Uniroyal MS+ 77

The Uniroyal MS Plus 77 is a Touring Winter tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 7 tyre reviews averaging 88% over 68,005 miles driven, and 34 tests with an average result of 10th.

Dry Grip 88%
Wet Grip 96%
Road Feedback 78%
Handling 88%
Wear 78%
Comfort 88%
Buy again 98%
Snow Grip 100%
Ice Grip 80%

First On MarketMay 2013
Wheel Size13 - 20"
Width145 - 275mm
Profile35 - 80
Rolling ResistanceD - E
Wet GripC - C
Noise (dB)70 - 73
Winter Rating3PMSF Rated

The MS+ 77 is ranked 5th of 96 Winter Touring tyres.

This tyre replaced the Uniroyal MS plus 66.

Tests Included

34

Best Result

3rd

Worst Result

17th

Average Result

10th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2021 Auto Bild Winter Tyre Test
12th of 22 tyres
  • Stable wet and dry handling, good aquaplaning resistance, low wear.
  • Moderate winter abilities with high levels of understeer, long wet braking.
View Full Test >>
2020 Auto Bild Performance Winter Tyre Test
14th of 21 tyres
  • Good in the snow, high aquaplaning resistance, good levels of comfort.
  • Average wet grip, high wear.
View Full Test >>

2021 Tyre Tests

2020 Tyre Tests

2019 Tyre Tests

2018 Tyre Tests

2017 Tyre Tests

2016 Tyre Tests

2015 Tyre Tests

2014 Tyre Tests

2013 Tyre Tests

SizeFuelWetNoise
13 inch
155/80 R 13 79 TEC71
14 inch
165/70 R 14 81 TDC71
185/70 R 14 88 TDC71
175/65 R 14 82 TDC71
175/65 R 14 86 T XLDC71
185/60 R 14 82 TDC71
15 inch
185/65 R 15 92 T XLEC71
185/65 R 15 88 TEC71
195/55 R 15 85 HEC72
195/65 R 15 95 T XLDC71
195/65 R 15 91 HDC71
195/65 R 15 91 TDC71
16 inch
205/55 R 16 91 TDC71
215/60 R 16 99 H XLDC71
205/60 R 16 96 H XLDC71
205/60 R 16 92 HEC71
205/55 R 16 91 HDC71
205/55 R 16 94 H XLDC71
215/70 R 16 100 HEC71
17 inch
225/50 R 17 98 V XLDC71
225/45 R 17 91 HDC71
225/45 R 17 94 V XLDC71
205/50 R 17 93 V XLEC72
205/50 R 17 93 H XLEC72
235/65 R 17 108 V XLEC71
215/55 R 17 98 V XLDC71
225/50 R 17 98 H XLDC71
18 inch
225/40 R 18 92 V XLDC71
235/60 R 18 107 V XLEC72
245/40 R 18 97 V XLDC72
245/45 R 18 100 V XLDC71
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Uniroyal MS Plus 77 >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Uniroyal MS Plus 77. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Uniroyal MS Plus 77 Reviews

Given 94% while driving a Mazda Mazda2 (185/55 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Best tyre for British conditions I've found.

Much better that my GoodYear Ultragrips 8s which could do snow but were poor on British cold roads (dry and wet).
Helpful 100 - tyre reviewed on March 10, 2014
Fiat (195/50 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Missus Had them on a fiat 500 for 2 dutch winter's (we get basically everything, some snow, icing, flurries and lots and lots of rain). These tyres fared well in all wintery conditions.
I found wet grip not as good as Michelin Alpin 5 or Conti TS860, but then again these are 60% of the price. Way better than awful Vredestein that I have on my own car. Recommended for a small light car without much power such as our little 500.
Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on September 1, 2019
Saab Automobile (245/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 5 average miles
Every week I drive about 300 km in central Europe, mostly on highways, but also local roads up and down the hills and a flat city streets.

Those Uniroyals represented a good choice, being well balanced between quality/price and very important wet and thin snow grip that MS + 77 is performing great and above expectations.
For Saab 9-5 NG it is recommended to pump them 2,6 bar, however I find 2,8 bar is an optimum for this tyre/car combination.

