Subaru Outback Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Subaru Outback.

Do you Drive a Subaru Outback? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Outback better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Kormoran Suv Summer (8) 95% 85% 88% 89% 88% 95%
Radar RW 5 (1) 80% 90% 90% 90% 0% 80%
BFGoodrich Urban Terrain TA (13) 92% 90% 85% 80% 88% 85%
Vredestein Quatrac Pro (23) 89% 90% 86% 83% 85% 91%
Michelin Pilot Alpin (4) 88% 88% 75% 85% 85% 78%
Yokohama Geolander AT G015 (8) 88% 85% 68% 79% 85% 91%
Nexen N Blue HD Plus (50) 87% 83% 81% 79% 81% 85%
Nokian WRG2 (72) 85% 87% 83% 80% 83% 85%
GT Radial Champiro 228 (5) 84% 82% 84% 86% 70% 88%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV (10) 90% 87% 80% 87% 71% 75%
Nankang SP7 (2) 75% 80% 75% 85% 70% 90%
Michelin CrossClimate SUV (15) 85% 82% 78% 76% 76% 84%
Falken Eurowinter HS449 (33) 85% 87% 81% 78% 84% 84%
Nokian One (4) 83% 85% 70% 73% 80% 75%
Marangoni Meteo HP (14) 79% 88% 74% 68% 72% 82%
GT Radial Champiro HPY (22) 88% 80% 74% 73% 61% 77%
Bridgestone Potenza RE001 (41) 87% 72% 77% 80% 71% 64%
Yokohama Geolandar G900 (14) 88% 82% 75% 69% 72% 70%
Nokian WR G4 SUV (3) 90% 93% 60% 87% 43% 77%
Bridgestone Blizzak LM30 (9) 77% 72% 65% 56% 76% 69%
Dunlop SP Sport 01 (121) 78% 67% 71% 69% 69% 66%
Nokian eNTYRE (23) 79% 64% 68% 57% 78% 68%
Maxxis PRO R1 (14) 81% 65% 68% 63% 64% 71%
Goform GH18 (2) 70% 55% 65% 60% 80% 80%
Kleber Krisalp HP2 (15) 76% 63% 65% 61% 85% 71%
BFGoodrich Traction TA (4) 75% 68% 60% 63% 80% 37%
Yokohama Geolandar G98A (14) 75% 68% 68% 73% 48% 61%
Accelera Alpha (128) 65% 44% 53% 49% 69% 57%

Subaru Outback Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Nokian One given 86% (-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
Perfect tires for pacific north west area.
tyre reviewed on 2022-01-01 20:48:41
Writing about the Vredestein Quatrac Pro given 98% (225-60-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 500 easy going miles
Just first general impressions after a bit less than 500 miles. Strikingly good comfort! Well planted feeling. Low noise, same as OEM. Good feedback and handling (mostly drove in dry). It seems however that tires require a higher pressure than OEM to "feel and look right." I bumped it by 3 psi. Even though mounted on new wheels (which are 4 kg lighter than OEM and tires and wheels same size as OEM), the economy suffered significally. (from OEM Bridgestone Dueller HP Sport) That is little strange, and not expected. Maybe the colder weather is a factor. Not enough wet weather driving and no snow yet. I will write an update soon. (One of the reasons I selected them is that they are asymmetrical and I can have a proper spare wheel and rotations. I was worried though by the shop that Quatrac Pro will get much louder as they wear out, but good cross rotation can delay that process by much)
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-12 18:02:52
Writing about the Yokohama Geolander AT G015 given 88% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 40000 average miles
Excellent in snow and mud. Comfortable and quiet.
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-30 17:48:46
Writing about the Nokian WR G4 SUV given 97% (225-65-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
We bought the WR G4 tires to replace the Outback's OEM tires (Bridgestone Dueler H/P Sport AS--avoid at all costs or replace immediately!). What we were looking for: tires that gripped well in the wet, predictable snow and ice handling, quiet and comfortable ride, and moderate to good tread life (at least 40k miles). At 5000 miles, the WR G4's have delivered that and more! Even in torrential rain, whether it's above or below freezing, traction is almost as excellent as in the dry. It's an "all-weather" tire so I expected it to sacrifice some snow and ice capability for warm weather durability. However, I find that its feezing temperature, snow, slush, and ice capabilities are better than all except premium winter tires. We really had to try to get it to lose grip in snow (6" unplowed was max tried), slush, and ice; each time, grip kicked in hard again after maybe a couple wheel spins. The tires handled evasive lane changes (yay for sketchy winter drivers) with full grip and no surprises. The tires are (still) insanely quiet, buffer a lot of road vibration and mute potholes, yet the gas mileage is the best we've ever had on this car. Not sure how Nokian managed this combination. I was a little skeptical on tread life before buying the tires (winter capability and 60k warranty in the same tire?), but they have delivered so far. The treads still look new at 5000k; contact surface is barely worn and all sidewall and tread features, including all those sipes, are intact. Caveats and more to follow... We have not driven the tires in sustained temperatures above mid 80s F, so we can't comment much on hot weather performance and durability/wear yet. Because these are SUV tires on a crossover/SUV, we did not expect the same snappy response and direct feedback of a sedan/coupe tire.That said, the handling, braking, and feedback are the best we've had on an Outback in 15 years. Who these tires are for: SUV/crossover owners who prioritize tires that excel during inclement weather across all seasons, who will sacrifice top end winter capability in exchange for no seasonal tire changes, and who seek quiet and durable tires for (often potholed) city roads and highways.
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-27 14:48:13
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV given 97% (225-60-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 13 spirited miles
A superb tyre, neutral steering, very quiet, remarkably compliant on small bumps and just never wants to let go. Wear appears to be fairly good. After 21,000kms down to 5.9mm so I am expecting 37,000-40,000kms from them.
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-24 22:36:15
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate SUV given 87% (225-60-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 200 average miles
Just switched to the Michelin CC SUV from Bridgestone Dueler H/P summer tyres. However during this short period already, I am surprised by how much more comfort the CC SUV provide compared to the Bridgestones. The noise level is lower than before (which was already quite low) and I have the feeling that the CC SUV do absorb a little more bumps etc from the roads. The handling is yet a little bit more indirect compared to the Bridgestones, meaning slightly more space on the steering wheel. That feels less connected to the road, but not in an alarming or uncomfortable manner. However I expect this to improve once the tyres have seen more kilometers. I read somewhere else that they require some distance to fully grow their performance. So far I am happy with my choice and do not regret it. Yes they are expensive, but that should be marginalised once they last as long as promised.
tyre reviewed on 2020-10-21 13:00:55
Writing about the Nankang SP7 given 86% (215-65-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 18000 spirited miles
I drive a lot of miles each year, 20k min, often 30k+ in my own vehicles. I was on a budget and needed 5, so picked the best of the rest based on wet grip and that the tyre wasn’t directional and looked like it had some off-road ability. At £55 a tyre I was still a bit unsure, but I haven’t been disappointed. Wear is good, grip is good in the dry or wet and even throwing the car about in the wet it’s difficult to get the stability management to take over.. they have sat on the motorway for hours in rain and summer sun. 2600 mile round trip to south of France loaded up on autoroutes, main roads and mountain passes.. they may not have the ultimate grip of a premium tyre, but to be fair they are half the price... and I would say give 80%+ the performance.. I would Definitely buy again..
tyre reviewed on 2020-09-13 21:35:14
Writing about the BFGoodrich Urban Terrain TA given 94% (225-65-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 25000 average miles
Probably the best all round tyre I've used and have tried many over the years. Bought Urban Terrains because one of my Landcruisers clocked up 50,000 miles on BFG AT's and still had plenty of life left with superb off road and excellent on road characteristics. Now I drive a 2014 Subaru Outback. Found the UT's good for their type in the mud, excellent in the snow (acceleration, braking and cornering all good and predictable) and with extremely good on-road performance and manners. Done 25,000 miles and according to the MoT tester all four corners were between 5mm and 6mm remaining so plenty left. Had to fit 225/65/17 as no 225/60 available. Won't look at anything else now, am very pleased. For a compromise tyre (which all season must always be by definition) they come close to being the perfect tyre for me.
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-15 20:48:53
Writing about the Goform GH18 given 79% (225-45-17-)
Driving on for 15000 miles
A cheapie chinese import, with very good dry & wet weather handling. Comparable with the replaced Yokohama Geolanders.
Efficient & quiet treadpattern, with reasonable wear (30000+km)but the soft sidewalls are the dealbreaker. I easily ripped a hole, in a minor slow speed curb scrape. My tyre dealer also informed me of this common trait.
Replaced with Aoteli. Review pending....
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-11 03:03:10
Writing about the Nokian WRG2 given 63% (225-60-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 50000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-05 15:45:47
Writing about the Falken Eurowinter HS449 given 70% (215-65-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
Had them for 3 years on a Subaru Outback 2.5i. I've rated the tyre in comparison to the level of grip any road legal tyre can have, not in comparison to other winter tyres.
Dry grip is good for a winter tyre with good braking and cornering, but nothing compares to summer tyres on a dry surface even in cold.
After 3 winters they have a lot of thread left, became a bit stiff, but I'm sure they can still handle well.
Handled snow like it was on rails in combination with the AWD system and would progressively start to slide only if accelerator was abused.
Wet & cold is where it suffers. It starts to understeer more than in snow and braking is not good either, so if you live in a place where winter = cold rains, I would not recommend. If you have snow, they will do really well. Even drove in a freezing rain when it was recorded the highest number of accidents and managed to get out safe even if it would slip while trying to start moving.
Noise was acceptable.
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-08 13:55:55
Writing about the Radar RW 5 given 88% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 average miles
I live in northern NY I put these on my car this year I never run snow tires on my outback before but I will be from now on the car drives and handles way better in the winter on slippery back roads that I drive can't say for wear rate just put them on this year but very happy with traction and noise a lot quitter than my wifes firestones on hear out back
tyre reviewed on 2018-01-07 17:58:04
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre