Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125

The Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Hankook Ventus Prime2.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 90%
Wet Grip 82%
Road Feedback 81%
Handling 79%
Wear 81%
Comfort 80%
Buy again 81%

Tyre review data from 87 tyre reviews averaging 82% over 615,562 miles driven.

The Ventus Prime 3 K125 is ranked 30th of 127 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2021 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 205/55 R16 - 7th of 15 tyres

  • Positive - Very good in the dry, relatively low fuel consumption.
  • Negative - Average wet performance.
  • Overall - The Hankook Ventus Prime3 is a dry specialist, up there with the best in dry braking and good levels of control and grip in dry handling. In contrast, the Hankook is average in the wet, finishing midpack. Low noise and low fuel consumption.
View Full Test >>

2021 53 Summer Tyre Braking Test - 1st of 53 tyres

View Full Test >>

2021 Auto Bild 16 Inch Summer Tyre Test - 6th of 20 tyres

  • Positive - Best tyre in the dry with the fastest lap and shortest dry braking, very good in the wet with the shortest wet braking, cheap price.
  • Negative - High wear.
  • Overall - Good.
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/50 R15 82H REP E A 71 7.35kgs
195/50 R15 82H REP E A 71 7.35kgs
195/50 R15 82V REP E A 71 7.35kgs
195/50 R15 82V REP E A 71 7.35kgs
205/50 R15 86V REP E A 71 7.95kgs
185/55 R15 82H REP C B 70 6.99kgs
185/55 R15 86V XL REP C A 71 7.20kgs
195/55 R15 85H REP C A 71 7.64kgs
195/55 R15 85V REP C A 71 7.64kgs
195/55 R15 89V XL REP C A 72 7.78kgs
195/55 R15 85H REP C A 71 7.45kgs
205/55 R15 88V REP C A 71 8.22kgs
205/55 R15 92V XL REP C A 71 8.22kgs
185/60 R15 84H REP C A 70 7.35kgs
185/60 R15 88H XL REP C A 71 7.53kgs
195/60 R15 88H REP C B 71 7.88kgs
195/60 R15 88V REP C B 71 7.89kgs
205/60 R15 91V REP C A 71 8.58kgs
195/65 R15 91V REP C A 71 8.51kgs
195/65 R15 91V REP C A 71 8.34kgs
195/65 R15 91H REP C A 71 8.01kgs
195/65 R15 91H REP C A 71 8.30kgs
205/65 R15 94H REP C A 71 8.76kgs
205/65 R15 94H REP C A 71 8.68kgs
195/45 R16 84V XL REP C A 72 7.10kgs
195/45 R16 84V XL REP C A 72 7.34kgs
205/45 R16 83W REP E A 71 7.78kgs
205/45 R16 83V REP E A 71 7.81kgs
215/45 R16 86H REP C A 71 7.89kgs
215/45 R16 90V XL REP C A 72 8.09kgs
195/50 R16 88V XL REP C B 72 7.45kgs
205/50 R16 87V REP C A 71 8.18kgs
205/50 R16 91W XL REP C A 72 8.36kgs
225/50 R16 92V REP C A 71 9.41kgs
225/50 R16 92W REP C A 71 9.41kgs
185/55 R16 83V REP C B 70 7.51kgs
195/55 R16 87V REP C B 71 8.12kgs
195/55 R16 87V REP C B 71 8.02kgs
195/55 R16 87W OE A B 67 7.56kgs
195/55 R16 91V XL OE C A 71 8.99kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL REP C A 72 8.89kgs
205/55 R16 94H XL OE A B 71 8.61kgs
205/55 R16 91V REP C A 71 8.94kgs
205/55 R16 94H XL REP C A 72 8.89kgs
205/55 R16 91V REP C A 71 8.81kgs
205/55 R16 94W XL REP C A 72 8.80kgs
205/55 R16 91H REP C A 71 8.59kgs
205/55 R16 91H REP C A 71 8.37kgs
205/55 R16 94W XL REP C A 72 8.89kgs
205/55 R16 91V REP C A 71 8.80kgs
205/55 R16 91H REP C A 71 8.75kgs
215/55 R16 93V REP C A 71 9.29kgs
215/55 R16 97W XL REP C A 72 10.15kgs
215/55 R16 93H REP C A 71 9.40kgs
215/55 R16 93V REP C A 71 9.15kgs
215/55 R16 97H XL REP C A 72 9.90kgs
215/55 R16 93W REP C A 71 9.15kgs
