Cooper Discoverer A/T3

The Cooper Discoverer AT3 is a All Terrain and Off Road All Season tyre designed to be fitted to SUV and 4x4s.

This tyre has been replaced by the Cooper Discoverer AT3 Sport.

Dry Grip 86%
Wet Grip 82%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 73%
Wear 74%
Comfort 80%
Buy again 65%
Snow Grip 95%
Ice Grip 70%

Tyre review data from 16 tyre reviews averaging 78% over 310,495 miles driven.

The Discoverer A/T3 is ranked 29th of 66 All Season All Terrain and Off Road tyres.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Cooper Discoverer AT3

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Cooper Discoverer AT3

Questions and Answers for the Cooper Discoverer AT3

2022-06-23 - Does cooper discovery at3 make a tire for my Chevy 3500 dually truck; size LT 225/75/R17 thanks

Yes the Cooper Discoverer AT3 is available in 225/75 R17


2023-10-04 - How thick is the side wall of a Cooper Discoverer AT3 tyre please?

The sidewall thickness of a Cooper Discoverer AT3 tyre can vary depending on the specific model and size. Usually, this information can be found in the technical specifications provided by the manufacturer. It should be somewhere between 2 to 4 mm and will be designed with some offroad protection in mind.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Cooper Discoverer AT3 Reviews

Given 78% while driving a Renault Trafic (225/70 R16) on mostly country roads for 6,000 average miles
I was recommended these by my local tyre specialist for my 2009 Renault trafic sport. They have been fantastic, having the right tyres makes a difference in the snow and ice, genuinely shocked how good they were for the money! Will be buying again
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on January 21, 2023
Given 71% while driving a Nissan Pathfinder (265/75 R16) on mostly town for 37,000 average miles
Ive had these on my 2005 pathfinder 3 years and about 37K miles. They look good, have good traction, and handle well both on and off road. The only negative is that they are really starting to wear even though I rebalance and rotate them every 5000-6000 miles. I don't think I'll get to 50K on them. Based on the wear I probably won't go back to these in the future.
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on May 9, 2023
Given 93% while driving a Land Rover Defender (235/85 R16) on mostly country roads for 12,000 easy going miles
I have has these on a Defender 110 TDCI for twelve months now, driving a mixture of country roads, motorways, field edges (shooting & fishing), plus snow in the alps (skiing). I've also done about 800 miles of towing a two ton sailing boat.
All in all that's a 12,000 varied workout, and I've nothing but praise for these Discoverer AT3 LT tyres. A compliant, quiet ride with decent a steering feel. I've been buying and using all terrain tyres for some 20 years now and these are my favourites. .
Helpful 10 - tyre reviewed on November 2, 2023
Have you driven on the Cooper Discoverer AT3 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Cooper Discoverer AT3? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Cooper Discoverer AT3 >

Latest Cooper Discoverer AT3 Reviews

Given 93% while driving a Jeep Grand Cherokee (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 140 easy going miles
Got my Grand Cherokee in August 2012. V6 but engine size does not match any of the options listed below. Vehicle came fitted with Kumhos which I had never heard of. ( I am not a petrol head). They lasted about 2 years and 40 000 km at which point I had tread separation on two tyres. Fitted 2 Cooper Discoverers AT3/60R18 in Sept 2014 and went all Coopers in Jan 2017 at 98 000km. Cannot comment on wet versus dry grip - never done any snow nor ice driving and my typical driving style on the open road is under cruise control at 100 - 110 kph. My local Jeep agents tell me the tyres are noisy - take their word for it - I have no trouble. I am about to replace my front tyres, which started at the back, having done 140 000 km in 6 and a half years The present rear tyres have done 65 000 km in 3 and half years. My main off road driving is on beach sand as part of our work - very occasionally on rocky dirt. I am not sure whether the above figures are average but have seen quite a mix of reviews. Please note we work in kilometres.
Helpful 13 - tyre reviewed on July 9, 2023
Mitsubishi (265/70 R18) on a combination of roads for 11 average miles
11,000 miles on these tyres and they have hardly worn at all so far. Very little noise from them when driving on the road and just enough tread on them for a little off road fun. I will buy again and I would highly recommend these tyres.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on April 9, 2022
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 43% while driving a Toyota Hilux 4x4 3.0D4 D legend 45, D/C (265/65 R17) on a combination of roads for 25,000 easy going miles
This being my first set of Cooper Tyres, i was really interrested in them due to the claimed mileage and also being really solid and tough. after the first 15000km i found that the rubber started delaminating and one tyre became unable to balance. The quality is in fact very very poor. The dry grip is exceptional, handling on loose dirt and gravel is brilliant. i think that the mileage is very good so far, but i have decided to remove them and get some thing else. I have lost trust in them and just dont feel like a high speed issue. As they haver aged i also feel that they take control of the vehicle in quiet an aggressive manner it feels like i have to wrestle the steering when driving on tar that is un-even, previous branded tyres i did not have that issue.I would never buy these tyres again.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on March 17, 2022
Given 67% while driving a Mitsubishi Pajero 4x4 wagon (235/75 R15) on a combination of roads for 72,222 easy going miles
When bought I saw no rim protecting was there, but many haven't. As long as quite new, all OK. Good grip on rocks, trails, mud and snow. When some 4mm left, you start to feel the road's inclinations, etc. When they are at the advised tyre pressure, they still look and feel like far too soft. Now 117,000 kms done and that's great. Two of the four need replacement. Only if they are competitive in price I would buy them again.
Helpful 36 - tyre reviewed on August 30, 2017
Given 84% while driving a (265/65 R18 T) on for 0 miles
I see all of this feedback relating to the tires in SoAfrica, but I live here in the US - New England. These tires rock in the winter. We had 9+ feet (3 meters) of snow in one month that I ran these tires, and I didn''t need to shovel in to my pickup to my home. Only tire I've had that was better here was Armstrong's Tru Trac. Unfortunately, Perelli bought them and discontinued the beast.
Helpful 41 - tyre reviewed on May 20, 2016
Given 80% while driving a Toyota Landcruiser (265/60 R16) on mostly country roads for 15 average miles
Have the Coopers on my Land Cruiser 70 Series RKR, they work better than any other tyre I have tried.Excellent off road performance in the most adverse conditions in Pakistan deserts and mountains. 20,000 KM and going strong.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on April 24, 2016
Given 80% while driving a Mitsubishi Pajero 4x4 wagon (265/70 R16) on mostly motorways for 20,000 average miles
Bought set of 4 for my Pajero and done 20k km with them. They great for normal high way driving.
Totally disappointed in their strength, durability and build quality, picked up 2 tiny pin hole leaks on the side wall, south African bush is tough.

The final straw came when on the freeway and I picked up a slow puncture, didn't hit any object. Took tyre off and found a large tear on the inside of the tyre. Now Cooper tire is saying its a wrong application. Really why pay premium price and when you do 10% offroad you EXPECT tyres to perform. I've also been told from reliable source that the AT3 is not suitable for AFRICA (South African) condition and that the AT3 LT is the tyre they should have been selling in out Market (subsequently now being offered in SA)
Helpful 40 - tyre reviewed on January 7, 2016
Given 65% while driving a Land Rover Discovery 2 (265/70 R16) on a combination of roads for 38,000 average miles
I'd bought these tires as I got them at a great price $585 fitted!! I used for a combination of mostly on road with average amount off off road ing. Off road included the desert which it managed pretty well once aired down as well as handled gravel trails and inclines with ease but lost grip climbing rocky trails/ hills. These were great and u used them for 38K miles but the law in UAE dictates that tires can be used no longer than 3 years from the date of production. They do have a bit of tread however wouldnt purchase it again as I'd want something a bit more aggressive, perhaps the Cooper STT.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on July 13, 2015
Given 56% while driving a Isuzu KB 280 DT 4x4 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 20,000 average miles
I had to replace 4 of those tyres due to unrepearable punctures on gravel roads before i could get 20 000km. Kak tyre. Will not buy it again.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on August 8, 2014
Given 87% while driving a Mitsubishi Pajero (265/65 R17 R) on mostly country roads for 62 average miles
Hi,after the two previous sets of coopers at they were very quiet on my older model toyota and 1999 pajero,but now at 62,000 and will know doubt do 90,000 plus, on my 2011 monocoque pajero diesel they now since being recently rotatated,balanced and wheel aligned which i do every 10,000 any way now sound like full winter treads on the pajero,so noisy you would think you had the wrong set of tyres put back on your vehicle.
Helpful 98 - tyre reviewed on August 1, 2014
Given 84% while driving a Toyota Landcruiser (285/70 R17) on mostly country roads for 60,000 spirited miles
This tyre improved my Landcruiser 200 series in all road and bush applications
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on September 19, 2013
Given 92% while driving a Mitsubishi Pajero 4x4 wagon (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 45 average miles
I have just fitted these tyres to my Pajero and already I am very impressed. A lot quieter than the ATR's and the grip in the dry is exceptional. I got 70,000 k's from my ATR's and I expect to get the same or more from the AT3's.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on March 14, 2011