Nexen WinGuard Sport 2

The Nexen WinGuard Sport 2 is a Touring Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Nexen Winguard Sport.

Dry Grip 85%
Wet Grip 84%
Road Feedback 72%
Handling 76%
Wear 86%
Comfort 84%
Buy again 78%
Snow Grip 81%
Ice Grip 72%

Tyre review data from 28 tyre reviews averaging 80% over 123,760 miles driven.

The WinGuard Sport 2 is ranked 32nd of 96 Winter Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2023 Winter Tyre Test 54 Set Braking Test - 27th of 54 tyres

View Full Test >>

2021 Auto Bild Sports Car Winter Tyre Test - 10th of 14 tyres

  • Positive - Stable dry handling, low noise, low price.
  • Negative - Long wet braking, poor snow grip.
View Full Test >>

2021 ADAC 17 Inch Winter Tyre Test - 5th of 18 tyres

  • Positive - Good dry braking, good on ice.
  • Negative - Weakness in drivability in the dry, weakness in the wet, slight weakness in the snow, devaluation due to high wear.
View Full Test >>

2023 Tyre Tests

  • 27th: 2023 Winter Tyre Test 54 Set Braking Test (225/45 R18)
  • 2021 Tyre Tests

  • 5th: 2021 ADAC 17 Inch Winter Tyre Test (225/50 R17)
  • 10th: 2021 Auto Bild Sports Car Winter Tyre Test (245/40 R18)
  • 2020 Tyre Tests

  • 24th: 2020 Winter Tyre Market Overview - 52 Tyre Braking Test (245/45 R18)
  • 2019 Tyre Tests

  • 9th: 2019 19 Inch Performance Winter Tyre Test (255/35 R19)
  • 11th: 2019 Auto Bild Winter 17 inch Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 15th: 2019 Winter Tyre Test Market Overview (225/45 R17)
  • 2018 Tyre Tests

  • 9th: 2018 Autobild UHP Winter Tyre Test (245/45 R18)
  • 2017 Tyre Tests

  • 9th: 2017 50 Winter Tyre Shoot Out (225/50 R17)
  • 10th: 2017 Auto Bild Winter Tyre Test (225/50 R17)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Nexen WinGuard Sport 2

    Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Nexen WinGuard Sport 2. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Top 3 Nexen WinGuard Sport 2 Reviews

    Audi A3 Sportback (225/45 R17 V) on mostly town for 250 average miles
    I bought these tyres a week ago relying on Auto Bild Winter Tyre Test. Was looking for low cost tyre and decided to go with these. My summer tyres are Pirelli Cinturato P7 (not new version). After changing tyres my first impressions are definitely silence and comfort. Huge relief after Pirelli tyres. I drove 350 km on wet road last night (120-180 km/h ) and didnt have a problem at all. My only concern is understeering. Im not an expert but surely felt understeering a lot more on these tyres.
    Helpful 304 - tyre reviewed on November 26, 2017
    Given 79% while driving a Mazda 3 2020 Skyactive X (215/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
    I was sceptical of Nexen at first. But then we got set of original Winguard Sports when we purchased used car and they were good. So I decided to give Winguard Sport 2 a go. I'm so far impressed. I have them on now 2nd season. First they feel real good in wet. I feel safe. Curious how long before I notice significant worse performnce, budget tires do fall off a bit faster than premium. In dry all is good, not enough power to really push them tbh (180 HP). They do feel a bit more "rolly" in corners than summer Turanzas. Reason for that must be a bit softer sidewall. So that's why a bit lower score in Handling and Road feedback. Good for winter tire but it is no PS4, obviously. In snow it feels good, but didn't really have chance to drive it much at loads of snow. Mostly motorway and it was good. For the budget I'm really happy.
    Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on December 4, 2022
    Given 100% while driving a BMW 520d Sport (225/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 10 average miles
    Some great tires, very low noise, excellent stability and handling. Very good protection for rims. They are very hard to chop.
    Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on November 2, 2022
    Have you driven on the Nexen WinGuard Sport 2 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Nexen WinGuard Sport 2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Nexen WinGuard Sport 2 >

    Latest Nexen WinGuard Sport 2 Reviews

    Given 80% while driving a Volkswagen Passat estate 2.0 TDI 110 kW (235/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
    Initial Review. Good grip, noticebly higher rolling resistance, especially on the wet road. Therefor probably slighty higher fuel consumption. Satisfied for now, waiting for the first snow. I feel safe enough for now having these tyres on.
    Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on November 21, 2022
    Given 80% while driving a Volkswagen Passat estate 2.0 TDI 110 kW (235/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
    Initial Review. Good grip, noticebly higher rolling resistance, especially on the wet road. Therefor probably slighty higher fuel consumption. Satisfied for now, waiting for the first snow. I feel safe enough for now having these tyres on.
    Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on November 19, 2022
    What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 75% while driving a BMW M3 (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 5,000 spirited miles
    These tires have been quite satisfactory, especially considering the price. They are quiet, comfortable, and actually handle well on dry pavement without feeling too squidgy. My vehicle is RWD, but I haven’t had any issues in 3-4” snow. Deeper snow poses a slight challenge, and I haven’t tried them on straight up ice. Up hill starts a standstill are perfectly doable with careful use of the throttle and clutch. Dry grip and handling is actually very impressive for a winter tire. I chose these partially because I didn’t want to lose 100% of my car’s sporting nature during winter, and they haven’t let me down. Wet grip is very good as well, in my experience. I don’t push my car to the limits in cold and wet conditions, so this may not match the experiences of professional tire testing organizations. Noise level and comfort are very good, with only a very slight hum on warmer days. They absorb and dissipate bumps and impacts well. Wear is difficult for me to comment on. I’ve only used them for maybe 5,000 miles of daily/spirited driving, and so far the tires have worn noticeably but not excessively. Most drivers probably won’t be using these in a spirited manner on dry pavement, so I don’t foresee any wear issues after many miles of relaxed daily driving. The price is very good, and mostly makes up for any shortcomings this tire has, seeing as I don’t drive this vehicle much during winters, and rarely use it on snow covered roads. These are good tires for someone who lives in an area that gets occasional snow, doesn’t want to lose the sporty feel of their car, and doesn’t want to spend $800 on a set of winter tires. TL;DR- They are much, much better in the snow than any all-season tires, somewhat sporty (for winter tires), won’t break the bank, and aren’t annoying in any way.
    Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on October 16, 2022
    Given 90% while driving a Audi A4 (225/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
    Was searching for a cheap winter tyre and got more than I hoped for. Very quiet and comfortable with great performance on dry wet and snow. Didnt notice any wear. I recommend this tyre to anyone who is aiming for comfort and quitness without braking a bank.
    Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on June 19, 2022
    Given 74% while driving a Peugeot 308 BlueHDI EAT6 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
    Good all-round tyre for the money. Very good in snow. It's REALLY noisy compared to my summer Goodyear AS5.
    Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on May 11, 2022
    Given 68% while driving a BMW 328ci (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
    bought several years ago when they appeared on market. Went eggy after 1 winter. 1st winter was ok, ant the beginning of 2nd i noticed smth wrong, 3rd was really annoying to drive. several balancing did not helped, checked rims, rims were ok, tested. now i see people write same comments. so, do not buy ;)
    Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on September 29, 2021
    Given 92% while driving a BMW 520d Tourer (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
    These tyres have not scored that good in the tests I have read but I read various recommendations from owners, especially regarding driving dynamics. I was in urgent need for new winter tyres (nail in one of the old) so the recommendations together with a good price made me take a chance. And man I am glad I did! For me these tyres has been great. Not the best grip on hard acceleration or breaking, they are quite soft, but hey - these are winter tyres. We have not had a hard winter this year (I live in Sweden) but during the weeks of snow and ice, the grip has been surprisingly good. Good handling over all and really, really silent. Fantastic in wet, I do many hours on high speed highways every week and have felt really secure even in heavy rain and high speed. So all in all, I can truly recommend these tyres.
    Helpful 37 - tyre reviewed on April 26, 2021
    Given 78% while driving a Kia Motors Stinger GTS (225/45 R18) on mostly town for 2,000 average miles
    On an AWD stinger, these tires played in 50cm deep snow. Whereas other cars were getting stuck, my car was just playing. Only in the snow drift will you feel the car trying to find traction which it found in seconds. Although these tires work well in snow, dry and wet roads, they do not like slick icy snow or ice. You can feel the ABS trying to stop the car on such conditions or feel the rear wanting to fishtale when taking a turn slowly (from a stop- nevermind at speed).
    Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on February 6, 2021
    Given 53% while driving a Volkswagen Passat B7 (235/45 R17 V) on mostly motorways for 3,000 average miles
    The tyre has egg shape and no balancing can fix it. I went back to the seller and they send the tyre to the factory for testing and they said its in the normal specification. At 110kmh and more the druving is uncomfortable because the vibrations from tyre. Very disapointed at the factory testing...
    Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on January 5, 2021
    Given 100% while driving a BMW 420d M Sport X Drive (225/50 R17 V) on track for 0 average miles
    Best tyre for this price .
    Helpful 37 - tyre reviewed on December 1, 2020
    Given 32% while driving a Dacia Duster 4x4 (215/65 R16) on mostly country roads for 0 average miles
    Tyres went wobbly right after 10000km. Unrepairable with 3 different tyre balancing machines. Simply 2of4 tyres were shot.Do not expect these tyres to be reliable , the price tells you all. Definitelly won't buy or recommend these any more.
    Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on December 28, 2019
    Given 61% while driving a Tesla Model 3 (230/45 R18 W) on mostly motorways for 5,000 average miles
    Bought these tyres because they were cheaper compared to other Ultra High Performance tyres (Michelin PS4S, Pirreli Sotozzero, Vrendstein Wintrac). We don't get much snow and I thought for 3 months these will be fine until I switch to my normal summer tyres. I have a 450HP all wheel drive electric car.

    Turns out, the tyres have weak lateral sidewalls and as such handling on my car suffers a lot (and I like a sporty drive). A lot of fine dust rubber from the rear tyres ends up on the car's paint and glues on to it - something I didn't expect would happen and washing this dust from the paint is very difficult to do. Tyres are also a bit noisy. Decent tyres but wouldn't buy again.
    Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on December 23, 2019