Land Rover Discovery 2 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Land Rover Discovery 2.

Do you Drive a Land Rover Discovery 2? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Discovery 2 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Cooper WeatherMaster WSC (8) 86% 89% 84% 87% 92% 80%
Cooper Discoverer M S2 (2) 95% 95% 90% 95% 70% 80%
Toyo Open Country WT (3) 87% 93% 87% 87% 90% 87%
Hankook DynaPro ATM RF10 (12) 94% 87% 80% 78% 93% 91%
Avon Ranger (14) 88% 89% 85% 77% 94% 79%
Falken Wildpeak AT3W (3) 83% 80% 73% 80% 90% 87%
General Grabber GT (17) 89% 81% 79% 75% 88% 81%
Cooper Discoverer AT3 (10) 86% 81% 82% 73% 74% 86%
Goodyear Wrangler HP AllWeather (33) 85% 78% 74% 79% 81% 80%
Marshal i Zen MW15 (2) 85% 85% 65% 70% 75% 85%
Toyo Open Country All Terrain (12) 82% 80% 76% 79% 81% 80%
Pirelli Scorpion STR (26) 83% 72% 76% 77% 68% 71%
General Grabber AT (15) 81% 70% 74% 76% 82% 77%
Continental Cross Contact UHP (34) 86% 79% 74% 74% 53% 72%
BFGoodrich AllTerrain TA KO (11) 85% 65% 66% 69% 79% 67%
Accelera Iota (37) 80% 66% 65% 65% 70% 66%
Pirelli Scorpion Verde (45) 77% 70% 68% 67% 60% 69%
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (129) 70% 48% 57% 55% 69% 48%
Insa Turbo Special Track (4) 63% 53% 73% 55% 70% 45%
Forceum ATZ (3) 50% 47% 47% 37% 57% 43%
Fullrun HP199 (77) 47% 27% 32% 32% 54% 27%

Land Rover Discovery 2 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the General Grabber AT given 80% (255-70-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 45000 spirited miles
Discovery 2 2004 450000 miles on At2 great feedback from tyres, side wall show damage too easily and the white underneath the for the writing shows through. Motor can be quite noisy but it’s the road materials on concrete makes the most noise. Working in the Dales the trees performed extremely well and will purchase anew set due to MOT Tester not liking the white showing through! Loads of tread depth left upset that they they have been an advisory on mot yesterday.
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-12 18:41:17
Writing about the Avon Ranger given 80% (235-70-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 8000 average miles
I drive a 2001 TD5 D2 with a 2 inch lift. I can not fault these tyres for normal road use and occasions off road work. Very good in the snow and wet. I have been advised that using these tyres for a trip to Moroco may not be a good idea due to them being a re tread.
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-25 17:48:52
Writing about the Falken Wildpeak AT3W given 78% (225-45-17-)
Driving on track for 0 average miles
Been offroading with these in sticky mud on Salisbury then into a rain storm on road and they handled very well. No snow or ice yet
tyre reviewed on 2020-09-28 16:40:31
Writing about the Cooper WeatherMaster WSC given 89% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 easy going miles
Replaced old road tyres on my disco 2. Thought I would take a chance with these and I am impressed. Road handling is very good and in the wet I was pleasantly surprised as my old girl is approaching 2 1/4 tons and comes out of the corners well. Not tried on snow but good in the mud. Wear is only v light as only done 3000 miles.
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-20 11:32:18
Writing about the Toyo Open Country WT given 89% (255-55-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 average miles
Fitted to a 2001 Land Rover Discovery Td5. I've done 30,000 miles on these tyres and there's still good tread depth although I'll be looking at changing (for the same model tyre) in the next year. Despite what is said, I find they perform well in both winter and summer (up to 35C ambient) and don't wear rapidly as I feared.

I recommend these tyres whole heartedly.
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-09 10:56:45
Writing about the Insa Turbo Special Track given 63% (265-75-16-R)
Driving on a combination of roads for 11000 average miles
Ive had these on my car over a year now and have done 11,000 miles. Mostly road use. I have based my review taking everything into account. In the dry they are fine, wet you have to be a little more cautious and the road spray is spectacular. Handling. Well. I owned a lifted land rover so they handle perfect as long as you remember these are off road tyres and your in a 4x4 not a race car. Now wear ive done 11,000 miles and haven't rotated and the fronts wore down in that time but the rears where still on about 40% so personally think they wear good for the price (Can get a pair for under £200) i would defo buy again and will review separately when ive driven in the snow.
tyre reviewed on 2019-06-21 07:58:22
Writing about the General Grabber GT given 100% (255-65-16-H)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-30 12:05:00
Writing about the Cooper WeatherMaster WSC given 83% (255-55-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 9000 average miles
If I hadn't've had these on the car in the recent snowstorm, I may not have made it home. Suffice to say i am impressed.
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-02 14:11:52
Writing about the Continental Cross Contact UHP given 84% (255-50-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 spirited miles

I live in France. I run a late Landrover Discovery 2 TD5 amongst other vehicles. I have been using Continental Cross Contact UHP 255 50 R19 tyres for some years. I must admit that these tyres have proved excellent in most if not all weathers. I believe they are summer tyres but on the French west coast we rarely see any ice or snow. Prior to these I ran Goodyear F1 tyres of the same size and they were also excellent and eve better the the Continental tyres in the wet. I have to admit at this point I used to race cars so I know where the limits are and the differences between understeer and oversteer and how to cope with them.
tyre reviewed on 2017-02-19 15:26:02
Writing about the Cooper Discoverer AT3 given 65% (265-70-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 38000 average miles
I'd bought these tires as I got them at a great price $585 fitted!! I used for a combination of mostly on road with average amount off off road ing. Off road included the desert which it managed pretty well once aired down as well as handled gravel trails and inclines with ease but lost grip climbing rocky trails/ hills. These were great and u used them for 38K miles but the law in UAE dictates that tires can be used no longer than 3 years from the date of production. They do have a bit of tread however wouldnt purchase it again as I'd want something a bit more aggressive, perhaps the Cooper STT.
tyre reviewed on 2015-07-13 15:22:25
Writing about the Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL given 86% (255-55-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 32000 spirited miles
awesome tyre for the money, fitted to my discovery td5, last for 32thousand miles,great grip in the wet dry anything.
tyre reviewed on 2015-06-07 20:11:03
Writing about the Cooper Discoverer M S2 given 94% (255-55-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6000 average miles
Bought these as winter tyres for our Land Rover Discovery2 as was not 100% happy with the General Grabbers ATs in the wet. Have used them all through winter including a 3000 mile trip in Scotland some days driving over 30mies in 1ft+ of snow. The tyres were faultless no extra road noiseor anything. Stuck to the road like glue, tried a couple of times to find their limit but couldnt. Being winter tyres I doubt I will hve them long enough to change them but already plan on getting a set for my 110 in winter.
tyre reviewed on 2015-05-28 18:52:50
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre