Yokohama BluEarth AE50

The Yokohama BluEarth AE50 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Dry Grip 73%
Wet Grip 66%
Road Feedback 67%
Handling 68%
Wear 59%
Comfort 68%
Buy again 54%

Tyre review data from 35 tyre reviews averaging 65% over 407,860 miles driven.

The BluEarth AE50 is ranked 123rd of 147 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2020 Auto Zeitung Summer Tyre Test - 11th of 20 tyres

  • Positive - Precise steering in the wet, good slalom performance and good dry handling.
  • Negative - Long wet braking distances.
View Full Test >>

2019 Auto Zeitung Summer Tyre Test - 6th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - A well balanced tyre, low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Reduced aquaplaning resistance.
View Full Test >>

2018 AutoBild Summer Tyre Overview - 22nd of 47 tyres

View Full Test >>

2020 Tyre Tests

  • 11th: 2020 Auto Zeitung Summer Tyre Test (225/50 R17)
  • 2019 Tyre Tests

  • 6th: 2019 Auto Zeitung Summer Tyre Test (235/45 R18)
  • 2018 Tyre Tests

  • 22nd: 2018 AutoBild Summer Tyre Overview (195/65 R15)
  • 2016 Tyre Tests

  • 12th: 2016 AutoBild Summer Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • 13th: 2016 Market Overview - Braking Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2015 Tyre Tests

  • 12th: 2015 ACE Summer Touring Tyre Test (205/55 R16)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Yokohama BluEarth AE50

    Questions and Answers for the Yokohama BluEarth AE50

    2019-06-09 - What is the Temperature rating for AE50.. Is it A or B

    Sorry, we don't have data on the temperature ratings of the tyres.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    195/65 R15 £60.14 - £60.14 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    205/55 R16 £81.64 - £81.64 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 16 tyre sizes - View all.

    Top 3 Yokohama BluEarth AE50 Reviews

    Given 97% while driving a Mazda RX8 (225/45 R18 W) on mostly town for 600 average miles
    Had Autogrip (4 years old though) when I bought the car, they were terrible in the wet and I had to crawl around at low speed . Replaced all four with AE50, what a difference ! These tyres are fantastic for normal day to day driving even in wet weather.
    Helpful 366 - tyre reviewed on August 15, 2016
    Given 21% while driving a Maruti Udyog Celero (175/60 R16) on mostly town for 0 easy going miles
    My Celero Bluearth tyre lasted only 20000 kms. Whereas my MRF has given me 45000 kms
    Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on August 9, 2023
    Given 57% while driving a Lexus IS250 RWD (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 500 easy going miles
    Went from Jinyu 53 tyres to yokohama. Straight up after fitment, I noticed how bad the wheels were exposed in comparison to the Jinyus even though both doesn't claim to have any Rim Protect design. These were just so bad. Performance of Yokohama are way better, especially in the wet. I felt very confident on a 70MPH motorway drive in the middle of a cold and windy downpour. Ride comfort is worse than Jinyus- bumpier and way way louder. The stretches where my car used to be absolutely quiet are now producing deafening tyre noise. Just not worth the money at all. Would not recommend them even at a 50% discounted sale!
    Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on January 4, 2023
    Have you driven on the Yokohama BluEarth AE50 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Yokohama BluEarth AE50? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Yokohama BluEarth AE50 >

    Latest Yokohama BluEarth AE50 Reviews

    Given 54% while driving a Toyota Sienna (235/65 R17) on mostly town for 14,000 easy going miles
    Absolutely the worst tire in the rain. Even if road is a little wet from a previous rain they can’t grab the road. Even at 25 mph going up a hill unable to grab the road if it’s the least bit slick. I worry about my safety
    Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on March 11, 2023
    Given 54% while driving a Honda Civic 1.8 (225/50 R17) on mostly town for 25,000 easy going miles
    I bought the tyres after looking Yokohama Made in Japan 4419 built and got on in 2020 but they last only 20-25k. Not a value for money. Having weaker side walls, the tyre blooped out like Dunlop. Not buying again.
    Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on September 30, 2022
    What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 31% while driving a Ford Focus MK3 (215/50 R17) on mostly town for 2,000 average miles
    Just taken a pair of these off my ford focus. They are probably the noisiest most uncomfortable tires I have ever driven on. Like driving on flat rocks. Changed to some cheap Altenzo sports comforters and the car feels like a car again completely transformed the ride and stance of the car instead of feeling like a dodgem.car down the local fair. Absolute dud of a tyre
    Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on November 20, 2021
    Given 41% while driving a Ford Focus (215/50 R17) on mostly town for 7,000 average miles
    These tyres on front axle were only 8 months old when I purchased car. I thought yeah Yokohama's that's a good tyre. So far after another 3 months they have not impressed me at all. They always feel flat so much that I keep thinking I have a puncture and they are at the correct pressure. Not a lot of feedback from these tyres either and they are as noisy as hell on any surface. They just feel rather dull. Taking them off soon.
    Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on April 16, 2021
    Given 33% while driving a Citroën c4picasso (205/55 R17) on mostly country roads for 10,000 average miles
    Had tyres fitted and tracking done in June 2019, Just had my yearly MOT done for 2021 and had an advisory for front tyres. Not impressed as the tyres have barely done 10000mls.
    Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on March 20, 2021
    Given 74% while driving a Toyota Prius (215/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 60,000 easy going miles
    The Bluearth AE50 has a hard tread rubber, which becomes harder with age. While this greatly improves it's durability and longevity, wear resistance, it is thought to reduce it's grip in the wet. The directional pattern does much to prevent this from happening, but many reviewers have experienced wet braking difficulties. That said, I have driven these for 6 months and I have not experienced wet handling problems. There is however a noticeable loss of traction when accelerating hard from standing still, the car's ESC kicks in when this happens. The tyre is quiet, comfortable, corners easily and is enjoyable on long road tours. Fuel economy is typical of these low rolling resistance types of tyre.
    Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on September 3, 2020
    Given 73% while driving a Alfa Romeo 156 2.0 TS Veloce (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
    Tyre is set more towards economy than performance but still offers good handling. I was surprised how well it copes in the wet conditions I am driving on coilovers and after replacing the Pirelli P7s I was very much surprised how comfy they are.
    Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on April 30, 2020
    Given 69% while driving a Honda Civic 1.5T (235/40 R18) on mostly town for 20,000 average miles
    Noise getting louder after time.
    Overall not bad.
    Helpful 37 - tyre reviewed on August 13, 2019
    Given 20% while driving a Mazda 3 Skyactiv 2012 (205/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
    It’s a cheap Japanese tyre but not really worth. The poor handling, and wet grip of the tyres had me changed out just after 5000km of usage. I couldn’t accept the fact that it have such a poor grip on wet weather condition, which caused the tyre to drift out of the lane and I was lucky not to caught up with other car.
    Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on August 4, 2019
    Nissan (205/55 R16 R) on a combination of roads for 0 easy going miles
    I only used AE50 about 5000km yet into my Nissan E-power Nismo but I think AE50 are nice tyres low noice and with smart grip on the road wet and dry and I believe that these tyres are fuel efficient also and my staering wheel is much more comfortable than before, I believe in Yokohama products
    Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on July 28, 2019
    Given 69% while driving a (205/50 R16) on for 0 miles
    Nice AE50, I have rotation tires every 10k km, current near 90k km & not much heavy noise.
    Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on July 21, 2019
    Given 20% while driving a Nissan LEAF Tekna (205/55 R16 R) on a combination of roads for 22,000 easy going miles
    These lasted 22000 miles on my Nissan leaf.
    I now have 2mm tread on all four tyres, except front passenger side which is down to 1.6mm.
    Leaf does have design flaw that causes excess tyre wear due to misaligned rear axle that cant be adjusted.
    Anyway I think these tyres are not great and so I have decided to go for bridgestone T005 as replacement as these last well on my petrol car.
    I cant comment on grip handling etc as those are subjective opinion and I think affected by many factors, I can only judge wear as this is measured regularly in a scientific way.
    Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on December 6, 2018