Dunlop Sport Maxx 050+

The Dunlop Sport Maxx 050 Plus is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 24 tyre reviews averaging 74% over 312,000 miles driven.

Dry Grip 83%
Wet Grip 73%
Road Feedback 80%
Handling 80%
Wear 81%
Comfort 63%
Buy again 61%

The Sport Maxx 050+ is ranked 76th of 143 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

This tyre has been replaced by the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx 060+.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Dunlop Sport Maxx 050 Plus

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Dunlop Sport Maxx 050 Plus

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Dunlop Sport Maxx 050 Plus. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Dunlop Sport Maxx 050 Plus Reviews

Given 57% while driving a Lexus RX350 (235/55 R20 V) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Actually i m using sp sport maxx 050 instead of 050 plus. It was an OE tire for my 2016 lexus rx350 f sport. Well, i comment this tire is just above average after using for more than 5000km. It works fine when dry but really slippery when wet, not to mention how it performs when aquaplaning. Cant tell any on wear but i think it can last quite long for an average driver like me. All in all, if u sure urself is a mild driver then take it, otherwise go for some others.
Would not use again and probably go for goodyear or continental.
Helpful 371 - tyre reviewed on June 25, 2016
Given 87% while driving a Mercedes Benz E350 (245/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 20,000 average miles
i used dunlop sport maxx 050 plus in my merceds e300 for a year now. the tyre performance is excellent. i used to have continental tyre for double the price. dunlop provide me equal performance for half the price.
Helpful 200 - tyre reviewed on April 13, 2017
Given 71% while driving a Subaru liberty (225/50 R18) on mostly motorways for 31,000 spirited miles
My car came with the so max 050 NOT plus stock. They perform better than the re003 all round. Dry grip is pretty good but understeers quite a bit, in the wet it only gets worse. The tyre is fairly noisy and a bit harsh over bumps. The tire wear is very good I must say. I have done over 50k km on them and they still have 3.5mm of tread left could get another 10k I’m easily, most of it is freeway driving however. I know have put the Goodyear eagle f1 sport and they are much better in ever way. More comfortable, way more grip dry and wet especially. Much more quiet and comfortable of bumps. I can’t tell about wear just yet. I would definitely get the asymmetric 5 or 6 or f1 sport over the dunlops.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on July 14, 2023
Have you driven on the Dunlop Sport Maxx 050 Plus tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Dunlop Sport Maxx 050 Plus? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Dunlop Sport Maxx 050 Plus >

Latest Dunlop Sport Maxx 050 Plus Reviews

Given 61% while driving a Honda HRV (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 17,000 average miles
I have been driving for over 60 years and have never driven on a tyre as noisy as these are.
Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on April 27, 2024
Given 49% while driving a Toyota Innova (225/50 R18) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
These tyres come fitted from factory. I have never had a very good experience with dunlop tyres, but I decided to stick with them since tyres are very expensive these days. They are TERRIBLE. I have lost grip on uneven surface, even when it's dry. I dont know why they get such a high score here. In the wet they're also not great. They just dont inspire confidence. And the worst thing is comfort. They are extremely noisy even when new, and they're stiff, not in a good way. I know they are UHP tyres, but they seriously cannot compare to michelin PS4, continental MC6, or even bridgestone potenza RE050 that I've had in the past. No, it's not the car itself that's causing all those issues. I used to have a set of dunlops that came with my mercedes w211, but I dont remember the model, and they bulged when I hit a small pothole, so I was hoping they had improved their tyres over the years, but I guess I was hoping too much. I will still stick with these at least until they have 50% of tread left since the car itself is not exactly sporty, but for those who are considering replacing their tyres with these, I suggest you look elsewhere.
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on February 23, 2024
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 10% while driving a Lexus ES300H (235/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 0 easy going miles
These must be the worst tyres I have ever had for road / tyre noise in the cabin. Came standard on the car but had to remove them and put Michelin Primacy 4+ on the car to get any decent peace in the cabin. Cannot understand why Lexus would use such tyres.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on June 6, 2023
Given 54% while driving a Toyota Camry (235/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 6,000 average miles
These Tyres are very noisy at motorway speeds any spoils the otherwise great Camry
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on May 27, 2023
Given 74% while driving a Toyota Camry (215/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
I've had this set of tires for about two years/20.000 KMs now, fitted to Toyota Camry 2013. The previous owner of this car bought the tires in 2018, and so far other than several punctures, no big issue. No tire crack/chip/bulge, tread still looks good. Performs quite well too. Good grip, on both dry and wet surface, and when cornering on the toll roads I feel confident But aquaplanning not so good, several times I felt my car floating when I hit a puddle of water on the toll roads. And for me, this tire is quite noisy. Even though soundproofing of my car is quite good, road noise (especially when my car is running on concrete/rough surface or non-asphalt), is quite noticable in the cabin. My wife even noticed this (and she usually doesn't notice such things). Overall, if you're after a flagship tire with a good grip, good value (treadwear is still good despite 4+ years daily use) and competitive price (in Indonesia, this tire is sold at slightly lower price than Michelin Primacy/Sport despite being imported from Japan), I would recommend this tire.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on October 17, 2022
Given 50% while driving a Lexus ES300h F Sport (225/45 R19) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
These tyres were factory fit, Lexus uses this on the F Sport variant of the ES300h as a more aggressive alternative to the rest of the range. In practice that is fine, it isn't a car that wants to be thrown around by nature. However, I was absolutely delighted to see the back of them last week when switching to Cross Climate 2s. The dry performance is ok, nothing to write home about and they give up very quickly when they find their limit. It was a little bit of a shock having used Pilot Sport 4S for a few years on my previous cars. However, in the wet it is like driving on ice. I had very little confidence through the corners, would struggle to get out of junctions without wheel spin and they were utterly hopeless when it came to aquaplaning. The only thing that stopped me having a big one a few weeks ago after hitting a flood in the dark caused by a burst pipe was the fact I have Cross Climate 2s already fitted to the back due to a puncture the day before I travelled. It was an interesting experience having the front of the car feeling like a lost cause and the rears holding steady. Would not go near these again. The car genuinely feels more confident and direct even in the dry on the CC2 over the SportMaxx, the ride is a little harder as expected but, I'm glad I now have a full set ahead of the wet Scottish winter.
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on September 29, 2022
Given 84% while driving a Toyota Camry (215/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
My 2014 Camry was fitted with this tyre when I bought my car. The tyre held up pretty well considering it's almost two-years old when I bought it. In Indonesia, this is Dunlop's flagship tyre, and it does look good. Dry grip is excellent; giving me confidence when cornering in high speed in the motorways. Feels like the car sticks to the road. Wet grip should be OK; didn't notice any significant issue when driving in the rain. Wear rate - in two years the tyre still shows plenty of thread life with no cracking, I think it could last up to 4 years. Comfort - on asphalt it's quiet for my car, except when the road surface is rough (cobblestones, gravel, concrete etc) then you could hear the road noise. I like driving fast, and this tyre suits my need. If this tyre could last up to 4 years and price won't change much (currently it's sold around 25% lower than Michelin Pilot Sport in my country), I'd buy this tyre when it's time to replace it.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on May 12, 2022
Given 63% while driving a Honda Accord Tourer (235/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 20,000 average miles
I use it only summertime on a 1700kg Tourer on: motorways and countryroads in moderate driving style. Motorway between 130-160km/h, average roads w/ 60-90km/h, mostly w/ 1-2 person onboard and some luggages+doggo in the back. The car is one of the best travelling cars IMHO, so the chassis not very sporty, but between responsive and comfortable, i admit weight is an important factor that determines overall experience, but one by one: DRY: it drove well and the tyre has good grip, a bit sporty thanks to the size, i LOVE the rim protector (it's is wide and protects more than average tyres). WET: in wet it rolls OK, but sometime it tends to slip a bit when changing directions suddenly or at braking on countryroads :-( but just a bit, not dangerous, in rain on motorway it was stable. but becomes rigid after a while. Overall: Aging is the enemy of this compound, truly. The thread is still significant considering higher speed driving on motorways, but the rubber got old after 3 years and the comfort is half-gone, but most importantly: it's good that i drove rarely this year, because i noticed that PIECES HAVE TORN OUT of the surface, sometimes 0.2-0.8mm, sometimes, 1,5cm wide pieces and it's more than unsafe, i realized it when braking has become a bit shaking. So even i know that the thread still around 5mm (!!!) and in summer it's still rolls fine, because of this and the weak performance in wet corners and sometimes slippery behavior, i do NOT recommend this to anyone. :-( And on the whole; i will not buy Dunlop again. I am considering Good Year Eagle F1 Ass 5 and Bridgestone Potenza and maybe Conti PC 6XL. I'd rather go for a Michelin the most, but comparing the much higher price (PS4) and the simple travel purposes it would never provide such benefit for this car. But until i do not hear that Dunlop corrects this decline of material/structure, i will avoid its products.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on November 29, 2021
Given 83% while driving a Mitsubishi Lancer GT 2.0 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
These 050+ came stock from the 2020 Corolla Altis and now I know Toyota's secret recipe in making a good car. They're grippy in dry and have good feedback, average on wet, best of all is how quiet and comfortable these tyres are. It still won't beat PS4s tho
Helpful 38 - tyre reviewed on November 2, 2021
Given 80% while driving a Honda HRV (215/55 R17) on mostly town for 40,000 average miles
Dry Grip = Excellent Wet Grip = Excellent Wear is actually very good for this kind of performance to fit in a normal car. I cannot find the limit of this tyre in my car. Probably will be very suitable to fit in very high performance car. For your average daily car though, the noise, the occasional metal sound when hitting a pothole, is unbearable. I thought my suspension was damaged or something. Very strong performer for normal car, but lacks the comfort and very noisy at normal highway speeds.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on July 28, 2021
Honda Civic 1.5T (215/50 R17) on mostly motorways for 20,000 average miles
Bought it on sale from my local tyre shop. Made In Japan . Had a few doubts before buying it, thought it was a mediocre tyre and bought it because it was on sale. Quite a surprise after using it for 40k KM. Tyre noise was minimal, steering feel is great during tight corner and high speed cornering. No issues with aqua planning. This is definitely an upgrade from Continental MaxContact 5 and way superior than Goodyear excellence.
Helpful 36 - tyre reviewed on May 24, 2021
Given 84% while driving a Holden SS V 6Ltr (275/35 R20 W) on mostly motorways for 15,000 average miles
I had PZero's on my car originally and was looking for a new tyre. The Dunlops came up and the reviews were decent so I gave them a shot. I drive a 420kw SSV Redline and these tyres handle that power just as well as the much more expensive Pirellis I was running. Will definitely buy these again.
Helpful 57 - tyre reviewed on July 17, 2020