Michelin CrossClimate SUV

The Michelin CrossClimate SUV is a Premium Touring All Season tyre designed to be fitted to SUV and 4x4s.

This tyre has been replaced by the Michelin CrossClimate 2 SUV.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 86%
Wet Grip 84%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 75%
Wear 78%
Comfort 82%
Buy again 78%
Snow Grip 80%
Ice Grip 68%

Tyre review data from 18 tyre reviews averaging 78% over 145,615 miles driven.

The CrossClimate SUV is ranked 11th of 18 All Season Premium Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2022 Auto Bild SUV All Season Tyre Test - 1st of 13 tyres

  • Positive - Exemplary all-season tyre with impressive ride qualities in all weather conditions, good aquaplaning safety, short wet and dry braking distances.
  • Negative - High price.
  • Overall - Exemplary.
View Full Test >>

2019 Auto Bild All Season SUV Tyre Test - 2nd of 9 tyres

  • Positive - A strong allrounder with sport dynamic handling in the dry, and good in the snow and wet. Low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Expensive.
View Full Test >>

2019 Auto Bild 4x4 All Season Tyre Test - 1st of 12 tyres

  • Positive - Exemplary all Season with stunning qualities on ice and snow, dynamic and sporty behaviour on dry handling, highest safety for aquaplaning, precise steering.
  • Negative - None mentioned.
View Full Test >>

2022 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2022 Auto Bild SUV All Season Tyre Test (225/50 R18)
  • 2019 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2019 Auto Bild 4x4 All Season Tyre Test (235/65 R17)
  • 2nd: 2019 Auto Bild All Season SUV Tyre Test (235/55 R19)
  • 2018 Tyre Tests

  • 2nd: 2018 Auto Bild SUV All Season Tyre Test (235/60 R18)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    235/60 R16 104V XL   C B 69 11.70kgs
    215/65 R16 102V XL   C B 69 9.81kgs
    215/70 R16 100H   C B 69 11.17kgs
    235/55 R17 99V   C B 71 10.71kgs
    235/55 R17 103V XL   B B 69 10.71kgs
    235/60 R17 106V XL   C B 70 12.83kgs
    225/65 R17 106V XL   C B 69 12.72kgs
    235/65 R17 108W XL   C B 69 12.79kgs
    235/65 R17 104V MO C B 69 12.70kgs
    265/65 R17 112H   C B 70 14.65kgs
    215/50 R18 92W   C B 69 11.03kgs
    235/50 R18 101V XL   C B 69 11.82kgs
    215/55 R18 99V XL   C B 69 10.43kgs
    225/55 R18 98V   C B 69 11.95kgs
    235/55 R18 104V XL   C B 69 11.95kgs
    255/55 R18 109W XL   C B 70 13.91kgs
    225/60 R18 104W XL   B B 69 11.84kgs
    235/60 R18 107V XL MO B B 69 13.30kgs
    235/60 R18 107W XL   B B 69 13.07kgs
    235/60 R18 103V AO B B 69 13.10kgs
    245/60 R18 105H   C B 70 13.81kgs
    255/60 R18 112V XL   B B 70 14.65kgs
    265/60 R18 114V XL   B B 70 14.54kgs
    235/65 R18 110H XL   C B 70 13.81kgs
    225/45 R19 96W XL   C B 69 10.62kgs
    285/45 R19 111Y XL   C B 71 14.66kgs
    235/50 R19 103W XL   C B 70 12.57kgs
    255/50 R19 107Y XL   C B 70 14.44kgs
    265/50 R19 110V XL   C B 70 14.44kgs
    235/55 R19 105W XL S1 B B 69 13.60kgs
    235/55 R19 105W XL   C B 69 13.60kgs
    255/55 R19 111W XL   B B 70 14.39kgs
    275/55 R19 111V MO B B 71 15.80kgs
    245/45 R20 103V XL   C B 70 13.07kgs
    255/45 R20 105W XL   C B 70 14.28kgs
    265/45 R20 108Y XL   C B 70 14.27kgs
    275/45 R20 110Y XL   C B 70 14.78kgs

    Questions and Answers for the Michelin CrossClimate SUV

    2017-01-15 - What is the difference between the CrossClimate and CrossClimate SUV tyres? Why should I not have standard passenger CrossClimates fitted to my AWD vehicle?

