Michelin CrossClimate SUV

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 83%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 74%
Wear 71%
Comfort 82%
Buy again 77%
Snow Grip 80%
Ice Grip 68%

The Michelin CrossClimate SUV is a Premium Touring All Season tyre designed to be fitted to SUV and 4x4

Show All

Tyre review data from 12 tyre reviews averaging 77% over 79,615 miles driven.

Latest Group Test Results

2019 Auto Bild All Season SUV Tyre Test - 2nd of 9 tyres

  • Positive - A strong allrounder with sport dynamic handling in the dry, and good in the snow and wet. Low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Expensive.

2019 Auto Bild 4x4 All Season Tyre Test - 1st of 12 tyres

  • Positive - Exemplary all Season with stunning qualities on ice and snow, dynamic and sporty behaviour on dry handling, highest safety for aquaplaning, precise steering.
  • Negative - None mentioned.

2018 Auto Bild SUV All Season Tyre Test - 2nd of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Best in the dry, almost matching the summer tyre, good in the wet, low fuel use.
  • Negative - Long braking distances in the snow (but still many times better than a summer tyre)
  • Overall - Highly Recommended.
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
235/60 R16 104V XL   C B 69 11.70kgs
215/65 R16 102V XL   C B 69 9.81kgs
215/70 R16 100H   C B 69 11.17kgs
235/55 R17 99V   C B 71 10.71kgs
235/55 R17 103V XL   B B 69 10.71kgs
235/60 R17 106V XL   C B 70 12.83kgs
225/65 R17 106V XL   C B 69 12.72kgs
235/65 R17 108W XL   C B 69 12.79kgs
235/65 R17 104V MO C B 69 12.70kgs
265/65 R17 112H   C B 70 14.65kgs
215/50 R18 92W   C B 69 11.03kgs
235/50 R18 101V XL   C B 69 11.82kgs
215/55 R18 99V XL   C B 69 10.43kgs
225/55 R18 98V   C B 69 11.95kgs
235/55 R18 104V XL   C B 69 11.95kgs
255/55 R18 109W XL   C B 70 13.91kgs
225/60 R18 104W XL   B B 69 11.84kgs
235/60 R18 107V XL MO B B 69 13.30kgs
235/60 R18 107W XL   B B 69 13.07kgs
235/60 R18 103V AO B B 69 13.10kgs
245/60 R18 105H   C B 70 13.81kgs
255/60 R18 112V XL   B B 70 14.65kgs
265/60 R18 114V XL   B B 70 14.54kgs
235/65 R18 110H XL   C B 70 13.81kgs
225/45 R19 96W XL   C B 69 10.62kgs
285/45 R19 111Y XL   C B 71 14.66kgs
235/50 R19 103W XL   C B 70 12.57kgs
255/50 R19 107Y XL   C B 70 14.44kgs
265/50 R19 110V XL   C B 70 14.44kgs
235/55 R19 105W XL S1 B B 69 13.60kgs
235/55 R19 105W XL   C B 69 13.60kgs
255/55 R19 111W XL   B B 70 14.39kgs
275/55 R19 111V MO B B 71 15.80kgs
245/45 R20 103V XL   C B 70 13.07kgs
255/45 R20 105W XL   C B 70 14.28kgs
265/45 R20 108Y XL   C B 70 14.27kgs
275/45 R20 110Y XL   C B 70 14.78kgs

Questions and Answers for the Michelin CrossClimate SUV

2017-01-15 - What is the difference between the CrossClimate and CrossClimate SUV tyres? Why should I not have standard passenger CrossClimates fitted to my AWD vehicle?

The CrossClimate and CrossClimate SUV tyres are generally separated by size and load rating. There should be very few, if any crossover in the two sizes.


2017-06-27 - Are these CrossClimate SUV tyres any good off-road (I need tyres that are 50/50 for on/off road performance)?

The Michelin CrossClimate SUV will perform better offroad than a normal SUV summer tyre due to its design, but won't be as good as a true 50/50 ATR tyre.


2018-10-24 - Making a decision on tyres for cold weather and not sure which one to go for, need tyres for my Outlander PHEV and live in Yorkshire, itís getting cold now and when it snows, the many hills become a bit treacherous, was looking at the CrossClimates, the size comes in both regular and SUV tyre, is it particularly important which one I go for or are they pretty much the same? The other tyres I was considering were Goodyear vector 4 gen 2 but the size is difficult to find. Lastly, the other tyre was full winters Conti TS860 S but can I run them all year as I only want one set of tyres? Which one would you recommend? Any advice is greatly appreciated. By the way, great website and videos, keep up the good work. Under your advice I bought a set of Michelin PS4S for my weekend car, BEST THINGS EVER.

