Land Rover Defender Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Land Rover Defender.

Do you Drive a Land Rover Defender? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Defender better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
General GRABBER HTS (1) 90% 90% 70% 80% 100% 90%
Goodyear Wrangler AT SA Plus (6) 95% 87% 85% 83% 80% 93%
Cooper Discoverer MS (9) 89% 87% 77% 77% 80% 71%
General Grabber UHP (19) 90% 85% 83% 76% 86% 85%
BFGoodrich Mud Terrain TA KM2 (5) 88% 70% 66% 88% 93% 84%
Michelin Latitude Cross (50) 85% 84% 78% 76% 90% 80%
Kumho Road Venture MT KL71 (7) 86% 84% 82% 59% 93% 77%
Nokian Rotiiva AT Plus (2) 80% 80% 70% 70% 80% 80%
Goodyear Wrangler All Terrain Adventure (10) 85% 81% 73% 77% 79% 72%
Goodyear Wrangler AT SA (13) 88% 81% 90% 83% 86% 90%
BFGoodrich All Terrain TA KO2 (25) 86% 67% 75% 76% 85% 73%
BFGoodrich AllTerrain TA KO (11) 85% 65% 66% 69% 79% 67%
Continental Cross Contact AT (13) 84% 73% 83% 80% 83% 77%
Goodyear Wrangler MT R (4) 67% 53% 60% 57% 73% 57%
Cooper Discoverer STT Pro (6) 80% 72% 64% 68% 90% 67%
General GRABBER AT2 (7) 76% 50% 54% 65% 84% 80%
Achilles Desert Hawk XMT (12) 73% 45% 59% 59% 59% 66%
Goodyear Wrangler AT R (3) 87% 77% 80% 63% 57% 83%
Silverstone MT117 Xtreme (1) 100% 30% 10% 10% 70% 100%
Continental CrossContact RX (1) 80% 40% 80% 70% 30% 90%
Yokohama Geolander MT (1) 100% 80% 50% 50% 20% 80%
Insa Turbo Sahara (2) 80% 75% 30% 30% 70% 70%

Land Rover Defender Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Continental CrossContact RX given 60% (255-65-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 average miles
25.000 km on my Defender. The tyres works very good on highways. No noticeable noise even at high speed. I would say that the performance in mud is not very good. I have lost 2 tyres due to the rock cuts in the sidewall. I was driving a forest road not very rokcky.
tyre reviewed on 2022-12-05 12:22:19
Writing about the BFGoodrich All Terrain TA KO2 given 59% (265-75-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 20000 spirited miles
These tyres are dual compound and once the initial softer rubber wears away the remaining compound is much harder resulting in poor wet weather grip. Have had the last 3 generations of BFG AT’s and these are the worst in wet conditions.
tyre reviewed on 2022-09-13 23:04:02
Writing about the Goodyear Wrangler All Terrain Adventure given 80% (255-60-20-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7 spirited miles
Have those Goodyear's on my LandRover Defender P400 SE X- Dynamic!
tyre reviewed on 2022-09-12 01:26:12
Writing about the Goodyear Wrangler AT R given 54% (235-80-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 easy going miles
Not a bad tyre but quite udless in wet mud
tyre reviewed on 2022-08-21 13:14:56
Writing about the Continental Cross Contact AT given 76% (235-85-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 55000 easy going miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2022-01-18 12:36:01
Writing about the BFGoodrich All Terrain TA KO2 given 91% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
DEFENDER 90 , ko2 tyres 265/75-16 , very sure footed and a good ride . previously on 235/85-16 grabbers and continental cross contact at , which i was happy with and had no complaints , but comparing the two the KO2 tyres have less role making them feel more precise . And to me they look good and rugged on a DEF , i would buy again without question .
tyre reviewed on 2021-12-25 21:46:07
Writing about the Nokian Rotiiva AT Plus given 80% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 12000 average miles
Time for an update on the Rotiiva AT+ After 12,000 miles The wear rate is pretty good, better than the Coopers but not quite as good as the BFG AT. They still grip wet roads better than the BFG and at our site still perform much better than many expect. For example, a while ago we had a local Suzuki group in. Most were on Insa Turbo Special Track or similar, several had welded diffs and so on. They all made it up ‘Surf’s Up’ with quite some effort at a few bouncing off the rev limiter. I eventually gave in to the cajoling and took the 90 on the Rotiiva AT+ up the hill. We made it with less fuss and the ‘Zuk guy I had with me was quite surprised how relatively easy. No it is not a fair comparison at all as I am 2x heavier with a lot more power and a lot more articulation but no axle diff-locks. When we had a short, sharp snow dump on our hill last year and it was chaos - as expected really :-( I got a call from my District Nurse friend for help and I had no issues at all with the tyres performance. I had thrown the chains in the 90 just in case but I didn’t need them (the chains have still only ever been used for demonstration during a training exercise for Dartmoor Prison drivers). A comparison with the Cooper STs I had in snow previously was the Coopers did well in fresh snow but slush started to slide around more. And experience with slush and the BFG AT was concerning (fresh snow BFG good)The Nokians worked well in both fresh and slush. They also work well on cold, wet roads as well as frosty mornings on the edge of Dartmoor. So, overall I’m still happy I took a chance on these. I sold the BFG’s and made good money on them so the Nokians only cost me one tyre in effect :-)
tyre reviewed on 2021-09-19 23:35:36
Writing about the Michelin Latitude Cross given 56% (235-85-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4000 miles
Replaced the 15 Yr old budget AT tyres on my 90 with these 3 years ago. Really disappointed with these Michelins. They are only an improvement in terms of tyre noise (quieter). In all other respects the same as the 15yr old Power guards, apart from body roll, which is sadly increased. Expected much much more from a premium new tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2021-08-26 17:56:14
Writing about the General GRABBER AT2 given 77% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 45000 average miles
Had these tyres on my Land Rover Defender* from new, never had any issues, have driven all over Europe and Morocco in them My current set have been on 10 (yes 10) years and have loads of life yet to give, some discoloration when driven in the summer and now have a tendency to harden when not used for a few weeks, this deformation softens up within 1-2 miles of road driving, I have found these tyres to be very acceptable and will be getting another set when possible, **it should be noted I've had these on all Landrovers with a 16inch rim,
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-06 14:43:24
Writing about the BFGoodrich All Terrain TA KO2 given 58% (235-85-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
Very disappointing, especially in the wet , not what they used to be.
tyre reviewed on 2021-02-05 21:28:10
Writing about the BFGoodrich All Terrain TA KO2 given 64% (235-80-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
Great tyres in wet, mud, snow and ice if you ant to go forwards. never had a problem. If you want to stop in the wet, snow or ice, they are the worst tyres I have every used. They lock up at the slightest brake pressure and offer no retardation. I tow a trailer and they are even worse then as the trailer ends up pushing the Land Rover before the trailer brakes operate. Cannot comment on wear as I have only done about 5000miles with them. I would NEVER buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2021-01-27 18:25:19
Writing about the BFGoodrich All Terrain TA KO2 given 72% (235-85-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 average miles
Grip really well in the dry. Wet braking is a problem. They lock up at the slightest braking pressure. Good grip in mud and snow but braking problems are there again. In snow they lock up as soon as the brakes are applied. For braking in wet or snowy conditions they are the worst tyres I have had. Only done 5000 miles but intend to replace them.
tyre reviewed on 2021-01-15 13:00:50
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre