Continental ContiMaxContact MC6

The Continental ContiMaxContact MC6 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 33 tyre reviews averaging 83% over 293,074 miles driven.

Dry Grip 92%
Wet Grip 80%
Road Feedback 80%
Handling 90%
Wear 75%
Comfort 81%
Buy again 85%

The ContiMaxContact MC6 is ranked 14th of 143 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

This tyre replaced the Continental ContiMaxContact MC5.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Continental ContiMaxContact MC6

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Continental ContiMaxContact MC6

Questions and Answers for the Continental ContiMaxContact MC6

2019-05-01 - Hi Tyrereview, My car is ford focus sport runs on a weird sized tyre (215/50/R17). I am currently looking for a set of good handling tyres with a level of comfort. Both continental MaxContact 6 and PremiumContact 6 have high review rating on the website, just wondering which one is better? Thanks.

The MacContact 6 is American market and PremiumContact 6 is Europe, so they do not overlap!


2019-10-10 - Hi, Currently I'm running on 225 45R17 on my BMW, it's time for me to change my tires. Having some confusion on choosing tires. So far I have 3 options, MC6, Goodyear efficientgrip performance or Michelin ps3. Need your comments. Can I upgrade my tires to 235 45 R17? I'm having stock rims.

Unfortunately I can't comment on tyre size changes as there are too many variables. Also, we don't get the MaxContact in Europe, but of the three options I would likely pick the Goodyear due to high comfort, low wear and good grip.


2023-02-05 - Is the Continental MC6 a Run Flat Tyre. And is it suitable for a Mercedes C350E AMG

It seems there are 2 runflat (SSR) sizes of the MC6, 245/40 R 19 and 275/35 R 19, neither are OE marked.


2024-06-27 - I am driving a 2013 Audi A6, Diesel, car, was using Bridgestone Turanza tires,as tyres are expiry interested in buying a set of MC6, Is it a low profile , normal tyre( Local Audi agents adviced low profile, normal tyre), Thank you

If a tyre is low profile or not depends on the size, there are low profile sizes of the MC6 and yes it is a normal tyre. Ensure you buy it in the correct size and you will be fine.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Continental ContiMaxContact MC6 Reviews

Given 69% while driving a Mercedes Benz E Class W124 E500 (215/50 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 1,000 spirited miles
A set of F/R 215-50+225-50 (17") (Maley made) on Mercedes Benz W124 E500 - Jan'18
Review at range 1,6xx KM. in Thailand, Mostly on motorway (80%) and B road (20%)
PRO :
Dry grip are great, a bit better from MC5, and super stable on upper to high speed drive, confident on control. worm up supper quick, break on dry are super, real life compare with another e500, fresh new tyre both, MC6 is abt 1.5 s. quicker and 21-22 m. shorter to stop compare with the Thai's made - Primacy 3-ST on the same size.
CON :
A bit down breaking in wet (rainstorm wet, from 110 Kph to 40) its better to keep more distance as I felt the tyre are skid on the water time to time, and....a massive down on noice, this new one is, still, so loud on higher speed, a bit quieter if stay below speed limit. and the wear, I did 23,xxx km. in 17 months on last set of MC5, and its was totally wreck at that point, so far, it seem like long lasting wasn't the major improvement on the MC6.

SUM : One of the best tyre on dry, high speed and performance user, compare to the price, this is still be no.1 as of early 2018. hopefully won't see defect on sidewall or structure damage like other model from my pass on this model, So far, So good.
Helpful 337 - tyre reviewed on January 23, 2018
Given 93% while driving a (205/45 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
These tyres are just brilliant,Run at Genting, Power at handling and easy to handle for sharp corner,if you guys dont knw genting,go for youtube search "Genting Touge", Mostly its a "PUBLIC RACE TRACK" haha, because road incline is about 10%-15%
Helpful 265 - tyre reviewed on April 17, 2019
Given 76% while driving a Volkswagen Tiguan (235/55 R18) on a combination of roads for 7,000 average miles
Surprisingly comfortable for a performance rated tyre. Noise is minimal
Handling is on point with rather direct feel.
Yet it dampens out bumps and uneven surface rather well. Probably thanks in part to its relatively softer sidewalls.
Helpful 42 - tyre reviewed on July 13, 2023
Have you driven on the Continental ContiMaxContact MC6 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Continental ContiMaxContact MC6? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Continental ContiMaxContact MC6 >

Latest Continental ContiMaxContact MC6 Reviews

Given 79% while driving a BMW 318 (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
This replaces a set of Michelin PS4 on my car. In the dry, I feel no noticeable difference. The two are very similar to me. After all, I only drive my car on road. I never drive it on the track. In terms of comfort I feel the contis are more comfortable, but the michelins were on my car for 6 years before being replaced, with maybe 20% tread left, so of course the newer tyres would be more comfortable. I dont really remember how they felt when new. The biggest difference to me is when the road is wet. The michelin, despite being a summer tyre, handles very, very well in the wet. In the 6 years I had them, I never once experienced any aquaplanning whatsoever. The contis on the other hand, feel a little bit slippier. It's not terrible, but I can certainly feel the difference with the michelins. Let's just say I was more confident on wet surface with the michelins. I've only had them for a little over 2 months so I cant really comment on wear. The michelin PS4 lasted me 6 years, and I only replaced them because they were severe cracks due to the environment. I really hope the contis last as long or even better. Hopefully they dont crack as quickly as the michelins.
Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on February 23, 2024
Given 83% while driving a Nissan (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
This is my first Continental tires. I switch from my old Michelin Pilotsport 4 which I have experienced for 3 sets of it. This time, I decided to try something new rather than get the new PS5. I choose MC6. (And yes it is cheaper too)

My car was Nissan Sylphy B17 base model with manual tranny (NO ABS). It is used as a daily driver. It has GAB suspension lowered 20mm from factory height. And I mainly spirited driving on expressway in combination with city driving under speed limit.

I will share my thoughts based on what I found compare to the PS4.

Dry grip. - I find it ‘slightly’ lower than the PS4 which I noticed from the stopping power. As my car has no ABS, I felt the braking threshold is slightly lower than my previous PS4 and the MC6 did not provide the stable stopping force as the PS4. However the cornering performance is acceptable for road use. “More than enough”

Wet grip - This is the most disappointing things for me. I found that its hydroplaning resistance isn’t comparable to the PS4 that i have used. But don’t get me wrong. The over all wet grip is decent and I still feel safe to drive during thunderstorm here in Thailand.

Road feedback - Slightly better than my previous PS4. Not that god-like feedback level that you would feel from another tier of tires like Potenza sport or Semi slick like A052 or AD08R from Yokos. But for this price i would say more than enough and still better than the my previous Michelin.

Progressiveness - It is quite newbie friendly tires. Not so snappy when it is reaching the limit. But still my previous PS4 does a better job than this one.

NVH - This set of tires has weird NVH characteristic to me. It is quiet and lovely during city-limit. (0-80KPH) suddenly when passed 100KPH it generate sounds like wheel bearing would broke or something. ( i am sure that it is not my bearing as i have just changed it). The ride comfort is decent and comparable to my previous Michelin.

Other thoughts - Lovely sidewall and tread pattern design.
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on December 29, 2023
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 86% while driving a Kia Motors Cerato Forte (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
WOW! Have used Michelin Sport 4 on my cars for some years. Last year I decided to economise on my cheap daily run around Kia Cerato and with trepidation purchased a set of MC6 tyres on a special deal from Bob Jane T Mart for $650 Australian. I cannot believe how close they are to the Sport 4’s in all conditions. At the price point I cannot fault them. The wear after 15Ks appears similar. Will definitely buy again.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on July 9, 2023
Given 84% while driving a Volkswagen Tiguan (235/55 R18) on a combination of roads for 1,800 average miles
These tyres will impress me after 2,000 kilometers.
Produced low-frequency noise on the rough tarmac with the VW 18" stock wheel.
The steering wheel feels good, and the ride is comfortable too.
Shorter braking distances in wet and dry weather.
The rolling resistance is good, and the mileage has somewhat increased.
Overall, I am happy with the MC6.
Helpful 36 - tyre reviewed on June 27, 2023
Given 93% while driving a Mitsubishi Evolution (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 43,000 spirited miles
4 x 225/45/17s on the Tommi Mak. Best tyres it has had on it wet and dry and they have had a thrashing since 200kms worn. Purchased another set for storage.First time with the Continental Brand...Excellent
Helpful 39 - tyre reviewed on April 26, 2023
Given 80% while driving a Honda Civic 1.5T (215/50 R17) on mostly motorways for 1,000 average miles
Drove it for about 1000 km, initial thought right after putting it on, wow this tire is stiff, kinda regret driving it on for about 100kms, but after 200kms, the tire feels more compliant to bumps. guessed that was the "break-in period". Grip level is excellent, no issues with tire squealing when taking fast highway on ramp exits. High speed stability is good too, no issues there. The best aspect is the noise level, significantly less compared to the Dunlop SP Sport Max 050+ that I had before and almost as good as the Continental Ultra Contact 6 on my other car. Also noticed that my fuel consumption is decreased too, normally would get 17kml to 18kml on my commute, but now I'm getting 18kml to 19kml with average of 120kmh. The only gripe, is wet performance, feels a bit "twitchy", no issues with grip but not a great feeling during high speeds around 110 to 120kmh. For sidewall design, IMO Continental has the second best sidewall design. Bought it because this is the second best option, was planning to get Michelin PS5 instead but the price difference is too huge almost 60% more doesn't justify putting it on a "daily commute car".
Helpful 36 - tyre reviewed on December 15, 2022
Given 94% while driving a Mazda Mazda 3 astina 2.5 ltr (215/45 R18) on mostly town for 41 average miles
I have driven 67,000 kms on my current set of tyres. Exellent value. I have low profile tyres, I don't drive my car hard. I wish they could reduce the road noise a bit more. Otherwise every happy and I'm putting a new set on next week.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on November 17, 2022
Given 91% while driving a Subaru Impreza WRX STI (235/40 R18) on track for 350 spirited miles
Absolutely BEST tyre for the price. My background has mainly been track driving and open windy county roads. These tyres did not disappoint. Having tried RE003’s and PS4’s. For the price you really can’t complain.. extremely handing in both wet and dry conditions. More comfortable driving at higher speeds and cornering in the dry, they just want to keep gripping the road. Wet road driving they also preform phenomenally. I’m not really the person to drive my car in the wet as this is a dry weekend warrior or track car only. But having rained and back windy roads you always wanna see what your tyres can do and hope for the best haha. But all seriousness it’s a excellent tyre even compared to newer and “improved” tyres but other big manufacturers. 10/10 would buy again.
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on September 18, 2022
Given 93% while driving a Nissan Qashqai 2018 (215/55 R17) on mostly town for 1,733 easy going miles
Very sticky tyres, great low noise. Great at cornering.
Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on September 9, 2022
Given 63% while driving a Hyundai Tucson (245/45 R19) on mostly country roads for 8,000 average miles
New hyundai tucson Tyres at front wore out after 8000miles replaced with cheap Chinese tyres still great with little wear and tear after 12000 miles so I can not recommend continental tyres
Helpful 36 - tyre reviewed on September 5, 2022
Given 91% while driving a Skoda (/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Outstanding performance in a wide variety of conditions. I have used these for long, extended road trips where comfort is key, as well as some high-speed, tight roads where I needed to be at the other end asap. They have never let me down and in fact I have been thoroughly impressed. One of the features that impressed me most was the directness of the steering feel. When the pressures were set correctly, even with a wagon, there is no disconnect between the front and rear axle at all which gives huge confidence as well as improves the comfort for passengers in the corners. Even if they cost the same as some of the competitors, I would still highly, highly recommend these. It just so happens to be an additional bonus that you can get them at a half decent price.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on July 5, 2022
Given 76% while driving a Subaru 2.0 Crosstrek (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,500 average miles
The tyre gave a brilliant control over vehicle. The size i used was 225/55 r17 and the road feedback was enormous, after changing to the 225/50 r17 pilotsport 5 I noticed that all the bumps are rounder turning feel not as accurate and sometimes even squishy. The MC6 offer driver with so much confidence around corners and braking. For example, after switching to PS5, I definitely cannot get myself to throw my car into a corner at a speed that I did on MC6. (especially the first few times at the same corner. Even though dry grip levels are similar between these 2 tyres) The cons side is that it aquaplane quite a bit. It is still a very predictable tyre though. Wet handling and braking are not that great. Definitely have to be careful when driving in wet because there are such difference between wet and dry grip. Noise level are not good. Not excessively loud, but not quiet.
Helpful 41 - tyre reviewed on April 18, 2022