Dunlop Sport Maxx 050+

The Dunlop Sport Maxx 050 Plus is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 79%
Road Feedback 83%
Handling 84%
Wear 81%
Comfort 75%
Buy again 78%

Tyre review data from 17 tyre reviews averaging 81% over 223,000 miles driven.

The Sport Maxx 050+ is ranked 35th of 137 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Dunlop Sport Maxx 050 Plus

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Dunlop Sport Maxx 050 Plus

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Dunlop Sport Maxx 050 Plus. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Dunlop Sport Maxx 050 Plus Reviews

Given 57% while driving a Lexus RX350 (235/55 R20 V) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Actually i m using sp sport maxx 050 instead of 050 plus. It was an OE tire for my 2016 lexus rx350 f sport. Well, i comment this tire is just above average after using for more than 5000km. It works fine when dry but really slippery when wet, not to mention how it performs when aquaplaning. Cant tell any on wear but i think it can last quite long for an average driver like me. All in all, if u sure urself is a mild driver then take it, otherwise go for some others.
Would not use again and probably go for goodyear or continental.
Helpful 342 - tyre reviewed on June 25, 2016
Given 87% while driving a Mercedes Benz E350 (245/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 20,000 average miles
i used dunlop sport maxx 050 plus in my merceds e300 for a year now. the tyre performance is excellent. i used to have continental tyre for double the price. dunlop provide me equal performance for half the price.
Helpful 171 - tyre reviewed on April 13, 2017
Given 80% while driving a Mazda 2010 2.3mps (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
I live in an area that gets a lot of rain and I was a little apprehensive about moving from a directional tyre to an asymmetric, these tires have eased my fears, I have had none of the traction issues in the wet as described by others, they are quieter then my directional tires and the wear seems excellent so far, I would absolutely buy these again based on my experience so far
Helpful 47 - tyre reviewed on September 30, 2018
Have you driven on the Dunlop Sport Maxx 050 Plus tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Dunlop Sport Maxx 050 Plus? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Dunlop Sport Maxx 050 Plus >

Latest Dunlop Sport Maxx 050 Plus Reviews

Given 84% while driving a Toyota Camry (215/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
My 2014 Camry was fitted with this tyre when I bought my car. The tyre held up pretty well considering it's almost two-years old when I bought it. In Indonesia, this is Dunlop's flagship tyre, and it does look good. Dry grip is excellent; giving me confidence when cornering in high speed in the motorways. Feels like the car sticks to the road. Wet grip should be OK; didn't notice any significant issue when driving in the rain. Wear rate - in two years the tyre still shows plenty of thread life with no cracking, I think it could last up to 4 years. Comfort - on asphalt it's quiet for my car, except when the road surface is rough (cobblestones, gravel, concrete etc) then you could hear the road noise. I like driving fast, and this tyre suits my need. If this tyre could last up to 4 years and price won't change much (currently it's sold around 25% lower than Michelin Pilot Sport in my country), I'd buy this tyre when it's time to replace it.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on May 12, 2022
Given 63% while driving a Honda Accord Tourer (235/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 20,000 average miles
I use it only summertime on a 1700kg Tourer on: motorways and countryroads in moderate driving style. Motorway between 130-160km/h, average roads w/ 60-90km/h, mostly w/ 1-2 person onboard and some luggages+doggo in the back. The car is one of the best travelling cars IMHO, so the chassis not very sporty, but between responsive and comfortable, i admit weight is an important factor that determines overall experience, but one by one: DRY: it drove well and the tyre has good grip, a bit sporty thanks to the size, i LOVE the rim protector (it's is wide and protects more than average tyres). WET: in wet it rolls OK, but sometime it tends to slip a bit when changing directions suddenly or at braking on countryroads :-( but just a bit, not dangerous, in rain on motorway it was stable. but becomes rigid after a while. Overall: Aging is the enemy of this compound, truly. The thread is still significant considering higher speed driving on motorways, but the rubber got old after 3 years and the comfort is half-gone, but most importantly: it's good that i drove rarely this year, because i noticed that PIECES HAVE TORN OUT of the surface, sometimes 0.2-0.8mm, sometimes, 1,5cm wide pieces and it's more than unsafe, i realized it when braking has become a bit shaking. So even i know that the thread still around 5mm (!!!) and in summer it's still rolls fine, because of this and the weak performance in wet corners and sometimes slippery behavior, i do NOT recommend this to anyone. :-( And on the whole; i will not buy Dunlop again. I am considering Good Year Eagle F1 Ass 5 and Bridgestone Potenza and maybe Conti PC 6XL. I'd rather go for a Michelin the most, but comparing the much higher price (PS4) and the simple travel purposes it would never provide such benefit for this car. But until i do not hear that Dunlop corrects this decline of material/structure, i will avoid its products.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on November 29, 2021
Want the best Performance summer tyre? Click here!
Given 83% while driving a Mitsubishi Lancer GT 2.0 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
These 050+ came stock from the 2020 Corolla Altis and now I know Toyota's secret recipe in making a good car. They're grippy in dry and have good feedback, average on wet, best of all is how quiet and comfortable these tyres are. It still won't beat PS4s tho
Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on November 3, 2021
Given 80% while driving a Honda HRV (215/55 R17) on mostly town for 40,000 average miles
Dry Grip = Excellent Wet Grip = Excellent Wear is actually very good for this kind of performance to fit in a normal car. I cannot find the limit of this tyre in my car. Probably will be very suitable to fit in very high performance car. For your average daily car though, the noise, the occasional metal sound when hitting a pothole, is unbearable. I thought my suspension was damaged or something. Very strong performer for normal car, but lacks the comfort and very noisy at normal highway speeds.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on July 28, 2021
Honda Civic 1.5T (215/50 R17) on mostly motorways for 20,000 average miles
Bought it on sale from my local tyre shop. Made In Japan . Had a few doubts before buying it, thought it was a mediocre tyre and bought it because it was on sale. Quite a surprise after using it for 40k KM. Tyre noise was minimal, steering feel is great during tight corner and high speed cornering. No issues with aqua planning. This is definitely an upgrade from Continental MaxContact 5 and way superior than Goodyear excellence.
Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on May 24, 2021
Given 84% while driving a Holden SS V 6Ltr (275/35 R20 W) on mostly motorways for 15,000 average miles
I had PZero's on my car originally and was looking for a new tyre. The Dunlops came up and the reviews were decent so I gave them a shot. I drive a 420kw SSV Redline and these tyres handle that power just as well as the much more expensive Pirellis I was running. Will definitely buy these again.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on July 18, 2020
Given 88% while driving a Chevrolet 2012 Cruze (225/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
I had continental premium contact 5 on 205/65R15, then I changed the rims with Dunlop Maxx 050+, I can say there is a huge difference in handling for Dunlop but braking performance is slightly lower than Continental.

Summary:
Handling & Cornering: Excellent
Braking: Average

Note: I'm driving on dry roads.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on November 18, 2019
Given 96% while driving a Skoda Yeti 4 x 4 (225/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Dunlop Japan’s flagship tyre. OE was Dunlop SP Sport 01, made in Germany. Didn’t manage to find the limit of those tyres. Max 050 plus made in Japan is completely different from Max 050 - much bigger blocks for better performance. These seem better all round than Sport 01, except lower life according to treadwear rating. Sport 01 did 50,000 miles.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on October 13, 2019
Given 79% while driving a BMW 535i Gran Turismo (275/40 R19) on mostly town for 500 average miles
Generally a good value mid performance touring tyre for summer. Cost 1/3 lesser than PZ4, about 10-15% cheaper, am satisfied with the car overall performance. Replace this over my Primacy RFT.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on September 2, 2019
Given 67% while driving a Lexus IS250 RWD (225/40 R18) on mostly town for 46,500 spirited miles
Bought new is250 gen.III with these stock Tyres Dunlop sp sport maxx 050 (not plus). Compare to old model so sport maxx it’s better but so much.
It goes straight as you want brakes good but it’s rather stiff and uncomfortable (stiffy and noisy).
Right now it’s 65000km on a clock and front Tyres are worn in internal sides because of front suspension geometry.
When they are totally worn I would buy Goodyear’s eagle 5 or Michelin Pilot 4.
Helpful 13 - tyre reviewed on August 28, 2019
Given 79% while driving a Subaru Legacy 2.5 GT Wagon (235/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 16,000 spirited miles
Managed to get a good deal on them and that was the best part. Review comments are based on my expectations for a UHP tyre. Lateral grip and braking performance fell short of my expectations, hence this would not be a tyre to recommend for any Track activity. It is resistant to aquaplaning though and was always confident driving through standing water. Steering response was good, it made the car feel more nimble. At high speed in a straight line (155) it was acceptably stable. NVH levels were low, good. I changed out before reaching the wear indicators.
Helpful 38 - tyre reviewed on February 18, 2019