Goodyear Eagle NCT5

The Goodyear Eagle NCT5 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 75%
Wet Grip 61%
Road Feedback 68%
Handling 61%
Wear 77%
Comfort 69%
Buy again 56%

Tyre review data from 90 tyre reviews averaging 67% over 2,048,921 miles driven.

The Eagle NCT5 is ranked 97th of 119 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Goodyear Eagle NCT5
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/55 R16 87H A* E C 70 10.89kgs
205/55 R16 91V XL *RSC F C 69 11.02kgs
225/40 R18 88Y XL *RSC E B 70 11.31kgs
285/45 R21 109W XL *RSC E C 73 19.79kgs
285/45 R21 109W XL *RSC E C 73 19.97kgs
255/50 R21 106W XL *RSC E C 72 18.69kgs
255/50 R21 106W XL *RSC E C 72 18.92kgs
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Goodyear Eagle NCT5. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Eagle NCT5 Prices

Size Price Range  
205/50 R17 £121.00 - £129.16 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R18 £105.00 - £162.00 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 8 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Goodyear Eagle NCT5 Reviews

Given 51% while driving a Vauxhall Vectra SRI 1.9 (150) (215/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 38,000 average miles
No feedback from steering, will wheelspin to easily in wet.Would not buy again.
54 - tyre reviewed on November 14, 2010   
Given 74% while driving a Daihatsu Perodua Myvi (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 24,854 average miles
Goodyear nct5 175/65/r14 is a good tyre for my perodua myvi icon (daihatsu sirion 2015).. very suitable for compact car.. very good in dry road and good in wet road.. good in handling.. still can hear the noise from outside but not too loud depend on road condition.. for wear and tear it last for 40000km..
16 - tyre reviewed on September 9, 2018   
Given 53% while driving a BMW 1 series (245/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 13,000 average miles
Having to replace these after 13,000 miles on the rear of Bmw E60, they were supposed to last longer as they have a harder compound compared to others. I have Hankook on the front and have had a fraction of the problems with them as no car roll under the wrong pressure unlike the Goodyear. Will not buy again, also changing from Runflat to normal tyres now as Runflats have had several punctures and are difficult to get repaired.
14 - tyre reviewed on September 13, 2016   
Have you driven on the Goodyear Eagle NCT5 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear Eagle NCT5? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Goodyear Eagle NCT5 >

Latest Goodyear Eagle NCT5 Reviews

Given 33% while driving a Hyundai I10 (165/60 R14) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Emergency brake on dry tarmac easily lock up the wheel. Hard cornering can easily send me sideways even at ~60kmh on tarmac. Wet grip on straight is ok, but when cornering is horrible I got my wheel spun at 20kmh uphill cornering on wet road and my car going downhill even I'm holding the brake. I do some weekend drive up Genting Highland (a hill climb in Malaysia), if I wasn't going fast enough then it is ok, but when I'm going faster around the corner and the car will go sideways as it cannot hold up the traction to turn the car. Then I joined an autocross event, my car only got 68hp and getting wheel spin on 1st and 2nd gear for quite some distance when launching it on tarmac. But, this tyre does getting better after really warmed up. I don't feel like it is a really good tyre for more aggressive driving style. Used this tyre for 8000km, the front wheel got no thread left after the autocross (I only drive 8 rounds), the rear got about 50% left. Very disappointed :c it cost RM840 (~200USD) for a whole set and it perform badly. It's comfortable anyway, but only when new. Because of budget issue, I changed to a used Goodyear GT3 and it perform a lot better !!!
0 - tyre reviewed on April 5, 2021   
Given 79% while driving a BMW 318d M Sport Touring (E91) (225/55 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 12,000 spirited miles
I felt confident on rougher country roads in wet conditions. Dry grip was as expected as not really ever on limit of grip.
0 - tyre reviewed on August 31, 2020   
Want the best tyre for real world driving? Watch this!
Given 66% while driving a Mazda Mazda2 (185/50 R15) on a combination of roads for 24,000 average miles
The best of these wheels was the lifespan, in Bogota (Colombia) the holes are a nightmare but these wheels supported them very well for about 3 years, they are very resistants, but... I always felt uncomfortable because they didn't have a good wet grip nither dry grip.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 18, 2019   
Given 93% while driving a Jaguar XJS (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 30,000 spirited miles
A quiet tyre long lasting good feed back and good grip in wet and dry.
1 - tyre reviewed on February 24, 2019   
Given 47% while driving a BMW 130 (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
In dry conditions these tyres grip well but are noisy and offer little in the way of comfort or feedback. In the wet conditions they can be anything between poor and frighting with a tendency to snap away suddenly, a problem which is exacerbated by bumpy surfaces. Changed them when there was still plenty of tread left as they were ruining the car.
2 - tyre reviewed on July 23, 2016   
Given 96% while driving a BMW 530i (225/45 R17) on for 60,000 spirited miles
I used this tyres for more than 60,000 km and 6 years life in UAE, it is Run on Flate model, all my driving is at high speed more than 140 up to 200 for long distance at high outside temp.
you can trust it during long trip 13hrs of driving without stopping, no nosie at all, I never drive at wet road due to GCC weather, I used Ron on Flat facility it was very helpful and great, really I recommend this tyres.
One point is very costly more than 500$.
8 - tyre reviewed on July 5, 2016   
Given 63% while driving a BMW 525d E61 Touring M Sport (245/40 R18 W) on mostly motorways for 5,000 average miles
The grip in both the wet and dry is very good however, as with all run flats, they're quite noisy. The ride is also quite hard and you feel almost every bump in the road. Near enough all my driving is on the motorway and i've had no problems with these for that style of driving however they've never been 'pushed' other than high speed in a straight line.

I've had GoodYear Efficient grip on previous cars and they have last ages. After approximately 2 months and 5,000 miles (95% motorway) these had 5mm tread left.

Overall a 'so-so' tyre. If it's a good price go for it; if not, swap them all for non-run flats (much quieter, smoother and cheaper).
7 - tyre reviewed on June 8, 2016   
Given 79% while driving a Toyota Avensis (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 35,000 spirited miles
Best wear rate from all the tires i used, though is more of a comfy tyre, not a performance one. Good grip in dry and wet and awesome wear rate. Did 50000 km before changing them. The only downside is the price for the dimensions i use.
0 - tyre reviewed on February 29, 2016   
Given 76% while driving a BMW 130i M (225/40 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
I am probably one of the only few that did like these tyres, but i ran them with a Y speed rating, which for some reason has better grip in the wet, this is also evident from the tyre label. You can no longer buy them in a Y speed rating. so i will not be buying them again. i also found that the last set of these i had did not wear as well as the original set i had. Could be down to a number of factors.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 28, 2016   
Given 63% while driving a BMW 118d M Sport (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 30,000 average miles
These are okay tyres at the best. I wouldn't put them on my car again however. They do last well but are loud and uncomfortable. Wet grip is unpredictable. My BMW has very good brakes but these tyres in the wet just can't cope.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 9, 2015   
Given 100% while driving a BMW 316 (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 40,000 spirited miles
Brilliant tyres on a 3 series bmw did 40000 miles before needing new set.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 2, 2015   
Given 59% while driving a Ford Mondeo (205/55 R16 H) on mostly country roads for 30,000 spirited miles
Do they still make these? Not sure any more.
Grip wet/dry very good - quiet but not comfortable. I actually measured the profile height with a same sized Pirelli P7 and the NCT5 is noticeably smaller. This may account for the not so comfortable part.
Wear rate slightly below average. You can still buy these but for the price they are don't bother.
1 - tyre reviewed on November 28, 2014