Continental Cross Contact A/T

The Continental Cross Contact AT is a All Terrain and Off Road All Season tyre designed to be fitted to SUV and 4x4s.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 73%
Road Feedback 83%
Handling 80%
Wear 83%
Comfort 77%
Buy again 76%
Snow Grip 40%
Ice Grip 40%

Tyre review data from 13 tyre reviews averaging 71% over 396,778 miles driven.

The Cross Contact A/T is ranked 37th of 51 All Season All Terrain and Off Road tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2017 Drive Out Off Road 4x4 Tyre Test - 7th of 7 tyres

View Full Test >>

2017 Tyre Tests

  • 7th: 2017 Drive Out Off Road 4x4 Tyre Test (265/65 R17)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Continental Cross Contact AT

    Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Continental Cross Contact AT. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    235/85 R16 £125.89 - £181.20 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 1 tyre sizes - View all.

    Top 3 Continental Cross Contact AT Reviews

    Given 93% while driving a Land Rover Defender (235/85 R16) on mostly country roads for 24,000 average miles
    Cannot understand some of the reviews for the Cross Contact AT. These tyres are an excellent all round performer. They are less than half worn at 24,000 miles so I am looking to get around 50k+ out of them. They perform wet or dry are capable off road and have an acceptable noise level on a defender which is not exactly quiet anyway. My usage is 70% county roads 25% "A" roads or motorways and 5% off road. For any tyre to have to handle all of the above summer and winter is a big ask and this tyre is very good.
    Helpful 66 - tyre reviewed on September 8, 2013
    Given 79% while driving a Toyota Landcruiser (225/45 R17) on track for 1,000 spirited miles
    Hey team we live in Australia.We have several large brands to choose from.
    MAXXIS
    TOYO
    ACHILLES
    BRIDGESTONE
    KELLY
    FALKEN ETC. ETC ETC 💥
    We have given the conti cross contacts a beating beyond the call of duty.DESERTS BEACHES GRAVEL ROADS THAT GO ON FOR DAYS.TOWING HEAVY LOADS and no problems.Heaps of nicks and tears however in Australia we are happy with around 30/40 thousand Kay life.YES I will buy them again 👍🏽
    Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on February 4, 2016
    Given 86% while driving a Land Rover Defender (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 27,000 average miles
    Good all round tyre that wears very well,off road they are average,on road very good.
    Helpful 12 - tyre reviewed on May 28, 2018
    Have you driven on the Continental Cross Contact AT tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Continental Cross Contact AT? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Continental Cross Contact AT >

    Latest Continental Cross Contact AT Reviews

    Given 94% while driving a Land Rover Defender (235/85 R16) on a combination of roads for 80,778 average miles
    These tyres were original tyres fitted to my new 2015 Land Rover Defender. They were subjected to varied on road and off road conditions in Southern Africa. They are now being replaced at 130 000km (80778 mi) with legal tread on all tyres. They handled well in both wet and dry conditions with no punctures on any tyre. The performance in sand was better than mud. My one complaint is that the tread traps and throws stones, require checking for stone boring into the tread. I have long been a fan of BFG All Terrain KO but I have never had a tyre last like these tyres, note I maintain a rigorous rotation, balancing and alignment program. I can strongly recommend these tyres as 70/30 multi purpose tyres.
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on April 23, 2020
    Given 53% while driving a Land Rover (235/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 60,000 average miles
    These are the "summer" tyres on my Defender, for winter use I have BFG A/T which I am more than happy with. Two points I want to make about the Continentals: 1: Whilst they are not directional they do wear in a manner governed by direction. If they are swapped from side ti side they sound very much as if all the wheel bearings are about to fail. Not nice. 2: On snow and ice at about freezing point they are much more likely to spin than the BFGs.
    Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on April 3, 2020
    All Season VS Winter Tyres: What is REALLY Best?! Click to find out!
    Ford (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 14,000 average miles
    THe tyres are comfortable and quite. They handle pretty good on tar and on gravel, but the wear is not good at all. After 14,000km i note some concerning wear on the tyres with bits coming off. For an off road tyre, well I would not buy them again. They have super thin sidewalls and are more expensive than some other tyres which are better suited in this area. I would say these tyres are 70:30 geared towards tar. To be honest I am disappointed.
    Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on November 29, 2017
    Given 89% while driving a Land Rover Defender (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 57,000 average miles
    Done 57000 miles on first set since new. Am renewing tomorrow as only one is worn to the limit. Best mileage for a set of tyres ever. Cannot reccomend more. Good off-road - we live at Bog House Farm, which says it all.
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on September 27, 2017
    Given 80% while driving a Land Rover Defender (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 50,000 average miles
    not sure on other posts claiming unbelievably low mileage before wearing out. Mine came with the defender as new and have done 50,000 miles so far, with loads of life left. I anticipate at least another 10,000. Road noise is good (for a defender) and off road grip has been absolutely fine during mild conditions (green laning etc). They feel utterly safe at motorway speeds and have been extremely resistant to damage by sharp objects etc both on the sidewalls and tread, which doesn't show evidence of missing chunks as some other tyres out there do.
    Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on May 10, 2015
    Given 97% while driving a Land Rover Defender (235/85 R16) on mostly country roads for 20,000 average miles
    bought as new-take offs with new wheels for my 2004 Land Rover, and these are well behaved on the road, with good support for offroad sites. Not brilliant in the mud as a full on MT tyre, but these are 50/50 M&S rated tyres which suit my 20,000 miles a year very well.
    I recommend them over the UHP (General Grabber TR) which I had before, as a better all round all season tyre. For sure, slightly noisier and slightly lower (about 1-2mpg) than the TR, but the TR is 70% road biased. There's always a trade off, and this is one I'm happy with. I average 29.5-33.7 mpg depending on traffic and terrain.
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on December 10, 2014
    Given 48% while driving a Land Rover Defender (225/75 R16) on mostly country roads for 0 average miles
    These are the summer tyres on my Defender and are acceptable. In winter I have BFG A/Ts which are quieter and have better grip/traction on snow and ice. Neither tyres have worn much, but when the Contis wear out I'll replace them with a quieter "summer" tyre. It's a Defender so I have not exploredred progressiveness or dry grip!!
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on September 4, 2014
    Given 40% while driving a Land Rover Defender (235/80 R16) on mostly motorways for 3,000 average miles
    A total rubbish tyre, they came on my new defender, have done only driving on the road and are half gone after 3 thousands miles. Got stuck on grass. The 235 which is the width is not the tread width, the actual tread width is 185. That've ally annoyed me as I wanted 235 tyre width. I'll be lucky to get 7k miles out of them, very disappointed to say the least
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on January 28, 2013