215/55 R16 97Y XL REP C A 72 10.31kgs
215/55 R16 97W XL REP C A 72 10.27kgs
215/55 R16 93V REP C A 71 9.40kgs
215/55 R16 93W REP C A 71 9.40kgs
225/55 R16 95V REP C B 71 11.04kgs
225/55 R16 99W XL REP C B 72 11.04kgs
225/55 R16 99W XL REP C B 72 10.83kgs
225/55 R16 95W REP C A 71 10.92kgs
225/55 R16 95V REP C B 71 10.81kgs
225/55 R16 99Y XL REP C A 72 11.07kgs
225/55 R16 95W REP C A 71 10.52kgs
195/60 R16 89H REP C A 71 8.12kgs
195/60 R16 89V REP C A 71 8.30kgs
205/60 R16 96V XL REP C A 72 10.06kgs
205/60 R16 96W XL REP C A 72 10.06kgs
205/60 R16 92H OE B B 66 9.26kgs
205/60 R16 96H XL REP C A 72 9.57kgs
205/60 R16 92H OE B A 70 8.86kgs
205/60 R16 92V REP C A 71 9.19kgs
205/60 R16 92H OE B A 70 8.93kgs
205/60 R16 92H REP C A 71 9.06kgs
215/60 R16 99H XL REP C A 72 10.37kgs
215/60 R16 99H XL REP C A 72 10.46kgs
215/60 R16 95V OE C A 69 10.09kgs
215/60 R16 99V XL REP C A 72 10.54kgs
225/60 R16 98W REP C A 71 10.84kgs
225/60 R16 98V REP C A 71 10.84kgs
215/65 R16 98H REP C A 71 10.33kgs
215/65 R16 98H REP C A 71 10.55kgs
215/65 R16 98V REP C A 71 10.60kgs
215/40 R17 87V XL REP C A 72 8.14kgs
245/40 R17 91W REP C A 71 9.40kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL REP C A 72 8.10kgs
215/45 R17 91W XL REP C B 72 8.64kgs
215/45 R17 91W XL REP C B 72 8.66kgs
215/45 R17 91V XL REP C A 72 8.55kgs
225/45 R17 94W XL REP C A 72 9.00kgs
225/45 R17 91Y REP C A 71 9.31kgs
225/45 R17 94V XL REP C A 72 9.24kgs
225/45 R17 94W XL REP C A 72 9.24kgs
235/45 R17 97W XL REP C A 72 10.58kgs
235/45 R17 94W REP C A 71 9.74kgs
235/45 R17 94W REP C A 71 9.82kgs
235/45 R17 97W XL REP C A 72 10.42kgs
205/50 R17 93W XL REP C B 72 8.92kgs
205/50 R17 89V REP C A 71 8.68kgs
205/50 R17 93V XL REP C B 72 8.88kgs
205/50 R17 93W XL REP C B 72 8.76kgs
215/50 R17 95V XL REP C A 72 10.04kgs
215/50 R17 95W XL REP C A 72 10.19kgs
215/50 R17 91V REP C A 71 9.24kgs
225/50 R17 94W REP C A 71 9.73kgs
225/50 R17 98W XL REP C A 72 10.64kgs
225/50 R17 98V XL REP C A 72 10.67kgs
225/50 R17 98W XL REP C A 72 10.67kgs
225/50 R17 94W REP C A 71 9.71kgs
235/50 R17 96W REP C A 71 11.23kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL REP C A 72 10.13kgs
205/55 R17 91V OE B A 70 9.11kgs
215/55 R17 94W REP C B 71 9.50kgs
215/55 R17 94V OE C A 69 10.03kgs
215/55 R17 94W REP C B 71 9.60kgs
215/55 R17 98W XL REP C B 72 10.53kgs
225/55 R17 101W XL REP C A 72 11.29kgs
225/55 R17 101W XL REP C A 72 11.48kgs
235/55 R17 103W XL REP C A 72 11.67kgs
235/55 R17 103Y XL REP C A 72 12.31kgs
235/55 R17 103W XL REP C A 72 12.09kgs
215/60 R17 96V REP C A 71 10.99kgs
225/60 R17 99V REP C A 71 11.69kgs
235/60 R17 106W XL OE B B 72 13.21kgs
225/40 R18 92W XL REP C A 72 9.44kgs
235/40 R18 95W XL REP C A 72 10.56kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL REP C A 72 11.26kgs
215/45 R18 89V OE B B 70 9.33kgs
225/45 R18 95W XL REP C A 72 10.40kgs
225/45 R18 91V REP C A 71 9.30kgs
225/45 R18 95W XL REP       10.30kgs
235/45 R18 98W XL REP C A 72 11.04kgs
235/45 R18 98W XL REP C A 72 10.86kgs
235/45 R18 94V OE C B 71 11.58kgs
245/45 R18 100W XL REP C A 72 11.60kgs
245/45 R18 96W OE C B 71 12.12kgs
215/50 R18 92V OE C B 71 9.84kgs
215/50 R18 92H OE C B 70 11.30kgs
215/55 R18 99V XL REP C A 72 11.15kgs
235/55 R18 100H OE C B 70 13.69kgs
245/40 R19 94W OE E B 71 12.15kgs
225/55 R19 99V REP C A 71 12.75kgs
195/55 R20 95H XL REP B B 72 10.23kgs

