Fulda Kristall Montero 3

The Fulda Kristall Montero 3 is a Touring Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Dry Grip 86%
Wet Grip 88%
Road Feedback 84%
Handling 81%
Wear 89%
Comfort 89%
Buy again 97%
Snow Grip 93%
Ice Grip 81%

Tyre review data from 29 tyre reviews averaging 88% over 220,870 miles driven.

The Kristall Montero 3 is ranked 5th of 96 Winter Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2022 ADAC Winter Tyre Test - 185/65 R15 - 13th of 15 tyres

  • Positive - Particularly low wear (top mark), low fuel consumption.
  • Negative - Weaknesses on dry and wet roads (devaluation.)
  • Overall - The FULDA Kristall Montero 3 shows weaknesses in the dry and in the wet, in both criteria it is rated as sufficient. Despite the good snow and ice properties, the recommendation for the Kristall Montero 3 is only "conditionally recommended".
View Full Test >>

2017 AC Winter Tyre Test - 185/65 R15 - 4th of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Good resistance to aquaplaning.
  • Negative - Poor ice handling, long dry braking.
View Full Test >>

2015 Auto Bild Top 18 Winter Tyre Test - 17th of 18 tyres

  • Positive - Superb braking result and good traction values ​​on hard-packed snow, safe aquaplaning properties, quiet, low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Only average handling, braking and steering response on snowy and wet roads, extended wet and dry braking distances.
View Full Test >>

2022 Tyre Tests

  • 13th: 2022 ADAC Winter Tyre Test - 185/65 R15 (185/65 R15)
  • 2017 Tyre Tests

  • 4th: 2017 AC Winter Tyre Test - 185/65 R15 (185/65 R15)
  • 2015 Tyre Tests

  • 4th: 2015 ADAC Winter Tyre Test - 165/70 R14 (165/70 R14)
  • 13th: 2015 Winter Tyre Market Overview (185/60 R14)
  • 17th: 2015 Auto Bild Top 18 Winter Tyre Test (185/60 R15)
  • 2014 Tyre Tests

  • 6th: 2014 ADAC Winter Tyre Test - 175/65 R14 (175/65 R14)
  • 2013 Tyre Tests

  • 9th: 2013 ACE Winter Tyre Test (185/60 R15)
  • 2011 Tyre Tests

  • 9th: 2011 European Winter Tyre Test - 195/65 R15 (195/65 R15)
  • 2010 Tyre Tests

  • 4th: 2010 European Winter Tyre Test Part 2 (185/65 r15)
  • 8th: 2010 Auto Zeitung Winter Tyre Test (195/65 r15)
  • 10th: 2010 Auto Bild Winter Tyre Test (195/65 r15)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Fulda Kristall Montero 3

    Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Fulda Kristall Montero 3. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Top 3 Fulda Kristall Montero 3 Reviews

    Given 93% while driving a Fiat Multipla (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 7,000 average miles
    Very good tyres. Provides exceptional maneuverability of the vehicle. Very good behavior in all driving conditions. Extremely comfortable and very quiet tire. After 10000 km shows no signs of wear.
    Helpful 105 - tyre reviewed on May 14, 2013
    Given 87% while driving a Fiat Punto EVO 1.3MTJ 84hp (185/65 R15) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
    In general a great winter tyre. Had these fitted to my Volvo S60 a couple of years ago with good results, I tried them again for our little Punto. They feel very stable and safe in the snow. I am a spirited drive and lite to push my car from time to time. With these Kristal Montero 3 that is not a problem. Stopping distance and acceleration in snow and slush is superb. In the damp danish weather they sometimes understeer a bit, but is think that is down to the natur of the little Fiat. I can higly recommend these winther Fuldas.
    Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on January 18, 2023
    Given 84% while driving a Kia Motors Rio (185/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
    Mileage approx. 30,000 km. Always dry without problems in dry, wet and snowy conditions. On the ice like everything - it slides on the ice. Quiet and wear little. What more could I want from winter tires ... they're reliable and I'd buy them again
    Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on April 28, 2022
    Have you driven on the Fulda Kristall Montero 3 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Fulda Kristall Montero 3? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Fulda Kristall Montero 3 >

    Latest Fulda Kristall Montero 3 Reviews

    Given 76% while driving a Opel Astra H 5T 1.8l (195/65 R15) on mostly motorways for 29,000 easy going miles
    I bought these tires new in autumn of 2019 for an Opel Astra H. Since then I have done about 45.000km on them. This includes a fair share of gravelroads.

    They are at about 4.5mm now and still have good traction, even in the snow, but obviously not as good as when they were new. They will be replaced after this winter with new winter tires.

    They took a beating on gravelroads wich had the result of small rubberflakes chunking out from the outer thirds of the contact patch. However these didnt go as deep as the groves go, so I did not replace them for that issue.
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on January 26, 2024
    Given 82% while driving a Volkswagen Golf IV 1.9 TDI 110 (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 4,970 easy going miles
    Very satisfied with Fulda winter tyres. I have them on my car for 2 years,fitted them after Sava eskimo and you could feel the difference right away. Driving the car is much quieter and the handling is how much you need for easy going drive. For these 2 years I can't see thread wear on them. Also had couple times snow on the road but the grip was exceptional. Would buy them again, no brainer!
    Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on November 10, 2021
    What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 71% while driving a Alfa Romeo 156 SW 1.9 JTD (185/65 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 1,500 average miles
    TL;DR Fulda Kristall Montero 3 is better than Sava Eskimo S3+ and Tigar/Taurus/Kormoran winter tyres. It is solid tyre in every aspekt. It's good in dry braking and cornering. It's good in wet braking. Fulda had never let me down nor put me in risky situation. During the rain, at 80-90 km/h, I had never experienced aquaplaning. It's very good in snow, but Sava is better in this aspekt. In cold weather it's good tyre, above 10°C is mediocre, but drivable. Above 15°C you should switch back to summer tyres (because of COVID-19, I did change it in late March). I would rather drive summer tyres (e.g. my Nexen N'blue HD plus @ 205/55/16) in the range of temperatures 5-7°C at dry road, and above 7°C in wet, than this winter tyre. Tyre started around 9-8 mm, and after 5 months of drive finished around 7-8 mm. To conclude, I would recommend Fulda tyre if you live in some mitteleuropean city with lots of rain and dry periods, and of course snowy days. If you experience more snow, I would go for Sava Eskimo S3+. Fulda Kristall Montero 3 is better than Sava tyre in the wet, dry, but just less good in snow. Additional information: 185/65/15 Fulda Kristall Montero is "Made in France", Sava Kristall Montero 3 is "Made in Poland", and Tigar/Taurus/Kormoran is "Made in Serbia".
    Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on September 26, 2020
    Given 91% while driving a Volkswagen (B8) 1.4 TSI (150 Hp) DSG ACT (195/65 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 900 average miles
    Very good tires. Very responsive and grippy. Replaced these tires from Sava Eskimo S3+ and you could tell the difference right away. Definetly will buy these tires again!
    Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on March 28, 2020
    Given 87% while driving a Peugeot 1.4 HDi (185/65 R15) on mostly country roads for 20,000 easy going miles
    Excellent winter tyres on snow, bit wary on ice/black ice and good all round performance on dry and wet conditions throughout winter. Normal wear on the tyre, nothing worth noting and good fuel economy - barely noticed a difference in fuel expense going from summer Bridgestone Ecopia to these in winter. Definitely recommend as in the snow they just grip like it was tarmac.
    Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on December 12, 2017
    Given 89% while driving a Opel Corsa (165/70 R13 T) on mostly country roads for 15,000 miles
    Just brilliant winter tire. I used it on Opel Corsa B for 4 years during whole year, and had made for approx. 15000 miles (4 mm tread left). This tire is king of deep snow performance. So much better anything I drove before in this size (Sava Eskimo, Michelin Alpin).
    I highly recommend it. Dry and wet handling are average, but snow performance is why you should have it fitted on your car.
    Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on October 18, 2017
    Given 93% while driving a Peugeot 307 (195/65 R15) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
    Very good tyre, It was very important for me to buy tyre for winter conditions, deep snow on Bosnian roads, and Fulda was probably the best choice (after one season I know that now). Greate on snow, before I had Continental ts830p and Fulda is better in winter conditions numerous times.
    Helpful 47 - tyre reviewed on November 11, 2016
    Given 89% while driving a BMW 320D (195/65 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
    Very comfortable tyres, extreme grip on my rear axle powered BMW. Buy again!
    Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on May 21, 2015
    Given 99% while driving a Ford Mondeo (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
    Excellent tyre for dry, wet and snowy roads.
    Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on May 7, 2014
    Given 97% while driving a Vauxhall Astra (205/60 R15) on mostly town for 3,000 average miles
    Very, very good tyres, I will but them again 100%. Driven on snow and ice and they are excellent! very quiet tyres!
    Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on February 11, 2014
    Given 88% while driving a SEAT (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 2,000 easy going miles
    Amazing grip in winter conditions, snow especially (feels like dry tarmac :)). Also satisfied with other parameters, but as I drive defensively and mostly in the city I haven't tested their limits.
    Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on October 30, 2012
    Given 100% while driving a Ford Focus (165/90 R15) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
    Last winter in my country we saw the biggest snowfalls for a 3 decades! With this tires I was driving normally like it is summer!
    Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on October 17, 2012