If you intend to run year round, I think the CrossClimate is the correct choice. Regarding the SUV or car version, I would assume the load ratings are different even if the sizes are the same, so fit whichever load rating works for your vehicle. Glad you're liking the PS4S!


2019-01-06 - Can you replace just two rear tyres on a 4x4 with the Michelin CrossClimate tyre without effecting safety. Watched the two tyre winter video which was really interesting but would fitting these tyres have the same effect being they are all season working with summer fronts.

Ideally you would replace all 4. In normal driving you might not notice a huge amount of difference, but when on snow or ice you will find you have grip to accelerate but no braking or turning.


2019-05-15 - What is the speed & heat rating on the CrossClimate SUV

It will be marked by the tyre retailer, it varies by size and sku.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
215/55 R18 £138.00 - £144.20 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/55 R17 £135.00 - £140.26 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/55 R18 £133.00 - £136.69 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/55 R19 £151.78 - £155.92 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
275/45 R20 £220.00 - £252.11 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 33 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Michelin CrossClimate SUV Review

Given 80% while driving a Opel Mokka 1.4T 4x4 (215/55 R18) on mostly motorways for 3,000 average miles
Very good tyre in wet road and in light snow. I hadn't the opportunity to drive it in heavy snow. The consumption was increased by 0.5 l/100km in the first 3000 km. Opel Mokka 1.4T 4x4 (215/55/18). I recommend it for areas with frequent light snowfall.
140 - tyre reviewed on March 25, 2017   

Latest Michelin CrossClimate SUV Reviews

Have you driven on the Michelin CrossClimate SUV tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin CrossClimate SUV? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Michelin CrossClimate SUV >>

Given 87% while driving a Volkswagen TOUAREG V6 TDI (275/45 R20 W) on mostly town for 12,000 average miles
A supremely quiet tyre with strong grip off the line and in all conditions. Always in control and decent feedback through the steering. After 2 years and 12k miles they still have 3mm of tread left given mostly city stop start conditions. The best tyre Iíve ever had. Better than the Pirelli Scorpion Verde and the Goodyear Eagle F1 3 I had previously on the Touareg. Would highly recommend. Gutted they donít make it in 275/40 R21 for the new XC90
0 - tyre reviewed on January 7, 2021   
Given 62% while driving a Vauxhall Grandland X Ultimate (235/50 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 9,000 average miles
Iím very conflicted on these tyres. Iíve been driving with all seasons on my cars for the past 6 years (as I live in the Scottish Highlands), of a variety of brands and the Crossclimate SUVís are exceptionally effective in every weather they encountered but are let down by two flaws. Firstly they are biblically firm riding! Going from Vredestein Quatrac ProĎs to the Crossclimateís made the ride feel like it was reinforced with concrete. Adding extra pressure to the tyres did nothing to change it. Finally the lifespan wasnít great. They lasted 9200 miles before they wore to the tread markers. This was disappointing as the previous Quatracís and Pirelli Scorpion all seasons both lasted over 12k before needing replacement. Driving capability is great, comfort and lifespan are below par.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 29, 2020   
Trying to pick the very best winter tyre? Watch this!
Given 87% while driving a Audi Q3 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 15 average miles
Excellent tyre on audi q3 quattro. Will buy again
0 - tyre reviewed on December 7, 2020   
Given 87% while driving a Subaru Outback (225/60 R18) on mostly country roads for 200 average miles
Just switched to the Michelin CC SUV from Bridgestone Dueler H/P summer tyres. However during this short period already, I am surprised by how much more comfort the CC SUV provide compared to the Bridgestones. The noise level is lower than before (which was already quite low) and I have the feeling that the CC SUV do absorb a little more bumps etc from the roads. The handling is yet a little bit more indirect compared to the Bridgestones, meaning slightly more space on the steering wheel. That feels less connected to the road, but not in an alarming or uncomfortable manner. However I expect this to improve once the tyres have seen more kilometers. I read somewhere else that they require some distance to fully grow their performance. So far I am happy with my choice and do not regret it. Yes they are expensive, but that should be marginalised once they last as long as promised.
2 - tyre reviewed on October 21, 2020   
Given 98% while driving a Toyota RAV4 (235/55 R18 R) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
2 years, 25k miles and 4 skiing trips to the Alps later, these tyres are still going strong. Grip and performance in all weathers has been excellent and have to be careful not to be overly confident in the snow, especially when braking as was caught out once! They are comfortable and quiet on the Autoroutes of France and more than cope with the back roads of Wales. They will get you anywhere in the snow.
8 - tyre reviewed on August 11, 2020   

See all 12 customer reviews of the Michelin CrossClimate SUV (newest first) >>