Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport

The Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to SUV and 4x4s.

Dry Grip 78%
Wet Grip 65%
Road Feedback 67%
Handling 61%
Wear 69%
Comfort 61%
Buy again 53%

Tyre review data from 78 tyre reviews averaging 65% over 1,215,627 miles driven.

The Dueler HP Sport is ranked 24th of 28 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2017 Auto Bild Summer SUV Tyre Test - 7th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Good resistance to aquaplaning, high traction on gravel and grass
  • Negative - Long braking distance on wet roads, relatively weak lateral stability on wet surfaces, high rolling resistance
View Full Test >>

2017 ADAC SUV Summer Tyre Test - 13th of 15 tyres

  • Positive - Top marks on dry roads
  • Negative - Weak on wet roads
View Full Test >>

2013 Auto Bild SUV / 4X4 Tyre Test - 3rd of 9 tyres

  • Positive - Very good grip in the wet, high aquaplaning reserves, short dry braking distance
  • Negative - Poor wet braking, average rolling resistance
View Full Test >>

2017 Tyre Tests

  • 7th: 2017 Auto Bild Summer SUV Tyre Test (235/50 R18)
  • 13th: 2017 ADAC SUV Summer Tyre Test (215/65 R16)
  • 2013 Tyre Tests

  • 3rd: 2013 Auto Bild SUV / 4X4 Tyre Test (235/65 R17)
  • 5th: 2013 Auto Review Sports SUV Summer Test (255/55 R18)
  • 2010 Tyre Tests

  • 3rd: 2010 Auto Zeitung 4x4 Tyre Test (255/55 r18)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    0/0 R0 0         11.51kgs
    205/60 R16 92H * E C 69 10.82kgs
    235/60 R16 100H   F B 71 12.37kgs
    215/65 R16 98H   B B 71 9.65kgs
    215/65 R16 98H   E B 71 10.83kgs
    215/65 R16 98H   E B 71 11.32kgs
    215/65 R16 98H   E B 70 10.84kgs
    215/65 R16 98V AO E B 71 10.82kgs
    215/65 R16 102H XL   C C 71 11.06kgs
    255/65 R16 109H   E C 72 15.13kgs
    225/50 R17 94H * E B 71 13.37kgs
    225/50 R17 94V * E C 71 11.68kgs
    225/50 R17 94H * E C 71 11.68kgs
    205/55 R17 91V * E C 71 12.32kgs
    225/55 R17 101W XL   E B 70 13.31kgs
    235/55 R17 99H   E B 71 11.79kgs
    235/55 R17 99V   E C 71 12.65kgs
    235/55 R17 99V AO C C 72 12.57kgs
    275/55 R17 109V   E C 72 17.41kgs
    215/60 R17 96H   E B 71 10.45kgs
    215/60 R17 96V MO C B 71 9.88kgs
    215/60 R17 96H   C B 71 9.98kgs
    215/60 R17 96H   B B 71 9.85kgs
    225/60 R17 99V   C C 71 11.07kgs
    255/60 R17 106V   E E 72 14.96kgs
    255/60 R17 106H   E C 72 15.60kgs
    255/60 R17 106V   E C 72 15.60kgs
    215/65 R17 99V   C B 69 11.37kgs
    235/65 R17 104V MO B B 70 12.42kgs
    235/65 R17 104V   E B 71 15.00kgs
    235/65 R17 104H   E B 71 15.00kgs
    235/65 R17 108V XL   B C 71 13.03kgs
    235/65 R17 108V XL   E C 72 14.27kgs
    235/65 R17 104V MO A B 70 15.95kgs
    235/65 R17 108V XL N-1 E B 72 15.95kgs
    245/65 R17 111H XL   E C 72 15.27kgs
    245/65 R17 111H XL   C B 72 15.06kgs
    225/45 R18 91V * E C 71 12.40kgs
    235/50 R18 97V AO E B 71 12.69kgs
    215/55 R18 99V XL   E B 71 11.11kgs
    225/55 R18 98V   C C 70 11.60kgs
    225/55 R18 98H   C C 71 12.75kgs
    225/55 R18 98V   C C 72 11.59kgs
    225/55 R18 98V   E B 71 12.61kgs
    255/55 R18 109W XL   C C 73 15.06kgs
    255/55 R18 109W XL   B B 72 14.99kgs
    255/55 R18 109Y XL N-1 E C 72 17.19kgs
    255/55 R18 109Y XL AO E B 71 17.19kgs
    255/55 R18 109V XL   E B 72 15.17kgs
    225/60 R18 100V   B B 71 11.11kgs
    235/60 R18 103V MO C B 70 12.40kgs
    235/60 R18 103W AO E A 71 13.56kgs
    235/60 R18 103W   E A 71 13.57kgs
    235/60 R18 103V   F B 71 14.65kgs
    235/60 R18 103V MO A B 70 12.25kgs
    255/60 R18 112V XL   C B 73 16.21kgs
    255/60 R18 108Y AO C C 72 14.62kgs
    255/60 R18 112H XL   C B 72 16.01kgs
    265/60 R18 110H   C C 71 17.53kgs
    235/65 R18 106W AO C C 71 14.05kgs
    235/65 R18 106H   E C 70 15.34kgs
    225/45 R19 92W   E B 71 11.15kgs
    225/45 R19 92W   C B 71 10.36kgs
    235/45 R19 95H   C B 71 13.09kgs
    235/45 R19 95V   C B 71 12.88kgs
    235/45 R19 95H   E B 71 11.50kgs
    235/45 R19 95V MOE E B 71 12.80kgs
    235/45 R19 99V XL   C B 71 11.25kgs
    235/45 R19 95V MOE C B 71 12.80kgs
    255/45 R19 100V MO F B 72 14.42kgs
    275/45 R19 108Y XL N-0 E C 73 16.17kgs
    285/45 R19 111W XL * E C 73 19.78kgs
    285/45 R19 107V   E C 72 17.57kgs
    285/45 R19 111V XL * E C 73 19.78kgs
    285/45 R19 107W   E B 72 16.29kgs
    235/50 R19 99V MO E B 72 14.12kgs
    255/50 R19 107V XL * E C 73 19.93kgs
    255/50 R19 103W MOEXTENDED E B 73 18.49kgs
    255/50 R19 103W MO E C 72 15.77kgs
    255/50 R19 103W   E B 72 15.79kgs
    255/50 R19 103V   E C 72 17.08kgs
    255/50 R19 107W XL * E C 73 19.93kgs
    255/50 R19 107Y XL   E B 72 18.11kgs
    265/50 R19 110W XL   C B 73 16.46kgs
    265/50 R19 110Y XL AO E B 71 17.97kgs
    265/50 R19 110W XL   C B 71 16.40kgs
    275/50 R19 112Y XL   C B 72 15.42kgs
    275/50 R19 112Y XL N-0 C B 72 15.42kgs
    235/55 R19 105W XL AOE C A 70 16.08kgs
    235/55 R19 101V MOE E B 70 15.30kgs
    235/55 R19 101W AO E C 71 14.19kgs
    235/55 R19 101V MO C B 70 12.78kgs
    235/55 R19 101V MO B A 70 12.40kgs
    235/55 R19 101V   E C 71 14.94kgs
    255/55 R19 111H XL   B B 72 15.85kgs
    255/55 R19 111Y XL N-0 C B 72 14.67kgs
    255/55 R19 111Y XL   C B 72 14.67kgs
    255/55 R19 111Y XL AOE E C 71 19.19kgs
    255/55 R19 111Y XL AO C B 71 15.94kgs
    255/55 R19 111V XL   E B 72 16.23kgs
    255/55 R19 111H XL   C B 71 15.59kgs
    255/55 R19 111Y XL AOE C C 71 19.19kgs
    315/35 R20 110W XL * E B 73 21.11kgs
    315/35 R20 110Y XL * E B 73 21.07kgs
    255/40 R20 101W XL MO E B 72 14.38kgs
    275/40 R20 106Y XL * E C 72 18.33kgs
    275/40 R20 106W XL * E B 72 18.33kgs
    275/40 R20 106Y XL N-0 E C 73 16.75kgs
    305/40 R20 112Y XL   C B 73 15.31kgs
    305/40 R20 112Y XL N-0 C B 73 15.31kgs
    235/45 R20 100W XL MO E B 71 13.38kgs
    255/45 R20 101W MOE E A 70 15.26kgs
    255/45 R20 101W AO E A 71 15.00kgs
    265/45 R20 104Y MOE E C 71 16.98kgs
    275/45 R20 110Y XL AO E B 71 17.53kgs
    275/45 R20 110W XL   B B 72 14.92kgs
    275/45 R20 110Y XL N-0 C B 72 15.05kgs
    285/45 R20 112Y XL AO C C 73 16.37kgs
    255/50 R20 109H XL   C B 72 14.85kgs
    295/35 R21 107Y XL   E B 73 16.52kgs
    315/35 R21 111Y XL   E A 75 16.14kgs
    315/35 R21 111Y XL N-0 C A 75 16.14kgs
    285/40 R21 109Y   C A 75 15.27kgs
    285/40 R21 109Y N-0 C A 75 15.27kgs

    Questions and Answers for the Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport

    2017-01-28 - are bridgestone dueler h/p sport run flat tyres

    There are runflat versions of the Bridgestone Dueler H/P Sport, and these will be marked as runflat by tyre retailers.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    215/60 R17 £97.99 - £142.32 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    215/65 R16 £109.99 - £134.64 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/55 R18 £144.12 - £152.10 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    235/50 R18 £115.71 - £154.62 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    235/55 R17 £129.12 - £137.03 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 33 tyre sizes - View all.

    Top 3 Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport Reviews

    Given 59% while driving a Mitsubishi Outlander (225/55 R18 V) on mostly town for 35,000 easy going miles
    Quite noisy. I really dont recommend these to owners who have cars with lite noise insulation like on my car. Dry grip is ok. Wet grip is also ok. Ride comfort is nod so bad either. But the steering response is quite strange. Seems like they are trying to resist against faster steering even on very low speeds. Something like "Ok ok...I will turn, but I really dont want to do that." And their only advantage according me is mileage. If you drive your SUV like SUV and not like a racing car then they will last.
    Helpful 134 - tyre reviewed on June 5, 2016
    Given 83% while driving a Subaru Forester (225/55 R18) on mostly motorways for 60,000 easy going miles
    Got these tyres brand new with my car but the standout feature is...the wear! These have lasted me 100,000km and only now do they need replacing. Will go for these again. All other traits are pass marks, never lost grip in wet etc.
    Helpful 13 - tyre reviewed on October 16, 2023
    Given 60% while driving a Audi Q5 (255/45 R20) on mostly country roads for 15,000 average miles
    Tyres are 3 years old and have just failed mot.
    All 4 tyres have severe cuts in treads down to cords , I do not drive erratically, fast or off road.
    Absolutely no idea why the tyres have gone this way and I will speak to Bridgestone.
    Approximately £1000 for the set .
    I will never buy Bridgestone again.
    Helpful 11 - tyre reviewed on December 2, 2023
    Have you driven on the Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport >

    Latest Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport Reviews

    Given 70% while driving a Toyota C HR Koba AWD (215/60 R17) on mostly country roads for 18 easy going miles
    These 215/60R17 tyres were fitted to my 2017 Toyota C-HR Koba AWD. The car originally came with 50 profile tyres on 18 inch rims, which are useless on the poor roads where I live in northern NSW, but the dealer agreed to swap the wheels with a lower spec model so I could have the 60 profile tyres (which is still too low for Australian country roads). The tyres barely lasted 30,000 km; in the meantime I had bought another set of wheels with the same tyres from somebody who had replaced them with 18-inch wheels as soon as he bought the car. Again, they have lasted barely 30,000 km and have had multiple punctures, with one of them actually splitting in the middle a couple of days ago. I drive 6 km of gravel each way whenever I use the car, which should not be enough to cause accelerated wear. The tyres stick to the bitumen very well and handle like the car is on rails, but the wear rate is unacceptable. The groove on the outer edges of each tyre are not as deep as the rest of the grooves and wear extremely quickly, even though I am running them at 38 psi rather than the manufacturer recommended 33 psi. I also rotate them every 5000 km due to being AWD. I am replacing them with a set BFG Trail/Terrain T/A, as the wear rate is ridiculous.
    Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on April 1, 2023
    Given 61% while driving a Subaru Outback (225/60 R18) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
    These tyres were OE fitment on the 2018 Subaru Outback Premium 2.5 which we bought new. They're about to be replaced, being down to around 2.6 mm after c. 52,000 km. They've been fine, just one puncture (repairable), have been rotated regularly and have worn very evenly and are still in excellent condition (no sidewall deterioration, cracking or uneven tread wear issues) so construction quality seems good. I'm always very careful to keep pressures checked and adjusted for different load conditions and summer temperatures. They're fairly soft riding, so I rate ride comfort as good, but they are quite noisy on common Australian country road coarse chip tarmac (though quiet on smooth bitumen). I wouldn't rate feedback as high, but that is partly down to the car, and they're an SUV tyre after all. They've never lost traction on the road even in the wet, but the Subaru is no powerhouse so that's hardly surprising. They are pretty good on gravel roads and tracks given they are really a road tyre but predictably don't have much grip if it's at all muddy. Overall I'd say they were perfectly suited to the car. The big surprise is the cost of replacement, where they are coming up significantly more expensive than options such as Michelin Pilot Sport SUV or Primacy SUV+, the Pirelli Scorpion Verde or Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance, so I'm likely to chose one of those options instead.
    Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on March 24, 2023
    What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 40% while driving a Mitsubishi ASX Outlander Sport (225/55 R18) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
    Had the tyres on a Mitsubishi ASX. Found that tyre wear was rather poor despite regular rotations every 5000 km. Tyres were worn out at 35000 km. Car was unsettled if you hit a rough patch while driving, felt like the tyres were losing grip. Wet performance was average, hydroplaned a few times while driving at 80km/h in a tropical downpour. At 2 years old, noticed dry rot on all 4 tyres in the thread area. Would not recommend this tyres to anyone. For a tyre with a premium price this is a rather poor performance
    Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on July 25, 2022
    Given 66% while driving a Subaru Outback (225/60 R18) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
    Not one more time… Not very comfortable, not very noisy… so-so
    Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on July 21, 2022
    Given 63% while driving a Mercedes Benz GLC220d (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
    Fitted to a new Mercedes GLC AMG 220D permanent 4 wheel drive. Average driving on a variety of motorway, town and rural A and B roads and all year driving. Grip generally good. My only grope is miles completed... 15K on the rear and 17K on the front. I am unlikely to buy these again. I think there are better tyres out there for the money. Tyre spec was Bridgestone Dueller Sport, 235/55 R 19 101V MO.
    Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on March 24, 2022
    Given 43% while driving a Volkswagen Tdi 4 motion (235/50 R18) on a combination of roads for 35,000 average miles
    Really noisy hard and make the car jump rather than move through a rough patch Just put on the winter tyres today and oh how amazing to have a good car again Would never buy Duellers just hard to ditch them as so much money invested in them
    Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on December 1, 2021
    Given 39% while driving a Volkswagen Tiguan (235/50 R18) on a combination of roads for 42,000 average miles
    Never felt safe with these plus very noisy
    Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on November 17, 2021
    Given 10% while driving a BMW X3 (245/50 R19) on for 0 miles
    came on my 2021 X3 30i BMW, these are the most dangerous tires I have ever driven on on the highway. BMW should be ashamed of putting these on the X3 for sure. I have searched the internet to find out what the heck is wrong with my vehicle. Dealer says "VEHICLE DOES FOLLOW ROAD RUTTS. NORMAL" I am almost 70 years old and have never driven anything like this in my life and apparently I am not alone. check out these websites : https://www.carproblemzoo.com/bmw/x3/2021/steering-problems.php https://www.tirerack.com/survey/SurveyComments.jsp?&category=tire&additionalComments=y&commentStatus=P&tireMake=Bridgestone&tireModel=Dueler+H%2FP+Sport+AS&fromTireDetail=true&partnum=45HR9HPSASXL&tirePageLocQty=%26partnum%3D45HR9HPSASXL In case I left any doubt, NO I DO NOT RECOMMEND THESE TIRES
    Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on November 2, 2021
    Given 63% while driving a Jeep compass (225/55 R18) on a combination of roads for 8,500 average miles
    I think there is a better tyre for my 2020 Jeep Compass. I went in mud, on grass, on road, off road, wet, dry roads and I did not have any problems. On the edges if the tire on the front axle I can see little bit damage. Now I have 8500km. Maybe tires are not so comfortable. This season will end in one month with summer tires so we will see. For winter I got Hankook Winter I cept Evo 3.
    Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on October 3, 2021
    Given 40% while driving a Volkswagen Tiguan 2.0 TDI 170hp (235/50 R18) on a combination of roads for 24,000 average miles
    These came VW factory-fitted as summer tyres on my second-hand Tiguan. Driven all summer on them and now just changed to the winter tyres...what a difference. I had assumed it was the Tiguan's set-up and probably partly is, but now with the winter tyres on I can hear/feel just how noisy and imprecise the Bridgstones were. I do a fair amount on rough winding mountain roads and never felt confident to really attack the road because I couldn't predict how the car would react because it was jumping around and usually understeering. On the straighter "main roads", the noise was really too loud....the Tiguan has a lot of sound-proofing but even so it couldn't deal with these tyres and overall I felt much happier in my 22 year-old Ford Focus. The positive....these tyres have done 24000 miles of summer driving and still have 6.5-7 mm tread. I'd really like not to put them back on next spring but that's a lot of money to "throw away"
    Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on November 23, 2020
    Given 68% while driving a Volkswagen Amarok permanent 4x4 (255/60 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 1,500 spirited miles
    Well, suppose it is a road only tyre to which it does well. SUVs and much more pickups go off-asphalt so booo to both bridgestone and VW for fitting it to an Amarok and as such the poor review is well deserved. The tyre is AWFUL on anything more challenging than the best dirt roads. Just a mildly wet dirt-road and you're stuck. Dry grass and I barely knew what happened under my feet. A 100% on road tyre that performs well there, but doesn't deserve being fitted on a SUV much less a pick-up that intends to do more than parking on sidewalks!
    Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on May 13, 2020
    Subaru Forester (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 15,000 average miles
    It always makes me laugh when people say one brand ihandles better, is louder, stops better in the wet etc. How would they know? As far as I can tell, tyres from premium brands of the same size and using similar components all handle about the same.

    Noisy? Don’t know. They’re certainly more quiet than a proper off road tyre but I’ve usually got my phat beats pumping.

    Performance in the dry is better than in the wet, no surprise there.

    Handling? Surely the vehicle’s geometry has more of a say there ... maybe tyre pressure as well.

    If you drive like a dick then it doesn’t matter what brand of tyre you use, you’re going to get into more trouble than if you take it easy.

    All up, there’s nothing wrong with these tyres. I can’t fault them but I can’t really compare them with anything because they’re the only tyres I’ve had on the vehicle.

    I drive a 2018 Subaru Forester with 15000 kms on the dial. Mostly urban driving but quite a few kms touring, gravel roads and beach driving.
    Helpful 39 - tyre reviewed on November 18, 2019