier it is to spin them in the wet and more recently in the dry also.

I managed an indicated 69mpg run on the motorway with these tyres, cruise control at 70. Appreciate the car may read optimistically.

Wouldn't purchase of it were myself buying tyres, but only because I prefer a branded tyre with actual European data stickers available (currently not found any for the bh15). Replacing with some F1 Asymmetric 5's after seeing the reviews on them.
Helpful 38 - tyre reviewed on July 31, 2019
Given 89% while driving a Citroën C5 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 300 easy going miles
Best budget tire ever had.
Fitted under a 2012 Citroen C5, it further improves the very good comfort of the car, because it doesn't make any noise, outside and inside.
Dry grip is great, wet grip is very good, also at highway speed. No grip issues while braking, cornering and accelerating.
The only downside is that, like 99% of Chinese tires, the shoulder structure is soft: I always inflate them at max load, according tire label stuck on the car, in order to have a more reactive responsive and better handling and not to have a flat tire look.
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on July 27, 2019
Toyota (215/55 R17) on mostly town for 700 average miles
Bought these tyres based on reviews here and was not disappointed. Some people have complained about noise, dont worry, it aint bad. On my previous experience fuel economy is slightly higher for summer tires, but not something that will break your bank. The ride quality, smoothness is unlike anything I have experienced before. I had some Goodyear summer tires before and those werent even half as good as the Blacklion ones at the moment. I had my doubts, those are now gone. Definately will buy again.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on April 15, 2019
Given 96% while driving a Ford Taurus usa (215/60 R17) on mostly motorways for 50,000 average miles
I just purchased a second set of these tires for my wife's car. The first set was comfortable, trouble free, & steered the direction you point them. I have no direct comparisons, but have certainly owned worse tires & some of them came with premium prices. Call me a satisfied customer!
Helpful 39 - tyre reviewed on February 25, 2019
Given 100% while driving a Audi A6 2.5 TDI Quattro (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 12,500 spirited miles
I have a garage and tyre centre myself and I pride myself on only carrying premium products. The Blacklion’s have broken the mold, seriously a premium quality tyre at half the cost of a Michelin/Goodyear. I’m riding them on an Audi A6 and I actually find them better than some premium brands. No wheelspin, low road noise and fantastic in wet and dry. I now recommend them to everyone!
Helpful 41 - tyre reviewed on November 5, 2018
Given 100% while driving a Skoda Octavia (205/55 R16 V) on mostly town for 11,250 spirited miles
after my local garage recommending these tyres as i have always had jinyu yh63 i was a bit concerned but after driving away with these new BLACKLION BH15 but i could tell instantly that they gripped to the road, as a taxi driver i do plenty of miles and so for after 11250 miles they still have 5mm tread and grip in the wet is better than any pirelli / goodyear i have ever had and for mileage they look like they are going to better than the 24,000 miles i got out the jinyu...
Helpful 55 - tyre reviewed on October 12, 2018