    The CrossClimate and CrossClimate SUV tyres are generally separated by size and load rating. There should be very few, if any crossover in the two sizes.


    2017-06-27 - Are these CrossClimate SUV tyres any good off-road (I need tyres that are 50/50 for on/off road performance)?

    The Michelin CrossClimate SUV will perform better offroad than a normal SUV summer tyre due to its design, but won't be as good as a true 50/50 ATR tyre.


    2018-10-24 - Making a decision on tyres for cold weather and not sure which one to go for, need tyres for my Outlander PHEV and live in Yorkshire, it’s getting cold now and when it snows, the many hills become a bit treacherous, was looking at the CrossClimates, the size comes in both regular and SUV tyre, is it particularly important which one I go for or are they pretty much the same? The other tyres I was considering were Goodyear vector 4 gen 2 but the size is difficult to find. Lastly, the other tyre was full winters Conti TS860 S but can I run them all year as I only want one set of tyres? Which one would you recommend? Any advice is greatly appreciated. By the way, great website and videos, keep up the good work. Under your advice I bought a set of Michelin PS4S for my weekend car, BEST THINGS EVER.

    If you intend to run year round, I think the CrossClimate is the correct choice. Regarding the SUV or car version, I would assume the load ratings are different even if the sizes are the same, so fit whichever load rating works for your vehicle. Glad you're liking the PS4S!


    2019-01-06 - Can you replace just two rear tyres on a 4x4 with the Michelin CrossClimate tyre without effecting safety. Watched the two tyre winter video which was really interesting but would fitting these tyres have the same effect being they are all season working with summer fronts.

    Ideally you would replace all 4. In normal driving you might not notice a huge amount of difference, but when on snow or ice you will find you have grip to accelerate but no braking or turning.


    2019-05-15 - What is the speed & heat rating on the CrossClimate SUV

    It will be marked by the tyre retailer, it varies by size and sku.


    2021-04-13 - Good evening, the MICHELIN CROSS CLIMATE SUV is based on CROSS CLIMATE or CROSS CLIMATE+. And in addition it makes sense to buy a 4-season tire when we have about 70% traffic on dry road, 20% wet, 5% snow and 5% off-road. I live in Greece where we have sun 300 days a year.

    Neither and both :) The difference between the CC and CC+ are very small. With sun 300 days a year I'd probably stick with a summer tyre, all season tyres work well in climates with long cold spells and snow.


    2022-02-21 - My wife drives a 2019 Lexus NX300 H (Hybrid) and it came fitted as a new car with Yokohama BluEarth E51 225/60R18 100H. It has done 21000 miles and I am thinking of changing all 4 tyres for safety. The Lexus NX300H is a AWD SUV. Its mainly 85.0% Dry and Wet 15.0% and used on normal roads. Should I maintain the same Yokohama tyres or change perhaps to the Michelin Cross Climate SUV or the Continental All Seasons Contact. Mt criteria is Safety (Braking) and Comfort as the Lexus is a very quiet SUV. Not concerned about price of tyres.

    If you have no requirement for very cold weather or snow performance we would recommend staying with a summer tyre as these will out perform any all season tyre in the 85% of dry driving you do.


    2022-11-18 - What is the difference between Michelin CrossClimate 2 SUV 255/50 R19 107Y and Michelin CrossClimate SUV XL 255/50 R19 107Y

    The CrossClimate 2 is the updated version of the CrossClimate. You can find the launch press release here describing the differences.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    215/55 R18 £138.00 - £162.00 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    235/50 R19 £153.23 - £203.66 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    235/55 R18 £126.00 - £154.51 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    235/60 R17 £159.71 - £165.53 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    235/60 R18 £150.42 - £176.99 (15 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    275/45 R20 £253.61 - £294.77 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 30 tyre sizes - View all.

    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Michelin CrossClimate SUV Reviews

    Given 96% while driving a Mercedes Benz MB GLK 220 CDI 4 matic (235/60 R17) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
    Based on your tests I got the Crossclimate SUV on my Mercedes GLK 220d 4matic. Drove 2 winters and 2 summers, thru snow, slush, wet, dry, scorching heat you name it. Outstanding performance in all conditions. And the biggest surprise was how comfortable they are. My wife noticed that immediately, said it felt like I did something to upgrade the suspension. They are also very quiet. In fact more quiet and comfortable than the Goodyear Efficient Grip I used as summer and Nokian WR3 SUV for winter.
    Helpful 205 - tyre reviewed on April 6, 2021
    Given 80% while driving a Opel Mokka 1.4T 4x4 (215/55 R18) on mostly motorways for 3,000 average miles
    Very good tyre in wet road and in light snow. I hadn't the opportunity to drive it in heavy snow. The consumption was increased by 0.5 l/100km in the first 3000 km. Opel Mokka 1.4T 4x4 (215/55/18). I recommend it for areas with frequent light snowfall.
    Helpful 152 - tyre reviewed on March 25, 2017
    Given 86% while driving a Hyundai ix35 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 12,000 spirited miles
    Have driven approx 12000 miles on Crossclimate 225/60 R17 tyres , on Hyundai ix35 4WD .
    Very little visible wear, despite living in the country and French mountains, and driving fast though the bends on a lot of winding roads .
    As I approach the limit and the drift sets in , the car remains balanced and controllable, with only minor understeer both in the dry and wet .
    These are very well-mannered all round tyres, even in driving snow in the Alps .
    Helpful 54 - tyre reviewed on July 7, 2018
    Have you driven on the Michelin CrossClimate SUV tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Michelin CrossClimate SUV? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Michelin CrossClimate SUV >

    Latest Michelin CrossClimate SUV Reviews

    Given 87% while driving a Land Rover Discovery 2 (255/60 R18) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
    Being honest, I bought these tyres because I had a good deal buying them of a friend second hand. I wouldn't buy part worn tyres but these were hardly worn and £250 for four tyres! My Discovery 2 is used for mainly transporting my dogs but the difference when I put these tyres on was like night and day. I originally had a mix of Acelera and Fulrun (the car came with these!!) and after seeing/feeling the difference with these Michelin tyres, I'll never buy a budget tyre! They're amazing in the rain, both around town and on motorways (no snow or ice yet, but I'm confident they'll perform). I've just done my first green lane travelling over mainly dry rocky ground, with lots of ruts and a few deep muddy ruts and these tyres flew through everything with no issues. I'm very impressed with these tyres and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending them them for any SUV (a family suv wouldn't use them as I have!!!)
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on August 20, 2022
    Given 76% while driving a Citroën C Crosser (235/60 R18) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
    Really good balanced tyre. Improved the fuel consumption, ride quality and noise.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on May 11, 2022
    All Season VS Winter Tyres: What is REALLY Best?! Click to find out!
    Given 76% while driving a Honda CRV (225/65 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
    For reference these are following on from Goodyear Efficient Grip SUV, on Honda CRV. Same tyre pressures. Used over UK winter, not summer. Good: - Superb grip in all conditions. Pretty similar to the Goodyears in dry but these particularly excel on cold, wet, greasy type winter roads where they give real confidence. More of a front end and sense of traction. - Used on light snow with, again, great surefootedness. Haven’t tried on ice. - Very good at absorbing bumps in the road – very smooth ride. Not so good: - Biggest negative is losing around 7mpg average over the Goodyears – rather a lot! I tend to have higher PSIs too, where they should be more efficient. - Bit noisier (roar), but nothing too intrusive. Other: - Only used for one winter so can’t comment on wear. - Again, if it wasn’t for the notable hit on fuel consumption I’d be happy to try and use these all year round if it meant not changing to full winters. But, it’s too much to ignore and they’ll be kept for winter use only… which almost defeats the object.
    Helpful 11 - tyre reviewed on February 7, 2022
    Given 78% while driving a Ford Edge (255/45 R20) on a combination of roads for 28,000 average miles
    End of life review. Had them for 28000 miles on a 2017 210HP Ford EDGE st-line. Best thing about them is the smooth ride. Dry grip was ok from the begining and still is but not as good as a Primacy 4(didn't even expect but still OK). Wet grip is disappointing they just make you wana brake when wet or slushy. Snow, mud, grass, gravel really good. Ice not tested. Overall coming from Michelin not as good as you would expect, I'm just looking for better in the same price range.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on October 10, 2021
    Given 80% while driving a Volvo XC60 D5 AWD Auto (235/60 R18) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
    Decent tyre, but pricey and ugly
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on August 13, 2021
    Given 87% while driving a Volkswagen TOUAREG V6 TDI (275/45 R20 W) on mostly town for 12,000 average miles
    A supremely quiet tyre with strong grip off the line and in all conditions. Always in control and decent feedback through the steering. After 2 years and 12k miles they still have 3mm of tread left given mostly city stop start conditions. The best tyre I’ve ever had. Better than the Pirelli Scorpion Verde and the Goodyear Eagle F1 3 I had previously on the Touareg. Would highly recommend. Gutted they don’t make it in 275/40 R21 for the new XC90
    Helpful 11 - tyre reviewed on January 7, 2021
    Given 62% while driving a Vauxhall Grandland X Ultimate (235/50 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 9,000 average miles
    I’m very conflicted on these tyres. I’ve been driving with all seasons on my cars for the past 6 years (as I live in the Scottish Highlands), of a variety of brands and the Crossclimate SUV’s are exceptionally effective in every weather they encountered but are let down by two flaws. Firstly they are biblically firm riding! Going from Vredestein Quatrac Pro‘s to the Crossclimate’s made the ride feel like it was reinforced with concrete. Adding extra pressure to the tyres did nothing to change it. Finally the lifespan wasn’t great. They lasted 9200 miles before they wore to the tread markers. This was disappointing as the previous Quatrac’s and Pirelli Scorpion all seasons both lasted over 12k before needing replacement. Driving capability is great, comfort and lifespan are below par.
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on December 29, 2020
    Given 87% while driving a Audi Q3 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 15 average miles
    Excellent tyre on audi q3 quattro. Will buy again
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on December 7, 2020
    Given 87% while driving a Subaru Outback (225/60 R18) on mostly country roads for 200 average miles
    Just switched to the Michelin CC SUV from Bridgestone Dueler H/P summer tyres. However during this short period already, I am surprised by how much more comfort the CC SUV provide compared to the Bridgestones. The noise level is lower than before (which was already quite low) and I have the feeling that the CC SUV do absorb a little more bumps etc from the roads. The handling is yet a little bit more indirect compared to the Bridgestones, meaning slightly more space on the steering wheel. That feels less connected to the road, but not in an alarming or uncomfortable manner. However I expect this to improve once the tyres have seen more kilometers. I read somewhere else that they require some distance to fully grow their performance. So far I am happy with my choice and do not regret it. Yes they are expensive, but that should be marginalised once they last as long as promised.
    Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on October 21, 2020
    Given 98% while driving a Toyota RAV4 (235/55 R18 R) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
    2 years, 25k miles and 4 skiing trips to the Alps later, these tyres are still going strong. Grip and performance in all weathers has been excellent and have to be careful not to be overly confident in the snow, especially when braking as was caught out once! They are comfortable and quiet on the Autoroutes of France and more than cope with the back roads of Wales. They will get you anywhere in the snow.
    Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on August 11, 2020
    Given 67% while driving a Volkswagen Caravelle (235/55 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 7,000 average miles
    It's the comfort that is lacking, quite rough and drones at continental motorway speeds. I have the 103 XL and I think the dampers seem to 'fight' with the side wall. I have tried putting in an extra pound psi which is better but not sure I would buy again
    Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on July 14, 2020
    Given 44% while driving a Mercedes Benz GL450 (255/55 R19) on a combination of roads for 300 average miles
    Bad on gravel roads, blown 3 times in 2 months.
    Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on August 6, 2019