Firestone RoadHawk

The Firestone Roadhawk targets mainstream motorists who drive all types of journeys – urban, highway, commute, school run, shopping – on a daily basis. These drivers want a tyre that gives them long-lasting performance in road conditions where wet weather, heavy traffic, sudden braking and motorway speed are all part of the daily mix. In short, a tyre they can always count on.

Tyre review data from 38 tyre reviews averaging 68% over 225,906 miles driven, and 24 tests with an average result of 11th.

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 75%
Road Feedback 71%
Handling 65%
Wear 54%
Comfort 73%
Buy again 52%

First On MarketJanuary 2017
Wheel Size15 - 21"
Width165 - 295mm
Profile30 - 70
Rolling ResistanceA - D
Wet GripA - C
Noise (dB)69 - 73
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The RoadHawk is ranked 112th of 149 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

This tyre has been replaced by the Firestone Roadhawk 2 ENLITEN.

Tests Included

24

Best Result

3rd

Worst Result

31st

Average Result

11th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2024 AutoBild Summer Tyre Test
6th of 21 tyres
  • Brand tyre with sporty dynamic handling, short dry braking distances, good value for money.
  • Increased rolling noise.
  • Good.
View Full Test >>

SizeFuelWetNoise
15 inch
185/65 R15 88 VCA70
195/55 R15 85 VCA71
195/65 R15 91 HCA71
195/65 R15 91 HCA71
195/65 R15 91 VCA71
195/65 R15 91 TCA71
195/65 R15 95 T XLCA71
185/65 R15 88 HCA70
185/65 R15 88 TCA70
195/55 R15 85 VCA71
195/55 R15 85 HCA71
16 inch
205/55 R16 91 HAC70
205/55 R16 94 V XLCA72
215/70 R16 100 HCB71
205/60 R16 92 VCA70
215/60 R16 99 V XLCA72
205/55 R16 91 VCB70
205/60 R16 92 VCA70
205/55 R16 91 HCA70
215/60 R16 99 V XLCA72
215/70 R16 100 HCA71
205/55 R16 91 VCA70
205/55 R16 91 WCA70
215/60 R16 99 H XLCA72
205/60 R16 92 HCA70
17 inch
215/55 R17 98 W XLBA71
225/60 R17 99 HCA71
225/45 R17 94 W XLCA72
235/65 R17 104 VCA71
215/45 R17 91 Y XLCA72
205/50 R17 93 W XLCA72
225/50 R17 98 W XLCA72
265/65 R17 112 HCB71
235/65 R17 108 V XLCA71
235/65 R17 108 V XLBB71
225/60 R17 99 HCA71
225/50 R17 98 Y XLCA72
215/55 R17 94 WCA71
225/45 R17 94 W XLCA72
225/45 R17 91 YCA71
18 inch
245/40 R18 97 Y XLCA72
225/40 R18 92 Y XLCA72
245/45 R18 100 Y XLCA71
235/60 R18 107 V XLCA71
235/60 R18 103 VBB71
255/35 R18 94 Y XLCA73
235/60 R18 103 VCA71
19 inch
235/35 R19 91 Y XLCA71
20 inch
245/35 R20 95 Y XLCA71
255/45 R20 105 W XLBA73
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Firestone RoadHawk >>

Questions and Answers for the Firestone RoadHawk

2017-04-24 - Are Firestone Roadhawk tyres Directional as regard fitting, or can they be fitted any way, ie inside out etc.

The Firestone RoadHawk is an asymmetric tyre so can be fitted in either direction, just make sure the "outside" is on the outside of the wheel.


2017-08-14 - I will be needing new tyres in approx. 6 months and wondered if the Firestone Roadhawk is due to be tested this year. It appears to be in my price range, and seems better than most at that price point. I just wondered if anything conclusive has been printed??

All the summer tests of 2017 have been published now, but if you read our launch report there are some figures from TUV which shows the Firestone RoadHawk performing favourably.


2017-08-16 - These firestone tyres have not been tested against a 'good ' tyre such as the Hankook Ventus Prime 3. They have been compared with lesser tyres I believe. And they don't seem to be available with 95 rating only 99 or XL rating. Which I am not looking for as my car has quite hard suspension anyway. Would you think the Hankook tyres would be a better purchase?

I would argue the Uniroyal RainSport 3, Fulda EcoControl HP, Kleber Dynaxer HP3 and Nexen N Blue Plus TUV tested the RoadHawk against, which is covered in the RoadHawk launch report, are good tyres for the sector. Unfortunately I've seen no benchmark for comfort so can't comment on which option will be more comfortable.


2017-09-05 - What is the thread depth of the Firestone Roadhawk 195/65/15 please?

I believe the starting tread depth of the Firestone RoadHawk is a little over 7mm.


2018-06-20 - is the roadhawk 94w run flat tyre?

As far as I'm aware there is no runflat version of the RoadHawk currently.


2019-02-19 - where are the tyres made ?

Firestone and Bridgestone use factories all over the world, you would have to check directly with Firestone for the size you are looking at.


2023-06-03 - How do the Firestone Roadhawk tyres compare to Bridgestone Turanza T005?

There's a number of very in depth tests on the site comparing the T005 and Roadhawk, this is the best currently: Click Here


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
195/50 R15 £65.99 - £96.14 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
195/65 R15 £59.99 - £98.09 (14 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/55 R16 £67.99 - £97.86 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £101.17 - £103.81 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £82.99 - £103.66 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 92 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Firestone RoadHawk Reviews

Given 61% while driving a SEAT ALhambra TDi (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 easy going miles
Purchased Two front tyres @ Halfords as they where cheap for a mid to premium tyre and had £20 Argos voucher attached.
When I checked tyre tread depth found only 7mm middle and 6.5mm outer edge.
Never had a new tyre under 8mm before, alway 8 to 10mm.
May be that's why there cheap!
Will contact Firestone to see why.
Helpful 657 - tyre reviewed on May 20, 2017
Given 67% while driving a Peugeot 308 BlueHDI EAT6 (225/40 R18) on mostly town for 0 average miles
I’ve just had 4 fitted, 1st impressions seem good. Appear to be a well made tyre, interested to see how long the 6.5-6.7mm tread lasts.
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on May 31, 2023
Given 84% while driving a Ford Fiesta mk7 (195/50 R15) on a combination of roads for 35,000 average miles
Very safety tyre until to last season, good handling, but very loud, worse than my winter Dębica Frigo 2. After 35 000 km and 5 seasons, still 4mm tread but they start cracking and need replacement. I would buy again as tyre to small car.
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on October 13, 2023
Have you driven on the Firestone RoadHawk tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Firestone RoadHawk? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Firestone RoadHawk >

Latest Firestone RoadHawk Reviews

Given 73% while driving a Ford Fiesta Mk7.5 (195/55 R15) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Bought two of these recently to replace the front tyres on a Fiesta Mk7.5. The price was similar to other midrange tyres and after some miles they are wearing ok. In terms of handling dry grip is good with less understeer than Turanza or Bluresponse tyres. Wet grip is decent, especially over standing water, and steering feel is lighter but more precise than Turanza or Bluresponse. The noise and fuel economy are not noticeably better or worse than other tyres I've used, but the Bluresponse was softer over bumps. Overall a decent midrange tyre you can use everyday with no significant penalties.
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on June 3, 2024
Given 40% while driving a Ford Fiesta mk7 (195/50 R15) on a combination of roads for 0 miles
These are the worst tyres I've ever driven on in the wet they are leathal I've been driving for over 50 years now cross plies where better in the wet than These firestone tyres where always good in the past I am a retired ambulance driver we always used firestone tyres on all our ambulances but these road hawk by firestone are downright dangerous in the wet stay clear Philip
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on July 15, 2023
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 61% while driving a Citroën c3 Picasso 1.6 diesel (195/55 R16) on mostly town for 15,000 average miles
Main issue is after 4 years showing bad signs of cracking and perishing, not good for low mileage use
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on March 4, 2023
Given 67% while driving a Volkswagen Caddy (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 15,500 average miles
RoadHawk are quite good tyres for the price, perform well on wet and quite good on dry. However they do wear fast. I do little motorway, a mix of city and around, after 25000 km my front tyres (front wheel drive) are almost worn out for good. Might squeeze 1k km more but thats it. Good price, good performance, wears fast.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on February 1, 2023
Given 93% while driving a Ford Focus 2002 Hatchback (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Very nice and stable tires. It doesn't matter if it's dry or wet, they are not afraid of potholes and bad road. I will buy again.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on January 26, 2023
Given 83% while driving a Fiat Grande Punto TJet (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
Generally I was looking for a good set of tyres but quite cheaper this time, before I had Michellin, Conti, Dunlop. A friend of mine had these tyres in his car he advised me to buy them I won't regret it. After the suggestion of the tyre shop manager too, I decided to fit them in my car... Well I would dare to say that firestone tyre is outstanding! Excellent all around tyres, very good grip in dry and wet. Very good breaking and comfort as well. Good wear and handling, not much noisy . Actually there are equivalent to premium brands if not better from most premiums and some aspects however much cheaper. Honestly l don't understand why firestone which is an old American tyre factory subsidiary of Brigestone, which manufactures excellent tyres lacks of marketing the brand and especially Roadhawk tyres are awesome. . Don't hasitate, buy them, fit them you will be surprised.
Helpful 38 - tyre reviewed on April 16, 2022
Given 83% while driving a Dacia Sandero Mk.1 1.4 mpi (185/65 R15) on mostly country roads for 1,000 average miles
Bought these new to replace the original all season Barum tyres that came as standard from the factory. I think, for the price, this was the best option at the that time. Massive improvement over the previous tyres in noise, comfort and grip. The tyre is lighter, and it has a thin side wall that helps with the damping on uneven roads, this is very noticeable on cheaper cars with not very sophisticated suspensions. The dry grip is great, and I think it suits smaller and lighter cars in the way the tyre behaves. Wet grip is also very impressive, i was unable to aquaplane these tyres even when i tried, something that i was able to do often with the old tyres. Also, stopping a cornering feel solid in the wet. Overall, i think Firestone in general have the best tyres for their price range (i have a set of Winterhawks as well). But as i said before, they are better suited for smaller, lighter cars, where things like tyre wear are not as obvious, and you can have great confidence in them to go from A to B. For something bigger than a 225 I would start looking somewhere else.
Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on March 18, 2022
Given 47% while driving a Volvo V40 T4 AUTO (205/50 R16) on a combination of roads for 9,941 spirited miles
Only 16000km until inner treads start appearing. Other than that, it's a normal tyre. OK for the price.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on January 3, 2022
Given 93% while driving a Saab Automobile 9 3 Aero HOT (235/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Bought these as a step up from bargain tyres and could not be happier. Noticed a huge difference in road handling and grip from the minute I took a corner. Now the roads are wet with the change in weather, i was cautious at first but had no reason to be. Handle really well on wet/greasy roads and take relatively deep surface water in their stride. Only had them a few months so not got to the point where i can comment on the wear. However I will, going by what they have been like so far, be buying them again.
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on December 10, 2020
Given 74% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giulietta (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
The tires handles good on dry terrain and same on wet. Average grip in corners , medium tyre noise , the 94W that i own is perfect in carrying heavy loads and thats its main perk . Overall good cheap tyre for everyday driving also good wearing time.
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on December 3, 2020
Given 61% while driving a Mercedes Benz E220Cdi (225/50 R17 W) on mostly town for 7,000 easy going miles
the thread starts at 7 and wears quite quickly, have had six tyres since 2014, wont buy again .
Helpful 39 - tyre reviewed on November 18, 2020
Given 39% while driving a Mercedes Benz E320 CDI Sport (265/35 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
Bought these from qwikfit as a mid priced tyre. Reasonable drive as long as you are just popping down the road to the bowls club. Bought in June, they now need replacing in November. Never have I had tyre wear like this. Tracking tested and found to be ok. So all in all a crap tyre. Will never by another Firestone
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on November 12, 2020