Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport

The Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to SUV and 4x4s.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 79%
Wet Grip 64%
Road Feedback 67%
Handling 62%
Wear 71%
Comfort 62%
Buy again 56%

Tyre review data from 69 tyre reviews averaging 66% over 1,015,609 miles driven.

The Dueler HP Sport is ranked 22nd of 26 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2017 ADAC SUV Summer Tyre Test - 13th of 15 tyres

  • Positive - Top marks on dry roads
  • Negative - Weak on wet roads
View Full Test >>

2017 Auto Bild Summer SUV Tyre Test - 7th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Good resistance to aquaplaning, high traction on gravel and grass
  • Negative - Long braking distance on wet roads, relatively weak lateral stability on wet surfaces, high rolling resistance
View Full Test >>

2013 Auto Review Sports SUV Summer Test - 5th of 11 tyres

  • Overall - Bridgestone road tyres have been lacking a little in recent years, but the Dueler H/P Sport puts on a strong showing. While it can't quite match the top four in the wet, it's very confident in the dry, and fairly quiet. Average comfort, and lacks a little in rolling resistance.
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
0/0 R0 0         11.51kgs
205/60 R16 92H * E C 69 10.82kgs
235/60 R16 100H   F B 71 12.37kgs
215/65 R16 98H   B B 71 9.65kgs
215/65 R16 98H   E B 71 10.83kgs
215/65 R16 98H   E B 71 11.32kgs
215/65 R16 98H   E B 70 10.84kgs
215/65 R16 98V AO E B 71 10.82kgs
215/65 R16 102H XL   C C 71 11.06kgs
255/65 R16 109H   E C 72 15.13kgs
225/50 R17 94H * E B 71 13.37kgs
225/50 R17 94V * E C 71 11.68kgs
225/50 R17 94H * E C 71 11.68kgs
205/55 R17 91V * E C 71 12.32kgs
225/55 R17 101W XL   E B 70 13.31kgs
235/55 R17 99H   E B 71 11.79kgs
235/55 R17 99V   E C 71 12.65kgs
235/55 R17 99V AO C C 72 12.57kgs
275/55 R17 109V   E C 72 17.41kgs
215/60 R17 96H   E B 71 10.45kgs
215/60 R17 96V MO C B 71 9.88kgs
215/60 R17 96H   C B 71 9.98kgs
215/60 R17 96H   B B 71 9.85kgs
225/60 R17 99V   C C 71 11.07kgs
255/60 R17 106V   E E 72 14.96kgs
255/60 R17 106H   E C 72 15.60kgs
255/60 R17 106V   E C 72 15.60kgs
215/65 R17 99V   C B 69 11.37kgs
235/65 R17 104V MO B B 70 12.42kgs
235/65 R17 104V   E B 71 15.00kgs
235/65 R17 104H   E B 71 15.00kgs
235/65 R17 108V XL   B C 71 13.03kgs
235/65 R17 108V XL   E C 72 14.27kgs
235/65 R17 104V MO A B 70 15.95kgs
235/65 R17 108V XL N-1 E B 72 15.95kgs
245/65 R17 111H XL   E C 72 15.27kgs
245/65 R17 111H XL   C B 72 15.06kgs
225/45 R18 91V * E C 71 12.40kgs
235/50 R18 97V AO E B 71 12.69kgs
215/55 R18 99V XL   E B 71 11.11kgs
225/55 R18 98V   C C 70 11.60kgs
225/55 R18 98H   C C 71 12.75kgs
225/55 R18 98V   C C 72 11.59kgs
225/55 R18 98V   E B 71 12.61kgs
255/55 R18 109W XL   C C 73 15.06kgs
255/55 R18 109W XL   B B 72 14.99kgs
255/55 R18 109Y XL N-1 E C 72 17.19kgs
255/55 R18 109Y XL AO E B 71 17.19kgs
255/55 R18 109V XL   E B 72 15.17kgs
225/60 R18 100V   B B 71 11.11kgs
235/60 R18 103V MO C B 70 12.40kgs
235/60 R18 103W AO E A 71 13.56kgs
235/60 R18 103W   E A 71 13.57kgs
235/60 R18 103V   F B 71 14.65kgs
235/60 R18 103V MO A B 70 12.25kgs
255/60 R18 112V XL   C B 73 16.21kgs
255/60 R18 108Y AO C C 72 14.62kgs
255/60 R18 112H XL   C B 72 16.01kgs
265/60 R18 110H   C C 71 17.53kgs
235/65 R18 106W AO C C 71 14.05kgs
235/65 R18 106H   E C 70 15.34kgs
225/45 R19 92W   E B 71 11.15kgs
225/45 R19 92W   C B 71 10.36kgs
235/45 R19 95H   C B 71 13.09kgs
235/45 R19 95V   C B 71 12.88kgs
235/45 R19 95H   E B 71 11.50kgs
235/45 R19 95V MOE E B 71 12.80kgs
235/45 R19 99V XL   C B 71 11.25kgs
235/45 R19 95V MOE C B 71 12.80kgs
255/45 R19 100V MO F B 72 14.42kgs
275/45 R19 108Y XL N-0 E C 73 16.17kgs
285/45 R19 111W XL * E C 73 19.78kgs
285/45 R19 107V   E C 72 17.57kgs
285/45 R19 111V XL * E C 73 19.78kgs
285/45 R19 107W   E B 72 16.29kgs
235/50 R19 99V MO E B 72 14.12kgs
255/50 R19 107V XL * E C 73 19.93kgs
255/50 R19 103W MOEXTENDED E B 73 18.49kgs
255/50 R19 103W MO E C 72 15.77kgs
255/50 R19 103W   E B 72 15.79kgs
255/50 R19 103V   E C 72 17.08kgs
255/50 R19 107W XL * E C 73 19.93kgs
255/50 R19 107Y XL   E B 72 18.11kgs
265/50 R19 110W XL   C B 73 16.46kgs
265/50 R19 110Y XL AO E B 71 17.97kgs
265/50 R19 110W XL   C B 71 16.40kgs
275/50 R19 112Y XL   C B 72 15.42kgs
275/50 R19 112Y XL N-0 C B 72 15.42kgs
235/55 R19 105W XL AOE C A 70 16.08kgs
235/55 R19 101V MOE E B 70 15.30kgs
235/55 R19 101W AO E C 71 14.19kgs
235/55 R19 101V MO C B 70 12.78kgs
235/55 R19 101V MO B A 70 12.40kgs
235/55 R19 101V   E C 71 14.94kgs
255/55 R19 111H XL   B B 72 15.85kgs
255/55 R19 111Y XL N-0 C B 72 14.67kgs
255/55 R19 111Y XL   C B 72 14.67kgs
255/55 R19 111Y XL AOE E C 71 19.19kgs
255/55 R19 111Y XL AO C B 71 15.94kgs
255/55 R19 111V XL   E B 72 16.23kgs
255/55 R19 111H XL   C B 71 15.59kgs
255/55 R19 111Y XL AOE C C 71 19.19kgs
315/35 R20 110W XL * E B 73 21.11kgs
315/35 R20 110Y XL * E B 73 21.07kgs
255/40 R20 101W XL MO E B 72 14.38kgs
275/40 R20 106Y XL * E C 72 18.33kgs
275/40 R20 106W XL * E B 72 18.33kgs
275/40 R20 106Y XL N-0 E C 73 16.75kgs
305/40 R20 112Y XL   C B 73 15.31kgs
305/40 R20 112Y XL N-0 C B 73 15.31kgs
235/45 R20 100W XL MO E B 71 13.38kgs
255/45 R20 101W MOE E A 70 15.26kgs
255/45 R20 101W AO E A 71 15.00kgs
265/45 R20 104Y MOE E C 71 16.98kgs
275/45 R20 110Y XL AO E B 71 17.53kgs
275/45 R20 110W XL   B B 72 14.92kgs
275/45 R20 110Y XL N-0 C B 72 15.05kgs
285/45 R20 112Y XL AO C C 73 16.37kgs
255/50 R20 109H XL   C B 72 14.85kgs
295/35 R21 107Y XL   E B 73 16.52kgs
315/35 R21 111Y XL   E A 75 16.14kgs
315/35 R21 111Y XL N-0 C A 75 16.14kgs
285/40 R21 109Y   C A 75 15.27kgs
285/40 R21 109Y N-0 C A 75 15.27kgs

Questions and Answers for the Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport

2017-01-28 - are bridgestone dueler h/p sport run flat tyres

There are runflat versions of the Bridgestone Dueler H/P Sport, and these will be marked as runflat by tyre retailers.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Dueler HP Sport Prices

Size Price Range  
215/60 R17 £94.05 - £140.80 (36 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/65 R16 £78.41 - £111.70 (27 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/50 R18 £116.92 - £122.30 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/55 R17 £109.50 - £123.07 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 44 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport Reviews

Given 59% while driving a Mitsubishi Outlander (225/55 R18 V) on mostly town for 35,000 easy going miles
Quite noisy. I really dont recommend these to owners who have cars with lite noise insulation like on my car. Dry grip is ok. Wet grip is also ok. Ride comfort is nod so bad either. But the steering response is quite strange. Seems like they are trying to resist against faster steering even on very low speeds. Something like "Ok ok...I will turn, but I really dont want to do that." And their only advantage according me is mileage. If you drive your SUV like SUV and not like a racing car then they will last.
104 - tyre reviewed on June 5, 2016   
Given 86% while driving a Volkswagen Tiuan R Line (235/50 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 31,000 easy going miles
Really good tyres lasted for 31,000 miles from new on a VW Tiguan R Line and still had 2mm left on them.
Great wet and dry grip and really good handling in all conditions.
Longest lasting tyres I've ever had and would definitely recommend.
13 - tyre reviewed on August 19, 2017   
Given 61% while driving a Volkswagen TOUAREG V6 TDI (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 10,000 average miles
My Touareg had the Bridgestones on when bought so i replaced like for like when the rears wore down, i must say i will be trying another brand next time though, ive had a few hairy moments in the wet when the car just wants to go straight on in corners, the rears have only lasted 10k miles and the noise level on motorways isnt great..
10 - tyre reviewed on May 19, 2017   
Have you driven on the Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport >

Latest Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport Reviews

Given 39% while driving a Volkswagen Tiguan (235/50 R18) on a combination of roads for 42,000 average miles
Never felt safe with these plus very noisy
0 - tyre reviewed on November 17, 2021   
Given 10% while driving a BMW X3 (245/50 R19) on for 0 miles
came on my 2021 X3 30i BMW, these are the most dangerous tires I have ever driven on on the highway. BMW should be ashamed of putting these on the X3 for sure. I have searched the internet to find out what the heck is wrong with my vehicle. Dealer says "VEHICLE DOES FOLLOW ROAD RUTTS. NORMAL" I am almost 70 years old and have never driven anything like this in my life and apparently I am not alone. check out these websites : https://www.carproblemzoo.com/bmw/x3/2021/steering-problems.php https://www.tirerack.com/survey/SurveyComments.jsp?&category=tire&additionalComments=y&commentStatus=P&tireMake=Bridgestone&tireModel=Dueler+H%2FP+Sport+AS&fromTireDetail=true&partnum=45HR9HPSASXL&tirePageLocQty=%26partnum%3D45HR9HPSASXL In case I left any doubt, NO I DO NOT RECOMMEND THESE TIRES
0 - tyre reviewed on November 2, 2021   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 63% while driving a Jeep compass (225/55 R18) on a combination of roads for 8,500 average miles
I think there is a better tyre for my 2020 Jeep Compass. I went in mud, on grass, on road, off road, wet, dry roads and I did not have any problems. On the edges if the tire on the front axle I can see little bit damage. Now I have 8500km. Maybe tires are not so comfortable. This season will end in one month with summer tires so we will see. For winter I got Hankook Winter I cept Evo 3.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 3, 2021   
Given 40% while driving a Volkswagen Tiguan 2.0 TDI 170hp (235/50 R18) on a combination of roads for 24,000 average miles
These came VW factory-fitted as summer tyres on my second-hand Tiguan. Driven all summer on them and now just changed to the winter tyres...what a difference. I had assumed it was the Tiguan's set-up and probably partly is, but now with the winter tyres on I can hear/feel just how noisy and imprecise the Bridgstones were. I do a fair amount on rough winding mountain roads and never felt confident to really attack the road because I couldn't predict how the car would react because it was jumping around and usually understeering. On the straighter "main roads", the noise was really too loud....the Tiguan has a lot of sound-proofing but even so it couldn't deal with these tyres and overall I felt much happier in my 22 year-old Ford Focus. The positive....these tyres have done 24000 miles of summer driving and still have 6.5-7 mm tread. I'd really like not to put them back on next spring but that's a lot of money to "throw away"
0 - tyre reviewed on November 23, 2020   
Given 68% while driving a Volkswagen Amarok permanent 4x4 (255/60 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 1,500 spirited miles
Well, suppose it is a road only tyre to which it does well. SUVs and much more pickups go off-asphalt so booo to both bridgestone and VW for fitting it to an Amarok and as such the poor review is well deserved. The tyre is AWFUL on anything more challenging than the best dirt roads. Just a mildly wet dirt-road and you're stuck. Dry grass and I barely knew what happened under my feet. A 100% on road tyre that performs well there, but doesn't deserve being fitted on a SUV much less a pick-up that intends to do more than parking on sidewalks!
0 - tyre reviewed on May 13, 2020   
Subaru Forester (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 15,000 average miles
It always makes me laugh when people say one brand ihandles better, is louder, stops better in the wet etc. How would they know? As far as I can tell, tyres from premium brands of the same size and using similar components all handle about the same.

Noisy? Don’t know. They’re certainly more quiet than a proper off road tyre but I’ve usually got my phat beats pumping.

Performance in the dry is better than in the wet, no surprise there.

Handling? Surely the vehicle’s geometry has more of a say there ... maybe tyre pressure as well.

If you drive like a dick then it doesn’t matter what brand of tyre you use, you’re going to get into more trouble than if you take it easy.

All up, there’s nothing wrong with these tyres. I can’t fault them but I can’t really compare them with anything because they’re the only tyres I’ve had on the vehicle.

I drive a 2018 Subaru Forester with 15000 kms on the dial. Mostly urban driving but quite a few kms touring, gravel roads and beach driving.
9 - tyre reviewed on November 18, 2019   
Given 89% while driving a Nissan Qashqai (215/65 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 50,000 average miles
Firm ride. Long lasting tyres that wear well. A littie noisy but handle wet and dry conditions well. Car was fitted with these when new and have refitted the same after 50,000 miles. Tyres showed no signs of cracking or side wall damage. Would buy again
9 - tyre reviewed on May 30, 2019   
Given 89% while driving a Jeep Renegade longitude4x4 (215/60 R17 V) on mostly country roads for 2,000 average miles
The dueler sports are by a small margin firmer than the michelin primacy they replaced but in all other aspects are just as good,they suit the car well,are quiet,steer well and feel secure especially on poor surfaces (in the uk that is most of the time!) Will be buying these again when new tyres are required.
4 - tyre reviewed on May 8, 2019   
Given 60% while driving a Volkswagen Tiguan Sport 2.0 TDI 140hp (235/55 R17 V) on mostly country roads for 15,000 spirited miles
They're ok - but the rolling resistance seems massive compared to other tyres, and lateral stability and road noise are a problem.
Replaced them with Cross Climate+ for the winter and the difference in noise, economy and stability is distinctly noticeable.
4 - tyre reviewed on December 22, 2018   
(235/50 R18) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
OE equipment on 2015 VW Tiguan, got 53,000km out of them, mixed driving. Excellent handling wet and dry. Not much off road use to comment. Handling was good even when close to wear markers and in the wet. Only negative is they are a little loud. Just put another set on. Overall very happy!
1 - tyre reviewed on September 1, 2018   
Given 49% while driving a Jeep compass (235/45 R19 H) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
So i've had these tyres for a month and bit and they are just really noisy. Dry grip is okay, I've not had much of a chance to try them in the wet other than the odd downpour at which point they were at best average. The wear seems to be minimal but the noise, they are just so loud compared to the Vrederstein's when you drive at anything over 30mph.

One thing worth saying and it is mentioned in a few reviews these tyres are supposed to be premium but they do not hold well when trying to make quick directional changes. Rare in an SUV I grant you but still they just completely let go, leaving the steering going floaty and you get to roll your luck to see what happens. Really the only worse tyres I've experianced was the Nankang Greenline tyres and they are proper cheap so it says a lot about what Bridgestone need to do with this tyre.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 2, 2018   
Given 86% while driving a Toyota Landcruiser (275/70 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 30,000 spirited miles
Reviewing D680's. Its a shame they no longer manufacture them.
3 - tyre reviewed on October 9, 2017