Dry grip and dry breaking is somewhat different from summer tires, but not disturbing or alarming even on a warmer asphalt. Once I had to break harder in a situataion (140 km/h down to 60 km/h) on the warm road and that went without an effort and no need for ABS to kick in. On a very wet road it goes through water smooth and there is not a single occurance or an indication of aquaplanning.
Driving in a wintery city conditions where sometimes the temperature goes well below 0 and roads are icy and wet feels safe and a well adopted tyre to such mixed conditions.
It also takes no effort to roll over fresh, thick and wet early morning snow covered streets and driving feels solid without slipping. That said, it also depends on a car's electronic antislip system.

Wear is, to my driving style, a tyre's big surface, car's a weight and power (190+ HP) very reasonable, if not below expected.

Car behaves in winter conditions speeds on a highway almost as good my summer tyres set of Dunlop Sport Maxx RT 2 in a summer. Car appears very stable and quiet at speeds of 130 -160 km/h while up to 160 - 200 km/h one can feel deeper grooves and road noise gets higher, so for short bursts over 160 km/h it is ok, but not too sustainable.
I can see that in a with summer tyres, car consumes an average 7,2 l/100 km while in a winter consumption goes up to 7.6 l/100 km, but a part of that can be contributed to the other factors (cold air, compacted snow, ice, water, wind).

I would warmly recommend them to those who do not want to spend 35% more for the very premium brand, without very clear benefit. For the past 5 winter seasons my set was Dunlop SP WinterSport 4D and there is no noticable difference, except in price.

I hope that MS+ 77 will last as long and be reliable as it was so far.

Helpful 37 - tyre reviewed on October 12, 2018
Have you driven on the Uniroyal MS Plus 77 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Uniroyal MS Plus 77? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Uniroyal MS Plus 77 >

Latest Uniroyal MS Plus 77 Reviews

Given 87% while driving a Peugeot 607 (225/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 20,000 average miles
We drive the car in the Baltic states, where we get cold winters sometimes with lots of snow and ice. Dry grip is ok. Wet grip is very good and tyres are excellent on snow. They also have enough grip on ice. So you feel safe. Tyre wear is above average. But it is not an expensive tyre. Comfort is good. I would recommend this tyre and would definetally buy them again.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on December 3, 2019
Given 96% while driving a Volvo S60 D5 (185) (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 30,000 spirited miles
Only had these tyres on the car two weeks, so cant really comment on wear other than we the Plus 66 on my wifes car and then are. The wet grip is unbealievable, driving on a motorway last weekend in driving rain and standing water, normally standing water "drags" the wheel none of that with the Plus 77 cut through it like a hot knife through butter. Very safe tyre.
Helpful 39 - tyre reviewed on December 3, 2015
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 81% while driving a BMW 520i (205/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Got a set of these in a hurry in December to go on winter road trip in my BMW. The effects of the switch from a set of Dunlop sport summer tyres was obvious.

Softer side walls dull the steering response. Road noise is high but typical for a mid range tyre. The fuel consumption increased by about 3MPG. However dry grip available is amazing. Deep treads and its pattern deal very well with puddles.

The investment really starts to pay off when things starts to get icy. At the time of writing, this set of tyres saved me from 5 ditches and 2 walls and many more other cars & pedestrians.

The first time I noticed these tyres paying for itself was when I navigated in to a lay by in a freezing morning a little too fast. It was sheet ice and there was a HGV parked up ahead of me. I stamped on the brakes and these tyres managed to muster enough grip to get the ABS going and stop the car. I foolishly decided to get out and check, only slip & to land on my arse. If it were not for these tyres I would be under that HGV.

I can seriously recommend getting decent winter tyres like this for any car. These save lives, property and hours of wasted time.

Rear wheel drive cars can be dicy during winter but now I'm more concerned about other cars with inappropriate tyres crashing in to me.

If you are going to keep the current car for another few years, just buy a set of these. Most UK tyre sellers now offer the "Tyre Hotel" facility to store the other set of tyres.

Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on January 14, 2015
Given 81% while driving a Peugeot 106 (195/50 R15) on mostly country roads for 4,000 spirited miles
First time on winter tyres this year, cold and wet but no snow or ice to really test these, however, they are almost like driving on a warm dry road! The wet grip is fantastic, even when it's 2 degrees outside. Very glad to have swapped for these in the winter and I am now a winter tyre convert.
I've only done a few thousand miles so difficult to assess wear rate but I see a lot of tyres in my job and they're not wearing unusually fast or unevenly.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on March 26, 2014