Firestone RoadHawk

The Firestone Roadhawk targets mainstream motorists who drive all types of journeys – urban, highway, commute, school run, shopping – on a daily basis. These drivers want a tyre that gives them long-lasting performance in road conditions where wet weather, heavy traffic, sudden braking and motorway speed are all part of the daily mix. In short, a tyre they can always count on.

This tyre has been replaced by the Firestone Roadhawk 2 ENLITEN.

Dry Grip 85%
Wet Grip 75%
Road Feedback 71%
Handling 65%
Wear 54%
Comfort 73%
Buy again 51%

Tyre review data from 37 tyre reviews averaging 68% over 225,406 miles driven.

The RoadHawk is ranked 111th of 146 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2023 Summer Tyre Market Overview - 31st of 48 tyres

View Full Test >>

2023 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 20th of 50 tyres

View Full Test >>

2022 ADAC 16" SUV Summer Tyre Test - 11th of 18 tyres

  • Positive - Good in the dry.
  • Negative - Weakness in the wet, relatively noisey.
  • Overall - The Firestone Roadhawk offers good performance on dry roads and good wear resistance. In the wet, however, it shows slight weaknesses that lead to the devaluation of the overall rating. Overall, the tire is recommended.
View Full Test >>

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/50 R15 82V   C A 70 6.69kgs
195/50 R15 82H   C A 70 6.69kgs
185/55 R15 82V   C A 70 6.47kgs
185/55 R15 82H   C A 70 6.47kgs
195/55 R15 85V   C A 71 6.86kgs
195/55 R15 85H   C A 71 6.86kgs
175/60 R15 81V   C A 70 6.37kgs
175/60 R15 81H   C A 70 6.37kgs
185/60 R15 88T XL   C A 70 6.67kgs
185/60 R15 84T   C A 70 6.67kgs
185/60 R15 84H   C A 70 6.67kgs
185/60 R15 88H XL   C A 70 6.67kgs
195/60 R15 88H   C A 71 7.00kgs
195/60 R15 88V   C A 71 7.11kgs
205/60 R15 91H   C A 70 7.13kgs
205/60 R15 91V   C A 70 7.13kgs
165/65 R15 81T   C A 70 5.94kgs
175/65 R15 84T   C A 70 6.43kgs
175/65 R15 84H   C A 70 6.43kgs
185/65 R15 88T   C A 70 6.87kgs
185/65 R15 88H   C A 70 6.90kgs
185/65 R15 88V   C A 70 6.87kgs
195/65 R15 91T   C A 71 7.57kgs
195/65 R15 95T XL   C A 71 7.57kgs
195/65 R15 91H   C A 71 7.57kgs
195/65 R15 91V   C A 71 7.55kgs
205/65 R15 94V   C A 70 7.80kgs
205/65 R15 94H   C A 70 7.80kgs
215/65 R15 96H   C A 71 8.75kgs
215/45 R16 90V XL   C A 72 8.02kgs
195/50 R16 88V XL   C A 70 7.09kgs
205/50 R16 87W   C A 71 7.36kgs
205/50 R16 87V   C A 71 7.38kgs
185/55 R16 83V   C A 70 6.69kgs
195/55 R16 87V   C A 70 7.45kgs
195/55 R16 87H   C A 70 7.45kgs
205/55 R16 91H   C A 70 7.64kgs
205/55 R16 91V   C A 70 7.63kgs
205/55 R16 91W   C A 70 7.63kgs
205/55 R16 94V XL   C A 72 7.64kgs
215/55 R16 97Y XL   C A 72 8.40kgs
215/55 R16 97W XL   C A 72 8.42kgs
215/55 R16 93V   C A 71 8.42kgs
225/55 R16 95V   C A 71 8.93kgs
225/55 R16 99Y XL   C A 72 9.20kgs
195/60 R16 93V XL   C A 70 8.37kgs
205/60 R16 92H   C A 70 7.92kgs
205/60 R16 92V   C A 70 7.92kgs
215/60 R16 99V XL   C A 72 8.94kgs
215/60 R16 99H XL   C A 72 8.94kgs
225/60 R16 98Y   C A 71 10.05kgs
225/60 R16 102V XL   C A 72 10.05kgs
235/60 R16 104H XL   C A 71 10.27kgs
215/65 R16 98H   C A 71 10.93kgs
215/70 R16 100H   C A 71 12.20kgs
225/70 R16 103H         12.44kgs
245/70 R16 111H XL         15.35kgs
265/70 R16 112H         17.71kgs
205/40 R17 84W XL   C A 72 9.99kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL   C A 72 7.96kgs
245/40 R17 95Y XL   C A 71 11.67kgs
205/45 R17 88W XL   C A 71 9.84kgs
215/45 R17 91Y XL   C A 72 7.96kgs
225/45 R17 94W XL   C A 72 8.67kgs
225/45 R17 91Y   C A 71 8.67kgs
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C A 72 8.80kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 71 12.25kgs
205/50 R17 93W XL   C A 72 7.91kgs
215/50 R17 95W XL   C A 72 8.65kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C A 72 9.25kgs
225/50 R17 98W XL   C A 72 8.94kgs
205/55 R17 95V XL   C A 72 8.22kgs
215/55 R17 94W   C A 71 8.45kgs
225/55 R17 101W XL   C A 72 9.46kgs
235/55 R17 103V XL   C A 71 13.06kgs
215/60 R17 96H   C A 71 11.52kgs
225/60 R17 99H   C A 71 12.36kgs
235/60 R17 102V   C A 71 12.88kgs
225/65 R17 102H   C A 71 12.60kgs
235/65 R17 104V   C A 71 15.95kgs
235/65 R17 108V XL   C A 71 15.95kgs
265/65 R17 112H         17.83kgs
225/35 R18 87Y XL   C A 71 9.87kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL   C A 71 10.66kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL   C A 73 12.11kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL   C A 73 12.48kgs
215/40 R18 89Y XL   C A 71 9.86kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   C A 72 8.83kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C A 72 9.19kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C A 72 9.57kgs
215/45 R18 93Y XL   C A 71 10.40kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C A 71 8.86kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 71 11.82kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C A 71 11.27kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   C A 71 13.61kgs
235/50 R18 101Y XL   C A 71 12.72kgs
215/55 R18 99V XL   C A 71 11.11kgs
225/55 R18 98V   C A 71 12.92kgs
235/55 R18 100V   C A 71 12.66kgs
255/55 R18 109W XL   C A 71 17.19kgs
225/60 R18 100H   C A 71 10.05kgs
235/60 R18 103V   C A 71 14.65kgs
235/60 R18 107V XL   C A 71 14.65kgs
235/60 R18 103V   B B 71 14.65kgs
255/60 R18 112V XL   C A 71 16.35kgs
255/30 R19 91Y XL   C A 73 12.16kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   C A 71 10.89kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C A 71 11.83kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL   C A 71 8.15kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 73 11.96kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL   C A 71 12.10kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   C A 71 12.10kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   C A 71 12.66kgs
225/45 R19 96W XL   C A 71 12.37kgs
235/45 R19 99W XL   C A 71 13.09kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C A 71 10.56kgs
275/45 R19 108Y XL   B A 73 12.34kgs
255/50 R19 107Y XL   C A 71 18.11kgs
225/55 R19 99V   C A 71 14.07kgs
235/55 R19 105W XL   C A 71 14.19kgs
255/55 R19 111V XL   C A 71 16.48kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL   C A 71 11.61kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL   C B 73 13.32kgs
275/40 R20 106Y XL   C A 73 12.50kgs
255/45 R20 105W XL   A B 73 11.83kgs
265/45 R20 108Y XL   B A 73 12.55kgs
275/45 R20 110Y XL         14.18kgs
295/35 R21 107Y XL   C A 73 14.05kgs

Questions and Answers for the Firestone RoadHawk

2017-04-24 - Are Firestone Roadhawk tyres Directional as regard fitting, or can they be fitted any way, ie inside out etc.

The Firestone RoadHawk is an asymmetric tyre so can be fitted in either direction, just make sure the "outside" is on the outside of the wheel.


2017-08-14 - I will be needing new tyres in approx. 6 months and wondered if the Firestone Roadhawk is due to be tested this year. It appears to be in my price range, and seems better than most at that price point. I just wondered if anything conclusive has been printed??

All the summer tests of 2017 have been published now, but if you read our launch report there are some figures from TUV which shows the Firestone RoadHawk performing favourably.


2017-08-17 - These firestone tyres have not been tested against a 'good ' tyre such as the Hankook Ventus Prime 3. They have been compared with lesser tyres I believe. And they don't seem to be available with 95 rating only 99 or XL rating. Which I am not looking for as my car has quite hard suspension anyway. Would you think the Hankook tyres would be a better purchase?

I would argue the Uniroyal RainSport 3, Fulda EcoControl HP, Kleber Dynaxer HP3 and Nexen N Blue Plus TUV tested the RoadHawk against, which is covered in the RoadHawk launch report, are good tyres for the sector. Unfortunately I've seen no benchmark for comfort so can't comment on which option will be more comfortable.


2017-09-05 - What is the thread depth of the Firestone Roadhawk 195/65/15 please?

I believe the starting tread depth of the Firestone RoadHawk is a little over 7mm.


2018-06-20 - is the roadhawk 94w run flat tyre?

As far as I'm aware there is no runflat version of the RoadHawk currently.


2019-02-19 - where are the tyres made ?

Firestone and Bridgestone use factories all over the world, you would have to check directly with Firestone for the size you are looking at.


2023-06-03 - How do the Firestone Roadhawk tyres compare to Bridgestone Turanza T005?

There's a number of very in depth tests on the site comparing the T005 and Roadhawk, this is the best currently: Click Here


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
195/50 R15 £65.99 - £94.43 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/65 R15 £59.99 - £96.40 (14 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £67.99 - £94.42 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £91.31 - £102.13 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £82.99 - £103.25 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 92 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Firestone RoadHawk Reviews

Given 61% while driving a SEAT ALhambra TDi (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 easy going miles
Purchased Two front tyres @ Halfords as they where cheap for a mid to premium tyre and had £20 Argos voucher attached.
When I checked tyre tread depth found only 7mm middle and 6.5mm outer edge.
Never had a new tyre under 8mm before, alway 8 to 10mm.
May be that's why there cheap!
Will contact Firestone to see why.
Helpful 653 - tyre reviewed on May 20, 2017
Given 67% while driving a Peugeot 308 BlueHDI EAT6 (225/40 R18) on mostly town for 0 average miles
I’ve just had 4 fitted, 1st impressions seem good. Appear to be a well made tyre, interested to see how long the 6.5-6.7mm tread lasts.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on May 31, 2023
Given 84% while driving a Ford Fiesta mk7 (195/50 R15) on a combination of roads for 35,000 average miles
Very safety tyre until to last season, good handling, but very loud, worse than my winter Dębica Frigo 2. After 35 000 km and 5 seasons, still 4mm tread but they start cracking and need replacement. I would buy again as tyre to small car.
Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on October 13, 2023
Have you driven on the Firestone RoadHawk tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Firestone RoadHawk? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Firestone RoadHawk >

