Bridgestone Weather Control A005

Bridgestone has designed the Weather Control A005 to meet the needs of consumers who are looking for year-round convenience and safety - For drivers who want to stay in control, with the same tyres, all year round regardless of sun, rain or occasional snow.

Bridgestone Weather Control A005 is legally compliant 365 days a year thanks to its qualified performance on snow, certified by the 3 Peak Mountain Snow Flake (3PMSF) marking.

The A005 is available in 68 sizes for 15” to 20” rims, it will immediately cover demand for 94% of passenger cars and on-road SUVs, with additional sizes being made available in 2019.

This tyre replaced the Bridgestone A001 and this tyre has been replaced by the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 82%
Wet Grip 85%
Road Feedback 79%
Handling 74%
Wear 62%
Comfort 73%
Buy again 63%
Snow Grip 66%
Ice Grip 62%

Tyre review data from 58 tyre reviews averaging 72% over 255,253 miles driven.

The Weather Control A005 is ranked 32nd of 42 All Season Premium Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2020 Sport Auto All Season Tyre Test - 1st of 9 tyres

  • Positive - Very short braking distances and safe handling int he wet, easy controllable handling in the dry.
  • Negative - Limited snow performance for an all season tyre.
  • Overall - Limited on snow but safest tyre for cold and wet roads.
View Full Test >>

2020 Tyre Reviews All Season Tyre Test - 4th of 11 tyres

  • Positive - Good in the dry, best on test in the wet, very low rolling resistance, highest levels of comfort, low noise.
  • Negative - Low grip in the snow for an all season tyre, average aquaplaning resistance.
  • Overall - The WeatherControl A005 excels in the dry and wet, and has the highest levels of comfort. It is the all season tyre to pick if you live in a climate which sees very little snow.

View Full Test >>

2020 ADAC SUV All Season Tyre Test - 7th of 9 tyres

  • Positive - Top marks in the dry and wet.
  • Negative - Very weak in the snow.
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/50 R15 82V   C A 71 6.78kgs
185/55 R15 86H XL   C A 70 7.29kgs
195/55 R15 89V XL   C A 71 7.19kgs
185/60 R15 88V XL   C A 70 7.38kgs
195/60 R15 92V XL   C A 71 7.63kgs
175/65 R15 88H XL   C A 70 7.03kgs
185/65 R15 92H XL   E A 72 10.61kgs
185/65 R15 92V XL   C A 70 7.21kgs
195/65 R15 91H   C A 71 7.75kgs
195/65 R15 95H XL   E A 71 11.43kgs
195/65 R15 95V XL   C A 71 7.75kgs
205/65 R15 99V XL   C A 71 8.46kgs
195/45 R16 84H XL   C A 71 6.80kgs
195/55 R16 91V XL   C A 71 7.55kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   C A 71 8.35kgs
205/55 R16 91H   C A 71 8.07kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   C A 71 8.70kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   E A 71 10.80kgs
215/55 R16 97V XL   C A 71 9.10kgs
225/55 R16 99W XL   C A 71 9.52kgs
205/60 R16 96V XL   C A 71 8.51kgs
205/60 R16 96V XL   E A 72 9.83kgs
235/60 R16 104V XL   C A 71 10.78kgs
215/65 R16 102V XL   C A 71 9.77kgs
215/70 R16 100H   C A 71 10.27kgs
215/45 R17 91W XL   C A 71 9.42kgs
225/45 R17 94W XL   C A 71 9.12kgs
225/45 R17 94W XL   C A 72 11.96kgs
225/45 R17 94V XL   C A 71 9.12kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 71 9.53kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 71 10.47kgs
205/50 R17 93W XL   C A 71 10.05kgs
205/50 R17 93V XL   C A 71 10.31kgs
215/50 R17 95W XL   C A 71 9.38kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL   C A 71 9.59kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL   C A 72 13.55kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL   C A 71 10.50kgs
215/55 R17 98W XL   C A 72 9.94kgs
225/55 R17 101W XL   C A 71 10.62kgs
235/55 R17 103V XL   C A 71 10.86kgs
215/60 R17 100V XL   C A 72 9.92kgs
215/60 R17 100V XL         11.50kgs
215/60 R17 100V XL   C A 72 9.85kgs
225/60 R17 103V XL   C A 71 10.66kgs
225/65 R17 106V XL   C A 71 11.19kgs
235/65 R17 108V XL   B A 71 11.76kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL   C A 72 12.50kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 71 9.10kgs
235/40 R18 95W XL   C A 71 11.42kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 71 10.03kgs
225/45 R18 95V XL   C A 71 10.34kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 71 10.38kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C A 71 10.84kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   C A 72 13.48kgs
235/50 R18 101V XL   C A 71 12.65kgs
245/50 R18 100V   C A 71 12.02kgs
215/55 R18 99V XL   C A 71 12.28kgs
225/55 R18 98V   C A 71 11.30kgs
255/55 R18 109V XL   B A 72 13.23kgs
225/60 R18 100H   C A 71 11.10kgs
235/60 R18 107V XL   B A 71 11.92kgs
235/65 R18 106V   C A 71 15.34kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C A 71 11.11kgs
275/40 R19 105Y XL   C A 71 12.93kgs
215/50 R19 93T C+       10.20kgs
255/50 R19 107W XL   C A 72 13.03kgs
235/55 R19 105W XL   C A 72 14.19kgs
195/55 R20 95H XL   C A 71 10.42kgs

Questions and Answers for the Bridgestone Weather Control A005

2018-07-13 - http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre/Bridgestone/Weather-Control-A005.htm/price/195-45-16 This size seems very expensive. What are they made of - silk and gold?

I would hope so at that price! It might just be that the A005 is a new tyre and they haven't actually got prices for 195/45 R16 yet.


2018-09-21 - I'm buying a new car, it has 205/45r17 tyres. I'll drive for 10k kilometers every year, so I guess the best choices it's a 4 season tyres. I live in Italy and there is always high temps, we go under ten degrees for two months a year more or less. It's a strange tyre configuration..there aren't michelin crossclimate or goodyear 4 season for that size. I found just Nokian weatherproof, this Bridgestone and Vredestein Quatrac 5. Umm. Can you give me an advice? Maybe I can take this 4 wheels for summer and i'll take another 4 for winter, maybe with an higher shoulder of the tire, but I don't know if the shopping will be worth it. Thank you in advance!

Have you seen the latest all season tyre buying guide? This should give you a good indication of what to buy!


2018-11-03 - I've never changed my cars tyres for Winter before, but now have a performance car (leon cupra 300) with uhp summer tyres and have been told I must get them off before the really cold weather to avoid them cracking up. I want the maximum performance possible but a tyre that I can leave on through the winter whether it falls below -10°c or sneaks back up over 10°c. Not bothered about snow/ice performance as I live in south east and always drove through snow/ice before on pilot sports without any trouble lol. My only choice for all weather is these, otherwise it has to be a winter tyre. Michelin alpine 4's also fit but cost loads more. Do you think these Bridgestones are my best option? Thanks

These seem to be a good all season option if dry and wet is your priority, however any siped tyre designed to work in snow is going to reduce the dry handling of a sports car / hot hatch, so don't expect too much from them!


2018-12-18 - I'm curious about the low score for wear - could I ask where this comes from as they've not been around long and the reviews are all low miles. They seem a good alternative to the michelin cross climate+, but not if they wear much quicker.

Looking at the database entries for each review, the wear marks for the A005 seem to be guesses. I'd wait until there's more data or a magazine test which tests wear to make up your mind (or buy a set and let me know!)


2019-05-17 - My question is about the suitability of these all season tyres instead of winter tyres in the south east of the UK. I have two sets of wheels for my car and experience of both summer and winter tyres. Given the UK weather in the south east I typically put winter tyres on for only a a few months (Nov-March) and during that you often get days where the temp is above the circa 7 degrees where winters are best. So would an all season tyre like this one be better for my normal winter conditions which do not involve snow but where you do have lots of rain and cold and frosty days? Also would all season tyres extend the optimum period so that I could use for them for a longer period say start October to end April?

Yes, I believe a wet optimised all season tyre like this or the Michelin CrossClimate can be used as a winter tyre for the mild uk climate. They will still vastly out perform a summer tyre if we see any snow.


2019-10-03 - Hello, just got a Mercedes Marco Polo campervan (RWD) and am interested as to whether an all season tyre like this would give better traction on wet grass / mud? I need 245/45 r19's and this is the only premium option I can find to fit. Currently shod with Pirelli P Zeros. As it’s a campervan, I’m not bothered about dynamic handling, but it doesn’t need to be any Wobblier! Any thoughts?

All season tyres can certainly offer slightly increased mud and grass traction thanks to more edges (sipes) and a chunkier tread pattern.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Weather Control A005 Prices

Size Price Range  
185/60 R15 £102.49 - £106.00 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £69.00 - £128.90 (19 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £95.00 - £150.20 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R18 £128.00 - £128.00 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 40 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Bridgestone Weather Control A005 Reviews

Opel Astra Hatch 1,0T (205/55 R16 H) on mostly town for 0 easy going miles
Brand new All Weather tyres for the upcoming season.
Aprox. 7,3mm tread depth.
They are replacing the OEM Michelin Energy Saver+, an so far the feel more quiet, and a bit softer and giving a more comfortable ride.
They are priced in the same range as the Goodyear, Continental, and Michelin, so we will have to wait and see how long they will last.

162 - tyre reviewed on October 12, 2018   
Given 53% while driving a Mercedes Benz C220 CDI Blue Eff. auto (225/45 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 4,000 easy going miles
I bought those tyres for British winter, but obviously tyres is rubbish at cold weather. It's too dangerous to drive. It's impossible to handle the vehicle on snow. A been driving a cheap budget tyres and even those miles are better then Bridgestone a005.
Breaking distance is unbelievable bad. My wife was scare to sit next to me. I'm not talking about driving.
I wouldn't recommend to buy 100% NO.
35 - tyre reviewed on January 10, 2019   
Given 100% while driving a Mercedes Benz E220Cdi (225/45 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 1,200 easy going miles
Wonderful feeling to drive in rain,dry,ice.
25 - tyre reviewed on December 30, 2018   
Have you driven on the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Bridgestone Weather Control A005? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Bridgestone Weather Control A005 >

Latest Bridgestone Weather Control A005 Reviews

Given 62% while driving a Skoda (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 12 spirited miles
They're fine and ok in the snow but not as good as the Cross Climate. Although infinitely better than a summer tyre. The big problem is the wear, I have a powerful car with four wheel drive but they're nearly done after a year's use. Not very good value at all.
2 - tyre reviewed on September 15, 2021   
Given 91% while driving a Toyota Corolla (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
2 years ago I bought 4x Bridgestone Weather Control A005s. I've covered 21k miles on them, rotated the tyres once and now all are at 3mm of tread left. My driving is a good mix of motorway and fast, twisty A-roads up in the hills of Lancashire and the car is usually running heavy with people and kit on board. In wet weather these tyres provide plenty of confidence. There is lots of grip for fast driving on twisty roads with plenty in reserve for an emergency situation. When newer they happily tracked through standing water at speed and maintained your position on the road. On dry roads, in a family car, I think you'd be hard-pressed to notice the difference between these all season tyres and some dedicated summer tyres regarding grip levels and steering precision. I've had a few opportunities to drive on snow but no more than 2 to 4 inches deep. Fresh snow posed no real issues with gaining traction, even up moderate inclines. However, compacted snow showed the tyre's weakness whilst getting moving on slight uphill sections. Additionally, cornering grip ran out much earlier than expected. As an example, out in the sticks I had to make a right turn into a wide open junction on a mix of packed snow and slush. I was probably going 12mph, if that, and the tyres failed to follow the moderate amount of steering lock applied and skittered almost straight on towards the kerb. To prevent an expensive bit of wheel and suspension damage I hit the brakes and the ABS must've pulsed about 30 times to slow the car enough to allow the tyres to grip again. The tyres probably had about 5-6mm of tread at that time. I was very surprised by the lack of "bite" the tyres had on such a little amount of snow, especially given I have turned into this road 1,000s of times in different cars, on various tyres and in worse conditions. Having had cars fitted with Nokian WRA3s, WRD4s, WRD3s, Hankook Winter Icept*RS2s & various Goodyear Vector 4Seasons (Gen 1 & 2) I think the A005s beat them all in the wet and dry. But in the snow, the A005s come in last place by some margin. They're not terrible on snow but traction, braking and cornering are not a patch on the tyres listed above. Noise levels? There are no tiresome noises or irritating droning at motorway speeds. They're a good companion when travelling long distances and comfort levels are high. They seem to absorb road imperfections very well indeed. Fuel economy? Not noticed any difference between the A005s and the summer tyres previously fitted. Wear? Just over 20k miles (there might be another 5-8k left in them) given the types of roads I drive on I don't think is too bad. The A-road surfaces themselves are rough and scarred and the tyres take a lot of punishment in that respect, so I'm happy with that result. Would I recommend them / buy them again? Definitely, they're fantastic and I'm really happy with them (my wife bought the newer Evo version for her car). The only caveat that might change your mind is if you drive in hilly areas where it snows more frequently than in Lancashire. In which case, all things considered with my experience of the above tyres, buy the Goodyear Vector 4Seasons - I feel they're 90% of the A005s in the wet & dry but far superior in the snow. Just to contradict what I've written above, I'm currently waiting for the arrival of 4 Falken Euroall Season AS210s which will replace the A005s this October / November - I like trying different tyres out, you see!
1 - tyre reviewed on September 4, 2021   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 62% while driving a Fiat 500 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
bought the A005 as they were the only summer bias all season tires available for the size I needed at the time. While they have done an amazing job for 15k km in 2 years, with good dry and very good wet grip, also in cold conditions, they have become extremely noisy in the past few months. When driven on the highway at 110 kph or more the rolling noise is really present. Considering changing them for this reason alone, despite they still have plenty of thread left and they are still performing pretty well overall. Really disappointed with Bridgestone this time... maybe this is the reason why the A005 Evo already Wear at 15k km is acceptable, with a front to rear swap they could last another 20k km, but consider this is on a very light fiat 500
0 - tyre reviewed on August 31, 2021   
Given 64% while driving a Mercedes Benz E350 (235/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
These were already on the front of my recently purchased Mercedes E350CDi Sport Coupe. i have no idea how many miles they have covered but there is around 2-3mm of tread left. What concerns me is the 'shards' of rubber which are highly noticeable across the width and shoulder of the tyres. Imagine snapping a thin piece of timber and the ragged ends, that's how my A005's look. You can literally pull these shards off and leave a tear-hole below. The tread depth shows there is still life left in them but I am getting them taken off. Just ordered a set of Continental Sport Contact 6 to replace.
1 - tyre reviewed on July 16, 2021   
Given 44% while driving a Hyundai Tucson (245/45 R19) on a combination of roads for 16,000 average miles
Very expensive in Portugal, 230 € / 198 £. Lasted 26000 Km / 16000 Miles (front tyres). The ruber after a few months started peeling off.
2 - tyre reviewed on May 15, 2021   
Given 79% while driving a Ford Mondeo TDCI (215/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 11,000 average miles
Good tyres but I was disappointed in the wear, they only lasted 11k miles on the front of a diesel mondeo, whereas another premium brand 4 seasons tyre lasted 50% longer on the exact same daily commute roads.
3 - tyre reviewed on May 12, 2021   
Given 50% while driving a Volvo v70 D5 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
Amazingly poor wear, very disappointed. Tyres were great when new but all 4 were down to just 2mm after 14 months (around 12,000 miles travelled). All 4 wheels had been aligned and my driving style is not agressive. Grip was good when new, but obviously worsened as tread decreased. Quite a hard ride too, not very comfortable.
3 - tyre reviewed on January 27, 2021   
Given 47% while driving a Volkswagen Tiguan 2.0 TDI 170hp (255/40 R19 V) on mostly motorways for 0 easy going miles
Very noisy and with important wear after only 30000km. So, take into consideration that you can use them for maximum 2 winters - at least in Eastern Europe. I will not buy them again!
9 - tyre reviewed on December 22, 2020   
Given 91% while driving a Renault Talisman 160 edc estate (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 16 spirited miles
So the two A005’s on the front of my Renault Talisman were taken off today after a year and just over 26,000 kms on the front wheels. There was plenty of tread left, and the tyres wet performance had. It degraded. Front left 4.3mm tread left. Front right 4.5mm tread. So nowhere near worn out. The big pluses of these tyres is the excellent wet road grip, low noise, and low rolling resistance. Today I have had four Bridgestone weathercontrol A005 EVO tyres fitted. I will review in due course.
6 - tyre reviewed on October 21, 2020   
Given 81% while driving a Renault Talisman 160 edc estate (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 18,000 spirited miles
So this an update on these tyres which have been on my car for almost a year and have covered 18000 miles so far. Up until now the tyres have worn evenly. Looking at the fronts in particular, there is no sign of any severe degradation. I commute to London from northern France, but in recent months have been making round trips to northern Italy where I am now. Currently we have been experiencing temperatures of daily highs hitting 36C. On previous trips in July and August, it was even hotter. This has not affected the integrity of the tyre. On the autoroute/autostrada the car tracks straight and true. Road noise is not an issue. In the wet, this tyre inspires confidence. I have had to make a couple of emergency stops on wet/greasy roads and the ABS was not activated. I have not experienced any snowy conditions. Fuel consumption has not been affected adversely with the Bridgestone tyres. To maximise the range of the relatively small 48 litre fuel tank on the Talisman (due to the rear wheel steering), I cruise at 110kph as per the GPS. The car averages 5.2 l/100 kms at this speed or 51 mpg which I think is excellent for such a big car. At 130 kph fuel consumption increases to 6.8 l/100 kph. Regarding ride comfort, I have the XL version of this tyre. I run the tyre pressures at the lower option as recommended by Renault of 2.3 Bar fronts and 2.1 Bar rear which is for constant speeds up to 160 kph. If heavily laden the pressures should be adjusted to 2.6 F, 2.4 R. Ride comfort has been fine at the lower setting and the tyres have worn evenly. I chose this tyre because I wanted a specification which leaned towards wet, icy or slushy conditions. The tyre has a high resistance to aquaplaning and I have experienced quite a few events of high speed driving in heavy rain. These tyres appear to be wearing better than the original summer Continental rubber on the front. Looking at the front tyres right now, there is still some way to go to the wear bars. I haven’t noticed any dramatic loss of performance so far. My plan is to make another trip to Italy in October, then replace all four tyres before the onset of winter. I am not going to wear the tyres right out. On my previous car, a 2016 BMW 518d estate, I fitted Michelin Cross Climate tyres which were excellent. I see that there is an EVO version of the Bridgestone A005 now. Perfect timing. Also the Michelin CC tyres are now available in the Talisman’s size. The company who supply my tyres in a France and fit them at my home, are offering free fitting with the Michelin’s. However the French brand are €39 more each than the new Bridgestone A005 EVO’s. It will be a difficult choice.
2 - tyre reviewed on September 18, 2020   
Given 66% while driving a Honda Civic 1.8 5 door (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 4,800 easy going miles
Fitted these as a replacement for the OEM Bridgestone Turanza, based on 4 & 5 star reviews. Liked the wet weather safety performance so after quite a lot of research ordered these through Halfords online and had them fitted at a local Halfords autocentre. They had performed really well as a daily tyre, with no real noticeable concerns. Clearly a 1.8 Honda Civic is never going to really push tyres to any limits so across 12 months (all of the seasons) they have done as expected and safely ferried the kids, the shopping, the dogs etc... However very disappointingly exactly 1 year and day after being fitted the car had its annual MOT and was failed because the tyres on the driven wheels had started to fall apart. 12 months and 4800 miles after being fitted! The tread blocks were split and flaps of tread were hanging off. The tyres have been returned to Bridgestone for examination and replaced at our cost to pass the MOT. I'm very disappointed in the short life of these tyres and what I'm more concerned about is that after contacting both Halfords and Bridgestone UK they advise that they wouldnt recommend fitting these tyres in the UK unless living up north or in Scotland where its apparently colder or has more chance of snow. I've checked several websites and have yet to find this information in the usage guidance. So in summary I wouldn't recommend the A005 Weather Control tyre if you're expecting a reasonable level of wear from your tyres. They apparently cannot cope with one of the seasons. The heat of a summer!
13 - tyre reviewed on September 12, 2020   
Given 85% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giulietta (205/55 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 10 easy going miles
Tried these tyres wife works at local hospital 11 miles away but some nice hills and poorly salted roads in winter can be an issue and she cant miss a shift due to weather and I drive her there. These are on my personal car not company car. Grip in all conditions (not met real snow) has been excellent ex motorbike rider like the corners bends and roundabouts :) I put the car in the line I want and the tyres keep it there, can wheel spin on a spirited start but other than that performance wise great tyre. Tread wear, at 10,500 miles service mechanics flagged that I was close to legal limit! that is somewhat disappointing as Bridgestone states " Offers the same high mileage as Bridgestone summer tyres" Hmmm not so happy with this especially when I made the decision to fit All Season it means you can not mix any other tyre type on the car so I either have to replace all 4 or suck it up and accept I am only going to get 10k miles on front tyres. Before you all say heavy right foot I have been driving economically for the last year these tyres were purchased 17th January 2019.
8 - tyre reviewed on August 12, 2020