Toyo NanoEnergy 3

The Toyo NanoEnergy 3 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Toyo NanoEnergy 2.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 83%
Wet Grip 69%
Road Feedback 73%
Handling 77%
Wear 80%
Comfort 83%
Buy again 74%

Tyre review data from 25 tyre reviews averaging 77% over 355,265 miles driven.

The NanoEnergy 3 is ranked 56th of 127 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Toyo NanoEnergy 3
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
155/65 R13 73T   C C 69  
165/65 R13 77T   C C 69  
155/70 R13 75T   C C 69  
165/70 R13 79T   C C 69  
175/70 R13 82T   C C 69  
155/80 R13 79T   C C 69  
165/60 R14 75T   C C 69  
165/60 R14 75T   C C 69  
155/65 R14 75T   C C 69  
155/65 R14 75T   C C 69  
165/65 R14 79T   C C 69  
165/65 R14 79T   C C 69  
175/65 R14 86T XL   C C 69  
175/65 R14 82T   C C 69  
175/65 R14 82T   C C 69  
175/65 R14 86T XL   C C 69  
185/65 R14 86T   C C 69  
185/65 R14 86T   C C 69  
165/70 R14 85T XL   C C 69  
165/70 R14 85T XL   C C 69  
175/70 R14 88T XL   B C 69  
175/70 R14 88T XL   B C 69  
185/70 R14 88T   C C 69  
185/70 R14 88T   C C 69  
195/70 R14 91T   C C 69  
195/70 R14 91T   C C 69  
165/65 R15 81T   C C 69  
175/65 R15 84T   C C 69  
175/65 R15 84T   C C 69  
185/65 R15 88T   C C 69  
185/65 R15 88T   C C 69  
195/65 R15 91T   C C 69  
195/65 R15 95T XL   B C 69  
195/65 R15 95T   B C 69  

Questions and Answers for the Toyo NanoEnergy 3

2017-09-03 - Hello, I want to ask the following: How the tires Nano Energy 3 are reacting to Ice or snow? I mean without chains.

As a summer tyre the Nano Energy will struggle on snow and ice, and perform very poorly.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


NanoEnergy 3 Prices

Size Price Range  
175/65 R14 £36.80 - £63.10 (31 Prices) Compare Prices >>
175/70 R13 £33.10 - £54.52 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
185/65 R15 £47.76 - £71.87 (28 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 24 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Toyo NanoEnergy 3 Reviews

Given 91% while driving a Kia Motors Cerato Forte (215/50 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
Very good dry & wet grip, Low road noise on any road surfaces. Low rolling resistance while driving; mileage improved slightly. The overall ride comfort is fantastic. These tyres are amazing. Highly recommended.
283 - tyre reviewed on October 10, 2016   
Given 91% while driving a Mercedes Benz W123 230E (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 8,000 average miles
Amazing dry grip, excellent wet grip, totally quiet#, rubbery supple ride, good low wear rate. I think Toyo have really nailed it with the Nanoenergy 3, they have proven to be snmooth and quiet with amazing grip both in the dry and in the wet. I live east of Melbourne Australia in the Mt Dandenong Ranges (hills) its cold and wet most of the year so I wanted a tyre for my W123 Mercedes Benz 230E that would give great wet weather grip but also for cray hot weather too, a good level of conmfort, and be a low rolling resistance eco tyre, and Toyo Nanoenergy does all this with ease! #If they had a fault I would say they make some ripping or tearing noise when cornering tight hairpin bends at break-neck speeds, but that's my only issue. Toyo... Well done indeed :D
24 - tyre reviewed on November 20, 2015   
Given 85% while driving a Volkswagen up! (185/55 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 850 average miles
Had NanoEnergy 3s fitted for a couple of weeks now and have put almost 1000km on them. They replaced a set of Continental PremiumContact 2s which were a very good tyre that lasted surprisingly long (65,000km). The NanoEnergy 3 is significantly quieter than the Continental and grip levels feel similar (possibly more grip with the Toyos) with a special mention to wet grip which is exceptional for a touring tyre – the Toyos get four water evacuation grooves compared to the Conti's three.
The NanoEnergy's again are very quiet and are very comfortable, but do give a 'boatier' feel than the Contis did: they are more comfortable, but less involving as they give less direct feedback. The Toyos also have a 420 treadwear rating compared to the Conti's 280, which should mean they will last a fair bit longer than the Contis did. Overall however, I am extremely happy with the NanoEnergy 3s and will continue to use them on my cars.
22 - tyre reviewed on September 7, 2016   
Have you driven on the Toyo NanoEnergy 3 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Toyo NanoEnergy 3? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Toyo NanoEnergy 3 >

Latest Toyo NanoEnergy 3 Reviews

Opel (175/65 R14) on a combination of roads for 16,000 average miles
On dry roads performance is average but for wet its like a soap.Comfort is more than average,wear is good.Ä° do not recommend to anyone.
1 - tyre reviewed on January 27, 2021   
Given 89% while driving a Vauxhall Combo 1.3 CDTI (185/65 R15 T) on mostly motorways for 32,000 average miles
I'm a same day delivery driver, mainly motorways and A-roads, and was looking for a sure-footed tyre with slow wear rates. The reviews for these seemed pretty impressive, and on the whole they have proved to be correct. This is an excellent tyre - I have the 92T XL versions as I do sometimes carry up to 400Kg pallets in the van. The tyres inspire confidence in driving spiritedly where warranted (B-road blasts mainly) and I've not heard one tyre squeal once in the 32K they've been on. I've never felt in perilous danger in wet conditions, even where standing water engulfs the M1 and M40 from time to time. For sure, there may have been a slight wobble in the really deep stuff, but nothing that resulted in my life flashing before my eyes. Due to the nature of my role, I am constantly on the road and sadly did not get a chance to rotate the wheels. This has left me with 4mm of tread on the front, whilst a barely untouched 7mm on the rears. I have noticed the road noise has worsened the further the tread wears down on the fronts. I managed to grab a spare set of steelies, so have swapped the rears with some low-tread Michelin Duragrips with a view to swapping the whole lot over to Cross Climate + now the colder months are here. The good news is I now have a back up set (the former rears at 7mm, and the Michelin Efficiency Grips on the other two wheels at 6mm of tread) so hopefully won't have to buy any new tyres for a while yet. Extremely comforting tyres at cruising speeds (for me that's the maximum speed limit for any road I'm on), although the compounds is quite soft. A screw went straight through one of the rears, but easily plugged by friendly local indie tyre place. On the whole, thoroughly recommended - cheap too at around £50 a corner.
1 - tyre reviewed on November 16, 2020   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 61% while driving a Dacia Sandero 1.4 (185/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
When they where new, the dry and wet grip on the straight was very good. I the corners it is not very good, but they are touring not sports tyres. The problem is that after 3 years, they lost all the performance. The thread is still deep, although there are cracks starting to appear on the threads. Now, they don't brake as good at all, they slip a lot more when accelerating from a stop. It is even worse in the wet of course. For this reason I would not buy Toyo again, but rather Michelin, since they will keep their performance for much longer.
6 - tyre reviewed on November 1, 2020   
Given 57% while driving a Suzuki Swift (185/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Hi, I drive in Sri Lanka and the road are rough similar to British B roads so tyres take abuse. Frequent rain is also common. Originally I had Bridgestone Ecopias which are very good in all aspects Dry Grip - Squeals around corners and under heavy braking. Soft sidewalls. Couldn't get it to understeer or break traction yet. Not confidence inspiring. Road feel - communication through the steering is weak. Not confidence inspiring. Wet grip - decent, no hydroplaning below 100kph. Above you lose front end feel. Would not recommend aggressive manoeuvres in the rain. Wear - hard to judge yet but compound seems soft. Expect 30,000km as opposed to 50,000 I got from the Bridgestone. Personal comment - not recommended for spirited drivers. Drivers looking for comfortable reliable Japanese tyres on a budget, these are for you.
4 - tyre reviewed on July 8, 2020   
Given 53% while driving a Fiat Tipo (165/70 R13 T) on mostly town for 7,000 average miles
Good grip on dry, but on the wet i had an overall bad experience. Due to an episode where while soft braking on a paved road on a rainy day these tyres decided not to participate in braking and ended up going on a wall, i decided to change them, despite having almost all of thread left. Wear is not an issue, in 7000km i had them, they only lost way less than 1mm. Very comfortable on city roads and on highway. Definitely not buying again this model, i've used other toyo tyres that are waaay better than these.
5 - tyre reviewed on April 5, 2020   
Given 83% while driving a Toyota Camry (215/60 R16) on mostly town for 20,000 average miles
This is the 3rd time i am using this tyre, handling good and comfort when in highway use, will buy this again.
10 - tyre reviewed on February 28, 2020   
Given 74% while driving a Hyundai matrix 1.6gls (185/65 R14 P) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
AFTER 25,0000 KILOMETERS AND A LITTLE LESS THAN 2 YEARS ON MOSTLY DRY CRETAN ROADS. I AM DISAPPOINTED IN THESE 4 TIRES. I DRIVE A 2007 HYUNDAI MATRIX MOSTLY TOWN DRIVING BUT
SEVERAL TIMES A MONTH 400 KM R/T FROM CHANIA TO HERAKLION. GOOD HANDLING ON POOR MOUNTAINEOUS ROADS EXCEPT WHEN WET. POOR GRIPPING ON WET HILLS ESPECIALLY FROM A
STANDING STOP WHEN THE TIRES SPIN AND FRONT END SKIDS. HAD THE DEALER CHECK THE FRONT END AND WAS TOLD ITS THE TIRES. WILL TRY ANOTHER BRAND.