Questions and Answers for the Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125

2016-06-19 - Would these tyres (in 195/55 R16) be a good replacement for the Continental Premium Contact 2 SSR runflats that came with my MINI Cooper Clubman? I would prefer non-runflats. Thank you

The Hankook Ventus Prime3 is a very well rated tyre, and would be a fine replacement for the OE runflat Continentals. You should notice improved comfort, lower fuel use, improved wet grip and less noise, but ensure you have a plan to deal with a deflated tyre as you won't have a spare.


2016-10-07 - I live in Greece and I own a Kia Cee'd (2007). I'm going to replace the 3,5 years old tyres (Goodyear Efficient Grip Performance) but I don't know which ones are better for my car; The Hankook Ventus Prime 3 or the Michelin CrossClimate? I know that the Michelin are more expensive but I'd like to feel safe at all road conditions. Do the Hankooks ensure my driving security at a sudden snowfall? Thank you.

Only the Michelin CrossClimate tyres will work safely in snow and ice. The Goodyear and Hankook tyres are both summer tyres and as such will have very little snow and ice performance.


2018-12-25 - I have a Cayman 2.9 and am looking to run a squared setup of 245/40/18, would these be a good tyre for track and street work on a car with 265hp, or would you recommend another tyre like ps4? Also, would you recommend a square setup that low on the car, as the standard setup for a 18" cayman is 235/40/18 front and 265/40/18 rear.

Sadly I've not used the Prime3 on track, or do I know anything about changing tyre sizes on a Cayman! Perhaps check out an owners club online to see if others have made this change.


2019-08-24 - I have now 4 Michelin primacy 3 tyres on my Opel/Vauxhall Astra K 1.0. What do you recommend for a 1 pair change: Ventus prime 3 of Efficient Grip Performance? Or maybe an s1 evo 3 or a Eagle F1 assymetric 5 pair? I will start with 1 pair change beacause the profile of the other pair is still good. Thanks

The Ventus Prime 3 and Efficient Grip Performance are a more natural match for the Primacy 3, however if you want to switch to a more sporty tyre that's ok as long as it's done in pairs.


2019-10-05 - If you can choose between the Hankook Ventus Prime 3 or the Goodyear Efficient Grip Performance, what would you choose for a dynamic (but not speeding) drivestyle?

I'm afraid I've not driven the two back to back, so I'd be shooting in the dark. Some of the tests on the site should comment on the subjective handling of each tyre.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Ventus Prime 3 K125 Prices

Size Price Range  
195/55 R16 £63.72 - £117.60 (39 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/65 R15 £45.09 - £72.00 (34 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £49.73 - £88.97 (94 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £64.42 - £89.53 (28 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/45 R17 £82.99 - £102.40 (22 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 63 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 Reviews

Given 77% while driving a Ford Ford Focus MK2 1.8 TDCi (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Have been driving Hankook Ventus Prime 3 on all four corners for more than 4 000 miles now and I suppose I can say a couple of things about them. Got them new ,replacing Michelin Primacy 3 which were already with 30 000 miles under thei belt and were showing signs of wear and slipping while breaking on wet.
Internet advertising on the part of the seller was what brought me onto Hankook. Mainly their price. It was 52 euros per tire.Hawing a previously bad experience with an expensive winter Continental TS 850 I decided to try the budget end of the spectrum.
I was not wrong. It is a good tire allround. Bearing in mind that a 4000 miles is not a long mileage to be assertive in claiming something . The wear of the tires is even on all tires and it is not significant , just as you would expect for more than 4 000 miles .
The only thing tha is obvious and you can hear it now is NOISE. It started being noticeable just after 2500k but it si becoming an issue.If you are used to less noise on a good street,you start to notice it regularly. Thusfar it is the only negative thing to report about the Hankook Ventus Prime 3.
I will update this review as the miles go on and I have more on the quality of the tires. tires
600 - tyre reviewed on September 12, 2016   
Given 74% while driving a Ford Fiesta mk7 (195/50 R15) on mostly town for 10,000 average miles
All around good tire. Had them for two summer seasons on Ford Fiesta. On wet, depending on asphalt surface it can struggle for grip at take off, slippage occurs...
80 - tyre reviewed on November 11, 2019   
Given 87% while driving a Mercedes Benz C180 (205/55 R16 T) on a combination of roads for 16,000 average miles
First time buying and using Hankook tires, I was initially very doubtful but I listened to the tire-dealers advice who strongly recommended these tires above anything els including so-called premium brands.
I have nothing bad to say about these tires, it's very good tires in both wet and dry, always good grip and braking both wet and dry, very good and safe handling, good and controllable feel, very good direction stability, good comfort and low noise-level.
These Hankook tires can match any premium brand and in my opinion they are better, very satisfied with these tires.
The only downside is the wear rate which is average at the best, they did not last very long, unfortunately a very typical problem with modern tires these days.
Although this is the only car I have driven with these Hankook tires, I think I can strongly recommend them except if wear is the most important issue.
Their performance lasted until the very last mm of tread, actually until somebody decided to shred all four tires on a public parking lot........fortunately.....(suspiciously?)..... there was a tire dealer next to this parking lot and he sold me some Michelin Primacy 4 tires which I have made another review about.
61 - tyre reviewed on November 24, 2018   
Have you driven on the Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 >

Latest Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 Reviews

Given 83% while driving a Honda 1.8 iVTEC Es (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Significantly better than Fulda SC 2 previously mounted. Still did not put them in really hard situations but so far excellent for everyday driving than Fulda.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 13, 2021   
Given 67% while driving a Volvo V70 2.5 T awd (235/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
My initial thoughts were great but problems started after I had my tires in storage over the winter when I had winter tires on. I had the tires stored in a ventilated, room temperature garage stacked on top of eachother laying down. When I took the tires out for the spring, I noticed that all 4 tires had gotten long hairline cracks lengthwise in the threadpattern. Easy to go unnoticed but if you looked for them, you'd find them. I had regular tire pressure all the time so it's not a case of overfilling either. I then drove them this summer 2021 without bigger issues but recently my car started vibrating a bit so I threw the wheels on a balancing machine where you could see that even if the rim was straight, the surface of the tire itself was uneven and wobbling both in height and sideways. I'll have to find new tires now after this winter season.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 5, 2021   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 89% while driving a Renault Megane II 1.4 16V 98hp (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
Even after 3rd summer this tyre’s braking performance is awesome. I feel safe while driving in heavy traffic, bumper to bumper. Once, I got rear-ended because of their superb braking performance. I don’t see much wear indication after all these years and distance traveled. If the rubber compound allows, I would probably go another 15000 miles and/or 3 years.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 21, 2021   
Given 97% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 2.0 140 TDI Sport Estate (205/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 4,500 average miles
Great balanced tyres for a great price. They are mostly silent, I've always got precise feedback from them and they have been a joy to drive on. I'll buy again, and getting Hankook for my winter tyres too.
1 - tyre reviewed on July 29, 2021   
Given 70% while driving a Honda 2006 (205/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 25,000 average miles
I drove this tires nearly 25000km only in summer mostly on motorways for 3 years. Aquaplaning is serious on wet surfaces especially when there are heavy rains. I'm satisfied on dry motorway. But I think they warn of too quickly. Currently tire treads are at 3,5mm I'm buying pirelli or goodyear
1 - tyre reviewed on July 19, 2021   
Given 91% while driving a (205/55 R16) on for 0 miles
Superb dry grip!
3 - tyre reviewed on July 15, 2021   
Given 83% while driving a Renault Megane (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
I heard those were good tires, but I didn't expect to get so much. Excellent dry lateral grip and great feedback while staying comfortable. Perfect steering response on uneven pavement. I'm impressed by the fact that the unimportant things (gravel, potholes) are well filtered, but the feedback stays excellent and let you feel the sidewall slowly flexing with tons of safety margin. Not used under extreme rain so far, but it did well and felt safe in light rain. I only got two fitted at the front and kept Goodyear Vector gen3 at the back. It seems to be a good balance on a light car. No oversteer unless you really want it. Good fuel economy, quiet at highway speeds. Good value for the money and available in many sizes. I have heard the performance degrades after a few years, we'll see. I was hesitating with the Falken ZE310 that have similar test results and reviews, I just got the ones that were in stock.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 10, 2021   
Given 74% while driving a Toyota Yaris (195/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 10,000 spirited miles
Bought this to replace turanza er33 that came stock with yaris. I'm always willing to try new tyres and this is my first hankook. Positive: Excellent on dry. The grip is just excellent. No problem pushing the corner at excessive speeds. Very comfortable tyres. Softer sidewall. It turns my car ride quality. Cheap. One of the cheapest premium tyres on the market. Stability is just amazing for highway. Negative: Wet grip and braking is actually very good. But it just float over the water puddle. Very dangerous for me. This is the main reason I'll skip this tyre for the future. If you're looking for stiffer sidewall then never consider this tyre. Its soft and the feedback is just very dull. Conclusion: If you're looking for a cheap tyres with superb dry grip. This is just the beat choice. As long you didn't need to drive a lot through water puddle. Definitely get a good impression about hankook. Except the scary aquaplanning part
0 - tyre reviewed on June 23, 2021   
Given 76% while driving a Volkswagen Jetta 1.4 TSI (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 9,000 average miles
The Hankook K125 tyres replaced a set of Bridgestone RE003s. Initial impressions - really quite compared to the Bridgestone tyres. Now after 9000miles, the road noise is similarly loud when compared to the Bridgestone but still better than the OE GY tyres. Dry grip is really good (even when driving spiritedly), but when the surface is damp or wet, there is a lack of confidence in the tyres. The feedback from the tyres to the steering can become vague especially in the wet. It can go from talkative to a lack of feedback. You will need to slow down to get comfortable again. Wear rate is still good, but noticed that the tyre can wear away really quick if the alignment is not sufficiently good enough. It took only about 100km from new to wear away the alignment marks on one of the tyres due to a by the shop initially giving it a tad more toe on one side (but still inside specifications). By far, the Ventus Prime 3 is the most comfortable tyres put on the car yet. It absolutely loves tyre pressures that are around 28-32psi, and absolutely hates higher tyre pressures. There is a tendency to bounce the occupants around if you even dare to inflate beyond 34psi. Was told by the tyre shop, that this tyre was suppose to help with the fuel economy when compared to the Bridgestone. Yes and no is an answer that I have. If you travel long distances (over 100kms in a single trip) then yes, fuel economy is realised. Otherwise, there is no differences.
5 - tyre reviewed on April 12, 2021   
Given 90% while driving a (235/50 R18) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Very good tire for comfort emphasized cars
12 - tyre reviewed on March 25, 2021   
Given 80% while driving a Fiat 500X (215/55 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 8,000 easy going miles
Used two sizes: 215/55 R17 and 195/50 R15. Very satisfied with both. Great all around tyre with high level of comfort, low noise and more than average thread life. Downside: not the best aquaplaning resistance and wet grip. Wet braking is good though. Overall, great value for money. Recommended.
8 - tyre reviewed on December 12, 2020   
Given 90% while driving a Audi A4 2.0 TFSI (205 bhp) (215/55 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
I've been driving Prime 3 for 8.000 miles replaycing Dunlop Sport Maxx RT.It's a good tire allround.Great grip,great handling (dry and wet). I live in Corfu (Greece) with slipery and shiny roads and these tyres are excellent everywhere.I can't understand why Prime 3 its not one of the top tyres in all test. I'll buy them again.
15 - tyre reviewed on December 12, 2020