Latest Firestone RoadHawk Reviews

Given 40% while driving a Ford Fiesta mk7 (195/50 R15) on a combination of roads for 0 miles
These are the worst tyres I've ever driven on in the wet they are leathal I've been driving for over 50 years now cross plies where better in the wet than These firestone tyres where always good in the past I am a retired ambulance driver we always used firestone tyres on all our ambulances but these road hawk by firestone are downright dangerous in the wet stay clear Philip
Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on July 15, 2023
Given 61% while driving a Citroën c3 Picasso 1.6 diesel (195/55 R16) on mostly town for 15,000 average miles
Main issue is after 4 years showing bad signs of cracking and perishing, not good for low mileage use
Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on March 4, 2023
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 67% while driving a Volkswagen Caddy (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 15,500 average miles
RoadHawk are quite good tyres for the price, perform well on wet and quite good on dry. However they do wear fast. I do little motorway, a mix of city and around, after 25000 km my front tyres (front wheel drive) are almost worn out for good. Might squeeze 1k km more but thats it. Good price, good performance, wears fast.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on February 1, 2023
Given 93% while driving a Ford Focus 2002 Hatchback (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Very nice and stable tires. It doesn't matter if it's dry or wet, they are not afraid of potholes and bad road. I will buy again.
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on January 26, 2023
Given 83% while driving a Fiat Grande Punto TJet (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
Generally I was looking for a good set of tyres but quite cheaper this time, before I had Michellin, Conti, Dunlop. A friend of mine had these tyres in his car he advised me to buy them I won't regret it. After the suggestion of the tyre shop manager too, I decided to fit them in my car... Well I would dare to say that firestone tyre is outstanding! Excellent all around tyres, very good grip in dry and wet. Very good breaking and comfort as well. Good wear and handling, not much noisy . Actually there are equivalent to premium brands if not better from most premiums and some aspects however much cheaper. Honestly l don't understand why firestone which is an old American tyre factory subsidiary of Brigestone, which manufactures excellent tyres lacks of marketing the brand and especially Roadhawk tyres are awesome. . Don't hasitate, buy them, fit them you will be surprised.
Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on April 16, 2022
Given 83% while driving a Dacia Sandero Mk.1 1.4 mpi (185/65 R15) on mostly country roads for 1,000 average miles
Bought these new to replace the original all season Barum tyres that came as standard from the factory. I think, for the price, this was the best option at the that time. Massive improvement over the previous tyres in noise, comfort and grip. The tyre is lighter, and it has a thin side wall that helps with the damping on uneven roads, this is very noticeable on cheaper cars with not very sophisticated suspensions. The dry grip is great, and I think it suits smaller and lighter cars in the way the tyre behaves. Wet grip is also very impressive, i was unable to aquaplane these tyres even when i tried, something that i was able to do often with the old tyres. Also, stopping a cornering feel solid in the wet. Overall, i think Firestone in general have the best tyres for their price range (i have a set of Winterhawks as well). But as i said before, they are better suited for smaller, lighter cars, where things like tyre wear are not as obvious, and you can have great confidence in them to go from A to B. For something bigger than a 225 I would start looking somewhere else.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on March 18, 2022
Given 47% while driving a Volvo V40 T4 AUTO (205/50 R16) on a combination of roads for 9,941 spirited miles
Only 16000km until inner treads start appearing. Other than that, it's a normal tyre. OK for the price.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on January 3, 2022
Given 93% while driving a Saab Automobile 9 3 Aero HOT (235/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Bought these as a step up from bargain tyres and could not be happier. Noticed a huge difference in road handling and grip from the minute I took a corner. Now the roads are wet with the change in weather, i was cautious at first but had no reason to be. Handle really well on wet/greasy roads and take relatively deep surface water in their stride. Only had them a few months so not got to the point where i can comment on the wear. However I will, going by what they have been like so far, be buying them again.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on December 10, 2020
Given 74% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giulietta (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
The tires handles good on dry terrain and same on wet. Average grip in corners , medium tyre noise , the 94W that i own is perfect in carrying heavy loads and thats its main perk . Overall good cheap tyre for everyday driving also good wearing time.
Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on December 3, 2020
Given 61% while driving a Mercedes Benz E220Cdi (225/50 R17 W) on mostly town for 7,000 easy going miles
the thread starts at 7 and wears quite quickly, have had six tyres since 2014, wont buy again .
Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on November 18, 2020
Given 39% while driving a Mercedes Benz E320 CDI Sport (265/35 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
Bought these from qwikfit as a mid priced tyre. Reasonable drive as long as you are just popping down the road to the bowls club. Bought in June, they now need replacing in November. Never have I had tyre wear like this. Tracking tested and found to be ok. So all in all a crap tyre. Will never by another Firestone
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on November 12, 2020
Given 91% while driving a Volkswagen 2014 1.8tsi (235/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 15 spirited miles
Works great on Passat CC stage 3 345 HP with DBA brakes.
Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on October 27, 2020