4 - tyre reviewed on January 28, 2020   
Given 93% while driving a Honda Insight Hybrid Gen 2 (175/65 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 2,000 easy going miles
Please note: I am not a racing driver, I don't take hairpin bends at full speed, I don't pile into roundabouts at twice the legal limit in the rain and I never stand on the brakes or stamp on the accelerator hard enough to cause wheelspin. Now read on.

Dry grip is absolutely as good as anything else. Wet grip is very good indeed - way good enough for a successful emergency stop by an averagely alert driver who isn't texting. So don't sweat it. Very comfortable over varied UK road surfaces and really soak up bumps, ruts and tramlines. Extremely quiet on the motorway.

Haven't had these long enough to fully address wear yet, but have been assured they will do well on that score. No visible wear after 2000 miles.

I'm very pleased with these tyres and I'm glad I bought them. If you want a great value real-world no-surprises quality touring tyre for your small or mid-size car that instils confidence and is comfortable and quiet during everyday UK driving, then this is it. Guaranteed not to flip your car over on its roof or make it burst into flames - in my view, if you're not getting good grip in the wet or you come close to losing it catastrophically in a bend then you should really be looking at your driving, you maniac. It's. Not. Your. Tyres.
12 - tyre reviewed on January 10, 2020   
Given 83% while driving a Honda Civic 1.8 VTEC Sport (215/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 50,000 average miles
even after 5 years of age, still giving the same characterictic as of new
16 - tyre reviewed on September 28, 2019   
Given 84% while driving a Honda Civic (175/70 R13 T) on mostly town for 4,000 easy going miles
The most comfortable tyre I ever had. In the dry very good but braking in the wet can be bad depending on the road. Feedback very good compared to my old pirellis P4
22 - tyre reviewed on February 14, 2019   
Given 51% while driving a Ford Focus MK2 2.0 TDCI Sedan (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 18,000 spirited miles
Dry grip is okay on most of the road, however wet grip is very very bad, easily understeer and hydroplaning even there are 70% thread left. The tyre itself will easily deform when cornering too hard, felt as of the tyre is deflated in the middle of a corner and lost its ability to hold it's integrity.

I almost crash my car multiple times due to the tyre understeer on a wet road. I would never buy this tyre again, at least for the car I am driving, for a lighter car might suit.

The tyre sidewall isn't stiff enough therefore contribute some degree of body roll as well.
11 - tyre reviewed on January 7, 2019   
Given 66% while driving a Mazda Mazda2 (195/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
I changed from the Mazda oem tyre Dunlop Enasave 300+ (185/55/16) to this Toyo Nanoenergy 3 (195/55/16).

The initial impression after fitted it is the tyre felt soft on the side wall ,quite and comfortable; but i lose the sharp turn in of my Mazda 2 ! The steering is not as sharp as it used to be especially during hard cornering , you can felt the tyre wall flex abit. I am slightly disappointed until i found out that the tyre shop under-inflate my tyre on all 4 side, immediately i went to inflate it to OEM recommendation 250 kpa (front) 230kpa (rear) .

Guess what , my car back to how it should handle and now I am pretty happy with it !!

The only thing i dislike is the moderate wet braking compared to the oem Dunlop.
19 - tyre reviewed on May 28, 2018