Land Rover Discovery 2 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Land Rover Discovery 2.

Do you Drive a Land Rover Discovery 2? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Discovery 2 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Cooper Discoverer M S2 (2) 95% 95% 90% 95% 70% 80%
Toyo Open Country WT (3) 87% 93% 87% 87% 90% 87%
Hankook DynaPro ATM RF10 (12) 94% 87% 80% 78% 93% 91%
Cooper WeatherMaster WSC (11) 84% 89% 84% 76% 93% 75%
Avon Ranger (14) 88% 89% 85% 77% 94% 79%
General Grabber X3 (2) 95% 75% 85% 90% 95% 85%
General Grabber GT (17) 89% 81% 79% 75% 88% 81%
Michelin CrossClimate SUV (18) 86% 84% 76% 75% 78% 82%
Cooper Discoverer AT3 (13) 85% 80% 74% 71% 71% 80%
Marshal i Zen MW15 (2) 85% 85% 65% 70% 75% 85%
Maxxis Bravo AT771 (14) 92% 85% 86% 85% 88% 84%
Toyo Open Country All Terrain (13) 82% 82% 78% 78% 82% 80%
Goodyear Wrangler HP AllWeather (34) 85% 77% 74% 78% 79% 80%
Falken Wildpeak AT3W (5) 78% 76% 70% 68% 86% 82%
Pirelli Scorpion STR (26) 83% 72% 76% 77% 68% 71%
General Grabber AT (15) 81% 70% 74% 76% 82% 77%
Continental Cross Contact UHP (34) 86% 79% 74% 74% 53% 72%
BFGoodrich AllTerrain TA KO (11) 85% 65% 66% 69% 79% 67%
Accelera Iota (37) 80% 66% 65% 65% 70% 66%
Cooper Discoverer STT Pro (6) 80% 72% 64% 68% 90% 67%
Pirelli Scorpion Verde (52) 77% 70% 68% 67% 59% 70%
Toyo Open Country MT (4) 65% 63% 60% 63% 65% 55%
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (136) 70% 47% 57% 55% 69% 48%
Insa Turbo Special Track (4) 63% 53% 73% 55% 70% 45%
Forceum ATZ (3) 50% 47% 47% 37% 57% 43%
Fullrun HP199 (78) 48% 28% 32% 33% 54% 27%

Land Rover Discovery 2 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Toyo Open Country MT given 74% (275-70-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7500 spirited miles
Having used BFG KM2s and General Grabber ATs I can confirm these are the best out of the bunch. Very quiet and genuinely brilliant road manners. They are extremely tough and durable, strong sidewalls that take a beating. Mud performance is great too. Only downside is that they wear reasonably quickly but they are a far superior product in pretty much every way I can measure everywhere else.
tyre reviewed on 2022-12-14 11:34:44
Writing about the General Grabber X3 given 93% (265-75-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15000 spirited miles
I purchased a set of Grabber X3s for my Land rover discovery 2 back in 2020 after i was unable to get replacement cooper ST Maxx in this size after watching the Expedition overland videos on Youtube and previous good experiences with grabber tyres i thought i would give them ago. 2 Years later they have done 15k miles some off road in the Wales around Salisbury plain and around lots of byways and farms in the UK and they have been amazing great grip off road and surprisingly good grip on road wet and dry while yes it isnt a performance low profile tyre it handles very well with some 'excitable' driving. They arent noisy on the road even for mud tyres but they offer great comfort over the rough road conditions of Britain they tyres Bag a little at the bottom but this makes them alot more comfortable than the previous Cooper ST Maxx that was on there before. Sidewalls are very strong and despite trips around sharp rocky tracks i have never had an issue which is nice living in a flinty area of the UK. Tyre wear is good and despite being loaded quite heavily and some very spirited driving they are still averaging between 10-12mm of tread they where 14mm new.
tyre reviewed on 2022-12-11 17:10:39
Writing about the Maxxis Bravo AT771 given 71% (255-65-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 44000 average miles
An afforable AT tire (80% on road/20% off road) very soft and smooth on the street (the opposite of BFG KO2), ideally for city and with a lack of endurance for rocks. I used this tire in a Discovery 2 for about 8 years and I replaced those only for time of use, during this time I suffered 2 punctures and 1 cut, all off road. On the snow is very bad... but for the price, is a very good option
tyre reviewed on 2022-11-05 10:47:52
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate SUV given 87% (255-60-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
Being honest, I bought these tyres because I had a good deal buying them of a friend second hand. I wouldn't buy part worn tyres but these were hardly worn and £250 for four tyres! My Discovery 2 is used for mainly transporting my dogs but the difference when I put these tyres on was like night and day. I originally had a mix of Acelera and Fulrun (the car came with these!!) and after seeing/feeling the difference with these Michelin tyres, I'll never buy a budget tyre! They're amazing in the rain, both around town and on motorways (no snow or ice yet, but I'm confident they'll perform). I've just done my first green lane travelling over mainly dry rocky ground, with lots of ruts and a few deep muddy ruts and these tyres flew through everything with no issues. I'm very impressed with these tyres and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending them them for any SUV (a family suv wouldn't use them as I have!!!)
tyre reviewed on 2022-08-20 19:53:00
Writing about the Cooper Discoverer STT Pro given 86% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
one of ny best sets super happy with them
tyre reviewed on 2022-02-19 11:57:20
Writing about the General Grabber AT given 80% (255-70-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 45000 spirited miles
Discovery 2 2004 450000 miles on At2 great feedback from tyres, side wall show damage too easily and the white underneath the for the writing shows through. Motor can be quite noisy but it’s the road materials on concrete makes the most noise. Working in the Dales the trees performed extremely well and will purchase anew set due to MOT Tester not liking the white showing through! Loads of tread depth left upset that they they have been an advisory on mot yesterday.
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-12 19:41:17
Writing about the Avon Ranger given 80% (235-70-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 8000 average miles
I drive a 2001 TD5 D2 with a 2 inch lift. I can not fault these tyres for normal road use and occasions off road work. Very good in the snow and wet. I have been advised that using these tyres for a trip to Moroco may not be a good idea due to them being a re tread.
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-25 18:48:52
Writing about the Falken Wildpeak AT3W given 78% (225-45-17-)
Driving on track for 0 average miles
Been offroading with these in sticky mud on Salisbury then into a rain storm on road and they handled very well. No snow or ice yet
tyre reviewed on 2020-09-28 17:40:31
Writing about the Cooper WeatherMaster WSC given 89% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 easy going miles
Replaced old road tyres on my disco 2. Thought I would take a chance with these and I am impressed. Road handling is very good and in the wet I was pleasantly surprised as my old girl is approaching 2 1/4 tons and comes out of the corners well. Not tried on snow but good in the mud. Wear is only v light as only done 3000 miles.
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-20 12:32:18
Writing about the Toyo Open Country WT given 89% (255-55-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 average miles
Fitted to a 2001 Land Rover Discovery Td5. I've done 30,000 miles on these tyres and there's still good tread depth although I'll be looking at changing (for the same model tyre) in the next year. Despite what is said, I find they perform well in both winter and summer (up to 35C ambient) and don't wear rapidly as I feared.

I recommend these tyres whole heartedly.
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-09 11:56:45
Writing about the Insa Turbo Special Track given 63% (265-75-16-R)
Driving on a combination of roads for 11000 average miles
Ive had these on my car over a year now and have done 11,000 miles. Mostly road use. I have based my review taking everything into account. In the dry they are fine, wet you have to be a little more cautious and the road spray is spectacular. Handling. Well. I owned a lifted land rover so they handle perfect as long as you remember these are off road tyres and your in a 4x4 not a race car. Now wear ive done 11,000 miles and haven't rotated and the fronts wore down in that time but the rears where still on about 40% so personally think they wear good for the price (Can get a pair for under £200) i would defo buy again and will review separately when ive driven in the snow.
tyre reviewed on 2019-06-21 08:58:22
Writing about the General Grabber GT given 100% (255-65-16-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-30 13:05:00
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre