Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun

The Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Falken ZE914 and this tyre has been replaced by the Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 87%
Wet Grip 83%
Road Feedback 81%
Handling 83%
Wear 79%
Comfort 77%
Buy again 79%

Tyre review data from 80 tyre reviews averaging 81% over 840,165 miles driven.

The ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun is ranked 36th of 127 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2020 Auto Zeitung Summer Tyre Test - 7th of 20 tyres

  • Positive - Good aquaplaning resistance, good wet handling, short dry braking.
  • Negative - Weak lateral stability and understeer in the dry.
View Full Test >>

2017 AZ Summer Tyre Test - 10th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Good resistance to aquaplaning, acceptable handling on dry surfaces
  • Negative - The longest braking distance on wet surfaces, long braking distance on dry surfaces
View Full Test >>

2017 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test - 7th of 11 tyres

View Full Test >>
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun

Questions and Answers for the Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun

2017-02-20 - Are these tyres directional please.

The Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun is an asymmetric tyre


2017-10-19 - Is this the same tyre as the ZE914'A' Ecorun? There are various sellers of this tyre and there seem to be many differing descriptions, including one with SO as a suffix. What is going on with this tyre? Personally I think that the VW/AUDI group are claiming it as their own!!

ZE914A is OEM version of the tyre. No difference between ZE914 and Ecorun.


2017-10-20 - If they are the same, what accounts for their different ratings. The ecorun scores worse than the predecessor. Although the ZE914A has better economy wet grip and noise levels. Anomaly?

Mid life updates and OE requirements can change how a tyre behaves during the EU label testing, if that's the scoring you're referring to.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun Prices

Size Price Range  
205/50 R17 £86.80 - £89.20 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £66.80 - £85.42 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 26 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun Reviews

Given 100% while driving a BMW E39 5 series (235/40 R18 W) on mostly motorways for 50,000 average miles
I was so disappointed about the comfort and steering of my 5er when her 18" M alloys wore P Zero and Eagle F1. The car drove like an overloaded lorry in ruts and on flat tyres. I was about to give up 18" in favour of standard 16" but decided to give them a very last chance, with reasonably priced tyres this time. I went for Falken ZIEX 912 (now 914) and - my goodness - what a change! Where have you been whole my life? Finally the car drives like it should! Road cracks nicely damped, great handling on wet (confident ride 160km/h on autobahn in the rain), reasonably long lasting. What can you ask more? It's a 3rd pair of 912/914 I order today. For 1,5t saloon, it's a tyre worth of every penny.
212 - tyre reviewed on October 28, 2015   
Given 77% while driving a Mercedes Benz C180 (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 7,500 easy going miles
Bought these tyres to replace my Nokian Line (see my review in the Nokian Line page) on my Mercedes C180. I had to change from the Nokian because there is no more dealership in my country, Singapore. Else, I would have just carry on with the Nokian.

I bought these tyres after seeing the good reviews on here as well as the reasonable price offered by local dealers. In Singapore, it is summer all year with plenty of rain. After putting about 12000km on these tyres on mainly town driving, I find that it has excellent dry grip and has low rolling resistence (good for people who likes to take pedal off and glide their cars). However, the wet grip is not exactly convincing. On wet smooth surface, such as metal drain covers or smooth cement floors used in carparks, these tyres got ZERO grip. Once you step on the brakes on such surface, the car's ABS kicks in and the car skids forward. You can only pray that it stops.

On normal wet surface, most time the grip is pretty good. But there was an instance when i jammed my brake (and i usually keep my distance), my car was initially braking ok but suddenly, it seem to lose grip and started skidding forward. The final moments before the car stopped i thought i was going to collide with the car in front. So for me these tyres are simply too unconvincing. It doesnt give me the feeling that i will be entirely safe on wet surface and i will not buy these tyres again.
55 - tyre reviewed on August 17, 2017   
Given 77% while driving a Honda Civic Type R (205/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Had a pair of these fitted to the front of my EP3 type R for 18 months now. Bought for £70 each fitted and have been through 2 British summers. Have covered about 15'000 miles and they still have about 2.5mm remaining. That's pretty good as I use the car for a daily driver and don't exactly hang about. On a different car id estimate you could get 20-30'000 miles out of a set of these. Dry grip seems on par with the Avon ZZ5's i had on the front previously but I remember the Avons being slightly more progressive - had better feel when cornering fast. Cant comment for wet grip as i tend to drive differently being a biker etc. Overall the Falken is not bad value tyre for the money and I would consider buying again.
19 - tyre reviewed on November 16, 2016   
Have you driven on the Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun >

Latest Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun Reviews

Given 66% while driving a Volkswagen Mk7 Golf 1.4 Tsi 150hp ACT (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Quiet for a tyre with some performance aspirations. Useful upgrade in wet and dry performance and handling compared to a good "touring tyre". Steering response not significantly different from a touring tyre. Quite a lot of squeal when pushed hard in the dry, with progressive breakaway. Wearing evenly and reasonably. I expect to get at least 20k miles out of these (to be swapped front-to-back once, soon). Bump thump (ride) though is significantly worse than the touring tyres I used to run on this car. More like that of a high performance tyre, than a "mild" performance tyre in this respect. Great price without compromise in quality. No significant change noticed in rolling resistance compared to my previous set of Bridgestone eco touring tyres, so probably OK in this respect.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 30, 2021   
Given 72% while driving a Audi A6 Avant 3.2 Quattro (245/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
I bought my Falkens second hand in New Zealand for $450NZD (about $300 USD). They were in nearly new condition, and the previous owner was selling them because they were too heavy for his liking. Once I fitted them to the car, I didn't immediately notice a difference from my other tyres (Bridgestone Potenza Re003, 225 50 r17, and Pirelli Dragon sports and Firestones in 245 40 r18 - I have two sets of wheels). I've done about 10,000km or 6000 miles. In general, they seem to be pretty decent all-rounders, especially considering the price. I generally drive pretty gently but I do enjoy using the car a bit on a nice twisty road, and in a 2 ton plus car, the tyres take a proper beating. I've noticed the tyres get louder as they get warmer, and if you go through a corner a little faster than usual (though not thrashing it), you'll hear them get louder. They'll eventually start squealing, long before they actually lose traction. It's kind of annoying on really smooth quiet asphalt where you can push the car a little through a corner at a speed you know is perfectly safe for the tyres, yet they start getting quite loud. Luckily my car, being an A6, has plenty of sound insulation. In the wet, again, I have no fears when it comes to cornering. I haven't had a chance to really push them and see where they slip up (I have Quattro so it's not easy to find corners where that's easy and safe to do), but they seem to hold their own relatively well - I've noticed no major downfalls in that regard from my other tyres). I really can't comment on braking because I rarely get into situations where I need to brake hard, but I have no concerns at this point if they're at the right pressure (for my car, around 40ish psi). Wear again, I can't really comment on much as I've only done 10,000km, but in that time I think they've definitely reduced in tread. Where I live, we go through tyres very quickly because of the nature of our roads (hilly, windy(corner-y), bumpy, chip seal, etc). Would I buy again? Yeah, I would definitely at that price point. Brand new, I'm not sure how much they'll set you back, but second hand, nearly new, I think I got a pretty good deal.
1 - tyre reviewed on May 27, 2021   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 97% while driving a Peugeot 208 1.2VTi (205/50 R16) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
I´m From Chile, in my country we have many irregular roads, (great highways, average roads in city, anothers whit bumps, and roads whit gravel and dirt) this tyres, are amazing in all tracks, when put on in my peugeot, the tyres NEVER lost preassure. before this tyres, i wear Michellin EcoSaver, really good, but, for the irregular roads in Chile, The Michelin tyres are damage very fast. I Recomend this Falken Ziex 914 EcoRun Sorry my english, but it's not my native lenguaje.
11 - tyre reviewed on November 4, 2020   
Given 66% while driving a Mitsubishi Lancer 1.8 4 Door (2008) (215/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 28,000 spirited miles
Well, these Falkens were great at the begining, low noise level, the comfort, well I am using 18" inch rims and they have fortified sidewalls, but still it was not so bad, dry grip was great, but wet grip was awesome, wear is also good, but when I reach 15000miles, then it was like, sorry, this was our premium support, we are now switching to free support, thank you for your usage. Because then everything went downhill, only dry grip was still there, so do not understand how the Falken is able to do this, but driving on these tyres after that 15000mile threshold is very dangerous especially during wet, there is just almost no grip. Also I notify, that these Falkens especially for Lancer are bit heavy, 10,3kg each tyre. For price comparison it is also against Falken as size 215/45 R18 are very expensive no matter the brand. Anyway it was great experience for me. We must start somewhere, but I think it is time to move to another brand, so apologize, but I will not buy Falken again for now at least.
8 - tyre reviewed on May 9, 2020   
Given 65% while driving a Toyota Corolla (225/45 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 6,000 average miles
8400km on a Toyota Corolla Touring Sports 2.0 Hybrid.
Dry handling is ok, even when I squeeze the 180hp of the engine, but one definitely can find their limit before we'd like, meaning the tyres don't follow the chassis ability to handle tighter and/or faster corners.
On the wet, the limit is found too soon, it's easy to make the Traction Control kick in and I had an accident at low speed, when the brakes locked the wheels but there wasn't enough grip and the car just slided...
They're noisy tyres.
The rim protection is nice.
If I was on a tight budget I might buy this tyres but usually I'm not cheap on tyres so I'll look for better Continental, Goodyear or Michelin.
3 - tyre reviewed on January 6, 2020   
Volkswagen Golf 6 GT (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 12,700 average miles
PROs: dry grip, wet grip, low rolling resistance, good road feedback for eco tyres, value

CONs: very noisy after 5000km, average treadwear, average braking performance both dry and wet, harsh ride

Before i change to ziex 914 ecorun, ive already use kumho PS31, Michelin PS3, bridgestone turanza t001 and Yokohama C Drive 2. I can conclude that this tyre still perform above my expectations. Very recommended for those who are looking a very good value and quality tyre. Only downside is braking performance and comfort.
12 - tyre reviewed on December 12, 2019   
Given 84% while driving a Opel Astra 1.4 (195/60 R15 H) on mostly country roads for 0 average miles
Bought 4 Falken PL15 195/60R15 88H ZIEX ZE 914 ECORUN in 2017 (50€ each). They were on Astra G 1.4 90 HP for 30 000 kms and they feel much better then previous Dunlop SP, especially on rain. Tyre wear is minimal (1 mm per year or 9000 km). 4.5 to 5.5 mm is left on tyre tread.
2 - tyre reviewed on October 29, 2019   
Given 90% while driving a Honda Civic 1.4 100PS FK1 (225/50 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 37,000 spirited miles
Back in 2013, I decided to try a set of 4 tyres ZIEX914 225/50/16 W XL (extra load) for sporty driving. Very few reviews existed at that time but the price was much lower than premium brands. I replaced these tyres after 6 years with 60,000 km and I can say for sure that these tyres are excellent for sporty driving due to the combination of stiff sidewall and sticky rubber. With these tyres I could easily find the limits of my civic when taking turns at high speed without losing steering control at all. The only downside of these tyres is the absolute lack of comfort which can be a deal-breaker for relaxed-style drivers.

Now I have chosen Federal Evoluzion ST-1 because of discounted price and nice sporty performance.
In the short-run I am very satisfied but I have yet to discover their long-run performance.
I wish they keep up with the Falkens...
15 - tyre reviewed on September 12, 2019   
Given 77% while driving a Citroën c3 Picasso 1.6 diesel (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 1,000 average miles
Great grip in both dry and wet conditions. I've driven in heavy rain and the tyres feels very secure with precise handling and great resistance to aquaplaning. No skipping nor sliding. I'm more of a relaxed driver so haven't stressed the tyres on a road track, but the tyres feels good and the car feels glued to the road. Steering has sharpened up, car feels more responsive to driver input compared to Michelin Energy. Noise levels are low, but the tyres are on the hard side so not so comfortable on poor roads/bad tamrac or gravel. These tyres are sporty touring tyres, perhaps too sporty for a MPV. I can't comment on wear, it's too early.
4 - tyre reviewed on August 20, 2019   
Given 86% while driving a Skoda Octavia estate (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 45,000 easy going miles
Had these tyres already fitted on my Octavia when I bought it. Had heard about Falken tyres but never used them before. I am an easy going driver, but these tyres held up very well. I have put about 60,000 kms on my car in 3 years and rotate the tyres front to back once a year. Tyres have around 2,5mm of tread left so looking to replace soon. Tyres have held up very well. Sidewalls are quite stiff. Do get a little noisey when tread is low. Have priced up a new set and are well worth the money.
4 - tyre reviewed on April 7, 2019   
Given 70% while driving a Skoda Superb 3   LK 4x4 Combi 2.0TD (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 25,000 spirited miles
Nice comfortabel tyre, 45000 km even wear. Not good or bad in any way, just ok. Good at higher speeds in Germany just not sharp. Noise and comfort nice.
3 - tyre reviewed on March 26, 2019   
Given 74% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 2.0 TDi R Line Estate (215/55 R17 V) on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Mediocre middle-class tyres mostly made i Thailand, but you can rely on them.
Road feedback and comfort is mediocre at best, they just feel and sound like modern hard eco-tires. I had Michelin Primacy 3's on my former car, a Volvo V70 2010 and I have to say, the Primacies gave a bit better feeback and had better comfort. But, Falken ZE914 are not bad tires. They give almost no feedback for better or worse and feel stiff and numb, but they have tremendous dry-grip, they just never slip and I haven't had any problems when driving in rain either and aquaplaning has never occurred. They do feel very hard when you hit potholes (with normal tire pressure), but the car never wanders when driving on badly mantained highways.
I don't know about long-time wear yet. I haven't driven them more than 3000 miles, but they still look like new, all 4 tires have 7 mm left (8mm new) so I suppose they'll easily last 15000-20000 miles.
My opinion is that you get your bang for the buck, but you also somewhat get what you pay for. I bought these because they were 30% cheaper than Michelin Primacy 4's or Conti PremiumContacts 6's for my car and with that price difference I would definitely buy them again.
3 - tyre reviewed on March 3, 2019