Volkswagen Polo 1.4 TDI Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volkswagen Polo 1.4 TDI.

Do you Drive a Volkswagen Polo 1.4 TDI? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Polo 1.4 TDI better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Continental WinterContact TS 800 (12) 88% 93% 86% 88% 88% 89%
Continental WinterContact TS 850 (55) 88% 89% 85% 85% 85% 89%
Michelin Energy Saver Plus (61) 84% 72% 78% 77% 91% 83%
Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun (84) 86% 82% 81% 82% 78% 77%
Nexen Winguard Snow G WH2 (8) 88% 78% 80% 80% 87% 84%
Sava Eskimo S3 Plus (27) 76% 76% 72% 73% 77% 82%
Pirelli CINTURATO P1 (28) 82% 74% 77% 72% 83% 85%
Nexen N2000 (14) 82% 76% 77% 68% 82% 77%
Dunlop Sport BluResponse (177) 88% 85% 79% 76% 61% 83%
Sava Eskimo S3 (33) 73% 64% 68% 71% 75% 72%
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74%
Hankook Kinergy 4S2 (20) 81% 81% 71% 69% 74% 83%
Matador MP 16 Stella 2 (10) 83% 65% 75% 70% 83% 77%
Firestone TZ200 (26) 80% 70% 70% 70% 75% 72%
Firestone F700 (8) 84% 61% 74% 73% 71% 69%
Firestone RoadHawk (32) 85% 79% 71% 64% 52% 73%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (156) 80% 69% 70% 67% 64% 64%
Goodyear EfficientGrip (135) 77% 68% 62% 60% 70% 70%
Avon ZV3 (28) 72% 63% 65% 66% 58% 66%
Accelera Alpha (128) 65% 44% 53% 49% 69% 57%
Sava PERFECTA (18) 69% 42% 56% 55% 53% 58%
Maxtrek INGENS A1 (30) 58% 33% 51% 43% 64% 58%
Mohawk M112 (27) 59% 34% 45% 39% 54% 47%

Volkswagen Polo 1.4 TDI Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Sava Eskimo S3 Plus given 79% (175-65-14-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 9500 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2020-12-28 14:13:36
Writing about the Sava PERFECTA given 53% (175-65-14-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 16000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2020-12-28 14:11:01
Writing about the Hankook Kinergy 4S2 given 71% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1600 average miles
Does not give confidence after 150-170 km / h
tyre reviewed on 2020-12-04 21:23:23
Writing about the Maxtrek INGENS A1 given 13% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 400 average miles
I can't see how these are sold as tyres.. they have no grip what so ever I simply cannot use my car in the rain.. if I'm out and it rains I'm stuck till it dries out.. do not buy these tyre unless your suicidal
tyre reviewed on 2020-07-25 17:55:05
Writing about the Accelera Alpha given 86% (185-60-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 38 easy going miles
When I bought my VW Polo new four years ago it was fitted with Hankook tyres, I don't know the type.I was very pleased at the minimum rate of ware. This week I noticed many small cracks had appeared at each side of the tread above the tyre wall and on the entire circumference on both sides of the tyre. All the four tyres were the same. The depth of tread is 4.2mm which is very good for 38,000miles. Now the tyres are scrap due to that defect after only 2.8mm of tread wear. Due to it being MOT time and in case the police should stop me for some reason I have had to buy four new tyres. It means that Hankook are expensive tyres when they have to be replaced after only 2.8mm of tread wear. I showed the tyre fault to the VW dealer and they were not interested. N Mould
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-20 16:27:45
Writing about the Nexen Winguard Snow G WH2 given 89% (185-60-14-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
Bought these because my Sava Eskimo S3+ needed replacement. For first winter I'm very impressed, very good grip in every condition. In comparison to Sava, they offer much more grip, especially in wet and they are much more quieter (previously on motorways I thought that irritating noise is coming from the wheel bearing or engine but after replacing tyres noise was gone). I don't feel any difference in snow between Nexen and Sava but I feel much more confident driving on Nexen then Sava. Excellent tyre for the money, highly recommended!!
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-21 11:51:34
Writing about the Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun given 86% (195-55-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 average miles
Bought these after Firestone Roadhawk, and my Good, what a positive transformation. Dry and wet grip are very good, they feel a little bit stiffer but as you warming them more and more (in dry) they become softer and performing better and better. Unlike Firestones, handling and cornering is much better, I'm amazed with how much confidence I can enter corner with my little VW ''dragon''. :) I'm amazed how much grip these tyres are providing. Road feedback is very good and they are not so noisy. Only little negative thing is that over a bumpy road, ride can get a little bit uncomfortable. Overall, great tyres for the price, I highly recommend them and would buy them again.
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-21 18:04:40
Writing about the Sava Eskimo S3 given 72% (185-60-14-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 average miles
Came with car when I bought it, average dry, very poor wet grip, but on a snow and ice excellent. What is temperature lower, these tyres performance are better. On higher speeds are noisy, and for normal driving handling is good, you can feel when they start to loose grip. Wear is also very good. For the price overall, good tyres, especially if you are looking for snow and ice performance.
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-21 17:40:27
Writing about the Firestone RoadHawk given 57% (195-55-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
Came with car as factory fit, very good dry and wet grip, for normal driving (without any sport driving intentions because when you push them to a limit they start to loose grip easly) handling is more than fine, on higher speeds can get noisy. Most of the time II had feeling that I don't feel what's happening with car, and in my opinion road feedback is not so good. I wouldn't recommend buying these tyres to premium or any other cars than small or city cars. They are ok tyres, although there are better out there for the same price.
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-21 17:23:09
Writing about the Continental WinterContact TS 850 given 100% (215-45-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
Bought a set for my VW Polo 2016 for winter monts, and they are excellent tires. Grip si great in all kind of conditions from icy and snowy to sloshy to wet and dry. Consistant. They are confortable, and silent in dry. In wet there is little bit of winding noise above 50 mph, but nothing to extreme. This tires give me confidence and sense of security, so I am very pleased with them.
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-20 10:45:31
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx given 79% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
Came standard on VW Polo 2016 model. Decent in dry conditions, not so in the wet. I feel confident in dry grip, and they are preety silent, and confortable. In wet however I don't feel confident. Hill starts sometime end up in wheelspin. Wear seems allright on light car such as VW Polo after 1 year.
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-20 10:35:45
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx given 57% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
Polo !.6 with factory low profile tyres
Having previously had Continental tyres on the car two sets covering 56.000 miles, I was recommended
to try Dunlop SP Sport Maxx Better handling in the wet and a lot cheaper than The previous brand.
Well after two months and 3.000 miles a bulge appeared on the drivers side front, turns out to be impact
damage.. had to buy another new tyre.. 6th March notice the passenger side has gone the same ...
no doubt they will say the same again..
These tyres are not fit for purpose ... I am a mature owner and driven on normal British roads and not hit any major
potholes, I would have been better of paying the extra for the Continental as after replacing two tyres the cost
at £216.00 .. I am quids out of pocket... Moral of the Story if you've got something with proven track record, stick with
it and dont buy Dunlop SP Sport Maxx
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-06 17:47:16
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre