Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO

With a best-in-class EU label A-grade in wet grip, the new Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO ensures outstanding control in the wet, and all without compromising on wear life.

This tyre replaced the Bridgestone Weather Control A005.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 94%
Wet Grip 98%
Road Feedback 90%
Handling 89%
Wear 88%
Comfort 89%
Buy again 94%
Snow Grip 64%
Ice Grip 65%

Tyre review data from 10 tyre reviews averaging 86% over 9,125 miles driven.

The Weather Control A005 EVO is ranked 5th of 38 All Season Premium Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2020 Auto Bild All Season Tyre Test - 10th of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Sporty dynamic handling in the dry and wet, short dry and wet braking, best rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Poor wear, moderate snow performance.
View Full Test >>

2020 All Season Tyre Market Overview - 32 Tyre Braking Test - 1st of 33 tyres

View Full Test >>

2020 Auto Bild SUV All Season Tyre Test - 3rd of 13 tyres

  • Positive - Balanced all rounder with best driving characteristics in the dry and wet, good winter qualities, dynamic handling in the wet and dry, short wet braking, low rolling resistance.
View Full Test >>
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO

Questions and Answers for the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO

2021-01-02 - Please can you clarify the legal position on fitting these tyres for winter use, relative to sizing. Example: normal tyre is 225/50/R17 on alloys, but looking at a set of steel rims (for winter use only), that the dealer says will need to be R16, so the winter tyre size they recommended would be 215/60/R16. This should give the same rolling radius for the speedometer, but are there any legal or insurance implications? Thanks for any guidance you can offer.

Assuming the manufacturer recommended this size in the handbook there will be no legal issues. It might be prudent to notify your insurance as UK insurers can be very uptight about wheel size changes for winter tyres.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Weather Control A005 EVO Prices

Size Price Range  
205/45 R17 £112.80 - £131.75 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £65.40 - £80.74 (17 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/45 R17 £91.80 - £112.80 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £79.00 - £100.86 (18 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R19 £142.40 - £163.40 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 77 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO Reviews

Renault Talisman 160 edc estate (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 0 spirited miles
Complete set of tyres fitted today.245/40 19 Very little difference in the EVO tyre pattern to the original, but maybe the improvements are what you cannot see? I will review in 10,000 kms. I have to make a few journeys through the Alps in the next six months, so I am sure their snow performance will be tested. What I know from my experience with the original A005’s is that wet grip is superb, aquaplaning greatly reduced risk, low wear, quiet and low rolling resistance.
81 - tyre reviewed on October 21, 2020   
Given 79% while driving a Volkswagen mk7 Golf GTD (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,500 spirited miles
A very good tyre from Bridgestone. Smashes the current Michelin cross climate in all but dry braking. One of the best straight aquaplaning tyres by far. At speed on the motorway in deep standing water there fantastic. A very predictable tyre with a very rounded package. You can almost feel the road. Very good. Maybe on the verge of unbeatable. Lets see how they perform when worn. Turn in not as good as Michelin Pilot sport 4 but better than Michelin Cross climate gen 2. Very expensive, but a must for people who just want to go at speed and get done. As a car mechanic and we fit loads of tyres these are good.
10 - tyre reviewed on December 21, 2020   
Given 92% while driving a Hyundai Accent (215/50 R17 V) on mostly motorways for 1,000 average miles
Replaced a (second) full set of Michelin Cross Climate +, due to slow punctures in 3 of them after 3k miles. These EVO tyres immediately felt more responsive, turning and braking, at all speeds. They are quieter and with more forgiving ride, than on the Cross Climate+ when new. My driving is A-roads and Motorways, where roads are wet/greasy or dry but rarely icy/snowy. I'm very pleased with these tyres.
5 - tyre reviewed on November 13, 2020   
Have you driven on the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO >

Latest Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO Reviews

Given 96% while driving a Skoda (225/50 R17 R) on a combination of roads for 1,500 spirited miles
Decided to go for these after a bad skid in ice last winter. 4 Bridgestones replaced 2 Goodyear Efficient Grip and 2 budgets. Waited until I was able to test them in winter conditions before I reviewed. The tyres have a distinctive feel. Much less pointed than the Goodyear but that's to be expected and not a bad thing. Noticeable improvement to the ride quality, particularly over bumps. Outstanding ice and snow performance for an all season tyre. Climbed a very steep country lane with compacted ice in -6°C weather without a blink. Excellent in the wet. Car feels planted and confident. I have noticed a dip in fuel consumption of about 5 mpg but that's my only negative really.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 12, 2021   
Given 87% while driving a Mazda MX5 2.0 SE (ND 2015 onwards) (205/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
I've now done 2000 miles with theseveral on my Mazda Mx-5 ND 2.0L manual. They've transformed grip vs OEM in cold wet conditions. And have been used in the snow and ice. Grip is poor, as the car floats on the snow, but I never got stuck despite driving in drifting snow in Scottish Highlands during February, and ocassional ice. Would recommend as advertised for cold wet conditions, and infrequent snow, where the objective is to get home safely.
1 - tyre reviewed on February 17, 2021   
Want the best tyre for real world driving? Watch this!
Given 92% while driving a Toyota GT86 (215/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
My Car is a GT86, came standard with Michelin Primacy HP as Summer and Bridgestone Blizzak as Winter. Size is 215/45R17. Both Sets were produced in Q3/2012, so pretty old by now and got very hard by now (especially the Michelins) The new Set of Tires (the Bridgestone Weather Control) are softer and ride quality is much improved. Less crashy over bumps and they feel quieter than before. Due to the softer compound, the tires are now doing more of the suspension work, before the suspension actually starts working. Feels great that way. They are also incredibly grippy (compared to the old ones) so going into a drift takes a little more effort, but once in the drift, its easier to keep it there (less steering input is needed to correct it) Tested it on a rainy day and temperatures were at 7° C
1 - tyre reviewed on February 8, 2021   
Given 79% while driving a Audi A1 (215/45 R17 V) on mostly motorways for 1,000 average miles
Overall, a good set of tires. In the dry the grip is good, nothing special but good considering they are all weather tires. In the wet is where they start to shine, good grip both in acceleration and braking as well as in the turns with wet roads. At highway speed, in very wet conditions under heavy rain, no aquaplaning at all. They give a lot of confidence in these situations. In snow they are used to take you home, they do not have a spectacular performance, but if you live in climates like me where it snows once every three or four years, on the days that it snows you will not have problems to return home safely. If you drive on snowy roads frequently or go a lot to ski resorts, these are not the right tires, they have not been designed for that, in those situations a set of full winter tires are the right ones. But as I say, for normal day-to-day driving in dry or wet, very good tires. In the snow they will save you, nothing else.
3 - tyre reviewed on January 10, 2021   
Given 90% while driving a BMW BMW X2 XDRIVE 20D M SPORT X AUTO (225/45 R19 V) on mostly country roads for 25 average miles
I have just fitted these tyres, which replaced Continental Eco Contact 6 (Run Flat) and thought I would give some initial feedback. After the hard and noisy run flats, these Bridgestone's are so much more compliant and quiet, yet so far I have not noticed any loss of feedback, in fact the first drive in greasy wet conditions, showed the tyre to provide good feedback and grip, which inspires confidence. I will update once I have covered more miles.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 16, 2020   
Given 100% while driving a Mazda MX5 2.0 SE (ND 2015 onwards) (205/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Fitted to rear wheels of Mazda MX5 ND (2017 2.0L), these have immediately cured the sliding issues of the hard Bridgestones that the car was originall fitted with, when it is a bit cold & a bit wet. Feels very secure. Not quite cold enough yet for snow, but very happy with feel and grip at few degrees above zero in the wet. Good price too. Have done 1000 miles since purchase in mostly cold-wet conditions, and was after a premium tyre that'll get me home if it snows, and safer in the winter. This is a good option !
0 - tyre reviewed on December 13, 2020