Bridgestone Weather Control A005

Bridgestone has designed the Weather Control A005 to meet the needs of consumers who are looking for year-round convenience and safety - For drivers who want to stay in control, with the same tyres, all year round regardless of sun, rain or occasional snow.

Bridgestone Weather Control A005 is legally compliant 365 days a year thanks to its qualified performance on snow, certified by the 3 Peak Mountain Snow Flake (3PMSF) marking.

The A005 is available in 68 sizes for 15” to 20” rims, it will immediately cover demand for 94% of passenger cars and on-road SUVs, with additional sizes being made available in 2019.

Tyre review data from 74 tyre reviews averaging 69% over 482,953 miles driven, and 13 tests with an average result of 5th.

Dry Grip 82%
Wet Grip 85%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 73%
Wear 56%
Comfort 72%
Buy again 57%
Snow Grip 62%
Ice Grip 58%

First On MarketMay 2018
Wheel Size15 - 20"
Width175 - 275mm
Profile35 - 70
Rolling ResistanceA - C
Wet GripA - B
Noise (dB)69 - 73
Winter Rating3PMSF Rated

The Weather Control A005 is ranked 40th of 58 All Season Premium Touring tyres.

This tyre replaced the Bridgestone A001 and this tyre has been replaced by the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO.

Tests Included

13

Best Result

1st

Worst Result

10th

Average Result

5th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2022 Sport Auto All Season Tyre Test
4th of 8 tyres
  • Quite balanced performance on snow for an all-season, decent grip in the wet, cornering, precise and quite similar to a summer tire in the dry.
  • Comparatively narrow threshold range on snow, low aquaplaning resistance, faintly audible, humming road noise at low speeds.
  • Good.
View Full Test >>
2020 Tyre Reviews All Season Tyre Test
4th of 11 tyres
  • Good in the dry, best on test in the wet, very low rolling resistance, highest levels of comfort, low noise.
  • Low grip in the snow for an all season tyre, average aquaplaning resistance.
  • The WeatherControl A005 excels in the dry and wet, and has the highest levels of comfort. It is the all season tyre to pick if you live in a climate which sees very little snow.

View Full Test >>
2020 ADAC SUV All Season Tyre Test
7th of 9 tyres
  • Top marks in the dry and wet.
  • Very weak in the snow.
View Full Test >>

SizeFuelWetNoise
15 inch
185/65R15 92 V XLCA69
195/65 R15 91 HCA71
185/65 R15 92 V XLCA70
195/55 R15 89 V XLCA71
195/65 R15 95 V XLCA71
16 inch
205/55R16 94 V XLCA72
205/60 R16 96 V XLBA71
205/60 R16 96 V XLBA71
205/60 R16 96 V XLBA71
205/60 R16 96 V XLBA71
205/60 R16 96 H XLAB71
205/60 R16 96 H XLAB71
215/60 R16 99 V XLCA71
215/70 R16 100 HCA71
205/55 R16 94 V XLCA71
205/60 R16 96 V XLCA71
205/55 R16 91 HCA71
17 inch
215/55 R17 98 H XLAB71
205/50 R17 93 V XLCA71
225/45 R17 94 W XLCA71
225/50 R17 98 V XLCA71
215/55 R17 98 H XLAB71
225/45 R17 94 V XLCA71
225/60 R17 103 V XLCA71
215/45 R17 91 W XLCA71
205/50 R17 93 W XLCA71
215/55 R17 98 W XLCA72
235/65 R17 108 V XLBA71
215/55R17 98 W XLCA72
225/45R17 94 W XLCA72
18 inch
225/40 R18 92 Y XLCA71
245/40 R18 97 Y XLCA71
235/60 R18 107 V XLBA71
245/45 R18 100 Y XLCA71
255/35 R18 94 Y XLCA72
19 inch
235/35 R19 91 Y XLCA71
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 >>

Questions and Answers for the Bridgestone Weather Control A005

2018-07-13 - http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre/Bridgestone/Weather-Control-A005.htm/price/195-45-16 This size seems very expensive. What are they made of - silk and gold?

I would hope so at that price! It might just be that the A005 is a new tyre and they haven't actually got prices for 195/45 R16 yet.


2018-09-21 - I'm buying a new car, it has 205/45r17 tyres. I'll drive for 10k kilometers every year, so I guess the best choices it's a 4 season tyres. I live in Italy and there is always high temps, we go under ten degrees for two months a year more or less. It's a strange tyre configuration..there aren't michelin crossclimate or goodyear 4 season for that size. I found just Nokian weatherproof, this Bridgestone and Vredestein Quatrac 5. Umm. Can you give me an advice? Maybe I can take this 4 wheels for summer and i'll take another 4 for winter, maybe with an higher shoulder of the tire, but I don't know if the shopping will be worth it. Thank you in advance!

Have you seen the latest all season tyre buying guide? This should give you a good indication of what to buy!


2018-11-03 - I've never changed my cars tyres for Winter before, but now have a performance car (leon cupra 300) with uhp summer tyres and have been told I must get them off before the really cold weather to avoid them cracking up. I want the maximum performance possible but a tyre that I can leave on through the winter whether it falls below -10°c or sneaks back up over 10°c. Not bothered about snow/ice performance as I live in south east and always drove through snow/ice before on pilot sports without any trouble lol. My only choice for all weather is these, otherwise it has to be a winter tyre. Michelin alpine 4's also fit but cost loads more. Do you think these Bridgestones are my best option? Thanks

These seem to be a good all season option if dry and wet is your priority, however any siped tyre designed to work in snow is going to reduce the dry handling of a sports car / hot hatch, so don't expect too much from them!


2018-12-18 - I'm curious about the low score for wear - could I ask where this comes from as they've not been around long and the reviews are all low miles. They seem a good alternative to the michelin cross climate+, but not if they wear much quicker.

Looking at the database entries for each review, the wear marks for the A005 seem to be guesses. I'd wait until there's more data or a magazine test which tests wear to make up your mind (or buy a set and let me know!)


2019-05-17 - My question is about the suitability of these all season tyres instead of winter tyres in the south east of the UK. I have two sets of wheels for my car and experience of both summer and winter tyres. Given the UK weather in the south east I typically put winter tyres on for only a a few months (Nov-March) and during that you often get days where the temp is above the circa 7 degrees where winters are best. So would an all season tyre like this one be better for my normal winter conditions which do not involve snow but where you do have lots of rain and cold and frosty days? Also would all season tyres extend the optimum period so that I could use for them for a longer period say start October to end April?

Yes, I believe a wet optimised all season tyre like this or the Michelin CrossClimate can be used as a winter tyre for the mild uk climate. They will still vastly out perform a summer tyre if we see any snow.


2019-10-03 - Hello, just got a Mercedes Marco Polo campervan (RWD) and am interested as to whether an all season tyre like this would give better traction on wet grass / mud? I need 245/45 r19's and this is the only premium option I can find to fit. Currently shod with Pirelli P Zeros. As it’s a campervan, I’m not bothered about dynamic handling, but it doesn’t need to be any Wobblier! Any thoughts?

All season tyres can certainly offer slightly increased mud and grass traction thanks to more edges (sipes) and a chunkier tread pattern.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
Available in 8 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Bridgestone Weather Control A005 Reviews

Opel Astra Hatch 1,0T (205/55 R16 H) on mostly town for 0 easy going miles
Brand new All Weather tyres for the upcoming season.
Aprox. 7,3mm tread depth.
They are replacing the OEM Michelin Energy Saver+, an so far the feel more quiet, and a bit softer and giving a more comfortable ride.
They are priced in the same range as the Goodyear, Continental, and Michelin, so we will have to wait and see how long they will last.

Helpful 198 - tyre reviewed on October 12, 2018
Given 42% while driving a BMW 420d (255/35 R19) on mostly country roads for 200 average miles
I replaced my summer Bridgestone runflats with these these all season tyres. Around 8°C and wet roads, I think the handling is very sluggish and grip poor in turns.
Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on December 15, 2023
Given 79% while driving a Renault (195/55 R16) on mostly town for 20,000 average miles
Overall it is great tyre especially in wet roads. I am using day to day in 2 years. I think it will last maximum 3 years. Yearly i am using 10k kms. We do not have great roads. Tried on winter on ice once, and it was awful experience.
Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on October 6, 2023
Have you driven on the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Bridgestone Weather Control A005? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Bridgestone Weather Control A005 >

Latest Bridgestone Weather Control A005 Reviews

Given 57% while driving a Subaru Forester (225/55 R18) on mostly motorways for 35,000 easy going miles
After 15.000 km, the road facing tread of the front tires began to peel off. Also there was uneven wear on all 4 tires; where the tread become wider. It is now giving a shaky ride and i will replace them. (50.000 km driven). They still have enough depth to go 30k km but uneven wear makes them unusable.
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on May 17, 2023
Given 80% while driving a Renault (185/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 12,000 easy going miles
High performance tires but which most of the time do not exceed 25,000 km. Like all all seasons tires they are a bit noisy but it's still respectable
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on April 16, 2023
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 50% while driving a Subaru Forester (255/60 R17) on mostly motorways for 26,000 easy going miles
After 1 year of use the front tires began to tear, after another afew months those damaged threads began to fall off. İt is really sad and dangerous as my opinion.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on March 29, 2023
Given 74% while driving a Opel Corsa C (185/65 R15) on mostly town for 25,000 spirited miles
Absolute orgasmic grip pleasure driving on wet, I bought based on reviews here and they're confirmed. Totally miserable on snow. Never needed on ice, cannot tell. Rode them on highways 170km/h in every summer, but the feedback is like you're floating so I don't recommend exceeding 150km/h. Quite wear after 3 years but that's understandable, you cannot have it all. Since I don't drive in snowy winter conditions and the winters in southern Romania are nowadays mostly snowless due to climate change, I find this the best option when you cannot afford seasonal tires AND you don't have harsh winters. Definitely will buy again next autumn (but the EVO model this time), since I always replace tires at 4 years, won't wait for the 6 years as in the guidelines.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on February 14, 2023
Given 85% while driving a Renault (195/55 R20) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Very good tyre I have tested it in all conditions from 0 to -10c including ice and snow and I can say that they have never put a foot wrong
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on December 11, 2022
Given 71% while driving a Kia Motors ceed (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 14,500 average miles
When I first got these tyres I was very happy. Nice ride, great in the wet & snow performance was fine in the 1 day we had snow (2-3 inches). However, rear offside developed a noise which turned out to be cupping after only 8K miles (2 years motoring due to Pandemic). Replaced with 2 Vredestein Quatrac Pros as advise was that directional all season tyres were prone to deformations. As they are asymmetric they seem fine. On first MoT at 14500 miles the remaining 2 A005s had worn down a lot & especially FNS which had bad wearing to inside rim. The FOS was deforming as well. Car's tracking was out by no more than 1mm. In all on the face of it they seemed good tyres but had wear issues I have never had in over 40 years with both summer & winter tyres. These are my first all-season tyres so rather disappointed. I hope the Vredestein fare better.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on October 4, 2022
Given 42% while driving a Skoda (185/65 R15) on mostly motorways for 12,000 easy going miles
Put a pair of these on the front of a Skoda Fabia (95ps 1.0TSI). Mostly steady 65-70mph motorway driving, and after 12,000 they're down to wear bars and sides of the tread are showing age cracking. Terrible tyres in this small size. Just replaced with Kumho ES31 summers (similar to the factory fit ES01).
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on September 14, 2022
Given 63% while driving a Volkswagen Passat B7 2.0 TDI 140hp Estate (215/55 R16) on mostly town for 27,000 average miles
I'm pretty disappointed in the end mainly because the tires only lasted 27.000 km all in all, but the performance drop was huge after say 20.000 km. The tires have very little grip both in the dry and the wet, the wheels spin easily even in 2nd gear, even in the dry and we are talking about a 1.5 ton 140 bhp car. I don't use the car much in the winter, but last winter convinced me, that it's time for new tires, the car was all over the place, it didn't feel safe anymore. I found them pretty noisy as well, but the handling was very good. I will replace them with the new Michelin Cross climate 2, let's see how they'll perform.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on May 31, 2022
Given 63% while driving a Kia Motors ceed (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 9,000 average miles
Bought these tyres in April 2020. Have done 9000 miles in UK driving on all roads. Noise developed on rear near side, similar to faulty wheel bearing sound. This was since a service in Sept 2021. The car is fine. Wheel alignment spot on. Rotated tyres rear to front. Noise moved to front near side. No effect on steering. Car drives perfectly. Noticed all tyres display ‘sawtoothing’. Also the noisy tyre in noticeably worn on the inside. Not apparent on the other three. Further, the sipes have worn completely on both shoulders at about every 7 or 8 blocks. Other tyres displayed the sipes worn across the width of the tyre, again about every 7 or 8 blocks. Very strange and nothing I have seen before in nearly 50 years of motoring. I am totally confident in the car but not these tyres. I suspect the quality & robustness of the tyre. Not dangerous but disconcerting. Will not buy again.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on April 21, 2022
Given 43% while driving a Renault Mudus 1.5 DCI Oasis (185/70 R15) on a combination of roads for 15,000 easy going miles
Based on my experience, the tyres performance wise were alright. On ice or snow - worse than the worst winter tyres, and probably better than the best summer tyres. Overall it wasn't too noisy. But they have worn down very badly in only 1.5 years during which they did only 15k miles. Imagine that: time zero - getting new tyres installed. time +1.5 years - visually the thread is looking low. time + 1.8 years - MOT warning (still a pass). Those tyres did not last long at all. Run from them. I do not recommend. Maybe for other cars it's a different story, but based on my experience - run. I will never buy this again, and I will attempt to look away from Bridgestone altogether. That said, other inspected brand (different tyres, different car) has it's own different problems, so you have to choose which negative you can take.
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on April 7, 2022
Given 36% while driving a Ford 05 Mondeo 185 (modded) diesel (225/60 R18) on for 4,000 average miles
Had these on a hired Ford Kuga, utterly useless in the snow/ice/slush and way too much understeer in the dry, not driven in wet so no comment on that aspect. However the incredibly poor winter performance shows that the "snowflake" mark on a tyre is unfortunately still no indication whatsoever of any kind of acceptable performance in these conditions - Avoid, if you must fit all-season tyres then go with Goodyear or Michelin.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on March 14, 2022
Given 83% while driving a Nissan Pulsar (195/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 1,000 easy going miles
Disagree with the reviews criticising the grip in snow. Yes - you have to drive to suit the road conditions, but so far, these tyres haven't let me down. Considering they are 'all-season', to find a hybrid tyre that will handle all conditions is rare. I've used Michelin Cross-Climate previously and the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 tyres are at least on a par. Drove through heavy snow (yes-to the conditions) and felt the grip was good. Same goes for wet and dry conditions. Haven't had the tyres long enough to assess wear rate, but as a tyre with a good all round performance so far - no complaints.
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on February 24, 2022