Silverstone A/T 117 SPECIAL

The Silverstone AT 117 SPECIAL is a All Terrain and Off Road All Season tyre designed to be fitted to SUV and 4x4s.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 89%
Wet Grip 80%
Road Feedback 74%
Handling 80%
Wear 82%
Comfort 84%
Buy again 81%
Snow Grip 100%
Ice Grip 70%

Tyre review data from 14 tyre reviews averaging 82% over 368,968 miles driven.

The A/T 117 SPECIAL is ranked 14th of 40 All Season All Terrain and Off Road tyres.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Silverstone AT 117 SPECIAL
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Silverstone AT 117 SPECIAL

Questions and Answers for the Silverstone AT 117 SPECIAL

2016-06-22 - Hi. Does anybody know whether these tyres are marked M+S. ?? Many thanks

The Silverstone AT 117 certainly has the correct land/void ratio to be marked mud and snow legally, though we couldn't tell you whether they have the stamp without seeing a tyre.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Silverstone AT 117 SPECIAL Reviews

Given 76% while driving a Holden Jackaroo (245/70 R16) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Bought these after a set of Pirelli Scorpions and a set of Sime Alpina AT's. I drive my 4WD off road regularly over rough terrain in Australia (meaning right out in the scrub) and find them tougher than the Pirelli's and at least equal to the Sime's. No issues with sidewall damage and the puncture resistance is the same as Sime and better than Pirelli. Have not cut a sidewall yet in 30,000km so seem fine in that regard.
87 - tyre reviewed on August 15, 2015   
Given 94% while driving a Nissan Navara 3.0L D22 Diesel STR (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 65,200 average miles
I have had these tyres for 105,000 km driving my 2006 Nissan Navara 3.0L Diesel D22 STR ute on 90% bitumen, 5% Snow and Ice and 5% dirt roads.
I have had only three punctures in this time and are very happy with how the tyres have performed.
I spend eight weekends a year at Mt Hotham and have never had a issue with traction loss driving across the top of the Great Alpine Rd covered in snow and ice.
The tyres handle well on the road and as mentioned earlier I have had great wear out of them.
I am now in the process of buying a new set to replace the old ones. Highly recommended.
25 - tyre reviewed on March 9, 2016   
Given 83% while driving a Mitsubishi triton (265/65 R16) on a combination of roads for 12 average miles
Used these tires twice from 3 sets of 4 tires in last 7 years on my Mit Triton. Superb and reasonably priced.
20 - tyre reviewed on June 13, 2018   
Have you driven on the Silverstone AT 117 SPECIAL tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Silverstone AT 117 SPECIAL? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Silverstone AT 117 SPECIAL >

Latest Silverstone AT 117 SPECIAL Reviews

Given 83% while driving a Toyota Landcruiser (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 50,000 average miles
Brilliant tyres
0 - tyre reviewed on January 15, 2021   
Given 100% while driving a Mazda BT 50 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 50,000 average miles
I have these tyres on my Mazda BT50 dual cab and have done over 40,000 km on them around Australia and currently live in the Pilbara WA and they stand up to the corrugated dirt roads very well.
Great value and do the job brilliantly. Highly recommend November 2019
4 - tyre reviewed on November 4, 2019   
Want the best tyre for real world driving? Watch this!
Given 43% while driving a Nissan Navara 2.5tdi (275/70 R16) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Do not like so far, bad steering wheel juddering, a heck of a lot of wheel weights needed to get 2 of the set balanced, and still horrible.
Dropped from my usual 35 psi eventually down to 25 cold (29 hot) today, actually tolerable now, and the outside blocks of tread still have very little pressure on road. (At higher pressures only centre treads had any contact at all).

No idea why so different to the 265 ones i replaced at 4.5 - 5mm tread depth t 55000km (34000 miles),but perhaps rims (factory mag) may be slightly too narrow for these?
12 - tyre reviewed on November 12, 2018   
Given 73% while driving a Nissan Navara 2.5tdi (265/70 R16) on a combination of roads for 56 average miles
still had 4.5 - 5mm left at 56 000 kms, almost all road mileage.
Like them a lot, i usually use cooper st or stt.
Bought another set, i size larger (275-70-16), but that's another story.
17 - tyre reviewed on November 12, 2018   
Given 94% while driving a Nissan GU 3 Patrol 4.2TDi (265/70 R16 S) on mostly country roads for 57,000 average miles
Have had Silverstone AT 117's fitted to our Patrol for 57000km and there is still about 2.5mm to the wear limiters. 80% of our usage is on bitumen towing a 20ft tandem caravan with the remaining work commuting on bitumen and gravel roads. Have rotated the four tyres every 10k or so and obtained very even wear, best pressure found to be 36psi rear & 34psi front. The tyres run very quietly and have not required rebalancing, no punctures or damage either. We're about to replace them with the same since we're off shortly on another big caravan trip. Paid $200 ea for them over 3 years ago and have now been quoted $175 ea for replacements; hard to go past that!
4 - tyre reviewed on January 15, 2016   
Given 39% while driving a Mitsubishi triton (255/65 R15 S) on mostly country roads for 3,000 average miles
Actual size was 31x10.5x15. These tyres are ok on dry black top but they aquaplane badly in the wet due to the tread design trapping water. They are not suitable for moderate off road work due to the very thin side walls which puncture very easily when rubbed up against tree stumps or rocks. I tore the side walls out of three tyres in six months just driving bush roads that I have driven for years using other brands with no such problem. I have learnt my lesson and will never buy cheap tyres again.
11 - tyre reviewed on September 20, 2014   
Given 94% while driving a Toyota 4runner (265/75 R15) on a combination of roads for 7,000 spirited miles
Good performance price comfort no noise top tyre highly recommend love them


0 - tyre reviewed on May 22, 2013   
Given 100% while driving a Toyota Landcruiser (265/70 R16) on mostly town for 700 average miles
I was looking for a good set of AT tyres and after much research decided to take Falken Wildpeak AT. However, those tyres were not in stock where I was located. Will only be available in 6 months. After another round of research, decided to try Silverstone's AT Special.

Not regretting my buy. I feel my steering control is lighter, car is faster, minimal road noise that can be ignored, and very comfortable. Interestingly, all my kids loved the comfort of travelling with the new tyres. I'm also much confident when driving during rain as I can feel the grip on the road. Easily climbs up or higher ground/curbs etc.

Give a try. Worth the price.
5 - tyre reviewed on March 9, 2013   
Given 100% while driving a Skoda izuzu bighorn (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
completely changed the jeep, fitted just before a week of snow.... excellent through a foot deep of snow, on and off the road surefootedness and pull were excellent...similar pattern to B F Goodridge
3 - tyre reviewed on December 26, 2010