Mazda Mazda2 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Mazda Mazda2.

Do you Drive a Mazda Mazda2? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Mazda2 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Toyo Proxes R39 (2) 100% 80% 100% 90% 100% 100%
Uniroyal MS Plus 77 (7) 88% 96% 78% 88% 78% 88%
Goodyear UltraGrip 7 Plus (30) 85% 86% 80% 65% 82% 83%
Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 (98) 90% 82% 80% 79% 80% 80%
Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun (79) 87% 82% 82% 82% 80% 80%
Yokohama Advan Fleva V701 (53) 85% 79% 81% 82% 76% 79%
Continental UltraContact UC6 (38) 88% 84% 73% 76% 80% 84%
Falken Eurowinter HS449 (33) 85% 87% 81% 78% 84% 84%
Toyo Proxes TR1 (46) 85% 75% 77% 82% 75% 69%
Toyo NanoEnergy 3 (29) 82% 68% 74% 77% 81% 81%
Toyo R27 (3) 83% 77% 83% 77% 80% 60%
Bridgestone Potenza RE001 (42) 87% 72% 78% 80% 70% 63%
Toyo T1R (285) 83% 69% 75% 74% 63% 70%
Goodyear Eagle NCT5 (91) 75% 61% 68% 61% 78% 69%
Zeetex ZT1000 (6) 72% 55% 70% 70% 75% 73%
Davanti DX390 (21) 67% 57% 59% 57% 61% 64%

Mazda Mazda2 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Davanti DX390 given 61% (195-45-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Bought 2 of these tyres to be fitted to the rear wheels when the garage couldn't source another pair of Toyo Proxes TR1's to match what I have on the front. Bit of a gamble but so far they appear to be decent for the money I paid (approx £60 each). In the dry they grip fairly well, but it does sometimes feel as though the rear of the car is losing grip far quicker than the Toyos at the front are (and the GT Radial's they replaced), but they are definitely quieter than the tyres they replaced. In the wet they are decent- around town and on the motorway I have no problems, but they can feel slightly floaty at speed on a twisty road in the wet. The wear seems to be decent, however there are large wear marks at the outside of the tread very near the sidewall compared to further in which makes me wonder how evenly they are wearing. Also it's worth noting that the rear of the car now feels heavier than before, as though I have a boot full of heavy stuff which has slightly hit my fuel economy. Overall, if comfort and noise at your priority and you do most of your driving around town/on a motorway then they are good for the price. If like me you like to drive towards the limit and enjoy a good country road, I would pay more for something like the Proxes TR1's.
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-11 00:06:10
Writing about the Toyo Proxes TR1 given 93% (195-45-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 spirited miles
Replaced the set of Jinyu Gallopros that were fitted when I bought the car over a year ago and the improvement has been sensational. Great grip on country roads in both wet and dry which gives confidence to push the car, and not too noisy nor harsh at speed, whether on country roads or dual carriageways. Could be quieter at town speeds, but the noise isn't so bad it's constantly noticeable (unlike the Jinyus). Over bumps and even potholes the tyres remain forgiving yet firm and stable.
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-05 15:29:10
Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 given 85% (195-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 650 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2020-01-26 06:19:17
Writing about the Toyo Proxes TR1 given 66% (195-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Had these replaced the Dunlop Enasave EC300+ on my Mazda 2. Tremendous improvement over dry grip, handling and feedback. Wet grip is pretty decent, as I didn't encounter any major slip during a rainy and wet back road run. Seems to complements the characteristics of the car very well as it allows one to lift off over steer and scandi flick with utmost confidence. Has a very distinctive screeching sound which progresses as you push harder over the limits.

The downside is the road noise and comfort. Terrible humming, thought it was my bearings but took the car into 2 tires shop and the usuasl service center only for them to conclude it's the tires.
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-07 02:40:00
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle NCT5 given 66% (185-50-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 24000 average miles
The best of these wheels was the lifespan, in Bogota (Colombia) the holes are a nightmare but these wheels supported them very well for about 3 years, they are very resistants, but... I always felt uncomfortable because they didn't have a good wet grip nither dry grip.
tyre reviewed on 2019-06-18 18:17:21
Writing about the Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun given 85% (205-50-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 300 spirited miles
These are some excellent tyres for the price. They grip in the dry like they're made out of glue. And they're pretty quiet too. The only slight negative, the sidewalls are not the stiffest, and depending on the aspect ratio (weather it's for example 205/45 or 55 or 65), how aggressively you drive and how wide/narrow your rims are compared to the tyres, you risk rolling on the sidewall slightly. Slightly higher pressure helps though. But if you don't drive too aggressively, these tyres are just superb. Grip alone is outstanding. Highly recomended for the price (i payed just over 500DKK/about 57 pounds per tyre in Denmark. They cost less everywhere else.
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-15 08:51:45
Writing about the Yokohama Advan Fleva V701 given 93% (195-50-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3 spirited miles
Totaly impressed with them!I had Toyo T1R...Michelin Pilot Exalto and Pilot Sport 3 the past years,and i was impresssed by each one them over the OEM Toyo R27 and also each one of them had some " + " & " - "...and found out that some how there must be some tyre for my car that might have the least compromises from all the available ones(!)...I have many expectations from a tyre myself...Beacause i enjoy driving in every way...whether its a boring city driving in the morning or a demanding mountain blast late at night!So the best tyre for me sould be grippy and very responsive wet or dry...for my blasts...and also as comfortable,safe and quite as posible during daily driving and traveling....And i am very pleased to say that the Advan Fleva V701...was the best tyre i've ever driven!!!It fitted my cars suspension and dynamic chracteristics perfectly!Something thas also worth mentioning is the fact that it remains civilised even at the limit(!)...I just love them!I definately recommend them to all those who have a car same class as mine and have the same needs as me !
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-20 21:51:37
Writing about the Falken Eurowinter HS449 given 86% (185-60-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
Covered about 20,000 miles on these and they still have loads of tread left. I have had them all continuously through winter and summer alike.
Quieter than the OEM Dunlops although a 5-10% penalty at the pumps.
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-02 00:53:18
Writing about the Toyo NanoEnergy 3 given 66% (195-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
I changed from the Mazda oem tyre Dunlop Enasave 300+ (185/55/16) to this Toyo Nanoenergy 3 (195/55/16).

The initial impression after fitted it is the tyre felt soft on the side wall ,quite and comfortable; but i lose the sharp turn in of my Mazda 2 ! The steering is not as sharp as it used to be especially during hard cornering , you can felt the tyre wall flex abit. I am slightly disappointed until i found out that the tyre shop under-inflate my tyre on all 4 side, immediately i went to inflate it to OEM recommendation 250 kpa (front) 230kpa (rear) .

Guess what , my car back to how it should handle and now I am pretty happy with it !!

The only thing i dislike is the moderate wet braking compared to the oem Dunlop.
tyre reviewed on 2018-05-28 06:57:31
Writing about the Continental UltraContact UC6 given 90% (185-55-16-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
The difference between Dunlop Enasave Ec 300 and Continental UC6 is big. I can go 100kph without realizing it with my Mazda 2 sedan. I find that the dry and wet grip of the tyre is very good if compared to my original stock Dunlop tyre. I'm not sure about the wear rate as i've just fitted the tyre for only 2 months. UC 6 might not have the same comfort level with the CC6 but for a tyre meant for handling and griping, i find it surprisingly comfortable. The downside of the tyre is that it costs me a fortune even though it was made in Malaysia , my own country, the price shouldn't be setting that high. Overall i would recommend UC 6 to those who wish to seek for good handling and comfort if one dont wish to use sport tyres .
tyre reviewed on 2017-05-26 20:48:01
Writing about the Zeetex ZT1000 given 90% (185-55-15-T)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 average miles
I have buy the tires after seeing the test of summer tyres in magazine Auto-bild. Never mind it is made in China, because it has placed in the15 top summer tyres (with premium tyres like Continental, Dunlop, Goodyear and so on.. ) among 50 others. It has short distance of breaking on a rain surface, it is quit and comfortable. I buy it on my Mazda 323 F type BA (185/65 R14) and then also on Mazda 2 (185/55 R15) - the steering of every car is very direct and comunicative, so I am able to recognize where is the limit of tyres. But I can not say how will be working in tha car with uncomunicative steering - i mean, that first you have to feel something in your steering wheel, not only say that tyres are bad because of "budget " prices a name of tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2017-05-02 14:54:17
Writing about the Toyo Proxes R39 given 94% (185-60-16-H)
Driving on mostly motorways for 100 average miles
Good tyre Nice price quality relation
tyre reviewed on 2015-09-17 00:46:00
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre