Honda Civic 1.5T Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Honda Civic 1.5T.

Do you Drive a Honda Civic 1.5T? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Civic 1.5T better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Nokian Snowproof P (3) 97% 93% 87% 93% 70% 87%
Three A Farroad FRD 26 (12) 83% 80% 81% 80% 86% 88%
Dunlop Winter Sport 5 (36) 84% 85% 79% 79% 87% 83%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (240) 91% 89% 82% 85% 75% 80%
Continental ContiMaxContact MC5 (37) 88% 80% 80% 79% 79% 86%
Dunlop Sport Maxx 050 Plus (16) 84% 79% 83% 84% 81% 75%
General Altimax One S (13) 88% 78% 78% 78% 86% 75%
Vredestein Quatrac 5 (36) 83% 80% 80% 83% 83% 85%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (279) 84% 92% 78% 78% 64% 83%
Nexen WinGuard Sport 2 (21) 85% 83% 72% 76% 85% 83%
Michelin Primacy 3 (171) 86% 80% 77% 77% 69% 81%
Hankook Kinergy 4S2 (7) 79% 80% 66% 77% 77% 81%
Yokohama BluEarth AE50 (30) 74% 70% 68% 69% 60% 71%
Yokohama Advan dB V552 (7) 62% 56% 62% 62% 50% 77%

Honda Civic 1.5T Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Primacy 3 given 60% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 9000 spirited miles
First of all the tyres are what came with my car, hence the road feedback and comfort rating of n/a as they could be car specific. However I do believe there is a lot of tyre noise, certainly the main thing you hear driving the car. This is my first experience of a michilen tyre, albeit an older model. Grip in the dry is nothing more than average for a tyre of this type (comfort/efficiency biased) your not likely to run out in everyday driving but dynamically i found it understeers a little easily and allows one wheel to loose traction under hard acceleration. In the wet I'm actually surprised and disappointed in it having locked up a few times in braking and the car easily goes into understeer. However, the tyre always maintains a safe level of grip and remains drivable but I found them to be lacking to what I have come to expect from other modern tyres. (experience with goodyear, Falken, Hankook pirelli and uniroyal though admittedly apart from the hankook and goodyear all tyres were newer models.) One thing I will say is these tyres seem to excel at tyre where after 9000 miles I have loads of tread left, I would expect to see at least 16000 out of these and i normally expect 9-12000 miles out of my tyres (I have a lead foot) Overall i wouldnt buy them again, not enough to put me off over michelins though as they are an old design now
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-11 18:51:19
Writing about the Hankook Kinergy 4S2 given 52% (235-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 13000 average miles
This is the end-of-life review of my Hankook kinergy 4s2 after driving 13000 miles in the past 9 months. The tyres still have 3.5-4mm across all four. In terms of wear, not bad really. Tried it on snow & ice earlier this year on B roads, it is completely adequate. It will bring you home safely. It is also pretty good in the dry, not too soft as some of its rivals when the heatwave hit. All was good when it was new. However, all turn soul since last month the tread is worn down to under 4mm. There is a lack of wet grip, especially if you need a sharp turn on a wet road. The car would understeer. It has happened three times so far: the first two times were on A road, I saved it without a problem. The last time happened last night in a heavy rainstorm, I maneuver on a narrow road to give way at a low speed (~20mph) and my car understeered. My wheel ended up being curbed quite badly. I am devastated & I have decided I will not use them again even still plenty of treads left. Complete false economy & I regretted buying them in the first place.
tyre reviewed on 2021-09-15 13:21:11
Writing about the Vredestein Quatrac 5 given 81% (215-50-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 18600 average miles
I drive the Quatrac 5 now for two years and 30.000 kilometers (18600 miles), they're decent all season tyres. Back tyres are down to 6,2mm on the front tyres are down to 5mm. One more important thing, the Quatrac 5 are extremely quiet, someone in the previous comments said these tyres are noisy, I assume his tyres were faulty or his car broken. The fuel economy is amazing. The stopping distance in the wet and on hot summer days isn't the very best, but it's exactly what I expected from a all season tyre, so everything is fine. Would I buy them again? Of course I would, they're great.
tyre reviewed on 2021-08-30 11:32:26
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 73% (235-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4500 spirited miles
This is a follow up review as I've now put some miles on this set. My initial opinion on dry grip remains the same, very impressive. The one slight downside I've found is this tyre doesn't give a great impression on initial turn in, it hard to pin down, but it just doesn't feel sporty for want of a better word. Once the first input has been put in it's clear there's lots of grip to be had. I opted for an XL rating to take any potential floating feeling out of the tyre (relatively soft side wall/construction had been mentioned in reviews) and these tyres certainly don't suffer from that sensation you can get with say cheaper winter tyres or my experience with Uniroyal rainsports. The downside is the really harsh ride quality (I mentioned in my previous review about it effectively ruling out using the adaptive suspension) Performance in the wet is equally excellent, depending on the amount of water there is. ESP kicks in far less than the OEM primacy 3 the car came with and the axel tramp this car can suffer with is also greatly reduced. Where this tyre does fall down to a degree is clearing standing water. If you catch a puddle with even a slight amount of lock on the car will lift and step out quite rapidly. Straight line wet aquaplaning is less of an issue, but still not the best(the Rainsport has this covered). As far as wear goes I've done 4.5k miles and the fronts have lost between 1.5 to 2mm, rears have minimal wear as you would expect on a front wheel drive car. My overall opinion of the PS4 is it's a great tyre that just needs some sportiness dialed into it to make it come alive a bit more when pushing on.
tyre reviewed on 2021-07-13 18:41:14
Writing about the Dunlop Sport Maxx 050 Plus given NAN% (215-50-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20000 average miles
Bought it on sale from my local tyre shop. Made In Japan . Had a few doubts before buying it, thought it was a mediocre tyre and bought it because it was on sale. Quite a surprise after using it for 40k KM. Tyre noise was minimal, steering feel is great during tight corner and high speed cornering. No issues with aqua planning. This is definitely an upgrade from Continental MaxContact 5 and way superior than Goodyear excellence.
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-24 16:59:31
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 76% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
Initially I had a shortlist of 3 tyres. Those were pretty much the go-to usual suspects for smaller diameter wheels. They were the PS4's obviously,continental premium contact 6 and Goodyear eagle F1 asymmetric 5. I would have been happy with any to be fair, but what swung it was the price funnily enough, as Michelin seem to always be the most expensive. At the time of buying there was a cash back offer for buying 2 or 4 at a time, I got 4 and had 50 pounds refunded and this took the price to around 35 pounds cheaper than the next tyre. Watching a number of you tube video reviews a couple mentioned the PS4's were ironically the least 'sporty' of the three tyres given its naming, which slightly put me off the Michelin. As a result when the price suprise came about I had to think of a possible way of mitigating this possible issue. Having never had these tyres on before, this was effectively a guess. I decided to go with an XL load rating like I do with my winter tyres, which generally works well. The result is what can best described as a firm ride. I've not played around with tyre pressures as yet, so there what ever the tyre fitter put in, they didn't throw the pressure sensors off, so won't be far off. They generally go for 30psi and they should be 32, so it could get worse! It is really noticeable on motorways and as a result I think the adaptive suspension will never be used while these are on(it ruins the ride quality on the softest tyres without give back much in increased handling). The upside of this possibility is the turn-in they have,the civic has reasonably fast steering and this tyre doesn't detract from that. The grip these have in the dry are fantastic frankly, I can't say too much on the braking side due to the well below par pagid pads that are in at the moment (new OEM Honda's going back in), but what I can throw at them is impressive. Once the brakes are sorted I think these will be really impressive. I can't comment on wet weather performance, but reviews are placing them high up there. If it's at the same level as the dry performance then these will be a special tyre. On the relatively short mileage I've done on these I've already come to a conclusion they will be going back on for sure, only with the standard side wall strength hoping it doesn't affect turn-in too much. Excellent tyre for sure.
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-06 19:46:06
Writing about the Nokian Snowproof P given 91% (235-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
Using on Honda Civic Sport+, dry handling is great. On slippery conditions such as melty snow tyres are awesome. Despite the wide dimensions, in heavy snow braking and handling is better than expected. At 150 km/h a strange noise comes from tyres but after 160 it stops.
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-06 06:57:42
Writing about the Three A Farroad FRD 26 given 90% (215-50-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
quality like michelin and the price is better compare than other tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-06 17:04:59
Writing about the Hankook Kinergy 4S2 given 67% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 1000 average miles
Purchased a set of Kinergy 4s2 after watching Jonathan Benson's review, which suggested the Kinergy 4s2 was better than a lot of popular AS tyres (e.g. Michelin CrossClimates Plus, Bridgestone WeatherControl, and Continental AllSeasonContact) I have driven on them for around 1000 miles, so here are my initial thoughts about the Kinergy 4s2. I used Michelin CrossClimates Plus on this car before, therefore some comparisons will be discussed in this review. Pros: - Quiet - The sound isolation on my Civic X isn't fantastic, quite a lot of tyre noise inside the cabin when driving on motorways. Comparing to Michelin Primacy 4 and Michelin CrossClimates Plus, the Hankook Kinergy 4s2 is significantly quieter. I reduced my stereo volume by two levels after the Kinergy 4s2 fitted. - Comfort ride - I subjectively think the Kinergy 4s2 is comfortable, especially on bumpy roads. - Competitive Price - On the day of my purchase, the Kinergy 4s2 was at least 14% cheaper than Michelin CrossClimates Plus, Bridgestone WeatherControl, and Goodyear 4Seasons Gen 3. -Wet & dry braking -Good wet and dry braking performance. In normal usage, sometimes I forget I have the AS tyres on when braking, which is perfect. Cons:- Handling - A bit roly-poly and average feedback in general, which is expected. The most disappointing bit is that the tyres tend to understeer easily when you turn a corner a bit aggressive. Personally, I think the handling (especially dry handling) is a bit disappointing compared to Michelin CrossClimates Plus and I now have to drive a lot more gently. --I have not had a chance to drive them in ice/snow conditions, therefore I am not able to review how good they are in winter. Bottom line: Generally it is a good pick for day-to-day driving: comfortable, quiet, fairly priced, and with a reasonable grip. However, if you are more demanding in terms of handling, personally think there are better picks in the market. 
tyre reviewed on 2020-12-01 17:06:38
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 86% (225-45-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 101 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-13 15:46:13
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 44% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 5000 spirited miles
The tyres worked fine till peak summer period. As soon as the temps dropped below 30'C/85'F, the grip was piss poor. I read numerous reviews before buying and spent a fortune to acquire these. Horrible grip in winters. We don't see rains/snow in winters here so my review is based on the performance of these tyres on dry winter roads. My tiny 1.5L honda civic turbo spins like crazy from 20km/hr to 150km/hr.
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-11 04:55:53
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 3 given 51% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1500 spirited miles
These actual tyres have been on two completely different cars. Initially on a back of rear wheel drive light sports car and now on the front of a mk 10 civic. To be fair the sports car had a full set,all be it a staggered arrangement,the civic has the original Michelin's on the rear. My opinion of this tyre is basically the same result as when it was ran as part of the full set on the sports car. Side wall construction is very soft,the resultant ride quality is excellent,the down side is a loss if any precision to the steering. You end up having to increase the steering lock on all but the slowest inputs. The levels of grip in the dry(once you learn to trust the lack of steering feel) are okay, although,really push on and you're rewarded with an unnerving floating feeling. The result is you tend to just hold back. Wet grip is good, but again,not that difficult to spin up the wheels in 2nd and 3rd gears when coming out of corners which results in a slow drift offline due to understeer. Where this tyre really shines is cutting through standing water. No other tyre I've used manages to mitigate the dragging effect of hitting large puddles as well as this the does, impressive. If I had a full set on the car I'm sure this vague feeling would result in a feeling of impending oversteer ,at least until the tread depth had reduced. Which leads me on to wear rate. Never had enough time on the sports car to assess this,but a combination of a about 300 miles on that car and 1500 on the civic,has resulted in the loss of about 1.5mm. To be expected with such a soft compound I guess. This isn't a terrible tyre by a long shot, certainly if you don't drive particularly fast,but that's its problem,this isn't tyre to go from A to B quickly(bar maybe in the wet) I can't see me ever buying these again.
tyre reviewed on 2020-10-23 08:29:01
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre