Honda Civic 1.5T Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Honda Civic 1.5T.

Do you Drive a Honda Civic 1.5T? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Civic 1.5T better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 (36) 96% 93% 90% 93% 89% 89%
Nokian Snowproof P (6) 93% 92% 85% 90% 77% 78%
Dunlop Winter Sport 5 (37) 83% 85% 79% 78% 87% 83%
Three A Farroad FRD 26 (13) 83% 80% 81% 80% 85% 85%
Continental ContiMaxContact MC5 (38) 88% 80% 80% 79% 79% 86%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (276) 90% 88% 81% 85% 74% 79%
Dunlop Sport Maxx 050 Plus (17) 84% 79% 83% 84% 81% 75%
General Altimax One S (13) 88% 78% 78% 78% 86% 75%
Vredestein Quatrac 5 (36) 83% 80% 80% 83% 83% 85%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (281) 84% 92% 79% 78% 64% 83%
Lassa DriveWays Sport (8) 89% 85% 87% 78% 83% 65%
Nexen WinGuard Sport 2 (23) 84% 83% 71% 72% 86% 84%
Michelin Primacy 3 (178) 85% 80% 77% 77% 69% 80%
Hankook Kinergy 4S2 (13) 80% 80% 68% 71% 81% 81%
Dunlop Direzza DZ102 (15) 81% 73% 75% 65% 69% 73%
Yokohama BluEarth AE50 (31) 74% 69% 68% 69% 61% 70%
Yokohama Advan dB V552 (8) 67% 60% 67% 67% 58% 79%
Yokohama iceGUARD iG65 (3) 75% 50% 50% 60% 80% 75%

Honda Civic 1.5T Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Continental ContiMaxContact MC5 given NAN% (215-50-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 0 spirited miles
ii had conti mc5 since day one on my civic 2018 done 78k and i got ot changed to michelin primacy 4. Just drove to kl n back from jb felt the road handling not as good as continental. Feel bumpy. less noise. Thinking about changing back to continental.
tyre reviewed on 2022-07-02 16:06:59
Writing about the Dunlop Direzza DZ102 given 77% (225-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1200 spirited miles
I was using Falken ZE914 Ecorun and the tyre had worn out a bit. Choose to replace it because I just re-tuned my car so it got extra juice *about 230-240hp from stock. Needed a more grippy tyre. Then the shop offered me a "Dunlop Direzza" but did not specify which Direzza, thought it was the DZ101 but turns out it was the DZ102 (they did not have it ready stock, so they immediately bought it from another shop). Price was 1.2mio IDR (about 80 US$) per pcs. Quite affordable since Michelin PS4 priced almost twice. The dry grip was superb, it feels quick and direct while changing direction and did not hesitate a bit. I flick, it moves. I sometimes do high speed corner and the front end never loses the bite so it barely feels understeer enough. Noise was also good for a tyre at this level of performance. Did not find it too noisy even while running 180 km/h on the highway. The wet grip was average, still can keep up with the car's power but does not give enough confidence to try some "over the top" maneuvers while raining. Braking wasn't the best bit also both on dry and wet, on-par with the Falken ZE914, which is a premium touring. Still not experiencing the wear though. So, will buy again if the wear is adequate, will not buy if it easily wears out after 20k.
tyre reviewed on 2022-06-30 04:54:27
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 given 87% (235-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 1100 easy going miles
The car feels more stable and steady than previous Michelin primacy 3. Car follows steering command without understeering. Best option so far after nearly 2000km
tyre reviewed on 2022-02-25 21:09:28
Writing about the Yokohama iceGUARD iG65 given 52% (215-55-16-)
Driving on mostly town for 15000 spirited miles
I've had these fitted, now, for three Canadian winters. Consider this a mid-life/end-life review (depending if I toss them early). Snow? They're ok. Reasonable grip, reasonable clearing capability from snow/slush building in the treads. Ice? Surprisingly ok. For a winter-rated rubber, they're "as-expected". Ice really isn't fun to drive on, I've never really been caught offguard by ice on the roads, so I'd actually consider these to be pretty decent here. Dry? Mediocre-to-bad. On dry cold roads, the car slides and moves more than it should. Aggressive (or, spirited) driving is heavily discouraged by the Yokohamas and they will give-way quickly. Wet? Downright dangerous. These have got got to be one of the worst sets of rubber on a car for damp/wet/rainy/slush weather that I've ever experienced. Other comfort related notes: these tires wander in grooved pavement and brushed concrete surfaces and generally make the car feel unsettled. They provide little-to-no feedback from the front end which is exasperated by the wandering. I would not purchase again. Winter tires need to be capable in a wide range of weather from ice & snow, to wet & slush as the temperatures rise before you swap over to all-season/summer tires. The lack of traction in the rain is absolutely horrendously dangerous and forces you to drive so cautiously that you'd think you'd be on proper ice. Thankfully (or oddly) the traction in the wet, whilst braking, is not as bad as it is for acceleration/turning.
tyre reviewed on 2022-02-22 14:45:26
Writing about the Lassa DriveWays Sport given 71% (235-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
Good grip in every situation. Everything is good except for one things. Too noisy and you will feel the rumble during low speed cruising.
tyre reviewed on 2022-01-28 10:53:01
Writing about the Michelin Primacy 3 given 60% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 9000 spirited miles
First of all the tyres are what came with my car, hence the road feedback and comfort rating of n/a as they could be car specific. However I do believe there is a lot of tyre noise, certainly the main thing you hear driving the car. This is my first experience of a michilen tyre, albeit an older model. Grip in the dry is nothing more than average for a tyre of this type (comfort/efficiency biased) your not likely to run out in everyday driving but dynamically i found it understeers a little easily and allows one wheel to loose traction under hard acceleration. In the wet I'm actually surprised and disappointed in it having locked up a few times in braking and the car easily goes into understeer. However, the tyre always maintains a safe level of grip and remains drivable but I found them to be lacking to what I have come to expect from other modern tyres. (experience with goodyear, Falken, Hankook pirelli and uniroyal though admittedly apart from the hankook and goodyear all tyres were newer models.) One thing I will say is these tyres seem to excel at tyre where after 9000 miles I have loads of tread left, I would expect to see at least 16000 out of these and i normally expect 9-12000 miles out of my tyres (I have a lead foot) Overall i wouldnt buy them again, not enough to put me off over michelins though as they are an old design now
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-11 19:51:19
Writing about the Hankook Kinergy 4S2 given 52% (235-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 13000 average miles
This is the end-of-life review of my Hankook kinergy 4s2 after driving 13000 miles in the past 9 months. The tyres still have 3.5-4mm across all four. In terms of wear, not bad really. Tried it on snow & ice earlier this year on B roads, it is completely adequate. It will bring you home safely. It is also pretty good in the dry, not too soft as some of its rivals when the heatwave hit. All was good when it was new. However, all turn soul since last month the tread is worn down to under 4mm. There is a lack of wet grip, especially if you need a sharp turn on a wet road. The car would understeer. It has happened three times so far: the first two times were on A road, I saved it without a problem. The last time happened last night in a heavy rainstorm, I maneuver on a narrow road to give way at a low speed (~20mph) and my car understeered. My wheel ended up being curbed quite badly. I am devastated & I have decided I will not use them again even still plenty of treads left. Complete false economy & I regretted buying them in the first place.
tyre reviewed on 2021-09-15 14:21:11
Writing about the Vredestein Quatrac 5 given 81% (215-50-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 18600 average miles
I drive the Quatrac 5 now for two years and 30.000 kilometers (18600 miles), they're decent all season tyres. Back tyres are down to 6,2mm on the front tyres are down to 5mm. One more important thing, the Quatrac 5 are extremely quiet, someone in the previous comments said these tyres are noisy, I assume his tyres were faulty or his car broken. The fuel economy is amazing. The stopping distance in the wet and on hot summer days isn't the very best, but it's exactly what I expected from a all season tyre, so everything is fine. Would I buy them again? Of course I would, they're great.
tyre reviewed on 2021-08-30 12:32:26
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 73% (235-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4500 spirited miles
This is a follow up review as I've now put some miles on this set. My initial opinion on dry grip remains the same, very impressive. The one slight downside I've found is this tyre doesn't give a great impression on initial turn in, it hard to pin down, but it just doesn't feel sporty for want of a better word. Once the first input has been put in it's clear there's lots of grip to be had. I opted for an XL rating to take any potential floating feeling out of the tyre (relatively soft side wall/construction had been mentioned in reviews) and these tyres certainly don't suffer from that sensation you can get with say cheaper winter tyres or my experience with Uniroyal rainsports. The downside is the really harsh ride quality (I mentioned in my previous review about it effectively ruling out using the adaptive suspension) Performance in the wet is equally excellent, depending on the amount of water there is. ESP kicks in far less than the OEM primacy 3 the car came with and the axel tramp this car can suffer with is also greatly reduced. Where this tyre does fall down to a degree is clearing standing water. If you catch a puddle with even a slight amount of lock on the car will lift and step out quite rapidly. Straight line wet aquaplaning is less of an issue, but still not the best(the Rainsport has this covered). As far as wear goes I've done 4.5k miles and the fronts have lost between 1.5 to 2mm, rears have minimal wear as you would expect on a front wheel drive car. My overall opinion of the PS4 is it's a great tyre that just needs some sportiness dialed into it to make it come alive a bit more when pushing on.
tyre reviewed on 2021-07-13 19:41:14
Writing about the Dunlop Sport Maxx 050 Plus given NAN% (215-50-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20000 average miles
Bought it on sale from my local tyre shop. Made In Japan . Had a few doubts before buying it, thought it was a mediocre tyre and bought it because it was on sale. Quite a surprise after using it for 40k KM. Tyre noise was minimal, steering feel is great during tight corner and high speed cornering. No issues with aqua planning. This is definitely an upgrade from Continental MaxContact 5 and way superior than Goodyear excellence.
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-24 17:59:31
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 76% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
Initially I had a shortlist of 3 tyres. Those were pretty much the go-to usual suspects for smaller diameter wheels. They were the PS4's obviously,continental premium contact 6 and Goodyear eagle F1 asymmetric 5. I would have been happy with any to be fair, but what swung it was the price funnily enough, as Michelin seem to always be the most expensive. At the time of buying there was a cash back offer for buying 2 or 4 at a time, I got 4 and had 50 pounds refunded and this took the price to around 35 pounds cheaper than the next tyre. Watching a number of you tube video reviews a couple mentioned the PS4's were ironically the least 'sporty' of the three tyres given its naming, which slightly put me off the Michelin. As a result when the price suprise came about I had to think of a possible way of mitigating this possible issue. Having never had these tyres on before, this was effectively a guess. I decided to go with an XL load rating like I do with my winter tyres, which generally works well. The result is what can best described as a firm ride. I've not played around with tyre pressures as yet, so there what ever the tyre fitter put in, they didn't throw the pressure sensors off, so won't be far off. They generally go for 30psi and they should be 32, so it could get worse! It is really noticeable on motorways and as a result I think the adaptive suspension will never be used while these are on(it ruins the ride quality on the softest tyres without give back much in increased handling). The upside of this possibility is the turn-in they have,the civic has reasonably fast steering and this tyre doesn't detract from that. The grip these have in the dry are fantastic frankly, I can't say too much on the braking side due to the well below par pagid pads that are in at the moment (new OEM Honda's going back in), but what I can throw at them is impressive. Once the brakes are sorted I think these will be really impressive. I can't comment on wet weather performance, but reviews are placing them high up there. If it's at the same level as the dry performance then these will be a special tyre. On the relatively short mileage I've done on these I've already come to a conclusion they will be going back on for sure, only with the standard side wall strength hoping it doesn't affect turn-in too much. Excellent tyre for sure.
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-06 20:46:06
Writing about the Nokian Snowproof P given 91% (235-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
Using on Honda Civic Sport+, dry handling is great. On slippery conditions such as melty snow tyres are awesome. Despite the wide dimensions, in heavy snow braking and handling is better than expected. At 150 km/h a strange noise comes from tyres but after 160 it stops.
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-06 07:57:42
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre