Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun

The Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 89 tyre reviews averaging 80% over 962,895 miles driven, and 11 tests with an average result of 12th.

Dry Grip 85%
Wet Grip 81%
Road Feedback 81%
Handling 82%
Wear 78%
Comfort 76%
Buy again 76%

First On MarketAugust 2012
Wheel Size17 - 18"
Width205 - 235mm
Profile40 - 60
Rolling ResistanceC - C
Wet GripB - B
Noise (dB)71 - 71
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun is ranked 46th of 149 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

This tyre replaced the Falken ZE914 and this tyre has been replaced by the Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun.

Tests Included

11

Best Result

5th

Worst Result

25th

Average Result

12th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2020 Auto Zeitung Summer Tyre Test
7th of 20 tyres
  • Good aquaplaning resistance, good wet handling, short dry braking.
  • Weak lateral stability and understeer in the dry.
View Full Test >>
2017 AZ Summer Tyre Test
10th of 10 tyres
  • Good resistance to aquaplaning, acceptable handling on dry surfaces
  • The longest braking distance on wet surfaces, long braking distance on dry surfaces
View Full Test >>

2020 Tyre Tests

2017 Tyre Tests

2016 Tyre Tests

2015 Tyre Tests

2013 Tyre Tests

SizeFuelWetNoise
17 inch
215/60R17 96 HCB71
215/50R17 91 WCB71
205/55R17 91 VCB71
18 inch
235/40R18 95 W XLCB71
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun >>

Questions and Answers for the Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun

2017-02-20 - Are these tyres directional please.

The Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun is an asymmetric tyre


2017-10-18 - Is this the same tyre as the ZE914'A' Ecorun? There are various sellers of this tyre and there seem to be many differing descriptions, including one with SO as a suffix. What is going on with this tyre? Personally I think that the VW/AUDI group are claiming it as their own!!

ZE914A is OEM version of the tyre. No difference between ZE914 and Ecorun.


2017-10-19 - If they are the same, what accounts for their different ratings. The ecorun scores worse than the predecessor. Although the ZE914A has better economy wet grip and noise levels. Anomaly?

Mid life updates and OE requirements can change how a tyre behaves during the EU label testing, if that's the scoring you're referring to.


2023-07-24 - I have 2 of these tyres in my garage and would like to know whether they will be safe to use as I changed them to all weather M&S tyres not long after buying a new car due to the harsh winters in the north of England. I am thinking of fitting them back onto my car now but they are now 8 years old (week 10 of 2015). Would this be a bad idea with the age of them? Bearing in mind that Michelin and Continental say you should change tyres at a maximum of 10 years. They have been in dry dark conditions and for the first few years of storage I did turn them regularly (Not much later) They show no signs of aging and they have no cracking etc. Just wondered if you could help me decide.

Unfortunately I have to follow the industry guidelines and recommend 5 years use + 2 years if stored correctly as maximum life. There are however plenty of tyres in use which are older.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
Available in 7 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun Reviews

Given 100% while driving a BMW E39 5 series (235/40 R18 W) on mostly motorways for 50,000 average miles
I was so disappointed about the comfort and steering of my 5er when her 18" M alloys wore P Zero and Eagle F1. The car drove like an overloaded lorry in ruts and on flat tyres. I was about to give up 18" in favour of standard 16" but decided to give them a very last chance, with reasonably priced tyres this time. I went for Falken ZIEX 912 (now 914) and - my goodness - what a change! Where have you been whole my life? Finally the car drives like it should! Road cracks nicely damped, great handling on wet (confident ride 160km/h on autobahn in the rain), reasonably long lasting. What can you ask more? It's a 3rd pair of 912/914 I order today. For 1,5t saloon, it's a tyre worth of every penny.
Helpful 247 - tyre reviewed on October 28, 2015
Given 73% while driving a Toyota Corolla (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 18,000 average miles
The falken drive rather well for a relativly cheap tyre. Had them fitted from the factory on my 2020 Corolla Hybrid. however it's performance isn't to be compared with a Premium tyre. The tyres provided a good amount of grip in dry and wet weather. While braking bringing the car to a good stop without slipping. even on the colder days. The road feedback is also good, it feels more like a sporty tyre with good feedback, a tad heavier steering. This however mean it does not give the best comfort. Also don't let the "Ecorun" label fool you, this tyre has a rather high resistance and isn't really economical on the fuel. The biggest downsides for me were, that it's rather noisy inside the cabin and can provide a harsh ride when the road gets bad. They seem to hold up pretty well against wear. Overall for it's price, it's a pretty good tyre! But would not recommendid over a Premium tyre like Goodyear, Pirelli...
Helpful 36 - tyre reviewed on December 20, 2022
Given 56% while driving a Suzuki swift sport (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
Good tyre overall but has bad road noise after using for a year (around 20000KMs)
Grip is ok
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on September 6, 2023
Have you driven on the Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun >

Latest Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun Reviews

Given 66% while driving a Alfa Romeo GT 2.0 JTS (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
it is a reasonably priced tyre they are comfortable and long-lasting the wear is good as well. it is quite an understeer-prone tyre in the dry and it doesn't grip as well as a Michelin ps5 or a Pirelli P-zero but it's still acceptable they get worse if you warm them up for some reason I don't recommend these for sporty drivers but for a normal commuter car these are good, especially for the price
Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on April 12, 2023
Given 90% while driving a Subaru Outback (225/65 R17) on a combination of roads for 700 average miles
Got these recently, put them to the test on a road trip with different grades of tarmac in Kenya. Great handling, wet braking is a bit shaky but tyres stick to the road overall especially factoring in the price. Let's see how they fare on.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on March 30, 2023
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 54% while driving a Nissan Juke (215/55 R17) on mostly town for 8,000 average miles
i cant complain about any aspect of the tyres performance in typical british conditions however as for wear, i purchased 4 in august 2021 and do mainly town driving with occasional motorway driving (once a month) and the front tyres have virtually worn out at just 8000 miles, ive contacted falken hq in germanyboth in february 2022 and again in march 2022 but have not even had the curtesy of a reply. ive purchased budget/ecconomy radial tyres before for previous cars and got at least 18 months approx 20,000 miles out of a front set of tyres so i cant recommend these tyres for financial reason alone.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on March 4, 2022
Given 74% while driving a Toyota Raize (215/55 R18) on mostly town for 30 easy going miles
Just change my continental uc6 with this falken, suprisingly its very comfort to handle road bump. The Noise still there but not worse like UC6. Other performace grip & handling cant say much because i only ride 50km from delers.
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on January 22, 2022
Given 66% while driving a Volkswagen Mk7 Golf 1.4 Tsi 150hp ACT (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Quiet for a tyre with some performance aspirations. Useful upgrade in wet and dry performance and handling compared to a good "touring tyre". Steering response not significantly different from a touring tyre. Quite a lot of squeal when pushed hard in the dry, with progressive breakaway. Wearing evenly and reasonably. I expect to get at least 20k miles out of these (to be swapped front-to-back once, soon). Bump thump (ride) though is significantly worse than the touring tyres I used to run on this car. More like that of a high performance tyre, than a "mild" performance tyre in this respect. Great price without compromise in quality. No significant change noticed in rolling resistance compared to my previous set of Bridgestone eco touring tyres, so probably OK in this respect.
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on November 30, 2021
Given 72% while driving a Audi A6 Avant 3.2 Quattro (245/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
I bought my Falkens second hand in New Zealand for $450NZD (about $300 USD). They were in nearly new condition, and the previous owner was selling them because they were too heavy for his liking. Once I fitted them to the car, I didn't immediately notice a difference from my other tyres (Bridgestone Potenza Re003, 225 50 r17, and Pirelli Dragon sports and Firestones in 245 40 r18 - I have two sets of wheels). I've done about 10,000km or 6000 miles. In general, they seem to be pretty decent all-rounders, especially considering the price. I generally drive pretty gently but I do enjoy using the car a bit on a nice twisty road, and in a 2 ton plus car, the tyres take a proper beating. I've noticed the tyres get louder as they get warmer, and if you go through a corner a little faster than usual (though not thrashing it), you'll hear them get louder. They'll eventually start squealing, long before they actually lose traction. It's kind of annoying on really smooth quiet asphalt where you can push the car a little through a corner at a speed you know is perfectly safe for the tyres, yet they start getting quite loud. Luckily my car, being an A6, has plenty of sound insulation. In the wet, again, I have no fears when it comes to cornering. I haven't had a chance to really push them and see where they slip up (I have Quattro so it's not easy to find corners where that's easy and safe to do), but they seem to hold their own relatively well - I've noticed no major downfalls in that regard from my other tyres). I really can't comment on braking because I rarely get into situations where I need to brake hard, but I have no concerns at this point if they're at the right pressure (for my car, around 40ish psi). Wear again, I can't really comment on much as I've only done 10,000km, but in that time I think they've definitely reduced in tread. Where I live, we go through tyres very quickly because of the nature of our roads (hilly, windy(corner-y), bumpy, chip seal, etc). Would I buy again? Yeah, I would definitely at that price point. Brand new, I'm not sure how much they'll set you back, but second hand, nearly new, I think I got a pretty good deal.
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on May 27, 2021
Given 97% while driving a Peugeot 208 1.2VTi (205/50 R16) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
I´m From Chile, in my country we have many irregular roads, (great highways, average roads in city, anothers whit bumps, and roads whit gravel and dirt) this tyres, are amazing in all tracks, when put on in my peugeot, the tyres NEVER lost preassure. before this tyres, i wear Michellin EcoSaver, really good, but, for the irregular roads in Chile, The Michelin tyres are damage very fast. I Recomend this Falken Ziex 914 EcoRun Sorry my english, but it's not my native lenguaje.
Helpful 50 - tyre reviewed on November 4, 2020
Given 66% while driving a Mitsubishi Lancer 1.8 4 Door (2008) (215/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 28,000 spirited miles
Well, these Falkens were great at the begining, low noise level, the comfort, well I am using 18" inch rims and they have fortified sidewalls, but still it was not so bad, dry grip was great, but wet grip was awesome, wear is also good, but when I reach 15000miles, then it was like, sorry, this was our premium support, we are now switching to free support, thank you for your usage. Because then everything went downhill, only dry grip was still there, so do not understand how the Falken is able to do this, but driving on these tyres after that 15000mile threshold is very dangerous especially during wet, there is just almost no grip. Also I notify, that these Falkens especially for Lancer are bit heavy, 10,3kg each tyre. For price comparison it is also against Falken as size 215/45 R18 are very expensive no matter the brand. Anyway it was great experience for me. We must start somewhere, but I think it is time to move to another brand, so apologize, but I will not buy Falken again for now at least.
Helpful 37 - tyre reviewed on May 9, 2020
Given 65% while driving a Toyota Corolla (225/45 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 6,000 average miles
8400km on a Toyota Corolla Touring Sports 2.0 Hybrid.
Dry handling is ok, even when I squeeze the 180hp of the engine, but one definitely can find their limit before we'd like, meaning the tyres don't follow the chassis ability to handle tighter and/or faster corners.
On the wet, the limit is found too soon, it's easy to make the Traction Control kick in and I had an accident at low speed, when the brakes locked the wheels but there wasn't enough grip and the car just slided...
They're noisy tyres.
The rim protection is nice.
If I was on a tight budget I might buy this tyres but usually I'm not cheap on tyres so I'll look for better Continental, Goodyear or Michelin.
Helpful 42 - tyre reviewed on January 6, 2020
Volkswagen Golf 6 GT (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 12,700 average miles
PROs: dry grip, wet grip, low rolling resistance, good road feedback for eco tyres, value

CONs: very noisy after 5000km, average treadwear, average braking performance both dry and wet, harsh ride

Before i change to ziex 914 ecorun, ive already use kumho PS31, Michelin PS3, bridgestone turanza t001 and Yokohama C Drive 2. I can conclude that this tyre still perform above my expectations. Very recommended for those who are looking a very good value and quality tyre. Only downside is braking performance and comfort.
Helpful 40 - tyre reviewed on December 12, 2019
Given 84% while driving a Opel Astra 1.4 (195/60 R15 H) on mostly country roads for 0 average miles
Bought 4 Falken PL15 195/60R15 88H ZIEX ZE 914 ECORUN in 2017 (50€ each). They were on Astra G 1.4 90 HP for 30 000 kms and they feel much better then previous Dunlop SP, especially on rain. Tyre wear is minimal (1 mm per year or 9000 km). 4.5 to 5.5 mm is left on tyre tread.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on October 29, 2019
Given 90% while driving a Honda Civic 1.4 100PS FK1 (225/50 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 37,000 spirited miles
Back in 2013, I decided to try a set of 4 tyres ZIEX914 225/50/16 W XL (extra load) for sporty driving. Very few reviews existed at that time but the price was much lower than premium brands. I replaced these tyres after 6 years with 60,000 km and I can say for sure that these tyres are excellent for sporty driving due to the combination of stiff sidewall and sticky rubber. With these tyres I could easily find the limits of my civic when taking turns at high speed without losing steering control at all. The only downside of these tyres is the absolute lack of comfort which can be a deal-breaker for relaxed-style drivers.

Now I have chosen Federal Evoluzion ST-1 because of discounted price and nice sporty performance.
In the short-run I am very satisfied but I have yet to discover their long-run performance.
I wish they keep up with the Falkens...
Helpful 42 - tyre reviewed on September 12, 2019