Volkswagen Tiguan Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volkswagen Tiguan.

Do you Drive a Volkswagen Tiguan? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Tiguan better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Pirelli Scorpion Zero Asimmetrico (2) 100% 100% 85% 90% 90% 85%
Vredestein Wintrac Pro (24) 91% 90% 86% 82% 86% 87%
Avon Ranger HTT (6) 90% 85% 83% 83% 85% 88%
Toyo Proxes CF2 SUV (7) 86% 77% 83% 80% 85% 94%
Michelin Latitude Sport 3 (26) 88% 85% 84% 83% 82% 75%
Kumho Ecsta PS31 (53) 82% 78% 76% 79% 75% 78%
Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme (64) 83% 86% 82% 77% 87% 86%
Goodyear EfficientGrip SUV (27) 83% 78% 75% 74% 68% 75%
Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 (76) 84% 76% 76% 79% 67% 73%
Hankook Kinergy 4S2 (21) 80% 80% 69% 69% 74% 80%
Pirelli Scorpion STR (26) 83% 72% 76% 77% 68% 71%
Avon ZX7 (39) 84% 82% 75% 76% 58% 78%
Goodyear Excellence (123) 79% 71% 72% 71% 73% 74%
Continental ContiSportContact 5 P (101) 85% 79% 77% 76% 54% 72%
Continental ContiSportContact 5 SUV (33) 84% 80% 76% 80% 52% 70%
Pirelli Scorpion Verde All Season (58) 81% 65% 75% 74% 75% 69%
Dunlop SP Sport 01 (124) 78% 67% 71% 69% 69% 65%
Viking Snow Tech II (10) 76% 66% 76% 53% 76% 74%
Pirelli Scorpion Verde (52) 77% 70% 68% 67% 59% 70%
Goodyear EfficientGrip (135) 77% 68% 62% 60% 70% 70%
Michelin Latitude tour HP (29) 79% 66% 66% 68% 73% 79%
Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport (74) 78% 64% 67% 61% 70% 61%
Kenda KOMET PLUS KR23 (22) 73% 57% 66% 61% 71% 77%
Yokohama Advan ST (3) 73% 53% 57% 50% 40% 33%

Volkswagen Tiguan Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Avon ZX7 given 66% (235-55-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 17 easy going miles
Reasonably priced for my budget, i bought 2 for the rear first, liked the look and price so then later bought 2 for the front. British made I thought, let’s support Britain. Can’t complain about dry or wet grip, hence the score. The diesel Tiguan can hardly be thrashed about and my driving is a little sedentary at 63yrs old but I felt safe in all weathers on all surfaces (except snow). SO here comes the crunch, I’ve just had to replace the fronts at only 17,000 miles! I knew from research that the compounds were soft but I’ve never replaced any tyres at 17,000! The rears are also getting down at just 25,000 so very disappointed about the longevity akin to my driving style. A medium priced well behaved tyre but with a short lifespan. Luckily I only do 5000 miles a year so suppose they’ve lasted 3 years.
tyre reviewed on 2023-01-20 22:45:09
Writing about the Toyo Proxes CF2 SUV given 73% (235-55-18-)
Driving on mostly town for 50 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2022-10-31 13:46:03
Writing about the Pirelli Scorpion Verde given 71% (235-55-18-)
Driving on mostly town for 24860 average miles
Excellent, but it dries up before it is consumed
tyre reviewed on 2022-10-31 13:43:59
Writing about the Hankook Kinergy 4S2 given 82% (245-50-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
Fitted these to our family car a 2015 vw tiguan 4 motion, and they transformed the handling for the better really making the most for vws 4 motion system particularly in bad weather i.e rain/snow it never spun a wheel just gripped and got on with business which for me was piece of mind knowing my wife and kids were in safe hands what ever the weather, dry grip was also impressive as to was the tread life will certainly recommend.
tyre reviewed on 2022-07-20 08:39:55
Writing about the Vredestein Wintrac Pro given 88% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 average miles
My Tiguan R uses Y rated 255/35 21 and there is a limited choice of tyres in this size. The Wintrac Pro did well in the 2021 Auto Bild winter tyre test so I decided to give them a go. Initial impressions are very good, especially in the wet where they happily keep 316 bhp in check. In the dry the steering feel, handling and braking is almost as good as a summer tyre. In the cold and wet they are better than a summer and on the country roads I commute to work on they have really inspired confidence in the recent cold, wet weather. There is a little more tyre noise than an equivalent summer tyre but the ride quality is fine. I have yet to try them on ice or snow but the Auto Bild test seems to indicate I have nothing to worry about and it is too early to comment on wear rates.
tyre reviewed on 2022-01-04 22:18:15
Writing about the Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport given 39% (235-50-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 42000 average miles
Never felt safe with these plus very noisy
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-17 11:52:44
Writing about the Michelin Latitude Sport 3 given 90% (225-35-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 2000 average miles
These tyres are ware on VW Tiguan ALLSPACE 2.0 TDI 4X2. I think that they are the best tyres for any 4x2 SUV.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-02 17:24:14
Writing about the Continental ContiSportContact 5 SUV given 83% (235-55-18-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 50000 average miles
My 66 plate Tiguan came with these tyres. The front tyres were swapped out at 27,000 miles (with Avon ZX7's). I put the Contisports on the back axle and they are still there at c.3mm and just over 50,000 miles! I am now looking at whether to replace the front ZX7's (which will have done c.23,000 miles) with Contisports again, though I think the extra mileage from them doesn't justify the extra £30 a tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-30 12:34:08
Writing about the Continental ContiSportContact 5 P given 67% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 18500 easy going miles
I had these Contis on May 2019 and so far I have managed to draw out of them, 30000 Kilometers (18500 Miles). Great grip, extremely soft tire (black stuff was layed on my garage tiles while the tires where brand new), improved comfort and same consumption to the Dunlop Maxx GT I had previously on. But if it wasn't for the covid quarantine that we went through last March to June, trully the tires would be changed on the year. My 4 motion Tiguan, that runs on the 1.4 tsi, is not a very heavy car, is a 4X4 so wheel spin is not an option and being a family man, heavy cornering and braking are avoided. So I am now way less tthan he legal limit trying to squeeze a few extra kms from them. Nice tire for whom can afford them, but not a clever investment in terms of wear. I am leaning towards the Goodyear Assymetric 5, sister choice to the Dunlops I had before, but with much stronger performance according to your tests and reviews.
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-23 09:03:37
Writing about the Continental ContiSportContact 5 SUV given 57% (235-55-18-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 116000 easy going miles
We bought a brand new VW Tiguan (pre-registered late 2017) which came fitted with these Continental ContiSport v tyres. Within less than 3 years of very conservative and careful driving (my wife and I are both retired NHS staff), we noticed significant wear on the front two tyres. The car had clocked up just 11,600 miles from new. Our local garage confirmed significant wear, one of the tyres verging on being dangerous. We had both tyres replaced immediately. On contacting Continental to comment, they wanted me to return to the garage, fill-in a form and have the Garage do so too. They then wanted me to ask the garage to keep the tyres for their collection. There offer was to report back once they'd had chance to actually see the two failed tyres themselves. Continental clearly wouldn't take my word, our Garage's word or want to contact our VW Dealership. We'd always previously considered Continental to be a decent brand - but never, never again.
tyre reviewed on 2020-06-17 12:48:50
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip SUV given 63% (235-55-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 23000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2020-06-03 19:47:56
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta PS31 given 99% (235-50-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 100 spirited miles
Running this tyres on a VW Tiguan 1.4 tuned to 280NM 200HP Front Wheel Drive, with upgraded R brakes and H&R Sport Spring. It's a daily run car and expect some fast driving at times. Been on many sets of tyres before , Turanza, Dizzera, Verderstain and so on and PS31 by far is the best among. Very good dry grip and wet, no noticable wheel spin at exiting corners , wet grip was fantastic could comfortable do 100-120km/hr on wet road with some light puddle. Very comfortable for this small SUV, rough surface is dampen by the tires. To be honest this Tyre exceed my expectation. Coming from that i also drove a Golf R with more than 500HP and 600NM and running Michelin PS4S, RE71R and a few others.
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-22 18:46:18
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre