Toyota Landcruiser Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Toyota Landcruiser.

Do you Drive a Toyota Landcruiser? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Landcruiser better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Blacklion BC86 (2) 90% 95% 85% 90% 100% 90%
Yokohama Geolandar HT G056 (1) 90% 70% 80% 80% 100% 90%
Michelin Cross Terrain (3) 83% 83% 80% 73% 100% 80%
Deestone Mud Clawer R408 (5) 84% 82% 82% 86% 80% 78%
Ovation Ecovision VI 186HT (2) 90% 90% 80% 40% 100% 90%
Gripmax GripMax AT (8) 87% 80% 89% 86% 81% 80%
Michelin Latitude Cross (44) 86% 85% 79% 76% 91% 80%
Silverstone AT 117 SPECIAL (14) 89% 80% 74% 80% 82% 84%
Kumho Road Venture APT KL51 (14) 89% 81% 82% 78% 83% 89%
Kumho Road Venture MT KL71 (7) 86% 84% 82% 59% 93% 77%
Maxtrek MUD TREK (3) 100% 77% 67% 73% 60% 73%
Cooper Discoverer AT3 (10) 86% 81% 82% 73% 74% 86%
Toyo Open Country All Terrain (11) 87% 80% 77% 79% 81% 81%
Goodyear Wrangler AT SA (13) 88% 81% 90% 83% 86% 90%
Cooper Discoverer ATR (11) 85% 74% 73% 64% 74% 76%
Toyo Open Country MT (1) 70% 70% 70% 60% 80% 70%
Habilead Practicalmax HT RS21 (3) 77% 60% 73% 70% 80% 77%
Kumho Izen RV KC15 (4) 83% 75% 63% 58% 65% 73%
Continental Cross Contact AT (12) 84% 73% 84% 80% 84% 77%
GT Radial Savero SUV (6) 80% 72% 68% 70% 72% 77%
Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport (65) 79% 64% 68% 63% 72% 63%
Dunlop Grandtrek AT20 (15) 71% 58% 64% 67% 70% 70%
Hifly VIGOROUS AT601 (13) 74% 66% 65% 62% 51% 58%
Silverstone MT117 (1) 60% 50% 50% 70% 50% 50%
Hifly HT601 (4) 68% 50% 43% 40% 40% 45%
Dunlop Grandtrek MT2 (1) 60% 40% 40% 50% 20% 20%
Firenza AT186 (1) 10% 10% 10% 10% 10% 10%

Toyota Landcruiser Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Silverstone AT 117 SPECIAL given 83% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 50000 average miles
Brilliant tyres
tyre reviewed on 2021-01-15 11:34:07
Writing about the Habilead Practicalmax HT RS21 given 86% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 85000 average miles
Very happy with the tyres, will buy again
tyre reviewed on 2020-10-25 00:57:06
Writing about the Hifly VIGOROUS AT601 given 91% (265-75-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10 easy going miles
I bought this tyres one year ago and I am very happy with them. I use on daily car on all types of Terrain. Cheap and good !
tyre reviewed on 2020-08-23 18:58:45
Writing about the Gripmax GripMax AT given 90% (285-60-18-R)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 miles
Travelled approx 20000 klm. At 10000klm it was unnecessary to rotate tyres as there was no noticeable wear. Unfortunately I destroyed a near side rear on the Birdsville developmental Road which was extremely rocky. Have since completed birdsville track with no problems.
tyre reviewed on 2019-08-27 04:19:00
Writing about the Ovation Ecovision VI 186HT given 86% (225-70-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 54000 average miles
I had 4 tyres fitted new in Dec 2016 at 76k and now at 131k on my 2007 Toyota Landcruiser 3L d4d. I have been very impressed with them over the last few years. I have taken my twin axle caravan 10k miles round Europe in 2017 and the Ecovison H/T did a great job. On French/Spanish mountain tracks and riverbeds in the summer to -20c snow/ice in Poland they were great. I took them on a quarry 4x4 play area in the summer of 2017 and they performed great there too (nothing too crazy - they are not mud terrain tyres!). Good on motorway too. I didn't loose traction or get stuck anywhere (partly good tyres and partly great 4x4 car). I've had them back in Scotland for anther winter and they have been great here too in the snowy side roads. They look like an all-season to me as they have little slits in the tread like winter tyres to help them warm up. The Landcrusier is not a race car but I've only had them break away traction on roundabouts a couple on times in 54k miles when I'm really pushing it proper hard. I have to really slam the brakes on purpose on packed snow to get the LC to skid a little.
I'm actually trying to buy another set right now as after 55k miles the fronts are getting a bit low.
tyre reviewed on 2019-05-09 10:23:27
Writing about the Dunlop Grandtrek MT2 given 34% (265-70-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6000 easy going miles
they drive well, if a little noisy on tar.
They are wearing noticeably faster than our coopers.
We have had a lot if sidewall damage in the form of cuts, some fatal to the tyre.
We are seeing side wall ripples, bead to tread, on a lot of them.
We are running 36 of these on our safari fleet at the moment, will not buy anymore.
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-19 07:51:31
Writing about the Michelin Latitude Cross given 82% (265-65-17-)
Driving on for 10000 miles
Been using these on my land cruiser for around 5 years now. They have great traction off road in all conditions and perform well on the road, the slight noise.being hardly noticeable above my noisy Diesel engine. But so do most SUV tyres so I’ll focus on what really mattered, how they shape up as an All Season tyre on snow and ice. I had my doubts as they don’t bear the official snowflake emblem, but they do have the M+S rating which I’m told also denotes All Season status. They haven’t let me down,I live out in the sticks and even in heavy snowfall they’ve pulled me up all the hills, and held their line with only minimum wander when pushed on bends. Critically they allow the cars other attributes (permanent 4wd, hi-lo ratio and diff lock) to come into play, unlike inadequate tyres which can reduce the best 4x4 to a Renault Clio in the snow. That said, I drive a Range Rover with full blooded winter tyres in the Alps and they are on another level, treacherous snow covered Alpine roads in below -12C can be attacked with virtually the same confidence as in the dry. But for the worst snow and ice conditions the UK can offer, these Michelin Latitude Cross tyres are just fine, I certainly don’t feel the need to swap them over twice a year, they do the necessary and more all year round.
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-30 00:18:26
Writing about the Hifly HT601 given 23% (245-70-16-N)
Driving on mostly country roads for 36000 easy going miles
Bought 4 new tyres for my land cruiser VX and was promised good milage. After less than 30 000km most of the tyres are worn close to replacement. Tyres were quiet when new but as they got older the noise increased to a point where it now sounds like I have mud tyres. Pieces of tyre also coming off in small chunks and bastard to balance. Willl never buy again.
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-02 04:22:48
Writing about the Toyo Open Country MT given 71% (285-75-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 6000 average miles
The best MY tyre on asphalt. Still feels like using normal tyre on highway. But, whenever using on steep hill with clay terrain, the grip is very low compare to other MT tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2018-06-30 01:31:24
Writing about the Maxtrek MUD TREK given 83% (285-70-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 15000 average miles
285/70/17 on 100 series v8 Landcruiser have done 15000 kms on bitumen sand and dirt can’t fault them at all great on the sand and road for a M/T around 90-95% tread left and wearing evenly on a full time 4wd vehicle would buy again for $185 a tyre
tyre reviewed on 2018-06-05 09:50:21
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre